Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Went to lidl to pick up dinner, had time to kill so no rush.

I got 1 tomato and basil sauce, tortelloni, dog food and jellies for the kids.

Lad behind me (irish felt this needed to be pointed out)

36 tins of beans.
    2 packs of choccie disgestives
    2 packs of bourbon creams
    2 jars of pickled gherkins

I think he panic bought but not sure what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Darc19 wrote: »
    Aldi Kildare had to call the cops - people were nicking stuff from other trolleys :D

I think there could be an element of urban myth / internet legs on some of the stories.

I'd imagine Garda were called for crowd control etc.

People stealing stuff from a trolley is not why cops would be called - even if that happened.

As the bould Christy once sang
    “Everybody needs a break,
    Climb a mountain or jump in a lake.
    Some head off to exotic places,
    Others go to the Galway Races.
    Mattie goes to the South of France,
    Jim to the dogs, Peter to the dance.
    A cousin of mine goes potholing,
    A cousin of heres loves Joe Dolan.
    Summer comes around each year,
    We go there and they come here.
    Some jet off to … Frijiliana,
    But I always go to Lisdoonvarna.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I think there could be an element of urban myth / internet legs on some of the stories.

I'd imagine Garda were called for crowd control etc.

People stealing stuff from a trolley is not why cops would be called - even if that happened.
    Gardai were called as it turned a little heated between three people. It calmed down quickly when the two gardai arrived and they arm fisted (instead of shaking hands) between them and all was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Where do you all live ..its fine where i am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

enricoh wrote: »
    I get the feeling there's a fair percentage of boards users that barely leave home anyway! I nipped in for a couple of pints and bets today in the local n sod the begrudgers!

What does begrudgery have to do with anything?

You would have to laugh at all the people saying how “selfish” those who went to Cheltenham. Said like people who clearly haven’t a few thousand spent on a trip that they are looking forward to all year. People wouldn’t be half as fast if they had money spent themselves. This is nothing but a crowd of clowns wanting to complain about racing and gambling, utter tools.
    Zebra3 wrote: »
    Only utter vermin are into horse racing.

Get their jollies off by watching horses being whipped.

What utter nonsense, I’d expect nothing less from you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just home from Lidl, got a tray of beer. The staff were stocking the shelves, no ques out the door or anything. It was just the usual kind of evening, no panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Was in Dunnes in Cornelscourt this afternoon and all grand. Space to park, shelves stocked, some customers maybe buying more than usual but nothing crazy. Normal queue at checkout.

More like a Saturday than a normal Thursday but no panic and everything under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Feisar

Surprised these millennial bastuds buy toilet paper I survived the Spanish flu I'm damn sure I'm gonna beat this one

Ya can’t kill a bad thing as I do say!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Are there any panic buyers lurking on this thread? I'd like to see your side of the story!!

I was one of the mad ones :(

I would have needed to do a shop on Sunday probably, but thought I'd beat the rush and go before schools finished... How wrong was I, obviously everyone that doesn't work, or wfh, or whatever had the same idea.

To be honest apart from 2 couples who were taking the p and had three trollies on the go, everyone else seemed to be doing a normal shop. It was the sheer volume of people, all hitting the store at once.

Staff couldn't get stock onto the shop floor it was so crowded. All added to empty shelves.

Now before I had kids I would have shrugged and made do with cereal for dinner etc. However when you have kids, you do need to make sure there's proper food in the press. Leaving shopping until everything in your house is almost gone is a very risky strategy.

Plus my understanding is while daily deliveries of bread and milk etc happen each day, other produce is on a weekly schedule. So while plenty of stock in the warehouse, that particular store may go out of stock on a high demand item.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

My point is these people were not told 'not to go' and your disapproval should really be aimed at more than likely the UK government rather than festival attendees.

Personal responsibility is tantamount. The information is there. The same people saying that "the government said it was ok" are the same people by and large who would complain about a nanny state.
    There was a full fixture of GAA last weekend, are all the attendees there selfish cúnts?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'm going out shortly to my local Aldi and setting a few cars on fire in the carpark, just to add to the general panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Jeff2

This man is a Level 100.

The new patch for this game was released last night and top level is now 110.

Keep up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I was one of the mad ones :(

I would have needed to do a shop on Sunday probably, but thought I'd beat the rush and go before schools finished... How wrong was I, obviously everyone that doesn't work, or wfh, or whatever had the same idea.

To be honest apart from 2 couples who were taking the p and had three trollies on the go, everyone else seemed to be doing a normal shop. It was the sheer volume of people, all hitting the store at once.

Staff couldn't get stock onto the shop floor it was so crowded. All added to empty shelves.

Now before I had kids I would have shrugged and made do with cereal for dinner etc. However when you have kids, you do need to make sure there's proper food in the press. Leaving shopping until everything in your house is almost gone is a very risky strategy.

Plus my understanding is while daily deliveries of bread and milk etc happen each day, other produce is on a weekly schedule. So while plenty of stock in the warehouse, that particular store may go out of stock on a high demand item.

Jesus, you must be the only one with kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Utter vermin signing in.
    I have a few horses. They are 8 years old, 6 years old, 2 years old , 1 year old.
    If they have been naughty, and did not eat their dinner, I might ask that they be whipped.
    None of the four has ever had a saddle put on them, or been trained, or ever raced.
    You are totally ignorant on the subject.

The whips used in racing are soft and foam padded. They do not hurt.
    Horses are trained to respond to the whip. They are a herd animal, and think that something is behind them, and they run away.

Originally Posted by Zebra3 View Post

Firstly jockeys don't use a true whip like in dressage. (and no dressage whips are not cruel either but there is a technical difference between a whip and a crop) They use a crop. They also padded as far as i know.

They are made of fiber glass and very flexible to absorb force.

They don't hurt the horse. They are an aid just like the leg your seat your hands and your voice.

They are not that different from the types of crops you will see at every riding school in the country. I have used them myself. Used correctly they are not painful and not cruel. And i didn't use a padded one.

I am not vermin. I just know how to use a crop. :rolleyes: Its also for steering and getting the horse's shoulders schooled behind the nose etc.

As far as i know jockeys can't hit the tummy ...only the quarters and shoulder ...

If you think they hurt ...go slap yourself with one and see. (I have ....we used to chase each other round with them ...the correct whips don't hurt).

Why in the name of god if we whipped horses until it hurt would they not try and buck us off?

Have you ever seen a horse react to a bee sting??? I have been on a horse that got stung in the rump by some flying insect ...he went bucking mental!

Have you seen horses out in the field they bite kick etc and that's just playing!

Every kid in a riding school uses a crop.

If you want to help improve racing ..ask them to start backing horses later and older.
    No horse should race until 4/5

You would have to laugh at all the people saying how “selfish” those who went to Cheltenham. Said like people who clearly haven’t a few thousand spent on a trip that they are looking forward to all year. People wouldn’t be half as fast if they had money spent themselves. This is nothing but a crowd of clowns wanting to complain about racing and gambling, utter tools.

What utter nonsense, I’d expect nothing less from you.

I have nothing against horse racing or gambling. Its not wise to organize large public events right now.

I’d say both countries are riddled with the corona at this stage so it wouldn’t have made a blind bit of difference calling it off.

Johnny, I've done everything in my power to stop my daughter being exposed to the virus because I'm terrified that she will give it to my mother who is elderly and in a very high risk category.

I've taken every precaution I can because I know that every little thing we can do as a society helps.

You on the other hand don't give a **** and aren't willing to sacrifice a weekend of enjoyment for the betterment of the population.

You will only realise how selfish you have been when it's too late. You and your family (hopefully) will get through this unscathed, but you've no idea how many people you have potentially compromised.

I went to Tesco today to get some lunch and the number of people with hundreds of toilet rolls in their trollies. Disgusting. Couldn't give a crap about anyone but themselves.

In fairness, that's unintentionally funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭tritriagain

For the people berating others for bulk buying do
    You really want to be going into shops on a regular bacis when the virus reaches it's height. To me that is more irresponsible than buying 10 slice pans.

Ironicname wrote: »
    Johnny, I've done everything in my power to stop my daughter being exposed to the virus because I'm terrified that she will give it to my mother who is elderly and in a very high risk category.

I've taken every precaution I can because I know that every little thing we can do as a society helps.

You on the other hand don't give a **** and aren't willing to sacrifice a weekend of enjoyment for the betterment of the population.

You will only realise how selfish you have been when it's too late. You and your family (hopefully) will get through this unscathed, but you've no idea how many people you have potentially compromised.

How many people have you compromised? None of us know who we are compromising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

some of those people must think bog roll will be like all ireland final tickets in a few weeks

toilet roll touts

How are you going to ban whips exactly? You are going to ban every single person who rides using them? And have you been to a tack shop recently? Seen all the crops for sale? The pink ones ..the blue ones?

So ALL the horse people are wrong. And all the people who have never been around horses are right ??

Dude ..i have been around horses since i was 8. No journalist is going to know more than me. And you obviously don't know horses or haven't been around them.

Why don't horses buck me off when i use the crop ?

Because the slightest spook or pain and believe me they do.

Its really dangerous if THAT is your major animal welfare concerning racing.

I honestly think the racing industry talks so much about crops to prevent people having real discussions about things that go on in SOME parts of the industry. (not all but some).

I have never seen rubs on a horse from a whip. But how on earth would you KNOW that is definitely from a whip?

I have gone out riding without a crop and the horse might have a rub here or there. Could be from another horse ...a gate ...a tree ..him kicking himself. Some horses bite themselves if there are flies!

All i know is tbs who are found in shelters ...are not there from whips they are usually there from being backed to early and getting injured and thus are now useless.

Why don't you educate yourself. And horses you can't learn from a book or online. You have to ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You really want to be going into shops on a regular bacis when the virus reaches it's height. To me that is more irresponsible than buying 10 slice pans.

Yep. I stockpiled a sense of perspective ages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Wibbs wrote: »
    Here we go, one of those doommongers pullin the skeleton outa themselves with silly conjecture and half truths...

No, it is not. In Wuhan, Taiwan, Singapore and now in Italy with lockdowns and empty streets, the shops are still open and nobody is close to starving(though a few in this country would be well served with going on an enforced diet) and nobody is wiping their arse with nettles crying out for quilted bog roll. These are those crazy things called facts.

You'd do well to tell it to some of the idiots in the large Corona virus thread on boards.

Apparently we should all panic buy now because the shop workers won't turn up for work when they see the body count rising.

That's a "normal" human being posting this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Notdeco

Seamai wrote: »
    Imagine the state of his skin (and innards) after eating all those.

So that why trump looks like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

ITman88 wrote: »
    Haha!
    Yes people have such busy lives they don’t get stuck together for long periods anymore, sporting events cause baby booms due to euphoria and alcohol in the mix!
    This thing as you said will cause a spike in divorce rates when people realise they have f all in common!
    Crime will surely spike, no witnesses with everyone at home

On the other hand, less burglaries, what with everyone being home all day.
    Silver linings!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

No it's not. That logic is flawed. The supply chains are fine, the wholesaler stocks are fine. I know this.

Going to shops crowded with people is not a good idea. Stockpiling is pointless. The shops will be open and stocked for months. Today was an embarrassing day for Ireland, simple as that.

Nobody is going to starve. People need to keep doing their weekly shop as normal and give the staff in the supermarkets a break. I am sure they were disgusted with the carry-on today.

Stockpiling loo roll?????? Ludicrous.

I think we will learn a huge amount about modern society in the coming weeks.