Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭threeball

So basically we are switching to the herd immunity approach then.

We're not switching. It was always the plan, as it is elsewhere. The problem with UK is that they put no measures in place to control the rate of infection so the NHS will be swamped. We have 6 in ICU, they have 54 dead. Think about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

froog wrote: »
    i'm feeling less anxious today. i've just kind of come to terms with it. it will suck for a few weeks, probably even a few months then it will get better. china over the hump and i expect italy soon. our hump will come sooner then a lot of other countries it looks like and we can get it done with and get back to normality. and we will be mentally stronger after it.

I really really hope that’s somewhat true. My anxiety was through the roof at the weekend and I got out for a walk earlier and it was just good to get in the fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭redarmy

walshb wrote: »
    Serious?

yes but garda were in to close it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    We are very capable of adjusting and adapting. It's one of the strengths of being human.
    Look at how many people ARE self isolating.
    How many are prepared to lose financially to save lives.
    How many volunteering, coming back from retirement, working all hours to help strangers.
    The countries donating what they can to other countries to help.
    The businesses closing, to stop the virus even though they will lose the house but they love their elders more...

I think it's a Buddha quote that says the miracle of life is not the 2% of violent/selfcenterd people it's the 98% of ordinary humans who spend day after day improving the lives of their neighbours and people in general. In tiny little ways that never make any papers or news..

The irish excel at this. We are a warm hearted nation that will always put the vulnerable first. We have soul.

Ignore the idiots on boards trolling the opposite.
    They are the minority and only trolling cause they have nothing else to fill the void.
    Fantastic post and so true. We Irish excel during adversity.

In UK and US it seems it is a fcuk you once I'm ok policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,333 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

So basically we are switching to the herd immunity approach then.

Not at all. Varadkar says he is sceptical at the idea that total quarantine is necessary to quell the virus : he thinks radical social distancing (people out and about but zero contact with strangers) is just as effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    Ignore the idiots on boards trolling the opposite.
    They are the minority and only trolling cause they have nothing else to fill the void.

Kinda undermines your point about everyone being kind and caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

begbysback wrote: »
    Some perspective, 2% of Italy population currently have been diagnosed positive
    Wrong. It's actually less than 0.05%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭bilston

One thing I've noticed about Italy's new case numbers is that they are dropping as a proportion of the overall cases there. Now I'm aware case numbers are an increasingly unreliable figure...however they are hopefully reflective of an overall trend.

As of now, there are 24,747 confirmed cases in Italy, today there were an additional 3,590 cases confirmed. That means 14.5% of cases in Italy are new today.

Five days ago the percentage of new cases was 18.6%, it has gradually gone down each day since, with the exception of yesterday where it increased to 16.6% before going down again back to where it was on Saturday. It's hopefully going to be a common trend as the tough social distancing rules take effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

indough wrote: »
    It is the end for the people who die

Yes lots will die but overall the world will go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,750 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

con747 wrote: »
    Send me a link to the comedy college you went to.:)
    Let's see your medical degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

sdanseo wrote: »
    That's a very good number, by the way. Well under 3%.
    IF we can slow the speed of this and keep that number under 3% then vents would last us until the last week in April - by which time we may be over the worst.

The fact that the number of deaths and people in ICU hasn’t gone up while confirmed cases are growing is a good thing surely ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭dougm1970

dougm1970 wrote: »
    godson / nephew of mine...16...very sick today...sick since Saturday night but awful bad today....huge fever and coughing...dry cough too....seemingly someone coming out to test him today and it'll be two days for results
    a young fella whos never sick ..not a pick of fat on him.. does a lot of boxing and football.
    facetimed him there and was shocked how he looked, face swollen and sweaty...hes in bed and has no energy at all.

may not be it at all....but its just hes never sick and has these symptoms at this time.

his family have been told to self isolate.

quoting myself ^^
    lad hasnt been seen today...telling me, via messenger, that hes in a lot of pain....head, stomach, throat...his mother took his temp earlier at 39.1....and he has a constant dry sore cough.
    he tried to get up for a shower earlier and had to go back to bed.
    he hasnt been eating either.
    g.p. said horse the paracetamols into him and wait for virus tester to come.
    be tomorrow now...but hes very uncomfortable.
    wonder if worth bothering a caredoc with, or just wait it out ?

again...could be something totally unrelated to the virus.....just the fact he has them symptoms this week with all thats going on, and that hes never sick..fit as a hare he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Not a great time to be a man - were all these skiing trips boys schools?

DccpjL7.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

GolfNut33 wrote: »
    54 is about right for the 30% prejected increase per day. Should be about 70 tomorrow. These numbers are predicted and the measures we're taking now won't be seen for a week or two.

Who said 30%?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Will we lock down or continue the madness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Quite a significant move away from any lockdown talk tonight. Perhaps a realisation that it would potentially bankrupt the country! Hard to know who's right or wrong but a definite move away from severe measures bwing introduced...

Lockdown was only WhatsApp and friend of guy who knows a guy that's knows a soldier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭rodge123

Just to give some context. We have about 270 ICU beds, but many more ventilators than that. Every theatre has ventilators and there are many theatres around the country. The private sector has a large number also as they do lots of cardiac and major surgery in some institutions and they will all be available to us.

Staffing them won't be easy but we are a little better off than 250.

Also ordering more as commenced also.

I'd imagine a good number of those 250 ICUs are taking up at any given time for non-covid related patients though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

pjohnson wrote: »
    You tell your parents that?

I actually spoke very frankly to my mum (67 years old) about this virus and she texted the whole family this morning that she is self isolating for 2 weeks. Delighted for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Apologies if this has already been posted, but the UK has changed tack recently as their mitigation strategy could result in 250,000 deaths:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/alexwickham/coronavirus-uk-strategy-deaths#comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Will we lock down or continie the madness?
    A lockdown would be madness. No need for it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

pjohnson wrote: »
    You tell your parents that?

Yes I spoke about this to my 68 year old father earlier and he was in agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

I have a strange feeling knowing the Chinese will probably have a second wave of infections once they remove restrictions of movement

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

UK have changed their approach it seems after a 2 hour conferece today. I don't think we realize the severity of this. Looks like life will be alot different for 18 mths or so.

"We were expecting herd immunity to build. We now realise it’s not possible to cope with that. " - Prof Azra Ghani

Neil Ferguson:

"The only exit strategy is really vaccination or other forms of innovative technology."

We are going to be in lockdown for quite some time.

https://twitter.com/whippletom/status/1239619001522761728

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-nhs-doctor-warns-we-are-already-at-breaking-point-11958542?fbclid=IwAR3iNP192d-s8JCkcEAJxSqkBoDQeQIJG_SAw5f8u0rgOsW6McVxLeAVES0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Who said 30%?

Leo/Tony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

fritzelly wrote: »
    Dr Tony is coming across far better the past few days - more confident and at ease with the questions
    You say that every day, I think you fancy him ;)
    threeball wrote: »
    So answer my question then. Whats the endgame Chicken Licken
    I dunno what it is for you, I've already outlined my plan. Go get lung damage, do whatever you want.
    Gynoid wrote: »
    It is hardly fair to mock people who are on the more nervous side about this thing, given how 2 months ago most of us were fairly blasè and could not have foreseen things being the way they are now or could be as they are in Italy. While personally I would tend to cleave more towards the attitude you generally display, it is also allowed to leave some bit if room for the dreadful possibility that things might be ...FUBAR.
    I'm actually not going to bother getting excited anymore. If people don't want to take on board the likely outcomes I predict, that's their loss. By my own count, I've been correctly called out on one wrong point I posted throughout the entirety of all these threads and I threw up my hands and admitted it.

I've been ready for what's happening now since early January and I also feel ready to face the future sh!tshow that's coming. It's no coincidence that people who are only realising the seriousness of this are the ones coming on in the last week and replacing the ones who had been laughing at this thread a few weeks ago but since changed their minds and planned accordingly. The Irish are famous nowadays for being a nation of begrudgers, I genuinely pity people who aren't prepared but all I can do is try and get through to people who don't want to face reality. (see:Cheltenham gamblers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Who said 30%?

The Taoiseach today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

fritzelly wrote: »
    Not a great time to be a man -

or gender fluid....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,606 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Will we lock down or continie the madness?

no, according to rob316 a lockdown is an overreaction. we should just accept Elderly people will die from this and just get on with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Claire Byrne lives in a sauna

That’s why she’s hot.