Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Economic ruin certain. We'll be back into the 1950s after this. A lost decade coming up. We'll have to borrow billions and pay it back jig time. Taxes up, services cut. Recession. I doubt the foreign multinationals will stay or be able too to be honest. Pretty apocalyptic actually, there are no bright lights from this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Great speech but do not agree with that €30 per phonecall for GPs. That's way too much for very little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

To all those that voted shinner and wanted Mary who.that was some speech by Leo and I wouldn’t be his biggest fan.fair play to him and I hope the people of Ireland will think of it the next time we vote.dont be hoodwinked by shysters and con men.look at what Boris and trump are and are doing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

statesaver wrote: »
    I agree but 15000 cases by the end of March ???? That would mean 1000's over the next weeks
    Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Btw it was a very good speech but this 15,000 by the end of the month number will scare people. That was my point. I realise that it's good to be upfront with people but surely there a better way to convey that message without giving a number. That was my point.

They HAVE to scare people to keep it at 15k. If people don't have cop on, it will be worse, quicker, and more people will die as a result.

This really isn't a scenario where they can afford to mollycoddle people, cause when they did, people ran to the pubs and thought it was a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

STB. wrote: »
    From modelling, Stephen.

He is pointing out there is a shít storm coming up and VERY soon.

Its is going to go on for months well into the summer.

Asking that older people cocoon themselves and gen public to social distance.

This is all about not overwhelming the limited health resources and ventilators that we have in Ireland.

The modeling doesn't seem to take any impact from the measures already put in place.

They've used the term flatten the curve and we're doing that but they wont be 30% per day say 3 or 4 weeks down the line if the measures being put in place are effective.

Like I said if its 15k that gives us the highest number of cases per capita in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

ArielAtom wrote: »
    I’m not a LEO fan, but that was, honest l, concise and did not sugar coat it. He was short of saying a complete lockdown, but he is being led by medical experts, led by Dr Tony Holohan. Stop sharing bull**** and listen to the experts. Well done Leo.

+1, not a fan of Leo but good speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 smallfryy

I'm no fan of Leo nor Fine Gael but he is a fantastic speaker. His speeches are not only well written but his delivery is clear and genuine. I do think he is handling this all really well. Political preferences aside, he doesn't have an easy job right now. I know I couldn't do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Just maybe people might take things more seriously?

Also, older people may not be gorging on online media in relation to it. It may not be news to most of us but the older people may not be like that and it gives them a good status of where we are now and where we are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

So much back seat moderating now

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Btw it was a very good speech but this 15,000 by the end of the month number will scare people. That was my point. I realise that it's good to be upfront with people but surely there a better way to convey that message without giving a number. That was my point.

There isn't actually.

Unfortunately there are still idiots out there playing this down, ignoring the social distancing advice and generally being a gob****e with no thought for anyone but themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Well done Leo, serious stuff.

Feels like we're at war, which I guess we are in a way.

Yes, we are at war. Nothing new in it but was fine but no De Valera.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

skimpydoo wrote: »
    You got to hand it to Leo he said it as it is and said the truth. Would you rather have Boris or Trump in charge? I know I wouldn't and I am no fan of Leo.

Trumps press conference today was excellent IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,497 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Quite emotional type speech in parts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Mr.S wrote: »
    100% agree. I used to be glued to it / the guardian live-ticker etc and now just check it in the evening. Much better mentally. Turned off the RTE / BBC push notifications on mobile.

Same. Had the day off today and spent it with my 4y/o making jewellery, building Lego and dressing up, barely any phone. Quick skim of the news at 8 and watched the speech. Feeling a lot lighter than the last week. Maybe just accepted this is happening, and what happens, will happen.

Side note, 4y/o had a transplant, so if it wasn’t clear already, wash your ****ing hands everyone and keep your distance. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Apocalypse vibes getting scary . I wonder how long airport will stay open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Id assume he means 15000 cases approx.

I doubt we will have that many tests done by then.

Good speech though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Fair play,that's the spirit we want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

Head, neck, shoulders and torso above anything from Trump, the so called leader of the free world. Hope that the foreign press broadcast Varadker’s message of solitary with the rest of the world.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Juwwi wrote: »
    GP's charging the government €30 per phone call ,, ffs that's a disgrace talk about taking the piss

This! WTF. We are talking about everyone that can help, helping. But €30 a phone call which, and I am only guessing, will take a few minutes. There is something not right about this.

Happy to be slated, but I would have thought emergency legislation mandating doctors to do a free few calls would have been reasonable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Mr. Blobby could have delivered that speech and the nation would have rallied behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Shaz is looking well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Shame, he never showed this passion before.
    Feck sake if they hold an election tomorrow I'd be tempted to vote for him.

Few weeks ago he was the only person on the ballot I didn't give a preference to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,600 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Syncpolice wrote: »
    If they don't wear capes what do the wear?

Tiara's

CYcT.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Any fcuker that was sending them 11am Tuesday morning shut down messages on what’s app needs to be blasted into space for the greater good.
    Wafflers the lot of them.
    Where are ye now aswell as yere “sources”.
    Idiotic fools in need of tin foil hats all round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

ixoy wrote: »
    The people you meet in the City Centre don't necessarily represent all of Ireland though. Give people some credit.

Exactly, the city has been dead for the last few days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Feck sake if they hold an election tomorrow I'd be tempted to vote for him.

Few weeks ago he was the only person on the ballot I didn't give a preference to.

Politics on hold I'd say for months. What happens after - would suggest another election would be the best thing. We will be entering deep recession, or depression, serious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭tigger123

Leo did well there, fair play to him. Difficult speech to give in difficult times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

He scared the life out of my parents anyway, the mother is in bits. Hopefully everyone falls in line now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

The modeling doesn't seem to take any impact from the measures already put in place.

They've used the term flatten the curve and we're doing that but they wont be 30% per day say 3 or 4 weeks down the line if the measures being put in place are effective.

Like I said if its 15k that gives us the highest number of cases per capita in the world

Underpromise and overdeliver maybe?

Also, per capita doesn’t matter. The virus doesn’t know the population and adjust rate of transmission. If anything, it just means places like US will be dealing with this for far longer as it takes longer to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,253 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Not very often I give Leo or FG credit, but he came across really well tonight.

Practical sensible advice and very clear message to the country.

Well done Leo.