Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Why?

Seriously this isn't personal.

Its medical advice.

From Beasty.
    A reminder to everyone

It is against site rules to seek or offer any medical advice. Please do not post here about your symptoms asking what to do. Contact your doctor by telephone and they can advise you as appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

saabsaab wrote: »
    Well his father was a doctor and his mother a nurse.

My father was a mechanic. I can barely open the bonnet on my own car.

I note all the mental health advice is directed towards families.
    I live alone and I'm nearly afraid to talk to myself in case I catch something

Practice good hand washing.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Ladybird18 wrote: »
    My father was a mechanic. I can barely open the bonnet on my own car.

It's called the boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Lundstram wrote: »
    Jesus?

Brian? he's a naughty boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

From Beasty.

As I said apologies if I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭Speak Now

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I think they should give locations

Counties or Eircodes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Some of ye are living in a different planet altogether with your talk of not leaving the house. As far as I can see the majority of us are still going to work everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

fritzelly wrote: »
    It's called the boot

The bonnet not at the front and the boot at the back?
    See what I mean!? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

adox wrote: »
    Claire finishing with the “please follow protocols and advise”. All well and good but it sounds like she has followed some dodgy advice from her GP, self isolation and ordering a test because she has shown symptoms of a cold.

Is Claire getting tested asap or will she have to wait longer as she had mild symptoms (more cold symptoms)

I'm a bit behind on CB but Baz was interviewing a doctor in the bar a few days ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

adox wrote: »
    People with symptoms that may indicate they have the virus are the ones that should be tested as per instructions from the HSE and government.

Testing is a waste of resources. If you have symptoms, assume you have it and do the necessary. Testing is a load of bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Did anyone see Dr. Hilary Jones on TV earlier stating that Ireland will be in bother as we do not have a health service. What an ignoramus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

had pleurisy this time last year. this will kill me. only 37.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

fritzelly wrote: »
    Flu vaccine isnt 100% guaranteed to protect you from flu

Small sample size but everyone I know that got the flu vaccine got the flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,161 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Since they told us not to touch our eyes, nose or mouth my face has got very itchy.
    Has this happened to anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Trump calls coronvirus the 'Chinese Virus' as he vows to protect American businesses including airlines from the economic fallout from the crisis

The blame has shifted for the US administration, this could lead to worse, he may start saying it was a biological weapon against in trade war

Well funny you should say that.

I did read a conspiracy theory earlier which suggested as much.

The West is in free fall, China is doing pretty well...or so the theory goes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

dharma200 wrote: »
    I am not quite sure if you understand a virus has a shelf life.

Yes, same as other corona viruses or flues, once it peaks, it does not have the rate that it may have had.

This is not perpetual and we will see many more of these, but different strains in our lifetime imho.

Did you get your H1n1 vaccine recently?

I am not quite sure you understand what I’m saying.
    China gears back up and the lockdown is lifted, workers get infected again. We are back to square one.
    You say once it peaks it does not have the same rate, that depends on two things,
    1 people can’t be reinfected due to developing immunity. We don’t know the answer to this, there are reports from China and Japan of re infections.
    2 China locked Wuhan the epicentre down. This curtailed the spread massively, hence if it kicked off again with new infections, would they catch it in time? Possibly?

Who’s to say this is not perpetual? Until a vaccine is created there is no natural immunity.

Last question: what are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭obi604

I know there is loads of stuff on WhatsApp and ‘heard from a reliable source’ and the neighbours cats first cousins owner works in the guards and all this guff.

However, do the educated people on here think it’s a matter of ‘when’ and not ‘if’ that we go in to a way more strict lockdown scenario?

As I said apologies if I'm wrong.

Ok then we don't need this it seems.:D

pillory_stocks.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Speak Now wrote: »
    Counties or Eircodes?

The room used for isolation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

sonofenoch wrote: »
    A treatment for Malaria is showing favorable results for this virus, and readily available too apparently

https://docs.google.com/document/d/e/2PACX-1vTi-g18ftNZUMRAj2SwRPodtscFio7bJ7GdNgbJAGbdfF67WuRJB3ZsidgpidB2eocFHAVjIL-7deJ7/pub
    Is that genuine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

From Beasty.
    He wasn't offering medical advice that somebody asked for, he was drawing their attention to specific medical advice about Crohn's disease as given by all governments to indicate that what he said about Simon Harris being at greater risk was true.
    bantee wrote: »
    It plainly says that immunosuppressed people are at risk for increased complications with covid19.
    Phibsboro wrote: »
    The main treatment for chrohns are immuno suppressants, and they in turn are one of the at-risk categories for COVID-19.

https://www.crohnsandcolitis.org.uk/news/coronavirus-covid-19-advice
    This information is correct, and just because you or a loved one has the disease, it doesn't give you some sort of licence to dismiss the reality of the danger faced by immunosuppressed people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

I too live alone and obsessively wash my hands when I sneeze.......... and then realise am I worried about giving myself the virus ... that I must already have 🀣🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I might not help anyone but feel free to pm for a chat ;) anyone please do, we are all in this together, all worried and scaried

Small sample size but everyone I know that got the flu vaccine got the flu.

Was a nasty strain this year - luckily didn't get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

sonofenoch wrote: »
    A treatment for Malaria is showing favorable results for this virus, and readily available too apparently

https://docs.google.com/document/d/e/2PACX-1vTi-g18ftNZUMRAj2SwRPodtscFio7bJ7GdNgbJAGbdfF67WuRJB3ZsidgpidB2eocFHAVjIL-7deJ7/pub

Why aren't these being administered. They have said they have other treatments too but are they actually treating people with them? That's what I find odd. Why aren't they using them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,674 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

NIMAN wrote: »
    I'm thinking she isn't self isolating, just pretending to be to explain what people will have to do.

If she was it would be plastered all over the rte and indo websites.

All these radio/tv ones are broadcasting from home. Djs on today FM are doing it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

I'm so disgusted by the post earlier regarding crohn's disease ... I'm a nurse on the frontline. I have congenital heart disease. I cant be bothered trawling through the posts but to the poster that made that comment ....I have no words ...in times like these why the need ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Some of ye are living in a different planet altogether with your talk of not leaving the house. As far as I can see the majority of us are still going to work everyday.

Good for you. Hope it lasts for you. I was let go today. 4 kids in the house. Mortgage. Whole business on the go 30 years closed for good. We must be the other guys then.