Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lonesomerhodes

begbysback wrote: »
    Absolute nonsesne, idiotic behaviour of the highest order, if it was a case of you stockpiling food and it miraculously ran out in the shops do you think people would let you happily keep your stockpile?? :pac::pac: Your door would be kicked in my friend and you would be asked kindly to hand over the doughnuts and cornflakes :pac::pac:

The government have a lot to answer, but to act like selfish prik and blame the government is a level above ignorance.

Who's blaming the government entirely, not me!.

Door kicked in?. It's where a loaded double barrel shotgun comes in handy.

You can pretend all you want people will band 'together' like some hippie free for all in a time of crisis and chaos but we both deep down know different.Let's be honest.

When the chips are down, these so called civilised people will eat each other-Joker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

The only thing I couldn't get in Dunnes Cornelscourt yesterday was red lentils.

Bloody vegans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭dontpanic

You can pretend all you want people will band 'together' like some hippie free for all in a time of crisis and chaos but we both deep down know different.Let's be honest.

When the chips are down, these so called civilised people will eat each other-Joker

This is the point - DEEP, DEEP down in IMMINENT life or death situations you are probably right.

Schools closed for a few weeks is not a life or death situation. Not even the virus itself is guaranteed death.

That's not me downplaying the virus. It's me saying that the intrinsic NEED to survive is being triggered at a very shallow level.

Edit: My main point that I'm trying to get across is that this behaviour is driven by greed, not survival.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Ah here, are ye even thinking about what you're writing at all?

People are objecting because they don't like horse racing and not because of the pandemic of a highly contagious virus for which there is no vaccination or drug, and which kills?

"What business is it of yours what others do?" when what others do is very very much our business in certain respects at the moment.

"Just self isolate" - yeah just quit work.

"If you don't like it, don't watch it" - wtf? What does that have to do with fears around the spread of COVID-19?

The point is, there seems to be a very specific level of rage towards Cheltenham and Cheltenham only.

No mention of the fact that football is still going ahead. F1 is back and likely going ahead. People are still travelling on holidays etc. People are panic buying at supermarkets.

But I guess it’s only people at Cheltenham that will spread it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus. I’d say the inside of your head is great craic altogether...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

red_ken wrote: »
    Genuine question - if whipping doesn't hurt, why do jockeys sometimes get reprimanded for their use of the whip?
    Using the whip tells the horse to make effort.
    Now if the horse is trying his utmost asking him/her to increase the effort is not productive. It probably stresses the horse.
    The better jockeys might not use the whip at all, just urge the horse with hands and heels.

The words whip is imo a bad description of the short soft baton in use today.
    Whip conjures up images of sadism and masochism, and poor dumb animals being tortured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I bought as much as I could yesterday. Once I'm OK, I don't care if you starve.....
    (Tongue firmly in cheek, I haven't visited a supermarket since Saturday!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

These people are the lowest of the low, societies losers so to say and that was before this crisis. I am and never would consider myself a FG voter but by christ if they announced these fools had to go into some form of quarantine camp for two weeks upon return to Ireland i'd be happy to consider giving them a vote in any future election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

Firm association between people who watch too much tv and those seeing this as an end of the world apocalypse as seen in the exaggerated movies.

I would never expect people to act rationally, history shows this cant be depended upon, as there are many such types as yours, people wont band together, thats why shops have to take the initiative, or under our government instructions to restrict purchases to a reasonable amount to prevent people like yourself making a situation worse.

And a double barrel only holds 2 cartridges - if hungry people are knocking on your door the best of luck with that.

Those coming back from Spain are being asked to self-isolate by the HSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Lundstram wrote: »
    Condemnation of those at Cheltenham is totally unfair. These people have planned, spent a lot of money and looked forward to their trip for a long time. Just because you've no interest in horse racing (like me) doesn't give you the right to critcise these people.

Criticise the respective governments for allowing it to go ahead.
    ARE YOU SERIOUS?

No eggs in lidl yesterday but got usual supplies anyway

begbysback wrote: »
    Firm association between people who watch too much tv and those seeing this as an end of the world apocalypse as seen in the exaggerated movies.

I would never expect people to act rationally, history shows this cant be depended upon, as there are many such types as yours, people wont band together, thats why shops have to take the initiative, or under our government instructions to restrict purchases to a reasonable amount to prevent people like yourself making a situation worse.

And a double barrel only holds 2 cartridges - if hungry people are knocking on your door the best of luck with that.

I don't watch TV at all. Biggest waste or time ever. All time spent watching TV is time wasted.
    It's utter utter crap.In between the crap they sell you crap you don't need.Don't even have one actually!. Say you have 3/4 widescreens the house I'd imagine.

The assumptions that go on on these forums are often actually hilarious.

Yes I know a double barrel holds only two cartridges but I certainly wouldn't mess with anyone pointing one at me assuming it's empty?. You would?. Good luck with that yourself buddy!. :cool:

BanditLuke wrote: »
    These people are the lowest of the low, societies losers so to say and that was before this crisis. I am and never would consider myself a FG voter but by christ if they announced these fools had to go into some form of quarantine camp for two weeks upon return to Ireland i'd be happy to consider giving them a vote in any future election.
    BanditLuke
    The word banned is in bold on one of your many posts on the Horse Racing Cheltenham Coronavirus thread.
    My guess is you were banned for not following the charter i.e. you broke the rules.
    Perhaps standards are different in After Hours.

Everything you say in your above post is your opinion: "These people are the lowest of the low, societies losers"
    Have you any analysis, survey, government report to support this?
    I doubt Fianna Gael are too bothered that you might consider giving Fianna Gael one vote (no election called) if they change their policies to your policy.

Did everyone live to tell the tale thank to the OP's thread?

I went to Aldi last night and I honestly have no idea how I am going to eat the angle grinder which I bought as it was the only thing left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

ARE YOU SERIOUS?

How is this such a hard concept to grasp? They went to a country where the impact of the virus is not much more than ours per capita, under such conditions where people have spend large sums of money, and planned a year ahead it would most likely come down to cases where they ask themselves should they go, then its 50-50, and how can you blame them for reasoning that the racing was permitted to go ahead by authorities so it must be regarded as low risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Distribution amounts have been at Xmas levels for 2 weeks now believe it or not.

Varadkar caused yesterday. Last minute shutdown.

Probably at least a week early to do what he did as well, infection rates were to low, as piss poor as the healthcare system is here, if no one has Corona how can hospitals become overwhelmed. Schools/creche shutdown seems ill advised.

Stopping Group gatherings was done to late everywhere.

Serious lessons need to be learned for how badly this was dealt with everywhere, but that won't happen.

https://www.reddit.com/r/next****inglevel/comments/fhoie4/wuhan_residents_courageous_message_to_the_world/

Wuhan resident^

I dunno about validity of this as you really can't believe anything from China. Not a damn thing. Seriously messed up country.

Did the power mad few really kill tens of thousands (by the time this is finished) to keep their grip. The tech to do is there.

Certainly looks like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

You would have to laugh at all the people saying how “selfish” those who went to Cheltenham. Said like people who clearly haven’t a few thousand spent on a trip that they are looking forward to all year. People wouldn’t be half as fast if they had money spent themselves. This is nothing but a crowd of clowns wanting to complain about racing and gambling, utter tools.

I know lots of people who have cancelled holidays and lost lots of money. None of them really care because they’re not, ya know, cunts. My husband and I have both cancelled holidays and we don’t care about the money.

The people who travelled deserve all the ire they are receiving. No sympathy for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

I don't watch TV at all. Biggest waste or time ever. All time spent watching TV is time wasted.
    It's utter utter crap.In between the crap they sell you crap you don't need.Don't even have one actually!. Say you have 3/4 widescreens the house I'd imagine.

The assumptions that go on on these forums are often actually hilarious.

Yes I know a double barrel holds only two cartridges but I certainly wouldn't mess with anyone pointing one at me assuming it's empty?. You would?. Good luck with that yourself buddy!. :cool:
    You don't watch TV?

No TV series or movies?

Lads and lassies of Boards, here are a few pandemic tips:

DO:

Wash your hands regularly and avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth with your hands.

Read the WHO advice

AVOID:

Anyone who has the COVID19 or has been in contact with someone who has it.

Panic buying. It's stupid and helps no-one.

Large crowds of people, especially indoors.

Sinn Fein supporters.

The news and media. Seriously, you're just worrying yourself. Just check the WHO site regularly.

IF YOU GET COVID19:

Call your GP or 112 (999 if you're old school).

Self-isolate.

Remember that 96.5% of people who get the COVID19 will be fine eventually. Children, young adults and those who do not have immune disorders or other serious health problems (and are under the age of 60) will be fine too.

And remember to be nice to each other, even to strangers.

Thought it was a serious thread until Sinn Fein supporters are mentioned.
    Seems to be a half arsed attempt at serious and trolling at the same time!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Supervalu this morning was packed with food again when I went before work. Only went in for a sliced pan.

Wouldn't be getting too worried yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

What people seem to forget is Thursdays have always been busy shopping days.

Alot of people that don't stockpile, just do a normal shop each week shop on a Thursday or a Friday.

Aldis special buys, lidls offers and dunnes weekly wonders all start on Thursdays and supervalu 48 hr deals too. So all these shops are all busy on this day regardless.

I asked someone at 8:30 yesterday did they think the schools would close on Friday and they laughed and said it was a rumour, that people are being ridiculous over this. 3 hrs later it was announced that schools and crèches were closing at the end of the business day.... That type of announcement brings things up to a scary level.

This has never happened before.

A lot of parents also will pick up bits and pieces during the week, after the school run, or before they get to crèche on the way home. This option has now been removed from them, unless they bring their germy children into the supermarket next week.

I know lots of people who have cancelled holidays and lost lots of money. None of them really care because they’re not, ya know, cunts. My husband and I have both cancelled holidays and we don’t care about the money.

The people who travelled deserve all the ire they are receiving. No sympathy for them.
    If it was suggested by either the United Kingdom or the Ireland governments that people should not travel to England, then you would be right.

FFVII wrote: »
    You don't watch TV? No TV series or movies?

I would be in that camp too. Do not own a Television.

On very rare occasions we hear about a TV Series we want to binge - we do it on the PC. But this is hardly ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Was fun handing over money and getting change 4 times for the same thing. Glad she did not think I was a Junkie looking for my next Lempsip high.
    I don't know. You give off the whiff of Lemsip-fiend to me... :pac:
    greenspurs wrote: »

If people would just relax, the food is there...

Id hate to be a bin man in about 3-4 weeks time...…
    Then we'll have these people giving about their bin charges!
    dontpanic wrote: »
    Oh lord what are the chances of me getting my hands on a carton of fresh milk for my coffee?!
    The only traffic I met on the way to work early this morning was an Avonmore artic, so at least my town's okay for milk. ;)
    dontpanic wrote: »
    I'm assuming you were one of the people out stocking up with a years supply of stuff yesterday then.

I don't know. You give off the whiff of Lemsip-fiend to me... :pac:

God yeah - you don't even wanna get me started on Actifed!

Actually does that still exist? Or did I just date myself?

FFVII wrote: »
    You don't watch TV?

No TV series or movies?

Odd film in the cinema.

TV series etc no not for years and years- unbelievable waste of time to me. Vicariously living through some actor on a TV screen?. Not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Weird, I went to Lidl last night about half 6 expected it to be picked clean. It was grand plenty of eggs and meat and frozen food still available, plenty water and bog roll too. Just that low fat milk left but Im sure it'll be restocked again this morning. Seems fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

If it was suggested by either the United Kingdom or the Ireland governments that people should not travel to England, then you would be right.

Or if they suggested that mass gatherings be avoided?

You can put whatever spin on it you like. The fact is it is contrary to basic public health advice and common sense and will increase the spread of this virus. If a bunch of gambling addicts and the sharks that feed on them don't care about that I'm not remotely surprised.