Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part V - 34 cases in ROI, 16 in NI (as of 10 March) *Read warnings in OP*

Torrential rain and flooding in the west.
    A national health emergency with carona virus and clown shoes varadkar off on his holiday to the states to have his photo taken.
    Good lad lieo.
    Finish up as you started I suppose.at least he’s consistently useless

Does our miserable damp weather offer any mitigating factor at all? Viruses love dry low humidity environments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭dan786

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

10 days since our first confirmed case and we have 0 recovered cases.

Bear in mind these people were infected days before they were even tested.

Why no recovered cases yet? What is the criteria for recovery, is it a couple of negative tests?

How quickly do you think people should recover from this illness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Coronavirus latest: Builders working around-the-clock to create northside isolation unit.

St Mary’s Health Campus, Gurranabraher, which is currently being converted into an isolation building for coronavirus patients.

CONTRACTORS are working around-the-clock to convert a disused building on the northside of the city into an isolation unit for coronavirus patients.

The HSE has stepped up preparations for an expected increase in Covid-19 cases, following further confirmation today of the virus spreading through the community.

Builders have been on-site at the St Mary's health campus in Gurranabraher all weekend.

The building was formerly used to provide services for people with intellectual disabilities but was shut several years ago. :(
    Thought this was part of the plan nationwide anyway, to increase the number of isolation units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

S&P500 has tanked this morning, triggering circuit breakers as investors dump stocks. Panic in markets is a symptom of a bubble - unlike a bubble, it does not go "pop" but unravels as the markets correct. Watch this space.

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/03/08/dow-futures-drop-700-points-as-all-out-oil-price-war-adds-to-coronavirus-stress.html

I think the market will correct by at least 30%, probably more. There is going to be mass unemployment and thousands of companies going broke. The amount of debt due to stupidly cheap credit is going to see an implosion in defaults. Central banks probably should never prop up economies, it just makes the inevitable resulting crash far worse and of longer duration to recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Comfortably the single worst single day points fall in US stock market history (eclipsing 1929 / Black Monday / 2008 financial crisis) and we're only 10 minutes into the trading day. :eek: Stock market history in the making today.

You can't really call the day before its over but yes, :eek: indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Feck. My pension is now worth less than has been contibuted :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

What’s with the Cheltenham obsession? English football went ahead all weekend all over the country. Liverpool are playing Madrid on Wednesday evening!

Why so obsessed about that one event?

Because there's 2 countries involved there, Einstein. Ireland being on the return trip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

This is complete hosesh1t tbh, look after your own personal health and don't attend. Dont depend on a nanny state to make all the calls for people.

Eh, this is a public health crisis, the 'Libertarian' philosophy of 'Don't tread on me' has no place here.

This crisis illustrates when issues like public health are at stake, there need to be collective action and enforcement of restrictions rather than any kind of voluntary honour system.

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

grazer wrote: »
    RTE radio news at 1: Leo Varadkar reducing duration of his US St Patrick's Day trip.

The optics of that will not look great (no matter how it is spun)!!!

God knows where we will be at next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You can't really call the day before its over but yes, :eek: indeed.

Ok single biggest opening drop in history so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

bmcc10 wrote: »
    What benefit is there in closing schools really? They have done it here now there's just thousands of kids roaming the citys its a holiday virus will still be spread

Packs of kids.. herds, hundreds if not thousands in number, crossing the midlands in a slow wave..

In all seriousness infectious diseases don't really spread between kids during the holidays (Easter, Christmas, or summer). A single infected individual in a school will probably spread it to most people in his class, whereas outside of school will probably spread it to about 4 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,426 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

is_that_so wrote: »
    So from 21 to 1.9m in 3 weeks?! Sigh, that is 50% of the expected cases, not 50% of the population! The model is incomplete as the HSE have pointed out.

No, 50% of the expected cases will occur in a peak three week period rather than by the end of this month.
    Projected number of total reported cases 40% of the population.

50% of the population is 2.4 million.
    40% of the population is 1.9 million.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭manonboard

This will last a lot longer than 7 days tho, sorry to be pessimistic, I think we are looking at May when this will start slowing in Europe - at the earliest ...
    :( hope I'm wrong ..

Yes, it certainly will. Luckily ill only be on these steroids for 7 days. He said after that, i'm safe to go back outside. Every day after that is a bonus day for my immune system to catch back up.
    Partner is being super careful with hygiene after she comes in. Very nice to see her doting over me!
    harr wrote: »
    It makes a huge difference in having a good GP ours rang us on Friday to see how my son is , his immune system would be very poor , GP gave us all prescriptions and extra medical supplies to get us over a month If needed and he also told us to seriously consider pulling him out of school for the next 3 weeks

Im very glad you that your doctor was so proactive, thats a great thing to hear. I hope you and your family the best. Very good preparation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Ipso wrote: »
    Has the source/cause of the Italian cluster been identified?
    The strain in Europe is the same and originates from the first patient in Germany, or Bavaria Patient 1 (shortened in BavPat1)
    Reseach has established the samples from (so far) Switzerland, Finland, Italy, Brazil and Mexico are all related to Bavaria Patient 1 , who was infected by a colleague from China.
    Source: https://nextstrain.org/

Hypothesis about the spreading of SARS-CoV-2 virus in Europe
    Bavaria BavPat1 -> La Gomera -> Tenerife, Spain -> Italy
    https://markdownshare.com/view/1fa5a...0-da1b19b7adf8

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Ah my shares are taking a hammering on the Nasdaq, time to get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Scotty # wrote: »
    And what happens after a month? Another month? then another? People have to get on with their lives, virus or no virus. Goods, food, etc still need to be produced. Shutting down the country will achieve nothing.

After another few months, school holidays as normal. Wait and see. Nobody has all the answers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,427 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Leo is insisting on handing over a bowl of weeds to a confused looking Orange Man who has absolutely no idea who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Boggles wrote: »
    100% schools will close.

The country will enter into phase 2 shortly.

Many schools are taking Monday and Tuesday off next week.

They could pull the trigger then, shut it down for a month a couple of weeks of that all ready being Easter.

If you read between the lines of no real information, it's all being setup for a shutdown.

Certainly looking like that, with only 13 days of school in the five weeks from this Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

a lot of schoolkids with 2 working parents are minded by their grandparents after school

That's grand if the grandparents live close by, or are still alive/ able to look after kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Because there's 2 countries involved there, Einstein. Ireland being on the return trip...

It's a week long event also with people on the lash constantly and card games etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Does our miserable damp weather offer any mitigating factor at all? Viruses love dry low humidity environments.

No, it's virus heaven. Viruses don't love low humidity environments. We are walking bags of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

flynnlives wrote: »
    Was there actually any testing done over the weekend?

i suspect the lab in UCD only had a skeleton crew and not all tests where done. Hence the tone of Harris this morning.
    They will do all weekend tests today and we might get a double digit increase.

Where are you getting your suspicions from, this thread?

The NVRL were performing tests over the weekend.

• Site Banned Posts: 48 viewfromtheuk

2 Dublin bus vehicles are under quarantine, 1 in C'road and 1 in D'brook.
    I would expect the numbers infected to rise significantly now.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,173 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,391 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Any link or proof?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-pm-to-hold-emergency-cobra-meeting-after-third-person-dies-in-uk-11953448
    5 more in Scotland, a transport worker in London has tested positive

56 new cases in the Netherlands, 320 there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭ThePopehimself

DOCARCH wrote: »
    The optics of that will not look great (no matter how it is spun)!!!

God knows where we will be at next week.

Has Leo been tested?

Just wondering if he'll be shaking Donald's hand :cool:

(I'd love to see them do the Wuhan shake:D)