Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

If it was suggested by either the United Kingdom or the Ireland governments that people should not travel to England, then you would be right.

I have yet to hear the government's official advice about putting my hand into a fire. I should just assume that it is fine for me to do so.

Ffs. Personal responsibility.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    These people are the lowest of the low, societies losers so to say and that was before this crisis. I am and never would consider myself a FG voter but by christ if they announced these fools had to go into some form of quarantine camp for two weeks upon return to Ireland i'd be happy to consider giving them a vote in any future election.

I'd say the lowest of the low is people who come on a message board and call a large range of people the lowest of the low, "Societies losers" :D

Grow up and stop panicking and wetting the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

If it was suggested by either the United Kingdom or the Ireland governments that people should not travel to England, then you would be right.

I managed to decide to cancel my trip this weekend all on my own-i-o. Are people incapable of using their own initiative? Do you need babying? People have been wondering about the cancellation of Cheltenham for over a week now. People have been criticising it heavily for going ahead for over a week now. Nobody can plead ignorance on this.

TV series etc no not for years and years- unbelievable waste of time to me. Vicariously living through some actor on a TV screen?. Not for me.

Never looked at it that way to be honest. As someone who also does not own a TV or watch much - that reason would be the lowest on the list for me. If on the list at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

In that case why is this gene activating in them and not me or you or anyone *not* grabbing everything in sight? Are we less likely to survive?

Perhaps it IS a zombie virus but instead of an insatiable craving for brains they crave Kittensoft instead.

If I turn, please shoot me. I don't want to become one of them.

Probably because you judge the probabilities of things happening differently. Or maybe because you have less kids/dependants to feed. Or you don't suffer the same levels of anxiety as others.

Perhaps the man with the full trolley is buying for himself, the wife, 4 kids and his elderly parents.

There's many factors in all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Odd film in the cinema.

TV series etc no not for years and years- unbelievable waste of time to me. Vicariously living through some actor on a TV screen?. Not for me.

Ok, so what do you spend time doing?

Genuinely curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

God yeah - you don't even wanna get me started on Actifed! Actually does that still exist? Or did I just date myself?

Actifed still exists, well it did last week, it's probably sold out now...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The point is, there seems to be a very specific level of rage towards Cheltenham and Cheltenham only.

No mention of the fact that football is still going ahead. F1 is back and likely going ahead. People are still travelling on holidays etc. People are panic buying at supermarkets.

But I guess it’s only people at Cheltenham that will spread it...

Football going ahead is dumb, but what makes Cheltenham particularly dumb and people should have known better to travel, is that tens of thousands of people will be congregating for 5 days straight, all day long, huge amounts of grubby cash being passed around, then the ancillary brazzers, cocaine and p*ssups for the entire week. It was wreckless to let it go ahead, but it was also wreckless to travel to it.

Sorry not sorry if the betting shop types are upset with that assessment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Has the idiotic panic buying resumed today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Or if they suggested that mass gatherings be avoided?
    You can put whatever spin on it you like. The fact is it is contrary to basic public health advice and common sense and will increase the spread of this virus. If a bunch of gambling addicts and the sharks that feed on them don't care about that I'm not remotely surprised.
    As I said, there was no recommendation from either government. It was continue as usual.
    The UK moved from the "contain" to the "delay" phase in its fight against the spread of the coronavirus outbreak on 12 March i.e. yesterday.

I gamble. I am not an addict.
    You are assuming people who go horse racing are gambling addicts. Based on what evidence?
    Gambling can be useful in teaching risk assessment, a quality absent from much of the population as shown in the last financial crisis.
    Nothing was learned, and since then the US stock market increased in value in the last ten years to 4.5 times its 2009 value, and 50% above the value of their economy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It probably will. People with kids now off school will hit the "oh god what if we don't have enough and I heard it was mad busy yesterday. And we need 80 rolls of jacks paper. And half a ton of pasta for the fatties".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

He said the flight attendant had tried to get Van den Broek off his phone for ten minutes
    Job van den Broek
    With such a distinct name he will have some difficulties in the future when employers google him.
    But he had his fun and that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭elefant

I wouldn't go as far as to call them vermin or scum etc.

While it is 'only' money, it's a huge investment to a lot of people, and the highlight of their year. While you like to think that most people would be sensible enough to eat the cost of the flights/accommodation for the sake of public health, the reality is that it's obviously a tough decision when you're the one in that position.

Not to absolve them of personal responsibility, because I think most people knew last week that for the festival to be going ahead at all was reckless, but I would be placing the vast majority of the blame for this mind-boggling perseverance on the British government for not providing strong leadership on this.

I can imagine for things like insurance payouts that the festival organisers were placed in a terrible position by being left carrying the can all by themselves. They should have been given no option but to cancel the festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,473 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

mfceiling wrote: »
    So the guy on Primetime there who is in isolation in Italy but says the shops are still trading and you can buy your groceries must be lying?

My brother in law lives in Rome and says there's still plenty of fresh fruit and veg etc in the shops and markets.

There will be food...we are a nation of food exporters. Small bit of perspective is needed.

The availability of supplies isnt the issue, its going out and interacting with people who, as time goes on, are more and more likely to be infected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Yep. Queues outside my local supermarkets before they opened this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'm dyslexic, I thought it said picnic buying.

Anyone want to buy 500 hundred paper plates and plastic cutlery, a load of cocktail sausages and chicken wings ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Lundstram wrote: »
    Condemnation of those at Cheltenham is totally unfair. These people have planned, spent a lot of money and looked forward to their trip for a long time. Just because you've no interest in horse racing (like me) doesn't give you the right to critcise these people.

Criticise the respective governments for allowing it to go ahead.

The governments should be and are being criticised. But we all have individual responsibility to take measures to fight the spread of this virus for the common good of society. These people took no individual responsibility. They acted selfishly. "The government never told me not to" is a weak excuse when it comes to attending any non-essential social gatherings. I think the same of the football match crowd and those who went to Lewis Capaldi etc in the past week.

Genuinely think at this stage that those with anxiety should be encouraged not to access social media and only have access to HSE or government information.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Yep. Queues outside my local supermarkets before they opened this morning.

That's quite incredible. I just hope the supermarket staff get a nice bonus to have to put up with the stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭MOR316

I'm a hypocrite

Whilst I'm not condemning people who went to Cheltenham, I do think it was absolute madness to allow it to go ahead.
    Having said that, so long as The Donald doesn't stop it, I will be going to America in June, regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,076 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Guy is a fecking eejit. But at the same time no one is condemning the J1 visa types in their Hollister clothing who went to Italy knowing there was an outbreak and brought the virus into the country. All for Tinder and instagram likes. An elderly woman who most likely had never even left the country in her life has died because of these idiots.

She was already terminally il in hospital, I doubt the cornavirus had much impact as they didn't know she had it till she died especially since they weren't in her hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

God yeah - you don't even wanna get me started on Actifed!

Actually does that still exist? Or did I just date myself?
    You probably showed your age slightly. Next time, add the thing about Disprin in Coke, just for good measure. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭jacool

FFVII wrote: »
    Varadkar caused yesterday. Last minute shutdown.

Probably at least a week early to do what he did as well, infection rates were to low, as piss poor as the healthcare system is here, if no one has Corona how can hospitals become overwhelmed. Schools/creche shutdown seems ill advised.
    I believe intelligent adults can think for themselves and don't go rushing off just because Leo made a statement. Had he said nothing, we'd be hearing about him being over in New York ignoring the crisis!

As for schools/crèche closing, this is the best part of the plan.
    Children are the vectors of the disease - will pass it on to the rest of us. Closing schools nips this in the bud, as long as parents don't go and bring them all to Kidzone, Airtastic, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lonesomerhodes

FFVII wrote: »
    Ok, so what do you spend time doing?

Genuinely curious.

You can't think of things to do outside of TV?

I've very very little free time with work with the little one with commuting with having a small side business and trying to buy another small side business off someone etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

That's quite incredible. I just hope the supermarket staff get a nice bonus to have to put up with the stupidity.

They'll need therapy for PTSD from what I saw yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Heard there were large queues outside Lidl Ballina this morning at 8am.

People have zero sense when it comes to this panic buying. Many stores made statements last night that they will remain open, and will have plenty of stock. And yet, they continue.

I seen two videos yesterday of Tesco in Naas, with queues of trollies running the whole way around the shop. Its ridiculous carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Yep, car parks at Tesco already full at 7.45 this morning. Mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,320 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I'm dyslexic, I thought it said picnic buying.

Oh ffs, I'm after buying a **** load of baskets!

You probably showed your age slightly. Next time, add the thing about Disprin in Coke, just for good measure. ;)

Afraid Mentos in Coke is about as far towards the dark side as I ever got :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Scarlet42

LIDL in Sligo packed this morning .. people with full shopping trolleys at 9am! I got 4 fruit scones and 2 Pain Au chocolate .. not my usual Friday morning order .. but need to stock up on the essentials