Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Tesla3

So who else has made a will as a result of the virus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    Cant believe the stupidity going on in Sneem right now.

Full of travellers, stalls, horses etc..

What is sneem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,549 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

What is sneem

Kerry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Tesla3 wrote: »
    So who else has made a will as a result of the virus?

What?
    Ah here Gluck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,481 ✭✭✭✭walshb

A law unto themselves?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭moonlighting_1

Inside intensive care unit: Italy fights coronavirus outbreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

If anyone knows any confirmed cases, your nation has a duty for you right now, go down there and start coughing

One thing IV noticed is how quiet sinn Fein are gone. It's almost like they don't want to be making any decisions . I Wonder why. Could it possibly be that they won't be popular decisions.

Petty point-scoring doesn't enter into the equation during a national crisis. Leave aside trivial differences and work together for the common good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

If anyone knows any confirmed cases, your nation has a duty for you right now, go down there and start coughing

Naughty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

mikel97 wrote: »
    Yeays

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

Requires refresh maybe every day.

Sorry, i meany in the Irish (HSE) updates. I only recall them giving figures for positive cases, but no info on recovered cases.

MD1990 wrote: »
    this has potential to bad as bad as the spamish flu.

Dont think that is an overreaction now.

It qualifies as an overreaction. Modern medicine and treatment have moved on considerably from over a century ago.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

wakka12 wrote: »
    Cases in the US approaching 5000 now
    I suspect America is going to be a bloodbath. :( Their healthcare set up is simply not up for this kinda thing, not without a lot of changes.
    ITman88 wrote: »
    The world has got much bigger
    Temporarily. It WILL bounce back and I'll lay bets now the speed of that bounce back will surprise the naysayers. We've bounced back from much much worse as a species. Hell, look at Germany in 1945. Utterly fooked. Millions dead, a generation lost, cities pulverised. My own father and an uncle saw it first hand just after the shooting stopped and they couldn't believe how any society could possibly recover. Fast forward twenty years... Same went for much of war torn Europe.

Plus what look like and are horrible disasters to live through, the survivors pretty much always end up living in better societies after it passes. Put it another way, without the Black death we wouldn't have modern society we cherish today. It directly impacted class mobility, workers rights, the reformation, the enlightenment and a host of other drivers of the modern world. And the Black Death made the very worst of the possible outcomes of Covid look like a pleasant picnic in the sun. With cake and ginger beer.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Cinemas, restaurants, airlines, gyms, so many things are about to go bust. The days of cheap travel are over I think. So many industries are gone, even trying to bring them back will take a long time.

Europe and indeed most of the world experienced a massive economic boom shortly after WW2 that lasted for a couple of decades, there will no doubt be job losses and businesses will have to close, but i believe a vast majority of those businesses will re-open quickly and the jobs will follow.
    All the "stuff" these businesses supply to the public will be in demand again when the worst of this passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,280 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    You can't compare the world of 100 years ago to the world now.

Spanish flu had been allowed to spread unchecked and unacknowledged by officialdom as it was deemed bad for moral - that's why it's called the 'Spanish' flu, Spain wasn't involved in WWI so the press there wrote about it.

It occured during a time when the continent of Europe was literally devastated by war, the countries who had been involved in that war were economically on their knees (bar the USA), and given the medical knowledge at the time treating casualties of a mechanised war was beyond the skill set of most medics - never mind combatting a virus.

Large groups of people were moved around the globe en mass - and untested. We are talking cruise ship amounts not plane full amounts as troops were sent home. Literally whole armies returning from infected areas then spreading across their home country.

If we had the same 'world' now as then Covid 19 would be running unchecked too.

We are far more globalised now. The amount of people Ryanair moves in a day is probably more than were moved in the whole of WW1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Antares35 wrote: »
    Italy implememented lockdown mesures before Spain though? Or perhaps not

Yes.
    Italy closed schools at approx 2700 positive cases on 4 March - in lockdown nationawide already for about a week now
    Spain closed them (initially in Madrid and Basque Country) at approx 1200 cases on 9 March- in lockdown since this week-end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Discodog wrote: »
    I don't see the Ibuprofen question as ****housery. From what I read the French report was based on a genuine study & it made sense to me. If you are fine with Paracetamol then why use Ibuprofen ?

The criticism of the posts seems to forget that they weren't internet rumours or gossip. There is genuine research behind them.

“I would advise against that,” said Prof Ian Jones, a virologist at the University of Reading. “There’s good scientific evidence for ibuprofen aggravating the condition or prolonging it. That recommendation needs to be updated.”

Paul Little, a professor of primary care research at the University of Southampton, said: “The general feeling is that the French advice is fairly sensible. There is now a sizeable literature from case control studies in several countries that prolonged illness or the complications of respiratory infections may be more common when non-steroidal anti-inflammatories [NSAIDs] are used.”

https://www.bmj.com/content/347/bmj.f6041

Original French source for NSAID/ibuprofen/Nurofen effects on severity (Le Figaro; use Google translate).

https://www.lefigaro.fr/sciences/coronavirus-alerte-sur-l-ibuprofene-et-autres-anti-inflammatoires-20200314

Real-time observational evidence takes a while to meet 'proper' evidence threshold and make it into official guidance. This virus was only discovered in December.

Self-medicating with the over-the-counter drugs that people have been stockpiling will do nothing to 'cure' them of the virus or improve their survival chances (in the unlikely event that an individual has severe infection).

Self-medicating, based on this French evidence, may cause harm to infected people.

Fever is a symptom, not a disease. Any self-medicating advice from health professionals such as 'take paracetamol' is purely to relieve discomfort. https://www.health.harvard.edu/diseases-and-conditions/fever-in-adults2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Don't worry about them, I am in Spain myself and things are grand, people quite responsible keeping distance etc in shops.

Shops aren't packed either and panic buying seems to have died down.

They are better off here than in Ireland...

Thank you, this means a lot to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,640 ✭✭✭Talisman

I think contact tracing is only a token gesture. Take the cases in cootehill where 30 fellas decided it was a good idea to go to Newcastle on a stag the weekend before last. They came back and drank for another few days in different pubs. How could they trace everyone they were in contact with. The main pub they were drinking in got a deep clean but that's about it. Someone who lives there was telling me the town virtually shut itself down as noone wanted to go near it
    Mobile phones ping the cell towers regularly. Using this data it's possible to triangulate the location of an individual and also identify the other mobile devices which were in the vicinity at the time. The President of University of Limerick was volunteering the services of their institution to perform such analysis last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭venusdoom

For those who are pregnant, the HSE have advice on their website for pregnant women to contact their GPs or midwife if they have a high temperature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The virus also has the potential to kill more people than WWII

But you don't care.

The coming recession has the potential to kill more people than the virus.

Don't go thinking about that too much though or you might get dizzy and fall off your high-horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

We are going the same way Italy are going with our failure to impose stricter lock downs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

One thing IV noticed is how quiet sinn Fein are gone. It's almost like they don't want to be making any decisions . I Wonder why. Could it possibly be that they won't be popular decisions.

They're not in government???

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Talisman wrote: »
    Mobile phones ping the cell towers regularly. Using this data it's possible to triangulate the location of an individual and also identify the other mobile devices which were in the vicinity at the time. The President of University of Limerick was volunteering the services of their institution to perform such analysis last week.
    Actually yeah T, bloody good point. Today modern tech has made contact tracing very much viable as a tool.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭fits

Wibbs wrote: »
    Sounds sensible alright D, especially if paracetamol is right there as an alternative.

Though a question I'd have - and it may be a daft one - if you're feverish that's your body's built in response evolved over millions of years to kill pathogens, so why seek to reduce that? Obviously if it gets to dangerous temps yeah, but otherwise is it not better to let the fever do the job it evolved to do?

This confuses me also. I asked a medical friend and they said anti pyretics make patient more comfortable while body fights infection. I’m not convinced though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭auspicious

Then in benidorm you have English holiday makers chanting we've got the virus as they taunt the police. Should just have beaten them off the streets and onto a cattle ship or something

A trio lads from an ethnic minority were standing in view of traffic in Longford Town joyously hand shaking and hugging each other repeatedly. Obviously giving the middle finger to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Xertz wrote: »
    Well it’s a point. Nobody walked to Italy from China. Effectively any major or even minor airport connects us to a vast global network and humans travel - a lot. Being an island might help if you’re being invaded by an army, but nobody intentionally infected anyone. This happened entirely by accident. Those carrying it were unaware.

Know we now (from genomic data) that the virus was introduced early in Europe, with early cases in the Netherlands and Germany which appear to have been the main gateways thanks to the busy airport hubs.
    There was also a death in Valencia on the 13 February.
    The cases in Italy originated from the Bavaria outbreak at the end of January.

See for NL
    https://nextstrain.org/ncov/2020-03-...ry=Netherlands

and for Germany
    https://nextstrain.org/ncov/2020-03-...ountry=Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Hooked

auspicious wrote: »
    A trio lads from an ethnic minority were standing in view of traffic in Longford Town joyously hand shaking and hugging each other repeatedly. Obviously giving the middle finger to society.

They’ve been giving society the middle finger since the dawn of time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

They're not in government???

Has never stopped them before.

FG must be gutted an election is'nt coming up, think they'd do well (well better than they did) based on how they have dealt with this to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Tootsie_1

They cant make decisions they aren't in Government... now is not the time for them to be having a go at FG , they are doing what they should be and letting them get on with it. I voted SF and never thought Id say this but I am reassured at how this is being handled Simon H & Simon C. Leo not really up to much being out shun by Coveney IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Petty point-scoring doesn't enter into the equation during a national crisis. Leave aside trivial differences and work together for the common good.

One thing that annoys me is people talking about the government right now - it doesn't matter what they did in the past, it doesn't matter who is in charge, ultimately what we have seen is that Dr. Tony and the crew are making the decisions, and it's really good to see them taking the questions etc - because I feel this removes the political side of things.

It's not the time to talking about funding cuts to hospital and that's why we don't have beds, or that nurses/doctors should get paid more. that's a distraction and just not worth reporting about right now.

This is a time for everyone in society to pull together and help everyone get out of this current situation.

It's actually really great to see so many people helping out in different ways - whether it's sports clubs bringing food for the elderly, or people offering to help mind children of front line service people. As a society we are in this together - everyone of us' actions can impact how bad this gets.

We are lucky as a nation that we are a small country - people will look out for each other, and make sure we are ok.

I also feel that the media should start focusing more on the positives - for mental health and anxiety reasons - doom and gloom day in day out won't help people - talk about the people who make the recoveries, talk about the good that is happening in society - highlight for instance the people helping the front line staff etc.