Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭threeball

Mellor wrote: »
    Why is that holy crap?
    They’d be 33% of the population. If anything that’s better than a high % of +65 cases

Exactly, probably all the pub goers etc and that is people who are active but will no longer spread it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Strazdas wrote: »
    The Taoiseach did say he doesn't see any need for 'quarantine' : he anticipates people will be allowed leave their houses no matter what

Dr Holohan saying the exact same thing now

So basically we are switching to the herd immunity approach then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

The Netherlands also go for herd immunity
    (while saying that elderly and vulnerable will be protected)

"we must realize that it can take months or even longer to build group immunity, and during that time we need to shield people at greater risk as much as possible," Rutte said.

https://nltimes.nl/2020/03/16/im-counting-dutch-pm-asks-country-unite-fight-coronavirus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Can you imagine if you just bought a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭redarmy

Cabra house open for business this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,493 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

heres the best archive for all the hse briefings including today https://www.pscp.tv/rtenews/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,777 ✭✭✭threeball

you-live-heroes-ig-ranow-were-taking-ifunny-co-13854300.png

Tasteless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Has there been any breakdown of stats for community V directly imported cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The only way to fix the economy and the markets is that we win against the virus. There will be social upheaval and perhaps we can see more clearly what needs to fixed. Stronger health system, greener economy and a better security net.

People need to face facts here, people will die and people will survive. This isn't the end we will work through it.
    The world can't stop indefinitely to fight a virus that largely kills the elderly.

If it can't be controlled we will eventually have to look at the greater good and let it spread. Its going to be survival of the fittest unfortunately.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Can you imagine if you just bought a house

I know, I'd be so chuffed to have a new place to self isolate in, lucky feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,516 ✭✭✭✭walshb

redarmy wrote: »
    Cabra house open for business this evening

Serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Doctor told her as she has no symptoms they won't test her as test will Give a negative result unless she is symptomatic. Didn't know this, must be a limit of detection on the test.
    She may not have a negative result but since she doesn't have symtoms she may not need a test. But she should isolate for 2 weeks if she had contact with a case.

Its not a limitation of the test. Its the pathogenesis of the virus. It takes time for it to multiply. The viral load needs to be at a sufficient level to be detected.
    fisgon wrote:
    Doesn't sound right. Idris Elba was on Twitter, said he had tested positive but had no symptoms. He got tested because he was in contact with someone who later turned out to be infected.
    Necro wrote:
    Said on Newstalk this morning that asymptomatic people will test negative but can still spread the virus.
    Asymptomatic people can have a positive test result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

54 not too bad. We've got this.

On March 4th we had one.

30% increase each day is a doubling every 3 days by the weekend we are looking at 600 and 1'200 by about Tuesday next week.

150'000 extra people on the dole this is a major disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

No..

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,093 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Necro wrote: »
    Said on Newstalk this morning that asymptomatic people will test negative but can still spread the virus.

If anyone has been in contact, self isolate for the 14 days. If you develop symptoms contact your GP.

The waiting would kill you, not knowing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

walshb wrote: »
    Serious?

Video doing the rounds, guards have shut it down apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭blackcard

Shn99 wrote: »
    Id hate to be in his position, fair play to him

I don't envy anyone making decisions which are life and death decisions and decisions affecting the livelihood of every single person in the country. At the end of the day, some of these decisions are going to be based on guesswork and it is very unlikely that the decisions are going to be perfect. I think that there are a huge amount of people who will not get a good night's sleep for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Quite a significant move away from any lockdown talk tonight. Perhaps a realisation that it would potentially bankrupt the country! Hard to know who's right or wrong but a definite move away from severe measures bwing introduced...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,305 ✭✭✭con747

I feel safe in the hands of these lads tbh. They know what they're doing.

Send me a link to the comedy college you went to.:)

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Brexit is the east of anyones worries at the moment

Yes but at some point in the future it will be again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,045 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

rob316 wrote: »
    People need to face facts here, people will die and people will survive. This isn't the end we will work through it.
    The world can't stop indefinitely to fight a virus that largely kills the elderly.

If it can't be controlled we will eventually have to look at the greater good and let it spread. Its going to be survival of the fittest unfortunately.

You tell your parents that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,025 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

horgan_p wrote: »
    So are the numbers released each night allowing for people that have recovered ?

i.e. if 50 new cases, but 30 recover then its net +20 ?

For people who have serious or severe symptoms, the average recovery period is 31 days. Don't hold your breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

No, we’re going the social distancing approach and trusting people to follow it. You’re fierce wound up on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Has there been any breakdown of stats for community V directly imported cases?

They were releasing them early on but not now (til the weekly report)
    The unknown factor is over double any known stats so nothing to be discerned yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭millb

Hopefully they'll be upping the ICU beds very quickly

It ain't about beds it's about ICU equipment.. in particular ... Ventilators.. they don't come with army beds....... Our ""planning"" has been to buy surplus UK and EU treatment & we have had minimal investment in public hospitals for many years ....(until the NCH)

Despite Trump's faults he tried to buy a German bio-tech .. cute move and thinking ahead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

rob316 wrote: »

It is the end for the people who die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,419 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Tormund Giantsbanehas has it. This guy survived a medieval zombie army. We're screwed :D

1503503945-syn-elm-1503486795-kristofer-hivju-as-tormund-got-1.jpg

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Claire Byrne lives in a sauna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

You can't lockdown the country indefinitely people are going to have to accept this is here and lots will die but the vast majority will survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Cuckoo7 wrote: »
    6 people in ICU? Did I hear right?
    is_that_so wrote: »
    Still only 6 in ICU, which is good news.
    6 patients in ICU.

That's a very good number, by the way. Well under 3%.
    IF we can slow the speed of this to doubling every 5 days; AND keep that number under 3% then vents would last us until the last week in April (assuming an average time intubated of 7 days) - by which time we may be over the worst.