Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

wakka12 wrote: »
    I dont understand why everyone is criticising RTE for not naming the school, obviously they are doing it out of respect for the patient who wants their name to remain confidential. Nobody is being put at risk by this confidentiality as the HSE has put protocols in place and made all affected parties at the school aware of the danger and what they need to do
    The fact that certain people who live in the area may not know that it's a local school because they're not on social media or in the loop is quite dangerous imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Reati wrote: »
    This.

I was in a restaurant early and went to nigh mó lámha in the Jacks.

One lad came in, into the stall, flush, pissed, flushed again then walked out without washing. Another lad in slash and out not a drop of water used.

Then saw the first lad eating his burger 5 minutes later with his faecal covered hands. Brave chap. He didn't look that healthy to start.

Nigh do lámha! Wash your hands! It's no your Mickey that's the problem. It's the handles, doors, flushes to name a few.

I wouldn't be too concerned about some guy not washing after using a urinal but a cubical? Even they are only having as pee, like you said it's things like the handles are the problem
    There's a bar in Cork called Electric, there are communal sinks outside the toilets with no door beyond it, so no handles to touch after washing your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I dont understand why everyone is criticising RTE for not naming the school, obviously they are doing it out of respect for the patient who wants their name to remain confidential. Nobody is being put at risk by this confidentiality as the HSE has put protocols in place and made all affected parties at the school aware of the danger and what they need to do

GDPR.

But sure that doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

tuxy wrote: »
    Was this a decision by RTE or the HSE?
    RTE is a goverment run organisation so will follow advice from other goverment organisations.

That’s not true. RTÉ is a commercial semi-state.

Don’t see what the obsession is with knowing where the school is. Ghoulish curiosity it would appear.

The idea that this is some part of a grand conspiracy or censorship is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

gabeeg wrote: »
    watch your homophobic language

Watch your backseat modding.
    Report the post if you want something done about it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What's the worst that can happen from people panicking? The stock market loses some percentage?
    Panic for one. A run on items that may be actually needed elsewhere; QV face masks and hand wash*.
    What's the worst that can happen from a lackadaisical response? Dead people.
    I dunno, here's a crazy left field thought; a non hysterical panic merchant response and more a mature measured response? IE regular handwashing with soap and water, avoid touching one's face after being around people, simple precautions around vulnerable people, avoid close contact like handshaking and hugging, travel less, avoid public transport and crowds where possible, if you do show symptoms ring your GP, don't visit and don't go to work. And even that lot is being pretty cautious.

*even here your average Sean O'Citizen seems a tad thick. If you are around or know vulnerable people, walk into somewhere like B&Q or any paint supply shop and pick up something like this for 20/30 odd quid.

3m-7502-3-half-mask-respirator-dust-face-mask-3276-p.jpg

Far higher protection than the basic face masks people are panic buying, which are largely pointless unless you have the dose and want to limit the spread. Reusable too.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

VayNiice wrote: »
    Threads like this are doing more harm than good. This panic and hysteria is so typical of Ireland. I really think some people are enjoying it. You're not going to be told to stay indoors for a month, there's no need to be bulk buying. It's not the apocalypse.

I've been in SE Asia for the past two months with work, mainly in vietnam and life is going on more or less as normal. People are wearing masks, restaurants are making you use hand sanitiser as you go in etc. But people aren't panicking. Theres no shortage of hand sanitisers or masks around.

To be honest, reading boards has me more nervous than anything I've seen while in Asia.

The government/HSE secrecy is adding to the panic that’s starting to set in here. When people think something is being hidden from them then their imagination takes over. You can’t really blame people for that.

I think the internet should be switched off for a month, that would go some way to quelling the hysteria which I think is going to happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

That’s not true. RTÉ is a commercial semi-state.

Don’t see what the obsession is with knowing where the school is. Ghoulish curiosity it would appear.

The idea that this is some part of grand conspiracy or censorship is hilarious.

You clearly don't have kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Are the Italy cases still more or less in the same area?

Have you any dealings with the mater? Also staff in other hospitals know about this as the mater is where the infectious diseases are looked after.

I guess where this is going is that I, along with others it seems, are calling bullsh*t on your claims to be an ‘in the know’ medical professional

I don't particularly have dealings with the mater (apart from occasional e-mails regarding medicines management). I am aware that it is has an infectious disease department but so does St. Vincent's, St. James, Beaumont etc. It's healthy to be sceptical of what I'm saying. You can believe what you want. But if you look back at my post history. It's pretty obvious I'm a hospital pharmacist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,853 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

so how long after re-entering the country did this person self-isolate/contact authorities?

When they had symptoms.
    Why aren't people returning from at risk areas being quarantined ? Not the fault of the individuals infected now but this was not deemed necessary by the HSE. All that was asked was to self isolate ìf showing symptoms.
    So if the infection is only passed on when individuals have symptoms , why is there a need to , for example , shut this school down for two weeks?
    The logical thing would be to ask people to report to HSE if they have symptoms , and self isolate , if following their own procedure.
    Just pointing out that it doesn't make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Nothing like trial by social media. Like all the folks trying to name the Ana Kriégel rapist and murderers, then naming the school etc etc. People love drama and gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Surely some transparency about the location and reach of the virus in Dublin so far would put people's minds at ease and assuage fears that you might be one of the people at risk. That would deter a lot of the people spreading rumours and give them less credibility as good information is coming from the health service.

You are missing the point.

In essence, everyone is at risk. Close contacts are at most risk hence they are advised to self isolate.

Of course, a theoretical option is for everyone to self isolate; however the social and economic consequences of that would be extremely significant, so a degree of proportionality is required.

Bear in mind that covid could well be something we need to accept is here to stay on a likely seasonal basis; we can’t self isolate forever

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Has any European country stopped flights from Italy / Northern Italy yet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Because it was the 9 o clock NEWS, not a HSE PR exercise.

Simon Harris trotted out the whole "membership of the EU means open borders" crap at some stage this week, he's their current official bum-boy.

Bum boy?

Nice.

Good to know homophobia is still alive and well in Ireland in the 21st century.

Moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

I have two friends battling serious illnesses at the moment. They're not elderly but, based on reported effects on immunocpromised patients, this virus will probably kill them if they are infected.

Sorry to hear that. We've got to prepare for the worst but hope for the best...and so many times the hope pays off.

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I am a clerical worker indeed.

I'll be manning the printer and spreadsheet's tomorrow along with yourself.

Us frontline workers need to stick together, Dazzler.

I'm more audits than spreadsheets unfortunately. Keep undermining yourself though, champ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

tuxy wrote: »
    Watch your backseat modding.
    Report the post if you want something done about it.

calling out homophobic language is not backseat modding

it's the norm, get used to it, you homophobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Wibbs wrote: »
    Look, the actual mortality rate is nowhere near accurate and won't be until many months from now(or longer). This is a clinical scientific fact. It's known that it can be asymptomatic in some, very mild in many, if not most and those people have simply not shown up in the stats to the degree where claims can be made. Do you go to the GP with a slight sniffle? Exactly. The strong likelihood is that the actual mortality rate is significantly lower than 2%.

Again, Wuhan nor anywhere else in the East with far higher rates of infection and isolation ran out of food and other essentials. Yet the bloody sky is suddenly falling in here? It's daft "thinking" like this that has already caused a run on handwash and masks, neither of which show greater efficacy than simple precautions like avoiding close quarters and regular handwashing with bog standard soap and water.

You can't always easily get to soap and water, that's the point. My friend would have a job where she often has to shake hands with people and also uses public transport to get around London. It's not always possible or practical to immediately go and wash your hands with soap right after you've got off a bus and extremely easy to accidentally touch your face or nose without thinking. This is why hand gel has been recommended - it's a lot better than nothing.

I do agree with most your sentiment, btw, but wanting to make sure you have enough hand gel, tissues and the like isn't OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Can someone explain schools' obsession with skiing trips? It's ridiculous. Bring them to see some historical sights. What's with all the skiing craic?

You know if Italy had taken more precautions with people flying in from China our school trips wouldn't have been left open to infection.

If the HSE had taken more precautions with school trips flying in from northern Italy, our schools wouldn't have been left open to infection.

If the government currently took more precaution with families of people of those schools, then Dublin would not be left open to infection.

Everybody could see this was going to happen. I said it a week ago. It is not fking rocket science.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,666 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

fr336 wrote: »

There are cases in nearly all of the provinces at this stage, the vast majority still centred in the north of the country though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Here you go. Note it's a few days old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Michelinextra.

No the super-spreaders have fanned out now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

gabeeg wrote: »
    watch your homophobic language
    Sorry, that was stupid of me, I didn't think of the actual meaning of it. It's edited now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,387 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

statesaver wrote: »
    Has any European country stopped flights from Italy / Northern Italy yet ?
    I don't think so, in Europe.

Someone mentioned Mauritius and Kuwait cancelling some flights that's about it I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,426 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I dont understand why everyone is criticising RTE for not naming the school, obviously they are doing it out of respect for the patient who wants their name to remain confidential.I think that is a good thing not a bad one, that our national media has any value for human dignity and not just click bait. Nobody is being put at risk by this confidentiality as the HSE has put protocols in place and made all affected parties at the school aware of the danger and what they need to do

How does naming the school do that?
    We know the name of the school.. it has hundreds of ztudents. No breach of patient name.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

drkpower wrote: »
    You are missing the point.

In essence, everyone is at risk. Close contacts are at most risk hence they are advised to self isolate.

Of course, a theoretical option is for everyone to self isolate; however the social and economic consequences of that would be extremely significant, so a degree of proportionality is required.

Bear in mind that covid could well be something we need to accept is here to stay on a likely seasonal basis; we can’t self isolate forever

Well, let's hope for a vaccine.

Sorry, that was stupid of me, I didn't think of the actual meaning of it. It's edited now.

Yeah yeah.

Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

I'm more audits than spreadsheets unfortunately. Keep undermining yourself though, champ.

Audits scream frontlines alright.