Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

So basically we are switching to the herd immunity approach then.

No, no lockdown for the moment but Holahan said he expects most people to play ball with social distancing most of the time, which should be enough to slow the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

MastiffMrs wrote: »
    Was wondering about Mullingar also, considered to be the east?
    Did they announce that cluster of 16 to be anywhere specific?
    Will be interesting to see the county numbers eventually.

When the HSE say East they mean anywhere from Laois to Monaghan.
    When they South they mean anywhere from Wexford to Kerry.

It's a very broad generalisation which I feel doesn't paint an accurate picture for a lot of people when they here where these infections are.

Map-of-Ireland-showing-the-four-administrative-areas-of-the-Health-Service-Executive.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

dougm1970 wrote: »
    quoting myself ^^
    lad hasnt been seen today...telling me, via messenger, that hes in a lot of pain....head, stomach, throat...his mother took his temp earlier at 39.1....and he has a constant dry sore cough.
    he tried to get up for a shower earlier and had to go back to bed.
    he hasnt been eating either.
    g.p. said horse the paracetamols into him and wait for virus tester to come.
    be tomorrow now...but hes very uncomfortable.
    wonder if worth bothering a caredoc with, or just wait it out ?

again...could be something totally unrelated to the virus.....just the fact he has them symptoms this week with all thats going on, and that hes never sick..fit as a hare he is.

Good luck, hope he gets better soon.

Keep an eye on the breathing. That would be the main indicator I'd have thought as to whether you need to take things further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,333 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Will we lock down or continie the madness?

We're nearly in lockdown already. I wouldn't be overly hung up on some dramatic announcement.....we're nearly there already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,778 ✭✭✭threeball

[/B]
    Will we lock down or continue the madness?

Seriously, read the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

bilston wrote: »
    One thing I've noticed about Italy's new case numbers is that they are dropping as a proportion of the overall cases there. Now I'm aware case numbers are an increasingly unreliable figure...however they are hopefully reflective of an overall trend.

As of now, there are 24,747 confirmed cases in Italy, today there were an additional 3,590 cases confirmed. That means 14.5% of cases in Italy are new today.

Five days ago the percentage of new cases was 18.6%, it has gradually gone down each day since, with the exception of yesterday where it increased to 16.6% before going down again back to where it was on Saturday. It's hopefully going to be a common trend as the tough social distancing rules take effect.
    I think you can see "slowdowns" in the four highest now, very clearly in the case of China, flattening for S Korea and slightly slowing for both Iran and Italy. It'll all be useful data for other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

**** this. So its ok to go to work in an office of hundreds but dont have a pint whatever you do. ****ing laughable logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭RogerThis

Going by Leo's 30% increase per day, 38 days to go before everyone in Ireland getting it.

Date|Total|New Cases|Percent Change
    02-Mar|1|1|100%
    03-Mar|2|1|100%
    04-Mar|6|4|200%
    05-Mar|13|7|117%
    06-Mar|18|5|38%
    07-Mar|19|1|6%
    08-Mar|21|2|11%
    09-Mar|24|3|14%
    10-Mar|34|10|42%
    11-Mar|43|9|26%
    12-Mar|70|27|63%
    13-Mar|90|20|29%
    14-Mar|129|39|43%
    15-Mar|169|40|31%
    16-Mar|223|54|32%
    17-Mar|290|67|30%
    18-Mar|377|87|30%
    19-Mar|490|113|30%
    20-Mar|637|147|30%
    21-Mar|828|191|30%
    22-Mar|1,076|248|30%
    23-Mar|1,399|323|30%
    24-Mar|1,819|420|30%
    25-Mar|2,365|546|30%
    26-Mar|3,074|709|30%
    27-Mar|3,997|922|30%
    28-Mar|5,195|1,199|30%
    29-Mar|6,754|1,559|30%
    30-Mar|8,780|2,026|30%
    31-Mar|11,414|2,634|30%
    01-Apr|14,839|3,424|30%
    02-Apr|19,290|4,452|30%
    03-Apr|25,078|5,787|30%
    04-Apr|32,601|7,523|30%
    05-Apr|42,381|9,780|30%
    06-Apr|55,095|12,714|30%
    07-Apr|71,624|16,529|30%
    08-Apr|93,111|21,487|30%
    09-Apr|121,045|27,933|30%
    10-Apr|157,358|36,313|30%
    11-Apr|204,565|47,207|30%
    12-Apr|265,935|61,370|30%
    13-Apr|345,715|79,780|30%
    14-Apr|449,430|103,715|30%
    15-Apr|584,259|134,829|30%
    16-Apr|759,537|175,278|30%
    17-Apr|987,398|227,861|30%
    18-Apr|1,283,617|296,219|30%
    19-Apr|1,668,702|385,085|30%
    20-Apr|2,169,313|500,611|30%
    21-Apr|2,820,107|650,794|30%
    22-Apr|3,666,139|846,032|30%
    23-Apr|4,765,980|1,099,842|30%

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

fritzelly wrote: »
    Leo/Tony

Leo said 30% today. And the figure was around 30%.
    Now do you think Leo drew up some charts and formulae to come up with that figure or with him being taoiseach and all that someone might have told him the new cases amount?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

dougm1970 wrote: »
    quoting myself ^^
    lad hasnt been seen today...telling me, via messenger, that hes in a lot of pain....head, stomach, throat...his mother took his temp earlier at 39.1....and he has a constant dry sore cough.
    he tried to get up for a shower earlier and had to go back to bed.
    he hasnt been eating either.
    g.p. said horse the paracetamols into him and wait for virus tester to come.
    be tomorrow now...but hes very uncomfortable.
    wonder if worth bothering a caredoc with, or just wait it out ?

again...could be something totally unrelated to the virus.....just the fact he has them symptoms this week with all thats going on, and that hes never sick..fit as a hare he is.

It could be anything or nothing at all. Only one way to find out. Ring a caredoc and see what they say, let them make that call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

is_that_so wrote: »
    Actually he just said that they will only project out to next Sunday and up to 355 cases. Numbers after that may not be accurate.
    Strazdas wrote: »
    Not necessarily : viruses are hugely unpredictable and can hit a peak and then level off.
    If we went with the exponential growth theory, all 8bn people on the planet would get the virus within months.
    Yes, I know - I was just pointing out why saying a 30% increase isn't much is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    He along with the government in fairness have been doing a great job( I know some people won’t praise politicians regardless) but they are trying.

Yeah I have to agree. When you see the three boyos, Leo, Harris and Coveney lined up briefing the public, I feel happy and secure that we have such well informed, competent and dignified leaders who are calm and collected and engaging with the public. I haven’t always been complimentary of Leo and his decisions but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere in the world but here right now. They are so professional compared to the bumbling idiot that is Boris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

fritzelly wrote: »
    Not a great time to be a man - were all these skiing trips boys schools?

DccpjL7.jpg

Lot more women suffer with autoimmune disorders if I am right something to do with the x chromosome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Apologies if this has already been posted, but the UK has changed tack recently as their mitigation strategy could result in 250,000 deaths:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/alexwickham/coronavirus-uk-strategy-deaths#comments

Heard this on Sky News earlier. The reporter and the presenter were basically scundered as they read the report.

The conclusion is that the only way of stopping this is via a total lockdown until a vaccine becomes available which is next Spring and probably later.

I actually had to switch it off because I'll not lie, it gave me chills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

**** this. So its ok to go to work in an office of hundreds but dont have a pint whatever you do. ****ing laughable logic.
    Have you been living under a rock? Use the SD and hand-washing guidelines that's rammed down your neck every day and you'll be fine. Drunks in pubs are incapable of this hence why they're closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

RogerThis wrote: »
    Going by Leo's 30% increase per day, 38 days to go before everyone in Ireland getting it.

02-Mar|1|1|100%
    03-Mar|2|1|100%
    04-Mar|6|4|200%
    05-Mar|13|7|117%
    06-Mar|18|5|38%
    07-Mar|19|1|6%
    08-Mar|21|2|11%
    09-Mar|24|3|14%
    10-Mar|34|10|42%
    11-Mar|43|9|26%
    12-Mar|70|27|63%
    13-Mar|90|20|29%
    14-Mar|129|39|43%
    15-Mar|169|40|31%
    16-Mar|223|54|32%
    17-Mar|290|67|30%
    18-Mar|377|87|30%
    19-Mar|490|113|30%
    20-Mar|637|147|30%
    21-Mar|828|191|30%
    22-Mar|1,076|248|30%
    23-Mar|1,399|323|30%
    24-Mar|1,819|420|30%
    25-Mar|2,365|546|30%
    26-Mar|3,074|709|30%
    27-Mar|3,997|922|30%
    28-Mar|5,195|1,199|30%
    29-Mar|6,754|1,559|30%
    30-Mar|8,780|2,026|30%
    31-Mar|11,414|2,634|30%
    01-Apr|14,839|3,424|30%
    02-Apr|19,290|4,452|30%
    03-Apr|25,078|5,787|30%
    04-Apr|32,601|7,523|30%
    05-Apr|42,381|9,780|30%
    06-Apr|55,095|12,714|30%
    07-Apr|71,624|16,529|30%
    08-Apr|93,111|21,487|30%

You're not an idiot that gets me banned, but this is certainly the kind of thing an idiot would post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    We are very capable of adjusting and adapting. It's one of the strengths of being human.
    Look at how many people ARE self isolating.
    How many are prepared to lose financially to save lives.
    How many volunteering, coming back from retirement, working all hours to help strangers.
    The countries donating what they can to other countries to help.
    The businesses closing, to stop the virus even though they will lose the house but they love their elders more...

I think it's a Buddha quote that says the miracle of life is not the 2% of violent/selfcenterd people it's the 98% of ordinary humans who spend day after day improving the lives of their neighbours and people in general. In tiny little ways that never make any papers or news..

The irish excel at this. We are a warm hearted nation that will always put the vulnerable first. We have soul.

Ignore the idiots on boards trolling the opposite.
    They are the minority and only trolling cause they have nothing else to fill the void.

Níos luachmhaire ná ór na cineáltais a rinneamar. More valuable than gold are the kindnesses we have done.

Ni neart go cur le chéile. We are in this together. It's going to touch every person on this island in one way or another and only together will be come out stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭dmc17

Better logic to stop people working and open up the pubs again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

one feeds you the other is for the craic, priorities, would you be able to survive the other way around?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Yeah I have to agree. When you see the three boyos, Leo, Harris and Coveney lined up briefing the public, I feel happy and secure that we have such well informed, competent and dignified leaders who are calm and collected and engaging with the public. I haven’t always been complimentary of Leo and his decisions but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere in the world but here right now. They are so professional compared to the bumbling idiot that is Boris.

Speak to frontline healthcare workers. We are in serious trouble. They were overwhelmed before this even started. The lads mentioned above know we are up sh1t creek and very little can be done about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

What is your problem?

Essential economic stuff must carryon.

Fooking idiots on top of each other getting pissed is not needed.

What part of this do you not understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,778 ✭✭✭threeball

rodge123 wrote: »
    I'd imagine a good number of those 250 ICUs are taking up at any given time for non-covid related patients though?

ICU is a concept. Its just a bed with peripheral equipment. Add equipment and you get an extra bed. Health officials have said this can be ramped up if required. If we get the curve right we won't need to. This thing can go through the population in a matter of weeks if we manage it correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Nibs05

Seriously stop asking for medical help here, ask the doc on call, go to hse.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Level 5 Vegan

Drinking was banned in my office long before the coronavirus, don't see the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

pjohnson wrote: »
    If we copy Italy the economy is utterly fúcked anyway. The world economy is fùcked anyway. Just a question how many do we want to kill off.

Life is more important than economy.

Yes it is, until people are starving to death and a couple of wars kick off because the economy has fallen through a hole in the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,333 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

RogerThis wrote: »

02-Mar|1|1|100%
    03-Mar|2|1|100%
    04-Mar|6|4|200%
    05-Mar|13|7|117%
    06-Mar|18|5|38%
    07-Mar|19|1|6%
    08-Mar|21|2|11%
    09-Mar|24|3|14%
    10-Mar|34|10|42%
    11-Mar|43|9|26%
    12-Mar|70|27|63%
    13-Mar|90|20|29%
    14-Mar|129|39|43%
    15-Mar|169|40|31%
    16-Mar|223|54|32%
    17-Mar|290|67|30%
    18-Mar|377|87|30%
    19-Mar|490|113|30%
    20-Mar|637|147|30%
    21-Mar|828|191|30%
    22-Mar|1,076|248|30%
    23-Mar|1,399|323|30%
    24-Mar|1,819|420|30%
    25-Mar|2,365|546|30%
    26-Mar|3,074|709|30%
    27-Mar|3,997|922|30%
    28-Mar|5,195|1,199|30%
    29-Mar|6,754|1,559|30%
    30-Mar|8,780|2,026|30%
    31-Mar|11,414|2,634|30%
    01-Apr|14,839|3,424|30%
    02-Apr|19,290|4,452|30%
    03-Apr|25,078|5,787|30%
    04-Apr|32,601|7,523|30%
    05-Apr|42,381|9,780|30%
    06-Apr|55,095|12,714|30%
    07-Apr|71,624|16,529|30%
    08-Apr|93,111|21,487|30%

In theory yes, but viruses are hugely unpredictable. They can grow at a ferocious rate but suddenly level off (perhaps running out of suitable people to infect.....many people have excellent immune systems and many more might even be somehow immune to the virus).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭millb

The Belly wrote: »

Unreal if that is still the case... did HSE put in orders? Or are we waiting 7 weeks lead-time (due in May) for imported units?

New ventilators should be "smart" enabled (ie like a Defib) which would / should be easy to monitor and operate. They will be needed at every clinic and probably on the black market too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

sdanseo wrote: »
    That's a very good number, by the way. Well under 3%.
    IF we can slow the speed of this to doubling every 5 days; AND keep that number under 3% then vents would last us until the last week in April (assuming an average time intubated of 7 days) - by which time we may be over the worst.
    Everyone who will need ICU won’t suddenly need it the moment they test positive. The people on ICU are part on and earlier group. Date related numbers would be much higher than 3%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭milhous

is_that_so wrote: »
    I think you can see "slowdowns" in the four highest now, very clearly in the case of China, flattening for S Korea and slightly slowing for both Iran and Italy. It'll all be useful data for other countries.

Would that be down to testing capacity though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

spookwoman wrote: »
    Lot more women suffer with autoimmune disorders if I am right something to do with the x chromosome

Yup. Women are generally less susceptible to infectious diseases, with the flipside of more autoimmune disorders.

I'd speculate - maybe unfairly - that at least in the early stages of this, among youngfellas there was probably less social pressure to do stuff like handwashing