CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Stheno wrote: »
    He's laying it on thick here.
    looksee wrote: »
    I don't have enough feckin broadband to get the broadcast on rte. Can anyone tell me what is happening?

I find him particularly patronising tonight. He actually used the sentence "Not all heroes wear capes". Seriously.

A rake of condescending clichés, as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭kingshankly

The contrast in compassion from Leo compared to boris and trump is vast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

That's it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

And with that he was gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I was expecting all non food shops and public transport to be locked down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Well done Leo. Great display of leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

So my ill conceived and badly thought out plan would be as follows.
    Country including airports goes into a lockdown expect for critical front line staff.
    A third of all healthy people including some frontline staff between 0 and 60 are packed off to hotels, barracks etc. Some people with the covid 19 virus are introduced, everyone shakes hands, cough, sniffle etc. until everyone has the virus, they stay there for 2 weeks until they recover. They can then go back to work, open shops, play sport. Over the next 4 weeks, the other 2/3 of the population under 60 are infected and recover. Normal life resumes. You would carry out a risk assessment on the rest of the population and infect those who are lower risk and who are willing. The remainder are given care to prevent them picking up the virus. Country back to normal by May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Yeah people are scared and you aren't helping Leo.

Ok, Have to ask, what the fück do you want him to say and/or do?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Excellent speech IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Leo did a really good job there showed good leadership!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mr.S wrote: »
    Shoutout to the boards.ie thread!
    In fairness he has a point...I haven't been on this thread most of the day...all the better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

He did quite well. I don't rate him myself but he couldn't do much more in an address

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,038 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Good speech from Leo. Why are some disappointed that there’s “nothing new”?? He’s checking in with the nation on our most culturally significant day. It’s important to keep engaged. Not gonna lie I nearly cried when he described the elderly as “our most precious”.
    He’s doing a good job.

Agree 100%. The mention of our most precious hit me like a tonne of bricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

wtf was the point of that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

Gardai, fire, and emergency medical services will be unavailable until tomorrow morning at 7 A.M, when the Purge concludes. May God be with you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,906 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Powerful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

public transport will not be shut down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Leo has tested positive

Anything to be said for immediately and permanently banning people who post unsubstantiated or fake news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,128 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This 15000 figure is looking quite likely...

Serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Was there much need for a TV address, given he said nothing new?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Was that it ? Chilling speech

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I was expecting him to show off his socks but that was some speech I must admit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

New Home wrote: »
    I find him particularly patronising tonight. He actually used the sentence "Not all heroes wear capes". Seriously.

He seriously didn't say that did he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

NSAman wrote: »
    That's it?

What were you expecting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Excellent speech IMHO.

He's top class with speeches - a shambles with a lot of the other stuff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,956 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

mcgucc22 wrote: »
    Gardai, fire, and emergency medical services will be unavailable until tomorrow morning at 7 A.M, when the Purge concludes. May God be with you all.

Oh cut the crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

No, this is a generalised motivational speech. Most of us are already imbued with common sense Leo. We need hard statistics.

My experience in Dublin city centre over the past few days would suggest otherwise unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭brevity

I liked it. He did well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

New Home wrote: »

What's condescending about that? Looks like you had your opinion made already and are just trying to fit something into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Are people actually giving out??

Seems they are disappointed there isn't a lockdown.

No excitement for them.