Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Mods need to sort this out. Any claims should have a link to back it up. Thread is getting ridiculous at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,006 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

skimpydoo wrote: »
    Agreed that alleged video of the Clayton Hotel was actually an office building on Sir John Rogersons Quay and we don't know when the video was shot.

It could have just been in response to a guest thinking they had spotted a suspicious character with an asbestos vest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

pad199207 wrote: »
    Mad idea and all that... But would it come to pass that social media could be curtailed or cut off to stop hysteria and panic setting in?

hopefully they will start with boards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Mater hospital has a confirmed case

Link or GTF too much fake news on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Mad idea and all that... But would it come to pass that social media could be curtailed or cut off to stop hysteria and panic setting in?
    No we aren't in bloody north korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Please stop posting rumours without verified sources. This is why people panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,310 ✭✭✭pad199207

Screening is a waste of time in most cases, infected people are symptom-less passing through airports. There's a reason health officials are trying to focus their efforts on identifying people with actual symptoms in the community and not focusing entirely on ports of entry.

Begs the question then doesn’t it. What can we actually do to stop it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Who told you that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

appledrop wrote: »
    There he is again on rte lying saying health service has capacity.

What a load of crap. Yep I'm certain they are playing it down hoping that some slip through the net + dont get tested as we have no where to put them.

It's very worrying when the head honcho from the HSE comes on the state broadcaster and plain out tells fibs about capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

How do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

If you're separating your waste properly then that shouldn't really be a huge problem for a few months. Meat and fish waste goes to the pets. If you don't have a cat then you can usually aquire one these days by going outside your back garden with intent. Eggshells vegetation and degradable gets composted. Wash plastic, glass aluminum and use again or store. Flatten and pack down paper as best you can for easier storage. You're not really going to be able to accumulate as much waste if you're not shopping.

I revoke my earlier statements about "everyone" working from home. It's definitely something to consider for those who can. Those who HAVE to go out would benefit from the quieter streets and there would be less chance of idle transmission of disease.

I provide essential care for a relative with immunity issues regularly and I fear that going to work will expose me and, in turn, him. I'm weighing up my options quite seriously.

I work in an airport daily, if we stopped going to work then no flights would leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

theballz wrote: »
    Question (possibly a silly one.)

Why would there be a “media blackout” of these suspected cases in Clayton, Mater, Vincents etc?

I could understand why these cases may not be reported on the basis that they may not have been confirmed infections, however, confused as to why a “blackout” by the media might be put in place (assuming these suspected cases are legit.)

Can anyone help me understand this?

Or is it purely WhatsApp b*llocks talk?

Media ban wouldn’t work here.someones mother/father/neighbors etc would be working in one of them hotels if there was any truth in it and they would let everyone know it’s all boll1x.
    James Bond wouldn’t have a patch on paddy Irishman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

cnocbui wrote: »

I would never buy stocks or shares. Feck that, if you make any decent profit 33% tax on gain + brokers fees. Anyway I'm not in that league, nor do I want to be. The tax returns would kill me for starters!

Might be good for those who can afford to take a hit, and then a profit, but it's not for me. Was just laughing at the fella sorry can't remember his name now, US guy who was all for buying low and selling high. I think he made a mint during our debacle in 2008. Bet he wasn't the only one either.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Think it's time claims of new cases need backing up with links from recognised news channels - clayton hotel rubbish has been posted about 12 times in the past hour
    Mods need to sort this out. Any claims should have a link to back it up. Thread is getting ridiculous at this stage.

Snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Mods need to sort this out. Any claims should have a link to back it up.

The earth is flat.

Link :

https://www.tfes.org

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Nothing. It's too expenses to shut down global travel. A vaccine or treatment is the best case to hope for. In fact this outbreak will likely down down into summer and flare back up next year around flu season. It's not going to disappear now until its vaccinated out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Good point made there by a doctor on RTE, Chinese people take a tremendous pride in their country and protecting it and have all rowed in the same direction to stop the virus

Here we are still making father ted jokes and moaning about a cancelled game of rugbyball.

What do you want people to do ? howld on there till i go out and rally the troops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,006 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

josip wrote: »
    Is JohnnyFlash with ye?

Hopefully he is and came straight from that now quarantined brothel in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Do you have a link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

If you're separating your waste properly then that shouldn't really be a huge problem for a few months. Meat and fish waste goes to the pets. If you don't have a cat then you can usually aquire one these days by going outside your back garden with intent. Eggshells vegetation and degradable gets composted. Wash plastic, glass aluminum and use again or store. Flatten and pack down paper as best you can for easier storage. You're not really going to be able to accumulate as much waste if you're not shopping.

I revoke my earlier statements about "everyone" working from home. It's definitely something to consider for those who can. Those who HAVE to go out would benefit from the quieter streets and there would be less chance of idle transmission of disease.

I provide essential care for a relative with immunity issues regularly and I fear that going to work will expose me and, in turn, him. I'm weighing up my options quite seriously.

You lost me when you talked about cats as being a solution to waste meat etc. My one is on a feckin hunger strike because I picked up her usual high quality brand of cat food but not her usual flavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

I don't think we can. We can only slow it.

And that's going to be a massive pain in the gee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Ferm001 wrote: »
    First case in NI confirmed. Woman travelled from Italy through Dublin.

Even the Corona virus won't use Belfast international airport.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Most cases coming from northern Italy, border controls need to be imposed now ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Anyone else getting the group message on the plan to head to the Aviva for the game even if it's cancelled? As a sort of protest/pissup. Apparently lots of Italian fans are planning on coming over. Got it forwarded from a few lads in the club. Would probably be a bit of craic to get dressed in the jerseys and all and head on the beer in slaterrys anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Time for a 24 hour ban for claims made without a plausible source to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

skimpydoo wrote: »
    Link or GTF too much fake news on here.

Just wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Fireball81 wrote: »
    Unconfirmed and can't see anything official anywhere..could be rubbish, could be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

After reading this thread it’s nice to see someone post up a photo on facebook of a drink on a table in the Clayton Dublin airport hotel looking forward to their trip tomorrow morning to Lanzorote. People in the background all looking relaxed reading papers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,422 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Anyone else getting the group message on the plan to head to the Aviva for the game even if it's cancelled? As a sort of protest/pissup. Apparently lots of Italian fans are planning on coming over. Got it forwarded from a few lads in the club. Would probably be a bit of craic to get dressed in the jerseys and all and head on the beer in slaterrys anyway.

Lock yourselves into the Aviva for three weeks and we will see how many of ye come out alive. Bring much beer.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)