Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I think there should be another pornhub premium free day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,723 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

For a lot of people, it's going to be keeping their kids from going mental around the house, there won't be time to work from home or sit down and do anything for more than half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

i confidently predict a baby boom in nine months time.

There will be many sets of twins called Corvo and Corona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

kowloon wrote: »
    For a lot of people, it's going to be keeping their kids from going mental around the house, there won't be time to work from home or sit down and do anything for more than half an hour.

The kids now have a month off school and who knows, that could be extended even further.. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Sleepy wrote: »
    My brother's a self-employed musician so his employment prospects aren't looking good for the next month and my mother works as a tour guide on cruise ships so is expecting her next few gigs to be cancelled.

No matter what it won't be just a month. Hotels, restaurants and bar will close as a result of this and not reopen. Cruise company may very well be gone for good but some will survive but the industry will have a lower demand.

How we travel will probably be permanently changed in the same way after 9/11 it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well if she follows some American morons who mused would gargling with bleach kill the virus we'll have one less moron to worry about.

I wonder do these crowds of cretins have the tiniest glimmer of brainpower to consider that by piling into shops en masse queueing arse to tit with other mouthbreathers that they've massively increased their chances of exposure to this virus? I'd bet the farm that in a few supermarkets around the country infected and contagious individuals have been in this melee and have infected others.

It's exactly what the Taoiseach said not to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

1882 wrote: »
    Seen an aul wan struggling across the carpark in the wind with a trolley full with bottles of domestos only. Hillarious.
    Probably for a nursing home or something like that.

But if not, I wouldn't be surprised...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    No matter what it won't be just a month. Hotels, restaurants and bar will close as a result of this and not reopen. Cruise company may very well be gone for good but some will survive but the industry will have a lower demand.

How we travel will probably be permanently changed in the same way after 9/11 it did.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Ush1 wrote: »
    I suspect that some people regard that alone as a reason to do it..

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The kids now have a month off school and who knows, that could be extended even further.. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Panic buying of PVA glue and paper to use with all that stockpiled pasta.

Cars parking on pavements or just left with hazards on in the middle of the car park.

But they were on right? Cos that's ok to do you know.

Do children not play video games anymore? If I was stuck inside as a child I could easily sit by a game for days and that was when they were really repetitive and just got faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Ush1 wrote: »

And you listen to what the veruca told you from America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,543 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Tesco Clare Hall have apparently had to shut their doors! :rolleyes:

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Do children not play video games anymore? If I was stuck inside as a child I could easily sit by a game for days and that was when they were really repetitive and just got faster

Everyone plays them now, but kids also run around a lot. If you're stuck with children who were in playschool or primary school you're **** out of luck when they get the zoomies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,964 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Graces7 wrote: »
    As in "carotenaemia"

He will glow in the dark and be able to see better. Handy when the power cuts come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Well if she follows some American morons who mused would gargling with bleach kill the virus we'll have one less moron to worry about.

I wonder do these crowds of cretins have the tiniest glimmer of brainpower to consider that by piling into shops en masse queueing arse to tit with other mouthbreathers that they've massively increased their chances of exposure to this virus? I'd bet the farm that in a few supermarkets around the country infected and contagious individuals have been in this melee and have infected others.

I was wondering about this too. The irony of it was not lost on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Lidl I was in this morning was largely fine - some gaps the oddest of which was eggs. Not an egg in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Day Lewin wrote: »
    What's it to be, folks?

Writing the novel or watching porn?

Monopoly, Scrabble, or online gambling?

Paint the house? Dig the garden?

Sit worrying about the job, or lep into the bed and do it like rabbits?

Plans, please!

Arguments galore.

Big spike in divorce rates on the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Lidl in Clondalkin was crazy. Security stopping people coming in. Not a scrap of bread and milk. Everyone buying water. Big car crash outside. Fire brigade and Garda to add to the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

The Lidl I was in this morning was largely fine - some gaps the oddest of which was eggs. Not an egg in the place.

Pretty sure the panic started about 30 minutes before I posted, just after the news broke from Leo in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,238 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Football manager

Try and guide a non league side to the premier league ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

scrumqueen wrote: »
    The supply chain is fine, it's been said multiple times, however I would fear it wouldn't remain fine if this stupid behavior keeps up. Glad that I did my big shop in Aldi yesterday. Will grab milk from my local centra on the way home :)

Good luck with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Is there anything to be said for relentlessly flogging the langer off of oneself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Definitely. It's why I didn't get out of the car when I saw the state of the places.

I actually feel sorry for lower income Americans here. It's easy for us to mock when we have more or less universal health care, basic health information is much easier to come by here and there is less distrust of government. In the US the disadvantaged are putty in the hands of shysters and quacks and scared poor people who cannot access virus tests may reach for any straw.

I know someone who went on a healthcare exchange to rural Oxycontin country and his stories of ignorance resulting from disadvantage were fairly sobering.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The eggs thing is funny. LIDL East Wall ran out of eggs yesterday.

Drove up Church road a couple of hours ago and the LIDL car park was mental. Looked like people had abandoned cars all over the place.

kowloon wrote: »
    Everyone plays them now, but kids also run around a lot. If you're stuck with children who were in playschool or primary school you're **** out of luck when they get the zoomies.

That was the age I would happily sit and play games for hours. Maybe not play school but certainly from 6 upwards but that was because games console didn't exist before then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Apollinaris

That's nothing, have passengers getting on the bus with gloves and masks....

Last week seen driver on the 15 with mask and gloves too

And that’s weird because?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭0xzmro3n4y7lb5

Same and Aldi too got home to news there’s Avian Flu in Monaghan and supply in the west will be affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Major Lovechild

I might take some of these 89472251_10220293932245985_6302875965852745728_o.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_sid=8024bb&_nc_oc=AQmu1ABJ4NHmNSTZY887lau3iWgoAShqMyia_CsauZ3nhf_HLb8YaQbi823kgyveinU&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&_nc_tp=6&oh=e67085e98b07d991a1252bef39ef7bbc&oe=5E9442BF

Wo ist die Gemütlichkeit?