Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

I note all the mental health advice is directed towards families.
    I live alone and I'm nearly afraid to talk to myself in case I catch something

Pipe down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

The_Brood wrote: »
    What the absolute hell is happening. How are the cases exploding like this. How is this even possible. This is spiraling into the biggest crisis the modern world has ever faced, thinking about the wipeout to the economy.
    Guess you must have missed the maths chapter on exponential growth rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

greenpilot wrote: »
    Good for you. Hope it lasts for you. I was let go today. 4 kids in the house. Mortgage. Whole business on the go 30 years closed for good. We must be the other guys then.

Wow - what kind of business is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Good for you. Hope it lasts for you. I was let go today. 4 kids in the house. Mortgage. Whole business on the go 30 years closed for good. We must be the other guys then.

You can apply for emergency social welfare online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Jesus. I'm terrible sorry to hear that. Why does it have to close for good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭downburst

Remember, there are people out there that are as dangerous as Covid 19 itself. These are the a*s3 scratchers who for all the world a lot won’t change. No idea of economics and the effort people deploy all their lives from start to finish. These people are incapable of organising making the bed. How good is it it reading their rants on here. Simple process to follow. Fair treatment of workers now temporarily redundant, but ready at a seconds notice to do their bit, and good community spirit and dedication to our individual tasks will get us through this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

I'm talking about the people who are giving the impression that we have any choice in the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

obi604 wrote: »
    I know there is loads of stuff on WhatsApp and ‘heard from a reliable source’ and the neighbours cats first cousins owner works in the guards and all this guff.

However, do the educated people on here think it’s a matter of ‘when’ and not ‘of’ that we go in to a way more strict lockdown scenario?

One would think we have the cop to know this is deadly serious and fatal for lots of people you know - alas plenty of gobsh*tes who don't give a f*ck

Even keeping social interaction to a minimum reduces the risk of infection drastically.

Problem I see here is if the new cases stay fairly low and deaths don't drastically increase everyone starts thinking ahh jaysus this isn't that bad at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Is that genuine?

Dunno but it's breaking from a few different sources

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0166354220301145

Interestingly the UK banned the export of chloroquine in Feb....stock piling incase?

'As of February 26, 2020, the UK government has added chloroquine to the list of medicines that cannot be parallel exported from the UK. Chloroquine was never on this list before. This likely happened because of the growing body of evidence of chloroquine’s effectiveness against coronavirus.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

LaFuton wrote: »
    had pleurisy this time last year. this will kill me. only 37.

Nobody can be sure of that even if they get it.

I guess that some posting here will die or become seriously ill as this progresses it could be you or it could be me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Wow - what kind of business is that?

We supply to the DIY trade. Or did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,088 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

LaFuton wrote: »
    had pleurisy this time last year. this will kill me. only 37.

I had it in January after bad flu in December and I'm asthmatic, I have had to venture out to collect medicine for myself and older relatives, wearing gloves, keeping a distance, wrapping up well etc., sometimes it is hard to completely isolate yourself away alone when you help with family and friends all with underlying illnesses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,930 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Kauto wrote: »
    Testing is a waste of resources. If you have symptoms, assume you have it and do the necessary. Testing is a load of bollix.

Mother of god, the ignorance around this is unreal really, totally depressing that poeple like you exist and think you are contributing something uselful :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,024 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Jesus. Keep strong buddy for yourself and your family. This will blow over and we WILL come out the other side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Bojo:

Best way to let poor people / old people exterminate themselves is keep the pubs open and let them think there is a conspiracy to keep them at home.

I'm so disgusted by the post earlier regarding crohn's disease ... I'm a nurse on the frontline. I have congenital heart disease. I cant be bothered trawling through the posts but to the poster that made that comment ....I have no words ...in times like these why the need ?

Thank You and Take Care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

We supply to the DIY trade. Or did.

Really, sorry to hear that. I was just thinking earlier that DIY would become a popular pastime over the next few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Small sample size but everyone I know that got the flu vaccine got the flu.

They pick the 4 strains that they predict will be most prevalent that year and put them in the vaccine.
    I think they get it right about 45% of the time. Still more than enough to save many lives.

Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson have left hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,333 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Dunno but it's breaking from a few different sources

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0166354220301145

Interestingly the UK banned the export of chloroquine in Feb....stock piling incase?

One reason I'm optimistic long term is that the virus can surely be beaten back.

It came out of nowhere and has been running riot for the last two months, purely because it had the element of surprise on its side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I wish they would just lock the place down. I was in town today, half the cafe's and restaurants closed, hardley much open only a few shops and pennys and the amount of people just hanging out in groups, standing around shops and loitering around the place. So many groups of teenagers around the place and kids running around the supermarket. It was like the Summer holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Sorry to hear that, total horror.
    I’m lucky to still be working but if that changes I’m f€&ked, big time!!

It doesn’t bear thinking about the economic effects for families, I wish you all the best.

I'm sorry to hear that, I hope once this is over you find a new job quick and that any social benefit payment is arranged fast for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

China early with their update - 21 new confirmed cases (20 imported), 13 new deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭fishy_fishy

bekker wrote: »
    May I suggest you do a bit more in depth research based on fewer assumptions.

Which is fair, but definitely wasn't flu.

Just interesting to see the timing coincide with what had been niggling for others too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Really, sorry to here that. I was just thinking earlier that DIY would become a popular pastime over the next few months.

I'm afraid not. Those already let go, the 130,000 or so, will not be able to afford it. I can tell you folks Now, there is an even bigger disaster coming down the tracks any day. If one of the big groups, such as Grafton, who own Woodies and Chadwicks among others, closes, the domino effect will be crushing. You would not believe the number of associated companies which will go if they go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,728 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

91%2BSKMlrbhL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭threeball

I wish they would just lock the place down. I was in town today, half the cafe's and restaurants closed, hardley much open only a few shops and pennys and the amount of people just hanging out in groups, standing around shops and loitering around the place. So many groups of teenagers around the place and kids running around the supermarket. It was like the Summer holidays.

Don't interact with them and you're unlikely to get it. They will be in the 80% that do. What do you think a complete lockdown will achieve. The vast majority are staying at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Too many gangs of teenagers running around in groups up to no good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

A hospital in Brescia (one of the hardest-hit regions in Italy) ran out of ICU valves and the supply chain was broken. A local company brought a 3D printer to the hospital, redesigned & produced the valves in 6 hours resulting in the many lives of Covid-19 patients

The end product :
    valvole-lonati.jpg
    link

KUDOS !!!
    isinova-3d-print-e1584221514939-780x470.jpg

Article