Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Bob24 wrote: »
    Yeah there comments makes no sense.

Community transmission has occurred in every single other country after a few tens of cases had been imported, and there is no reason it will be different here.

They should explain in which way they find it reassuring that we are increasingly importing cases from Italy??

They know and everyone who has been watching this knows that at this stage community transmission probably has happened already (undetected) and that in any case it will be happening in the coming days. So as you said they’d better say nothing about it than pretending it is all under control only to look like they have lost control in a few days time.

Don't be daft, the virus KNOWS it's in Ireland and not allowed infect people here..
    Twill be grand!! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Link attached in post

Thanks just saw that.
    Interesting cheltenham is still going ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I don't see how not reporting where the coronavirus cases are will stop people panicking. Let people know it's in Clare and a few hospitals there could be overrun. Say it's in 'the West' and people in about four counties will be rushing to the hospital. People are going to panic anyway so just let the public know what's happening.
    Part of the containment approach is the attempted containment of panic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

is_that_so wrote: »

So 'panic' is more dangerous than telling the truth about the virus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I feel much, much more panicked when our chief medical officers come out with such blatant BS. If they came out and said, community transfer is strong possibility, so here are the steps that we need to take as a country and as individuals to limit that spread. I think most people would feel more reassured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

I don't see how not reporting where the coronavirus cases are will stop people panicking. Let people know it's in Clare and a few hospitals there could be overrun. Say it's in 'the West' and people in about four counties will be rushing to the hospital. People are going to panic anyway so just let the public know what's happening.

Maybe they want to let people directly involved know what’s happening first. They only tested positive yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

Positives #4. rugby/football matches being cancelled. sheep going to matches every week, getting boozed up,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

People should not be rushing to hospitals, in any case.

Staying away from other people and calling the GP is the advice being given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

How exactly does saying there's a case of coronavirus in 'the West' and making people guess which one of four counties that means stop panic?

So 'panic' is more dangerous than telling the truth about the virus ?
    Panic is not a good state of mind and I'd take with a boatload of salt any internet claims about the truth. Take precautions, go about your daily life. If that means a sealed bunker 20ft underground then do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

No other news source is confirming Italy-England match postponed. Times scoop of jumped the gun I wonder. No big deal either way in fairness though in the grand scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

sideswipe wrote: »
    Maybe they want to let people directly involved know what’s happening first. They only tested positive yesterday.

So that's why it was reported that it was in 'the West'? I'm not following your logic.

How exactly does saying there's a case of coronavirus in 'the West' and making people guess which one of four counties that means stop panic?
    It clearly doesn't but the DoH can hardly be blamed. It's aimed at protecting the privacy of those diagnosed along with keeping those in a panic away from them. I consider both of these good things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Iran now more transparent than Ireland. No personal information. just dots on a map.

https://twitter.com/patrickwintour/status/1235479417595613184?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Positives #6. apologies if this is offensive, but darwinism. have a think about that. ill let someone else elaborate what this means.

And to cap it all - less eejits posting crap like the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Michelinextra.

Had a big slice of pizza with parmesan topping while watching the Godfather

Should I be worried now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Someone working in a Paris subway station was found be infected: http://www.lefigaro.fr/flash-eco/coronavirus-une-agent-de-station-de-la-ligne-6-du-metro-contaminee-20200305

Given the amount of people going through the subway network every day packed like sardines and heading to every corner of the city, this could be a bit worrying in terms of spreading the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Should I be worried now?

Ye should be worried if that's your best attempt at humour,

Christ almighty, I'm only here for the shitposting but the standard is fucking awful

Ludo wrote: »
    No other news source is confirming Italy-England match postponed. Times scoop of jumped the gun I wonder. No big deal either way in fairness though in the grand scheme of things.

Sky Sports saying it as well.

https://www.skysports.com/rugby-union/news/12321/11949652/six-nations-italy-vs-england-set-to-be-postponed-due-to-coronavirus

iguana wrote: »
    I feel much, much more panicked when our chief medical officers come out with such blatant BS. If they came out and said, community transfer is strong possibility, so here are the steps that we need to take as a country and as individuals to limit that spread. I think most people would feel more reassured.
    BS in your opinion. I think they'd freak out even more but we can agree to differ on that. Following the precautions will leave the overall population untouched by this.

Should I be worried now?
    About your gut, yep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

I wonder might the imminent St Patrick's Day be our secret weapon, might the great man rise up, take one look at covid and cast the sneaky(snakey) little bollox out of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭PHG

Positives #4. rugby/football matches being cancelled. sheep going to matches every week, getting boozed up,

What is wrong with going to matches, experience the atmosphere, hanging out with family/friends and bringing people together? What is wrong with having a few pints too??

Is the air thinner up there on your high horse... Some craic you must be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

To be pedantic, it says "set to be" postponed. That is different :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

Sports, parades, gigs etc are now not the priority. Dealing with this thing is. Airlines, hotels, tourism is now not the priority either. We need to aggressively get ahead of this thing and now. It will rise anyway but to prevent a repeat of Italy, we need to learn lessons. And that does mean locking the place down. Public health and using every ounce of our health service capacity, trump everything else. By the weekend there will likely be cases of community transmission. The death rates for at risk groups is not something to take any chances on. It's not panic, it's observation of what has happened in other countries before us and the necessary steps to take now. Anyone coming from an infected hotspot, 14 day quarantine. And so on. Follow WHO advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Glenbhoy

Maybe they're hoping the amount of alcohol going about will kill the virus

That might be more realistic alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Definitely noticing a change in attitude today among the "It's just a flu" type people, genuine worry and anxiety is starting to set in.

Positives

2. Reduction in greenhouse gases and climate change. We need to fly less, less planes being scheduled

Well we've got rid of Flybe. Only x amount of these disease spreading profiteering snouts in the trough devils to go......

source.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

My reading on why there can be fret about these scenarios is that it taps into both our ancestral fear of plague and our scifi futuristic worry that it will be an invisible germ that is the mass assassin of the species.
    Both these fears are in fact perfectly understandable and in many ways true. We are the descendents of the regular culls caused by pestilence, we will also most likely be seen off in the end as a species by pestilence.

Many remain cool and sanguine right now regarding this particular manifestation of a viral threat and may even scoff at others more panicked, but that there is a natural atavistic undercurrent in humans regarding novel invisible germs I think is perfectly understandable.

Being calm however is far better for the immune system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,440 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

woohoo!!! wrote: »
    Sports, parades, gigs etc are now not the priority. Dealing with this thing is. Airlines, hotels, tourism is now not the priority either. We need to aggressively get ahead of this thing and now. It will rise anyway but to prevent a repeat of Italy, we need to learn lessons. And that does mean locking the place down. Public health and using every ounce of our health service capacity, trump everything else. By the weekend there will likely be cases of community transmission. The death rates for at risk groups is not something to take any chances on. It's not panic, it's observation of what has happened in other countries before us and the necessary steps to take now. Anyone coming from an infected hotspot, 14 day quarantine. And so on. Follow WHO advice.

WHO advice isn't to lock everything down. You mention airlines, hotels etc not being a priority, tell that to all the people who work in that industry who with a lockdown would be out of work etc.

A lockdown simply wont happen.