Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

You were probably served by a grade a drama queen.they are thriving in this environment.
    did he seem like he was doing you a huge favour in a life and death kind of way by just serving you?
    You had right to tell the drama queen that if the bar codes were proving difficult to scan,he should politely ask the deli staff to put them on carefully so they don’t get squashed and prove difficult for the drama queen to scan.
    It’s not like the customer is running a marathon relay between the deli and the till and using the roll as the baton.
    As for the card you should have told the boll1x that cash is king and he could take it or leave it.leave the price of the goods on the counter in cash and walk off with the produce,adding a “happy st Patrick’s day you gobsh1te” as you left the shop.a 2 finger salute may also accompany the above well meanings.

You sir are no doctor !

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Wibbs wrote: »
    The BIG difference is that western style farming methods massively reduce the chances of a viral outbreak, including in places like the Far East where they practice them(the wild animal wet markets aren't just a Chinese thing). If we didn't have East Asian wet markets(and other dubious practices like housing pigs and fowl in close proximity) we wouldn't have nearly the number of yearly influenza outbreaks, or SARS or Bird Flu, or Swine flu, HIV wouldn't be a thing either(African bush meat). That's before we get to the unreal savage medieval cruelty going on in such places, or the very real threat to endangered species in those areas.

So no, I'm sorry some sense of western fair play moral equivalence can feck right off when it comes to a bunch of primitives who want pangolin and civet cat for din dins.

Meanwhile the EU wants to open up beef markets to a country that's literally levelling the Amazon rain forest as we speak, takes 4 times more carbon to produce a kilo than we do, pumps their pigs full of growth hormones, ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Maybe organizing an economy around a philosophy that permits and rewards massive hoarding of wealth by a handful of billionaires and mega-corporations actually ISN'T the greatest idea humans have come up with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Honestly, what do people get from the above “5000 cases in Madrid”, we know the situation, we know it’s highly contagious but we also know a small fraction of these people will end up suffering, let alone dying, I get it, we are living in epochal changing times, but I just feel this constant updates of cases emanating from Italy, now Spain, misses the point and sort of trivializes what’s happening.

What’s important is the hospitals are able to cope. Sadly people will die even if they can cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Would you pay to go on a flight with those odds?

If there was a country still open for business, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Just went into Londis on parkgate street

Get a roll made, picked up a drink and a snack

Guy on the till wouldn't pick up any product to scan it and made me clear up the barcodes so he could scan from a distance. Also made it a point I pay with card.

Bit OTT and arrogant if you ask me.

Arrogant because of the way he went about it "stretch out the barcode for me, I like my health I'm sure you do too" being a condescending prick

Id be making my own rolls and sandwiches for the next...erm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭Wombatman

pH wrote: »
    Closing schools has nothing to do with the 'flatten the curve' policy the Dutch are following - the measures you mention are designed to mitigate the spread not halt it.

What? Don't get what you are saying her? Closing schools is not about reducing the spread? Am....... yes it is.

BluePlanet wrote: »
    Maybe organizing an economy around a philosophy that permits and rewards massive hoarding of wealth by a handful of billionaires and mega-corporations actually ISN'T the greatest idea humans have come up with?

In reality the nature of humans came up with this idea , it was unconscious

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Yeah it sounds like he just want's an excuse to be a prick

Maybe he is scared stiff because he has to go out and work but has someone at high risk at home.

Jaysus, what part of passing this on do people still not get??

Also, why are you buying and eating food that is being prepared on site and not in sealed packaging - brave or clueless??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭jackboy

As for the card you should have told the boll1x that cash is king and he could take it or leave it.leave the price of the goods on the counter in cash and walk off with the produce,adding a “happy st Patrick’s day you gobsh1te” as you left the shop.a 2 finger salute may also accompany the above well meanings.

It’s just typical for jobs where there is some power. Till workers are Gods now. It won’t last forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Fair point but each time you change strategies in your pension fund you are buying and selling

Now isn’t necessarily the time to change strategy’s. Depends on the person and the pension but in many cases changing nothing is the smart move. I’m actually going to get more aggressive and invest in global equities because a wise man ( Warren Buffet) said you buy when people are selling and sell when everybody’s buying. It seems completely counter intuitive right now, but that’s what a smart investor will do (after of course doing a proper financial review and factoring in their appetite for risk).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    One thing I am genuinely worried about is the impact of this crisis on mental health. We already had quite high suicide rates.

Job losses, pub closures (only social outlet for many), cooped up inside is an absolute cocktail for disaster for those already struggling.

Have the Govt mentioned anything around increased mental health supports? It's something worth thinking about.
    I'll lay bets the mental health of the countries affected will go up, not down. This has been shown during other crisises, war, famine, nasty regimes. It seems when people have something to actually focus on worrying about they feel less depressed over time. Extended periods of comfort seem to leave us more vulnerable to mental health issues.

Almost akin to the body's immune system(bear with me..). When the body is kept away from germs because of over sterilisation of the environment allergies tend to go up. As if the immune system needs to fight something. I'd be of the opinion that mental health is similar. If we live "sterilised" mental lives our mind's "immune system" needing to fight something will cause an "allergic reaction" in the form of some mental health issues. Put it another way: In teh west we have never had so many therapies and avenues and acceptance of mental health issues, yet the rate of mental health issues has gone steadily up(though suicide is coming down from a 90's peak IIRC). That's very much at odds with every other health issue where there are more effective therapies and therapists and the expected result is the rate of illness goes down and cures go up.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

Bannasidhe wrote: »

It doesn't matter what houses cost if people can't afford to live in them.

But we will have to see a moderate recovery begin when we are out the other side of this, and property will need to be bought and rented in order for economics to start rolling again.

Who is shooting the breeze?

We have been discussing economics of this for pages and pages now, does a drop in house prices not naturally come into the discussion therefore?

Thanks for your answer by the way to my pretty normal and civil question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

What do you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭IQO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Wibbs wrote: »
    The BIG difference is that western style farming methods massively reduce the chances of a viral outbreak, including in places like the Far East where they practice them(the wild animal wet markets aren't just a Chinese thing). If we didn't have East Asian wet markets(and other dubious practices like housing pigs and fowl in close proximity) we wouldn't have nearly the number of yearly influenza outbreaks, or SARS or Bird Flu, or Swine flu, HIV wouldn't be a thing either(African bush meat). That's before we get to the unreal savage medieval cruelty going on in such places, or the very real threat to endangered species in those areas.

So no, I'm sorry some sense of western fair play moral equivalence can feck right off when it comes to a bunch of primitives who want pangolin and civet cat for din dins.

You know swine flu also started in the U.S., right?
    In Kansas.. With western standards. Again, I agree with good hygiene practises being enforced everywhere.. But even that is no guarantee..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ger Roe wrote: »
    Maybe he is scared stiff because he has to go out and work but has someone at high risk at home.

Jaysus, what part of passing this on do people still not get??
    A lot of people are dumb/ignorant/self centred[delete as applicable]

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Adiboo wrote: »
    Smart if you ask me. Perhaps he has someone vulnerable at home.

It’s not smart. It’s an ignorant act and they’re inventing more idiotic rules as they go along.
    If he’s that worried he should stay at home and let someone else do the job.
    What’s next?nurses shouting across the room at patient’s about how to self inject because they don’t want to go near them?
    Doctors looking at people with a telescope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

walshb wrote: »
    Euro 2020 gone till next year.

Tokyo 2020. That surely can’t go ahead?

Euro 2020 was postponed to facilitate the completion of European league seasons and UEFA club competitions

Olympics are not scheduled to start until late July so unlikely a decision would be made this early. Although if qualifying tournaments continue to remain postponed in May and June you could probably begin to put 2+2 together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭andy125

You were probably served by a grade a drama queen.they are thriving in this environment.
    did he seem like he was doing you a huge favour in a life and death kind of way by just serving you?
    You had right to tell the drama queen that if the bar codes were proving difficult to scan,he should politely ask the deli staff to put them on carefully so they don’t get squashed and prove difficult for the drama queen to scan.
    It’s not like the customer is running a marathon relay between the deli and the till and using the roll as the baton.

The joys of working in retail, treated like crap because some customers think they are beneath them, humans are such assholes

I just went for a run, on the street a guy wearing a face mask with three obviously rabid dogs on leases crossed the street away from me and the direction is was coming from !! I wanted to grab him and force him to stay on my side of the street I was that offended that he was protecting himself from me with three clearly rabid dogs !!

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Long term the current economic system is unsustainable because of this. With every increase in technology, the number of people the planet is capable of sustaining increases. Having a small group of people hoarding an ever increasing share of the planet's resources simply won't wash.

Even some of those right at the top of this pyramid scheme recognise it can't work and want governments to raises taxes on their wealth. Bill Gates: "I’ve paid over $10 billion in taxes. … I’ve paid more than anyone in taxes, but I’m glad to — if I’d had to pay $20 billion, it’s fine".

Also: https://www.cnbc.com/2020/01/03/bill-gates-americas-tax-system-is-not-fair.html

Drumpot wrote: »
    Now isn’t necessarily the time to change strategy’s. Depends on the person and the pension but in many cases changing nothing is the smart move. I’m actually going to get more aggressive and invest in global equities because a wise man ( Warren Buffet) said you buy when people are selling and sell when everybody’s buying. It seems completely counter intuitive right now, but that’s what a smart investor will do (after of course doing a proper financial review and factoring in their appetite for risk).

I will wait don’t want to make the wrong decision just yet :pac:

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭jamesf85

wakka12 wrote: »
    Almost 5000 cases in Madrid alone now

Just a quick question. How many people are infected with the flu in say a city like Madrid at any one time?

These infection numbers mean very little when we don't know the overall number.

5000 infected sounds huge if mortality rate is 3.5%.

But what if there's 200,000 infected and there are 175 deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

I just went for a run, on the street a guy wearing a face mask with three obviously rabid dogs on leases crossed the street away from me and the direction is was coming from !! I wanted to grab him and force him to stay on my side of the street I was that offended that he was protecting himself from me with three clearly rabid dogs !!

This did not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Honestly, what do people get from the above “5000 cases in Madrid”, we know the situation, we know it’s highly contagious but we also know a small fraction of these people will end up suffering, let alone dying, I get it, we are living in epochal changing times, but I just feel this constant updates of cases emanating from Italy, now Spain, misses the point and sort of trivializes what’s happening.

What’s important is the hospitals are able to cope. Sadly people will die even if they can cope.

We get information. My impression was that this was the point of this thread... or is it just for people to moan about da gubberment or tell us all how many people there are in the Aldi in Rathmines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

ITman88 wrote: »
    What do you suggest?
    Massive redistribution and a supranational corporation tax regime.

This did not happen.

How am I meant to know which dogs are sick?!

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

andy125 wrote: »
    The joys of working in retail, treated like crap because some customers think they are beneath them, humans are such assholes

Nonsense.
    It’s the customer that’s being treated badly.
    It’s like the whole “don’t tell a person to do a job you aren’t willing to do yourself” motto.if they can’t do the job without added drama stay at home and let someone else do it.

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    You know swine flu also started in the U.S., right?
    In Kansas.. With western standards. Again, I agree with good hygiene practises being enforced everywhere.. But even that is no guarantee..
    It isn't but it kicked off in Kansas before current farming practices were in play. I'd point the finger at current US battery farming practices too. Not just in pigs, but pigs are a very dodgy reservoir for animal/human viral jumps. If I had my way I'd remove pork from the world menu. However mixing pigs with birds.. That's a grenade with an unknown fuse time and the pin out.