Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

AllForIt wrote: »

Incidentally this score is utterly brilliant.

She won the Oscar for her soundtrack to 'Joker'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,839 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

The coronas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

ALTERN 8. ARMAGEDDON

https://youtu.be/Sv9DEYQaBCs

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

go out for solitary walks

Live beside a beach so weather permitting I'll be down walking on that daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Omegle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

The Human League - Circus of Death

The circus of death is approaching
    Its pathway is painted in red
    Before it the frightened and helpless
    Behind it a trail of the dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Buy and sell cryptocurrency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Huawei Gallagher

Infected-The The
    Apologies to OP for cybersquatting his username!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Pretty apt I think for the fear and paranoia going around, hope ye get through all that sliced pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Infini

Couldn't believe the amount of idiocy with people today there was no need to run out and panic buy they repeatedly said supply chains are fine not to mention this is just the schools closing not the entire fecking country.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Checked out my local Supervalu at 11pm there and most of the fresh food and meat was gone, as well as every scrap of toilet paper. Madness. I talked with a couple of the staff members and they weren't far from rolling their eyes at the insanity. Thankfully, they didn't have any issues other than queues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

No plans to queue for hours. Good time to use up stuff in freezer and cupboard stuff like lentils to make nice soups etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

All we need now is a good auld snow storm.

It was snowing in Dublin last night! So you might get one yet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

ixoy wrote: »
    Checked out my local Supervalu at 11pm there and most of the fresh food and meat was gone, as well as every scrap of toilet paper. Madness. I talked with a couple of the staff members and they weren't far from rolling their eyes at the insanity. Thankfully, they didn't have any issues other than queues.

I have a click and collect slot booked for tomorrow. I think I may cancel, I have ten minutes left!

I can live on whats in the house for another week, at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,544 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,722 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We normally do our weekly shop on a Friday and we advised to do it Today by somebody.(We're advised to keep my father from dawdling around town).
    Drove into town. Parked outside Supervalu at about 13:30.
    Loads of meat, fish, veg,pasta, cereals, etc.
    Hand wash was available but one per customer.
    There was Toilet rolls but they were running low.
    Tesco was similar. No issues getting in and out of. No Queues at the tills.
    Tesco had 3 packs of toilet rolls per person quota.
    Places were busy but some people online mad it out to be crazy all together just to get attention.
    We basically got out weekly shop but got extra bit so we wouldn't be popping in for top=up shops.

I do think Aldi was jammed tough but there car park is hard to get in and out of.(Didn't go to Lidl or Aldi)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭marialouise

I work in the arts and with venues shut and performers not able to perform, no one is getting paid. Freelance musicians, entire orchestras. Management companies. Staff who clean the opera houses. Stage managers who set up for festivals like Coachella months in advance. The cleaning staff of a concert hall, the cloakroom staff of the venue. The bar staff. Cafés, bars, restaurants, hotels in the vicinity of these places...
    Hospitality and tourism have and will take a huge hit... there will be a number of people in the cultural sector who are affected too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

This is genius. You should pm the OP.....

Have you checked your temperature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

stinger31 wrote: »
    I've already heard of people being burnt on money that was owed to them. My friend has a business that gets subcontracted a lot, he has a team of 6 lads that help him. He's already done the work but was told tonight he's not getting paid and tough sh1t.

This has all the hallmarks of the last recession i'm afraid. I can see massive lines down the dole office like the last time.

Will be a lot of chancers also claiming not to be able to pay for contracted work under cover of all this I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Birneybau wrote: »
    She won the Oscar for her soundtrack to 'Joker'

She did, nowhere as good as Chernobyl though. But that's a matter of opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,614 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

A mate of mine was in Tesco today, and this was a single-file queue to the checkout he was standing in

89929693_10217512420944582_3525766080947552256_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&_nc_sid=110474&_nc_ohc=Q4gDKjW_ZEEAX_xRoQs&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-1.fna&oh=1d81451ba61942382e0aab1497cbf4d9&oe=5E940EE7

Please note: the till is around the corner and all the way to the top-right (off screen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I'm thinking of block buying all the available disposable teaspoons in the country and re-marketing them as bum scrapers for when the toilet paper runs out.

Anybody want in on this?

EmptyTree wrote: »
    That's good and well if people stayed at home next week, but the people who were in loading up their trolleys with weeks and weeks worth of shopping are the very ones that'll be off out next week wandering around the shops, "cause sur' what else are they supposed to do? Stay home all day??"

This is spot on aswell..the same panic merchants buying 6 weeks worth off beans will be dawdling around their local Tesco next week..