Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

That boy has siblings in a school local to me. Parents of pupils in that school got a text to say the school would be remaining open but there could be a risk.

Scoil olibheir in clonsilla.

What's the story with paler schools having notions and having their name in Irish. I feel that's more insidious than the corona virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

First case in Scotland. Nicola Sturgeon on Sky News live. Some leadership, how bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭solidasarock

I feel like we will be waiting for the EU to announce a EU wide restrictions and rules on returning from hotspots before our gov lifts a finger.

Zero chance of any pro active measures being taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Vodkat

In a breakdown of it all, Ireland has less than 250 ICU beds (public hospitals only). We have less than 50 isolation rooms that have air filtration systems in place and not enough ventilators in the country to deal with an outbreak of coronavirus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Seems that a school trip brought the virus to Ireland. Time to ban all school trips. https://www.thejournal.ie/coronavirus-case-ireland-covid-5028780-Mar2020/

Mod: Quit the bullshit and read properly before making random claims.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Gael23 wrote: »
    What’s th difference between Coronavirus and common Influenza?

The way it spreads, incubates and puts a strain on hospital resources is what is known so far, it’s early days. Oh and there is a vaccine for flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭cryptocurrency

If China created the virus then it was the biggest own goal in the history of mankind.

China made the virus? on purpose? Tin foil hat much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

I don't know - what's the difference between Coronavirus and common Influenza?

Same with any of the group chats I'm in and last night when I met up with my friends, they were very blasé. I didn't talk too much about it then, as we were having a good night, but when we messaging about it later I sent some links to indicate that it does actually look like it's a serious risk to public health and we should be more cautious to try and prevent its spread.

I will say that in the toilet of the pub, absolutely nobody was washing their hands.

I’ve said thus earlier, we are not a very hygiene conscious lot. Was in Riga last June, all public toilets perfectly useable and well used by locals who leave little trace of their visit behind. Was in Bulgaria in September, every single toilet stocked with paper to spare, soap etc. No paper left carelessly on floor. People on the trip remarked at the cleanliness of the locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

0.1 death rate for flu.

2% death rate for Coronavirus.

That is 20 times more simple maths.

Edit so they say but we don't have the full picture yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Unearthly

US news is now reporting that America will test a lot more people. Should have been done earlier but expect their numbers to shoot up if spread has been happening since January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

fr336 wrote: »
    First case in Scotland. Nicola Sturgeon on Sky News live. Some leadership, how bizarre.

Bizarrly Leo the doctor hasn't even shown his face at all.

The virus has some positives i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭KGLady

Kids in school in Clonsilla and Glasnevin? That's a bit of a trek

Its an irish language secondary school, there's not many of them around, before our new one opened in D15 all the kids wanting to continue from gaelscoil had to travel outside the area. There's going to be several gaelscoileanna primary schools with pupils that have siblings in Scoil Caitriona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

gabeeg wrote: »
    I don't know - what's the difference between Coronavirus and common Influenza?

I don’t know what a tracker mortgage is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

0.1 death rate for flu.

2% death rate for Coronavirus.

That is 20 times more simple maths.

Edit so they say but we don't have the full picture yet.

Plus no vaccines

GooglePlus wrote: »
    You tell me, healthcare professional.

Just wasn't sure you kept reposting the same message. Just worried about you, champ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

China made the virus? on purpose? Tin foil hat much?

If someone believes that they need to put down the computer and get some fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-health-armenia/armenia-reports-first-coronavirus-infection-idUSKBN20O1A5
    First case Armenia, spread to around 70 countries now

11 more cases in Spain, total 84
    https://www.lavanguardia.com/vida/20200301/473873474552/coronavirus-espana-73-casos-graves-sanidad.html

WHO reports that there have been 1800 cases reported worldwide outside China in the last 24 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

I will say that in the toilet of the pub, absolutely nobody was washing their hands.

This.

I was in a restaurant early and went to nigh mó lámha in the Jacks.

One lad came in, into the stall, flush, pissed flush then walked out without washing. Another lad in slash and out not a drop of water used.

Then saw the first lad eating his burger 5 minutes later with his faecal covered hands. Brave chap. He didn't look that healthy to start.

Nigh do lámha! Wash your hands! It's no your Mickey that's the problem. It's the handles, doors, flushes to name a few.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

2% is still massive Wibbs. That's not 'a member of your family will die' but it is 'someone on your street will die' type of number.
    If it turns out to be 2% when this all blows over. It's near guaranteed to be a lower percentage.
    It's not Ebola or MERS, but what those diseases had in mortality, they made up for in being much easier to contain.
    MERS(and SARS) were easier to contain because they were less transmissible, had a shorter and consistent incubation period, no asymptomatic carriers and only became infectious when symptoms occurred. If this Covid had the same mortality rate as MERS(70% of sufferers required intubation) then we would have a societal shift not seen since the Black Death.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It would be interesting to know the age profile of those that died. Rumours say that China created a virus that would only affect the elderly.

Dont know about that

Stats already posted here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 IconAssassin

New member here!

Have read more than a few of the responses here - shocked by the ineptitude/unwillingness of people who won't do some research.

To address the current mortality rate - 2990 confirmed / 3.4%mortality
    (Nowhere near 2%)

Please check: (New member - can't post links)
    covid19info.live (Data sources:WHO, CDC etc)

This number is based on the number of confirmed cases on the day that the patient dies(percentage of).
    Not on the number of confirmed cases on day that the patient was deemed to have been infected or at a later point tested/hospitalised.
    Possible mortality rate higher than the current 3.4%

This is not the flu.
    Reproduction number, or R0 is most certainly higher than the flu.
    Mortality rate for the flu: While estimates of case-fatality (CF) rates for past influenza pandemics have ranged from about 0.1% (1957 and 1968 pandemics) to 2-3% (1918 pandemic).
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_mortality_from_H5N1

The lack of response from TPTB is shameful and shocking.
    More interested in their stock market and their funny (FIAT) money.
    The financial beast has been on life support for years and this is now the excuse they needed/have been looking for to blame the mother of all crashes on!
    Part of a long existing plan to enact NWO/Global governance. (Not a conspiracy theory but conspiracy fact!)
    This will have devastating effects on the whole world - no joke.

And as for our own government - shower of ******* the lot of them.
    Minister for Health - doesn't have any health experience (art degree course apparently) (See the childrens hospital fiasco)

This is a momentus time for all.
    This should be dealt with in a frank and open manner.
    The people responsible should be held legally responsible from here on for their actions.
    Not informing the populace of where the current infectious patient hails from is tantemount to living in the PRoC!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Reati wrote: »
    This.

One lad came in, into the stall, flush, pissed flush then walked out without washing. Another lad in slash and out not a drop of water used.

Then saw the first lad eating his burger 5 minutes later with his faecal covered hands. Brave chap. He didn't look that healthy to start.

Nigh do lámha! Wash your hands! It's no your Mickey that's the problem. It's the handles, doors, flushes to name a few.

Pissed flush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 caipin

Has anyone any information on coronovirus and pregnancy? I've googled but can't find any HSE advice. Looked at some American and Aussie advice but I'm still unsure whether I'm more at risk or not now and what, if any risk, is posed to my unborn baby (I'd be in a low risk group if I wasn't pregnant anyway). Not hugely worried but I am trying to keep myself informed all the same.

The HSE have issued some information around it. I haven't read through it but it might be useful.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/guidance/pregnancyportpartumguidance/Guidance%20for%20management%20of%20suspected%20COVID19%20in%20pregnant%20and%20post%20partum%20period%20V1.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Whats possitive so far in britan is that there has been close to 40 confirmed cases but if these 40, only two of these havent been to infection regions in other countries.

Implies that with proper precautions in place its doesnt spread that fast away from the really contagious sites of wuhan iran and italy.

Britain have been reporting cases a few weeks now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Bizarrly Leo the doctor hasn't even shown his face at all.

The virus has some positives i guess

People like you would be complaining that hes only the caretaker so shouldnt be the one talking to us if he was so he cant win tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,447 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This.

Its lads like that can fight off any virus. Immune systems like a dinosaur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

This.

But if you've washed your cock in the morning you're good for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Vodkat wrote: »
    In a breakdown of it all, Ireland has less than 250 ICU beds (public hospitals only). We have less than 50 isolation rooms that have air filtration systems in place and not enough ventilators in the country to deal with an outbreak of coronavirus.

Said isolation rooms are typically occupied by patients with ant number of contagious bugs and those who are dying in order to afford privacy to families