Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Remember that 96.5% of people who get the COVID19 will be fine eventually.
    I agree with most of your points, but I certainly would not rely solely on the WHO, and I think it might be more accurate to say that 96.5% of people who get this will not die of it - there's very little definitive data on the non-lethal effects on the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭makeandcreate

Are there any panic buyers lurking on this thread? I'd like to see your side of the story!!

I got a tray of dog food and 2kg of brown rice in case I can't get the hounds usual raw food delivery.
    Other than that, just the regular shop today - although I did buy 4 toilet rolls I don't really need :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I got a tray of dog food and 2kg of brown rice in case I can't get the hounds usual raw food delivery.
    Other than that, just the regular shop today - although I did buy 4 toilet rolls I don't really need :D

The hounds eat brown rice?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ace2007 wrote: »
    The hounds eat brown rice?:eek:

Are they Pekinese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

That kitchen floor is already cleaner than it has been for months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Are there any panic buyers lurking on this thread? I'd like to see your side of the story!!
    I bought a load of silver bullion so I will have something to trade with after the last of the worlds money is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

I bought a load of silver bullion so I will have something to trade with after the last of the worlds money is gone.

I'll be trading Charmin myself, the market has clearly spoken.

Pornhub announced free Premium subscriptions in Italy for all of March. I guess we will be getting the same in about 2 weeks ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,176 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

What kind of amateur buys toilet paper in a shop instead of stealing it from work anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I found going to the small spars / centras / butchers etc was the best bet today. No queues there bizarrely. People in auto pilot going to the big stores it seems.

Running low on nappies at home and other basics, so not taking the chance with a load of mouths to feed / kids to cater for. Peace of mind is worth alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Will I be able to buy beer and smokes tomorrow?

I can?

Then we're all good baby :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭buried

Been digging out me vinyl record collection and having a great time of it.

Currently on a major bigtime 1991 binge

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Thargor wrote: »
    What kind of amateur buys toilet paper in a shop instead of stealing it from work anyway?

This man is a Level 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Lunatics

🙈🙉🙊

I'm going to ride this out by living in the wild far from civilization where I can wipe my arse with leaves.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Stopped off at my local petrol station on the way home and the owner had a palette of 24 pack bog rolls left out in the middle of the shop. They were flying out the door.

"Things are really going down the shítter, Tom!" I remarked to him as I paid for the few items at the till.

"Don't forget to wash your hands now!" he replied!

#CoronaCraic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Thargor wrote: »

workplace toilet paper is like sandpaper (well ours is):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Monopoly, Scrabble, or online gambling?

You just gave me a business idea

image.jpg

Monopolise scrambling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Anybody worried about boredom in the next few weeks need to cop on to themselves, theirs hundredths of things you can still do in your free time

Me I've a backlog of about 80 games to get through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

Watch "the Rain" on Netflix.

Be afraid - be very afraid :D:D

Pornhub announced free Premium subscriptions in Italy for all of March. I guess we will be getting the same in about 2 weeks ...

I'm stockpiling the hand moisturiser so.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I'll be upcycling lots and lots of furniture. Sand, paint, sell, repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Steve F wrote: »
    I saw Corona Beer in one Trolly :pac:

Fight fire with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,402 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Kindle loaded with books
    Netflix, amazon prime, Kodi
    Finally get through a clothes clear out.
    I am not allowed to WFH yet....hopefully should know tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It's biological warfare lads. We're all fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

Ah here - they'll be stockpiling lube next. Then it'll be back to the old Kerrygold.

Pfffft ok millenial, some of us stayed loyal to the kerrygold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Lads and lassies of Boards, here are a few pandemic tips:

DO:

Wash your hands regularly and avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth with your hands.

Read the WHO advice

AVOID:

Anyone who has the COVID19 or has been in contact with someone who has it.

Panic buying. It's stupid and helps no-one.

Large crowds of people, especially indoors.

Sinn Fein supporters.

The news and media. Seriously, you're just worrying yourself. Just check the WHO site regularly.

IF YOU GET COVID19:

Call your GP or 112 (999 if you're old school).

Self-isolate.

Remember that 96.5% of people who get the COVID19 will be fine eventually. Children, young adults and those who do not have immune disorders or other serious health problems (and are under the age of 60) will be fine too.

And remember to be nice to each other, even to strangers.

People have a democratic vote and can vote for whom they like.

You and others like you need to cop on and get over this. It's getting old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

frag420 wrote: »
    Achoooo!!!

woman-washing-hands-t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’d say Netflix subscriptions will be added to two out of three homes or close to it. We have Netflix, I’ve just done a software update on the PS4 that hasn’t seen much action of late and downloaded a load of books to my iPad too so that’s the entertainment taken care of.

I’m on a kind of fitness mission after some health issues but with the gym out of bounds it will need to be home exercising. I have a good exercise bike and some weights and a mat so I’ll be doing a gross of close to two hours work a day, an hour in the morning, the same in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

It's biological warfare lads. We're all fooked.

Nature keeps things in balance.
    If a species population grows to a point where a virus/bacteria/fungus can spread easily, then it will.

When the rabbit population grew out of control, Myxomatosis kept their numbers in check.

Ebola didn't spread across the world because it killed too fast.
    So the slow burning non-fatal diseases are always going to be the ones that spread, the stealthy ones.

As much as this is a great tragedy and I have two vulnerable parents, as a species humans have been avoiding natural selection/survival of the fittest for a while now. Saving and artificially keeping the weak and old alive through artificial means.