Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FE1 Exam Thread (Read 1st post!) NOTE: YOU MAY SWAP EXAM GRIDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭CiaranS93

CiaranS93 wrote: »
    Exact same.

Used National Tourism v Scotland and National Tourism v Colgan.

All fail except last one if they can show it involves some form of education/teaching/knowledge as per Re Shaw

And under section 2 has to be of public benefit

And just realised I wrote Colgan and not Coughlan, oops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭mydogwentroof

Exact same.

Used National Tourism v Scotland and National Tourism v Colgan.

All fail except last one if they can show it involves some form of education/teaching/knowledge as per Re Shaw

And under section 2 has to be of public benefit

I said the last one would seek to be classified under S3(1)(d) talked about Coughlan and referred to s49 of the 1961 act re the 10%

Jenosul wrote: »
    No sorry it was the proprietary I wrote on is that a fail? Thank you for reply

It just said estoppel - talked about all the proprietary cases and discussed Alan v El Nasr re promissory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭ihatethesea

tommyq94 wrote: »
    Does any kind soul have any revision guides for Contract they would be willing to share, or have any predictions?

I literally feel its so unpredictable after last year with no Offer, Acceptance or Cons. Protection! Expecting they will surely make a show for sure this year?!

EmmaO94 wrote: »
    Equity

Answer me honestly....

3 really solid answers, but could only answer one element of the note q, and was very iffy about the second half of q4 (wrote plenty on half secret trusts but the second half of question was out of my reach)

Would this be enough to scrape a pass?

I failed last sitting in similar circumstances

I literally feel its so unpredictable after last year with no Offer, Acceptance or Cons. Protection! Expecting they will surely make a show for sure this year?!

I was so underprepared in the last sitting.. Only had 2-3 solid questions and the rest was a load of BS. I still got 50 when I was sure I failed.

I said the last one would seek to be classified under S3(1)(d) talked about Coughlan and referred to s49 of the 1961 act re the 10%

Could you clarify how section 49 relates? I thought it was where there were two purposes present you get rid of the non charitable one?

S49:

Where any of the purposes of a gift includes or could be deemed to include both charitable and non-charitable objects, its terms shall be so construed and given effect to as to exclude the non-charitable objects and the purpose shall, accordingly, be treated as charitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭rightytighty

Did you pass the question?

I did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭ihatethesea

I was so underprepared in the last sitting.. Only had 2-3 solid questions and the rest was a load of BS. I still got 50 when I was sure I failed.

Aw fair play!! I sat it last year too and was super unprepared too, Got 39 haha, feeling a lot more prepared this year but terrified shel shaft us again with a ****ty paper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Also do people think I will lose much marks for only referring to English cases on that Q? Question said to make reference to the jurisprudence of Irish courts and where appropriate to the jurisprudence of courts of other jurisdictions. I only had 1 Irish case in my notes but forgot it :(

Anyone think this is a big deal? Would hate to fail just cos of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Jeremiah25

Highly doubt you'd fail just on that regard. Once you have shown a broad knowledge of the applicable law I'm sure you'd get most marks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭jewels652

What's peoples thoughts/predictions for EU?

For Eu my main topics are:

Citizenship
    Direct Effect
    Competition Art 101 and 102
    Goods
    Judicial review
    Institutions

Thinking of adding:

Workers
    Preliminary reference procedure
    General principles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭leavingcert17

I did

Thank you ðŸ™ðŸ»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭godfather2

No, I think you will be fine. Now get ready for the next one. Dissecting the paper too much is never a good thing. You never know with equity, it's the biggest coin toss of all of them apparently.
    Get the head down or the coffee on, you've got the next mountain on the horizon to deal with, forget the last one. Does you no good.

Jeremiah25 wrote: »
    Highly doubt you'd fail just on that regard. Once you have shown a broad knowledge of the applicable law I'm sure you'd get most marks!
    godfather2 wrote: »
    No, I think you will be fine. Now get ready for the next one. Dissecting the paper too much is never a good thing. You never know with equity, it's the biggest coin toss of all of them apparently.
    Get the head down or the coffee on, you've got the next mountain on the horizon to deal with, forget the last one. Does you no good.

Thanks guys, over thinking things. Feel like I did well on the question despite having no Irish cases and my other 4 Q's were all decent, so should be fine, just worrying!

On to Company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Jeremiah25

Thanks guys, over thinking things. Feel like I did well on the question despite having no Irish cases and my other 4 Q's were all decent, so should be fine, just worrying!

On to Company

What topics are you sticking to for company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭nmurphy1441

Contract

Interpreting express terms??? Is that The Plain meaning rule, the Factual Matrix rule and the Contra Proferentem rule?

The Parol Evidence rule is there too if I’m right above but it’s always asked not to mention it!

jewels652 wrote: »
    For Eu my main topics are:

Citizenship
    Direct Effect
    Competition Art 101 and 102
    Goods
    Judicial review
    Institutions

Thinking of adding:

Workers
    Preliminary reference procedure
    General principles

Yea I can't do competition but I know it comes up every year ugh I hate it.

I'm doing:

General principles
    Institutions
    FMG
    FMW
    Direct Effect and Supremacy
    Citizenship
    Equality
    Infringement

Hoping that will have me covered but open to suggestions that don't involve competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭godfather2

Currently brain dumping equity with a quiet acceptance I've done all I could. Will get it in October, duck it. Getting ready for contract and tort. Two more boils on my ass to deal with before I can sit down easy again. Onwards it is.

Jeremiah25 wrote: »
    What topics are you sticking to for company?

Focus is on:

5 main changes/LTD v DAC/Summary Approval Procedure
    Directors
    Borrowing
    Winding up
    Realisation of Assets
    Minority Protection
    Receivership
    Corporate Authority

I have a decent knowledge of:
    Restriction/Disqualification
    SLP

Terrible knowledge of:
    Membership
    Share Transfer

Yea I can't do competition but I know it comes up every year ugh I hate it.

I'm doing:

General principles
    Institutions
    FMG
    FMW
    Direct Effect and Supremacy
    Citizenship
    Equality
    Infringement

Hoping that will have me covered but open to suggestions that don't involve competition

I think those topics will have you covered maybe add in preliminary reference procedure. Does infringement usually comes up?

Think it came up last sitting but just did it because pretty straight forward. Are preliminary ref and judicial quite short?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 sm333

For people worried about equity this morning I sat it straight out of college, barely understood half the principles or cases, didn’t know the night before notes existed and still passed with 50 on the dot.

Think about how frustrated you’ll be with all this time spent worrying if you actually have passed and try not to sweat it

Think it came up last sitting but just did it because pretty straight forward. Are preliminary ref and judicial quite short?

They are short and straight forward handy topics.
    I want to add in general principles but is a long topic. I wonder do I have enough anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 cowboy123456

hey guys, for anyone who has previously sat eu how hard is it compared to others or has anybody an idea of pass rates for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭user115

Equity was actually okay!! Got 4 good answers and 1 okay answer, hoping that is the last ever fe1 I sit!! :) Thanks everyone for sharing on this, found it so helpful, didn't know anyone doing the exams so this was really a great support. Hope exams go great for ye all, hang in there!

They are short and straight forward handy topics.
    I want to add in general principles but is a long topic. I wonder do I have enough anyway?

Tbh currently thinking about dropping general principles because it's quite long. Might take up judicial review instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 sm333

hey guys, for anyone who has previously sat eu how hard is it compared to others or has anybody an idea of pass rates for it?

Definitely one of the easier ones to pass. The examiner is well aware how broad the course is and marks accordingly. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭supercreative

Oct 19 paper wasn't too fun but generally it's pretty predictable and the pass rates haven't fallen below 70% since Oct 13 as far as I know. I don't really understand EU law completely and it was not my ideal paper but got 61, know the main areas and look at some past papers and you'll be grand.