Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

xabi wrote: »
    Might be a good idea to lock this thread, reading between the lines, this is doing harm to those suffering with mental health.

Those suffering with mental health shouldn't be doing things that trigger it.

May as well shut down the internet then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Are the people who are so freaked now, the ones who were in denial last week?

I'm gone past the point of being that freaked out. Used to the idea, awful as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Curlysue76 wrote: »
    It’s actually hard to believe what is happening, it just feels surreal .

Being following this since January when China was being hit hard.
    When I stated posting on here I tried to warn people what was coming.

Many of us were accused of scaremongering and when we were proven correct we were accused of enjoying the whole thing and getting a thrill out of it.

I have elderly folks I am really afraid for them I am afraid I will get this thing and give it to them.:(

Early on I new I was correct from a factual point but until the last few days it has not really felt real if that makes any sense.

Selfish people packing out those pubs over the weekend was infuriating.
    Same morons who said this was only a flu went on a panic buying session.

Seeing all the jobs losses and the economy going into the toilet is upsetting I will admit I did not really see that coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

crx=== wrote: »
    Is there anywhere people can volunteer to bring food/supplies to elderly people?? I am trained in food handling and micro /pathogens.
    there's been a few links posted previously
    one was https://www.volunteer.ie/

Also, maybe local community centres/gaa clubs etc - people are organising locally it appears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Still doesn't feel real to me. And I have no idea why.

It is what it is. Nothing I can do about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Mick Kony wrote: »
    How are we all dealing with the stress and anxiety of this? Anyone who says they're not worried is lying.

I'm self medicating with a couple of beers each night. Takes the edge off a bit.

Yeah I've noticed my drinking go up in the evening time. Tend to pour myself a strong whiskey when the numbers are released.

I've always been fairly empathetic and don't like seeing this happen to my fellow countrymen and women. And thinking about all the uncertainy and weight on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Could you order all shopping online for them so you don’t have to go into the shops to collect the goods

Will be doing definitely, I know there's a waiting time understandably but it'll have to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

https://twitter.com/andreamatranga/status/1239774862572277760

According to Crisanti, the director of the virology lab of U Padua, as little as 10% of #COVID2019 carriers show any symptoms at all. He sampled repeatedly the entire 3k+ population of Vo ', one of the initial clusters.

This guy says 9 out of 10 people he tested were asymptomatic. So testing has to be widened to include contacts that have shown no symptoms. This is pretty amazing if true.

And totally the opposite of what the WHO were telling us a few weeks ago with all the checks they did on the Chinese data...unless I'm remembering wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

IV no idea, what's makes you so certain.

Nor does he.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭joeguevara

So many people have believed fake leaks, fake WhatsApp messages and pure bs. A leader of a country outlining the truth, expectations, advice and words of hope is exactly what was needed.

I am no fan of Leo or Fine Gael, but he addressed everyone and if everyone followed it we would be in a good state of affairs. But queues for ice cream today. Beaches full. Kids out playing on street. Plans for house parties tonight going into overload but calling a nation address ineffective.

We need to take responsibility for our actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Raconteuse wrote: »

I'm gone past the point of being that freaked out. Used to the idea, awful as it is.

Sadly I am gone past that point, I think it was freaked about the virus coming before anyone cared, now i don't even check to see how many have died in Italy - the number could rise to 10k, or 100k - and in reality the number shouldn't affect me.

There is also the side of me that thinks, if we recorded and reported the flu the same way, the numbers would be the same, the number of deceased would be high - obv not as high, but still high, so that kinda keeps me calm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Being following this since January when China was being hit hard.
    When I stated posting on here I tried to warn people what was coming.

Many of us were accused of scaremongering and when we were proven correct we were accused of enjoying the whole thing and getting a thrill out of it.

I have elderly folks I am really afraid for them I am afraid I will get this thing and give it to them.:(

Early on I new I was correct from a factual point but until the last few days it has not really felt real if that makes any sense.

Selfish people packing out those pubs over the weekend was infuriating.
    Same morons who said this was only a flu went on a panic buying session.

Seeing all the jobs losses and the economy going into the toilet is upsetting I will admit I did not really see that coming.
    I can't stand scaremongering but the people who were saying it'll be grand, and "it only affects old people" were some dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,073 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Probably have another COVID-19 death on our hands soon:

https://twitter.com/carnsoreboxer/status/1240038086635118592

Ah sweet Jesus I don't know them and I have tears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Because it's a virus

So a virus can't spread. And multiply is that what you are saying. Now as I said I have no idea what the final numbers will be. And I'd suggest\guess you have not a clue either. So instead of laughing at people . You might act like an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

hurikane wrote: »
    Poor choice of words. They accounted for the deaths, their health systems, doctors and nurses are doing all they can to save them.

Jeepers sorry for causing offence, I'll word it better next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

pookiesboo wrote: »
    I know this will probably get lost with the volume of posts but anyone else's mental health suffering?
    I'm a carer for both my parents in their seventies ,my mother had a polio as a child so as a result as a curvature in her spine she has copd,had a bad heart attack a couple of years ago and is on an oxygen machine at least 12 hrs a day to help her breathe. My dad also has diabetes and has his other health issues. I'll be doing the shopping for them now so my dad doesn't have to leave the house, I'm just petrified,absolutely petrified I'll catch it and infect them. We also have five or six different carers in rotation coming in to assist me throughout the week. I've found myself sobbing uncontrollably the past few days, the enormity of this if it affects either of my parents, God forbid, I can't even bring myself to type it

If possible limit direct contact with your parents as much as possible. Follow rules on social isolation. Use disposable gloves if possible when shopping.
    However and this is a more general point, outside carers are a potential carrier of cv. The HSE needs to issue advice to carers as they are at risk of infecting the elderly. Contact should only be essential for the next few weeks. Dinners and shopping should be left outside the door to avoid direct contacts. Difficult but nessecary precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Might be a good idea to lock this thread, reading between the lines, this is doing harm to those suffering with mental health.

Been a few posts suggesting that now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭sudzs

Beginning to wonder if there's something wrong with me for thinking Leo's speech was third rate schmaltz.

But don't get me wrong, I think the three lads are doing a decent job, well, Coveny and Harris anyway. But the Leo love in, I just don't get it.

Putting it down to people being infantalised by the general air of fear of the covid19 virus and its consequences. ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

When was the last time we had a ministerial address under the broadcasting act? 2008?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Do you know the only cohort who aren't falling apart and ****ting their pants (at least not this reason)?

The elderly!! Now take a lesson from them and pull yourself together.

The Country and the Planet will get through this, but only if everyone has a word with themselves about perspective, proportion and common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Why would someone put something like that on Twitter?? Social media is a virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

To the people saying "I told ye all about this in January"

Nobody cares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭sudzs

Or maybe they could not read any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Asthma, COPD, immobile and 88 years old. Good that poor woman wont suffer anymore.

Anyone else find it absolutely bizarre he is live tweeting about his mother dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

pjohnson wrote: »
    You should lecture your folks about how important saving the economy is instead.

They don’t need lecturing, it’s also one of their considerations.
    I appreciate you trying to be spiteful tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Palliative care is brilliant in end of life care. I know this from sad experience.

Should be super funded to deal with those poor unfortunates who just will not survive this.

Make their passing as easy as possible. This is the new reality.
    This is a contagious disease, not cancer. The very brutal reality is that people will die alone, separated from their loved ones. It’s awful, but that is the reality

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭daheff

Augme wrote: »
    This is frighteningly naive tbh. 15,000 will get it by the end of this month. We will be doing well to keep they figure under 100,000.

To the people who are querying the 15k figure, we're still not 14days since the Italian rugby fans came over to visit.

Looking at the last few nights announcements I've noticed the majority of cases are in the east(Dublin & surroundings).

I would suspect most cases came in contact with these Italian fans. Expect numbers to be close to the 15k.

Let's hope they are less though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Why would someone put something like that on Twitter?? Social media is a virus.

If it helps them, so be it, maybe they don't have much other support. Let her be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

When was the last time we had a ministerial address under the broadcasting act? 2008?

The 2010 bailout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Panrich

I can’t get my head around the 15k cases by the end of the month. It took Italy 16 days to go from 300-15000 and they’ve been the fastest.