Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users Posts: 7,550 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Selfish and the horsey set go hand in hand.

Unnecessary, and just plain wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,537 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just out of Aldi. I usually do weekly shop Thursday evening but it was a zoo so skipped it.

Busy but not manic at all.

Didn’t see one person panic buying. Small amount of loo roll on shelves but not loads.

Quite a few shelves still empty from yesterday’s rush and I heard staff saying that what is out is what the shop has, nothing in stores to go out.

No frozen veg or chips, not a sausage other than that vegan muck.

Plenty of meat, cheese, bread, alcohol, milk, butter, yougherts

No hand soap, hand steriliser, certain types of nappies, no eggs, no flour. No cat food

I was also very sick for a few days in December. Stayed in bed from a Thursday I think through to the Monday after and recovered pretty quickly after that.

It was really doing the rounds here. Loads of people were sick. (Vietnam)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

trellheim wrote: »
    I am mystified why people stock up on bread and milk... like... its going to go off in a few days you muppets

Not that hoarding is an acceptable tactic, but both bread and milk can be frozen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭KaneToad

appledrop wrote: »
    I'm wondering this aswell. We are very rarely sick in our house but this year we all had the real 'flu' at Christmas.

Never experienced the like of it ever before. We passed it on to each other in the family + couldnt get out of bed for days, could eat very little etc

We all lost weight for Christmas instead of putting it on!

I would 100% believe we had cornavirus except it was actually our son who got if first so maybe it was the flu.

Hard to know.

This post could have been written about my household too. The dates, the severity of the illness and the effect on the entire household . We'd never experienced an entire sick household before.

We also had visitors from the UK who were similarly affected after their overnight stay with us.

I am aware of confirmation bias but it seems interesting, nonetheless.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,897 ✭✭✭trellheim

I don't know anybody who stocked puleneother of these but people do freeze bread.
    Oh granted but it is very bulky for freezer space ... and it gets renewed daily !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

The death rate seem to be much higher for Corona than flu though, a factor of 10, this would have been noticed somewhere

Possibly mutated in some way to be a hell of a lot more dangerous now. Literally every second person i knew at around Xmas/turn of the year had a flu/cold of some type and in work we seen over a third of our employees out sick at one time between the 16th of December and Xmas.

All that said i'd give it little to no chance of being the same virus and more of a coincidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,109 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Usually do me weekly shop with Tesco online as i don't drive so its cheaper and easier.

Well not this week :pac:

Went to book a slot on Wednesday for Friday delivery nothing left but a few for Sunday......

So my shopping has been done and confirmed the last few days but i went back on to add one or two things this morning and see half my ****ing stuff is now currently out of stock.

This is just a normal weekly shop im not stock piling or any of that because i don't need to but ya i cant even get random things cause every second **** out there had to buy a ton of it!

Its not the end of the world yet :p but imagine you have very little money or your old and living on your own your ****ed basically because of a bunch of greedy stupid bastards

Sooner the better all shops start putting a limit on how much can be bought at a time because people cant just be rational about simple things.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The government need to send the army around to the supermarkets to take away the large trolleys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

I had a serious episode on 27th December. Spent the night on the couch sitting up as lying down was too painful. My throat was on fire almost volcano like.

What's the bet that I had Corona type virus then.

All this panic and lock down is too much to late.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,942 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The government need to send the army around to the supermarkets to take away the large trolleys.

Jesus no - the last time they took them away people tried shopping with diggers :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just on the general topic, do people not keep a decent stock of stuff at home regardless of the current scenario?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

There's going to be a serious amount of food wasted because of the numpties stockpiling.....

• Registered Users Posts: 27,134 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

dontpanic wrote: »
    That's only 50 confirmed cases - there could have been, say, one carrier in the shop today, and now 50 other people are carriers because they all decided to crowd themselves into the same place to panic buy, which completely defeats the plan to contain this.

Going to the shop next week with thousands of cases would probably be safer than today's mess as at least people would be on high hygiene alert.

70 odd cases now, another 26 overnight.
    It's almost like this pandemic is spreading over time...

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Obviously gambling's not much use in teaching risk assessment or nobody would have gone, but enjoy your word salad.
    Why, what happened? Did they all die?
    Are you just projecting a mass extinction based on zero reports of anyone who attended Cheltenham having or contracting the coronavirus?

"ënjoy your word salad"
    The first rule in a discussion is ... you abuse, you lose.
    It shows you can not prove your point so you give up and use abuse.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Selfish and the horsey set go hand in hand.
    You were banned for your comments on the Horse Racing forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭JoChervil

Yurt! wrote: »
    It's possible but surely the health services here or elsewhere would have twigged something was amiss.

Wuhan has 11 mln people, so it was much easier to spot. Also health services here were overwhelm with work to do anything more, I think...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭saabsaab

This came up on previous threads.

There was a bad dose going around a while before Christmas but it wasn't Covid-19. The labs would have picked up this on tests done by now if that was the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I think it's pretty harmful to be speculating that a load of people in Ireland have already had this and come through it just fine. Making people complacent is not really what we should be angling for.

Stark wrote: »
    I'm not a virology expert, but the impression I got from reports is they were able to identify the strain of flu (a H3N2 strain) responsible for the increase in cases and it was one that wasn't well covered by this season's vaccine.

In spite of popular opinion, I don't think our health service are that incompetent that they would fail to miss an entirely new virus that represented 25% of cases.

I don't think they are incompetent. There were no tests for corona available in December to check it...

RTE: Extra members of the (GARDA) force are to be deployed around businesses such as supermarkets and pharmacies to provide reassurance and support to business and the public.
    ... and to prevent fighting. :)

Wibbs wrote: »
    I had that dose or very similar around Christmas week/New years G. Came on with a sudden fever and chills, a few hours of a sore throat, body aches and then a hacking non productive cough with a bit of a crackling chest. No snots or blocked nose, bit of a headache(and I never get headaches, so might have been worse for others). Didn't feel like any other dose of cold/flu I've ever had. It lasted longer and was a bugger to shift. My lungs still haven't fully recovered even now(which has me personally concerned over Covid).

A couple of mates got it, one worse than me(I got it from him), his wife was really hit by it, got the hard to breath thing and needed antibiotics for a suspected secondary infection. They didn't seem to work but it went away in the end anyway. All have told me they've not got fully back to 100% even a few months in. Of my mate's kids only one seemed to get any symptoms and they were very mild.

There was a general thread on the usual winter doses here in AH and a large percentage reported similar symptoms and there was IIRC a link that said it was a coronavirus, which before this Covid thing kicked off wouldn't have raised any flags.

Set against all that though was the lack of a sudden spike in elderly people getting very ill and dying. Then again it is/was cold and flu season and our wards are full enough of elderly folks with and dying from pneumonia. I know someone through work whose dad passed away in early January and the cause was pneumonia(he'd been under the weather for a while and was in his 80's). Actually both my mum and dad died from pneumonia, both years apart of course and not recently. It's a very common cause of death in the old and/or infirm. I'm sure doctors would have spotted any sudden spike?

I'll say this much though; I'd bet if I and others had caught the same bug today and reported the symptoms there'd be a lot more WTF! and panic going on and we'd almost certainly be tested and told to self isolate and the serious ones like my mate's missus would likely have been asked to go to hospital.

Total and utter conjecture on my part here... What if that dose was an earlier "version" of the same or similar virus, but not nearly as aggressive, but the more aggressive one has followed on in a way that couldn't be missed?

But it was spotted. 25% hike in over 75 years old.

Sorry, I haven't noticed you already responded to it

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I went to Lidl in Maynooth this morning. Not too many people there but the few that were there couldn't get in the door quick enough. One guy was throwing stuff onto the belt even though there was only a few people in the queue. Still a lot of panic out there.

It must be really horrible to feel so scared. Genuinely so, I would hate to be like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,424 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

grayzer75 wrote: »
    There's going to be a serious amount of food wasted because of the numpties stockpiling.....

We normally do one big shop and get a few bits and pieces during the week in top up shops.
    We've a farm so we're at home a lot so we'd would be home a lot.
    Some people can be amazed at the amount of meat, fish, food we buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lonesomerhodes

RTE: Extra members of the (GARDA) force are to be deployed around businesses such as supermarkets and pharmacies to provide reassurance and support to business and the public.

Serious?. jaysus. End of days abounds.

I don't care of folk stocking up but Fear will these folk before any virus!

These folk need to keep in mind

Wibbs wrote: »
    as an addition to this, the 1918 Spanish flu followed this path. The first wave while a bad dose wasn't nearly so deadly, it was the second wave/mutation that killed millions(people who got the first dose appear to have had some immunity).

But these waves were a season apart.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,456 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Feisar wrote: »
    Just on the general topic, do people not keep a decent stock of stuff at home regardless of the current scenario?

Some do, some don't.
    In my house we literally shop from week to week and keep as few non-perishables as possible in the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Are these Templemore's half baked guards?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Feisar wrote: »

Apparently not from some posts here. We always did. Maybe they live on takeaways and tea

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

FFS. Yep, we're all in this together, except when shopping.