Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Approximately 700 are dying per day because of this virus. At least that's the rate of the past two days.

If you were to replicate over the next 365 days (as there surely will be no vaccine still) that would leave approximately leave 250,000 dead.

Again it's important to remember the 2009 flu pandemic killed 150,000-575,000 worldwide and AIDS killed 32 million in the 20th century. So deaths wise this isn't anything we've not seen before. The problem is unlike all those other pandemics the economic fallout is going to be much much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Cuckoo7

pH wrote: »
    That's hardly 'packed'. And it looks spotlessly clean - good job Madrid Metro!

I'm sure you you could have take a very similar picture on the LUAS or DART this morning, what's your point?
    Was it you who posted an old pic of Madrid Metro and pretended it was taken today?
    Because that’s what I’m referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,723 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Trying to watch Claire Byrne, but fkn ell if that RTE player isn't bloody shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

owlbethere wrote: »
    That looks like pig on a spit. It's different.

Bat is disgusting. Bats are wild, they fly and swoop and carry disease.

The pigs would fly too if they had wings.:D

Also pork is full of tapeworm eggs.

flying-pig-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Toolman Tim retired.
    Tim the Toolman Taylor.

Get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭radiotrickster

splinter65 wrote: »
    She can certainly go to see her family if she’s terribly upset but it will depend on wether the UK is accepting any visitors from abroad at that stage and even if they are id certainly hope that at that stage we won’t accept her return.
    Sometimes all your wants can’t be met.

Thanks for this. They were meant to go back last weekend too but didn’t. I guess with Mother’s Day coming up, it’s a tough few weeks to be away for them.

I’ve been thinking for weeks that the airports should shut so it’s very mixed feelings in our house!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Claire could be in the dog house.

Naughty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

The 20,000 returning from Spain by Thursday is gonna be interesting to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭tigger123

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Good man Simon Harris when talking about mortgage payments, loans etc

"The people of the country were very good to the banks. They need to show some cop on and help people out"

He was very, very strong on how the banks need to step up. Fair play to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

"The people of the country were very good to the banks. They need to show some cop on and help people out"

Reaction from the Rothschild bankers:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Lundstram wrote: »
    Tim the Toolman Taylor.

Get it right.

Ah Christ I must have Altimers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

Only tuning into CB live now, why is she away from the studio?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Simon Harris is not s good man. He is a man who still only holds his job due to this crisis.

He was a failure before this crisis and will continue to be a failure throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭phobia2011

Must say, I’m happy with the response of our government good to see them taking it serious and being proactive, thank fcuk we don’t have Borris manning the wheel!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Shn99 wrote: »

WFH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭tigger123

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Simon Harris is not s good man. He is a man who still only holds his job due to this crisis.

He was a failure before this crisis and will continue to be a failure throughout.

He holds his job because the next government hasnt been formed yet. Nothing to do with Covid 19.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

If she's in isolation who's behind the camera.

Do you need a camera operator for a camera that does not move?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

is_that_so wrote: »
    They'll be up to over 30 test centres by the end of the week or early next week.

I think every city and large county town should have at least one of those drive thru testing centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,622 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Just off camera in shed

o-BDSM-570.jpg?7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,788 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

What’s Biddy from Glenroe aka Mary McEvoy doing on RTÉ discussing COVID ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Are people not able to spend a few weeks at home without seeing their friends? Seriously, they all have phones now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

She's in self isolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Lundstram wrote: »
    Harris speaking very well. He's not sparing the banks anyway.

He has been bloody amazing today. Both in the press briefer and that interview. No BS, fully informed and gives clear, consise and straight answers while pulling no punches. He has been everything you would want in the current situation. Well done to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

namloc1980 wrote: »
    She's in self isolation.

Christ, was she a close contact of the canteen worker in the donnybrook studio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭jos28

Have to agree with other posters about Simon Harris tonight. He was very clear, concise and compassionate. On a personal level he must be exhausted, I would not want his job for any amount of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

See 'Search this thread above' , enter Claire Byrne.

This is a general comment, not aimed at you specifically.

She's in isolation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Blueshoe wrote: »

Ok. Helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

The largest economy in the world shut it's self down for 2 months to fight a virus that largely kills the elderly, and it would appear to be winning that fight, they posted a lower infection rate today than we did despit them no doubt testing thousands more people.
    We in the western world are too selfish to do the same, we love our sky sports and a few jars on the weekend to much.

You'll be an old man one day too.

Not to mention long-term respiratory damage to many survivors.
    Uncertain as of yet about percentages.
    Some patients who recovered from Covid-19 have suffered reduced lung function and now experience problems such as gasping for air when walking quickly, Hong Kong’s Hospital Authority has revealed.
    The authority released its findings on Thursday after observing the first group of discharged coronavirus patients.
    The city has so far recorded 131 confirmed cases of Covid-19, including three fatalities. Of them, 74 patients have been discharged while one probable coronavirus case has also recovered.
    Dr Owen Tsang Tak-yin, medical director of the authority’s Infectious Disease Centre at Princess Margaret Hospital in Kwai Chung, said doctors had already seen around a dozen discharged patients in follow-up appointments. Two to three were unable to do things as they had in the past.

“They gasp if they walk a bit more quickly,” Tsang told a media briefing on Thursday. “Some patients might have around a drop of 20 to 30 per cent in lung function [after recovery].”
    Tsang, who also heads an authority task force on the clinical management of infection, said these patients would undergo tests to determine how much lung function they still had. Physiotherapy would also be arranged to strengthen their lungs.
    A review of lung scans of nine infected patients at Princess Margaret found patterns similar to frosted glass in all of them, suggesting there was organ damage.