Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

dublin99 wrote: »
    One important factor in Singapore , Macau and hong Kong is that people are very good with wearing surgical masks when they are out and especially on public transport. Singapore government actually supplied masks to local people. This would have helped reduce the spreading risk in such a densely populated city. Singapore has total area 1% of Ireland but population of 5.8 million.

They've also done a very good job of contact tracking, and have been very forthcoming with details of each new case.

Some are asking if higher temps might also limit viral spread. Japan and S Korea - both cold right now - are on an upward trajectory, while Singapore (~30 deg C) has contained it remarkably well. Cases in Hong Kong (~20 deg) are low too, despite early and repeated introductions from mainland China. Too early to say if temps are a factor, but intriguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

gmisk wrote:
    Ok question about the coronavirus I know it can cause pneumonia.. I had what was described as atypical viral pneumonia when I was about 19. It was bloody horrendous I lost about 3 stone by the end of it. Not sure if this would make me more or less susceptible to this? I am guessing I will be at same risk, my immune system is excellent since very rare I get a cold even.
    I'm not a doctor. I would imagine if you made a full recovery with no complications then you're no more susceptible than the rest of us.
    Mic 1972 wrote:
    The silence from other European countries is deafening, still showing ridiculously low confirmed cases, are we all afraid to test our patients? Hospitals have been epicenters of contagious before, they need to run tests at least there
    Testing anyone and everyone as a screening program is a waste of time and resources.

We should only test those with symptoms, those who have had direct contact with an infected person or someone who has been in an infected region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Glenomra

More schools with returing students from trips to N.Italy: Co.Antrim and x2 over in Cheshire heading for self-quatantine.

Likely many more, as many Schools across uk-ire all enjoy the aul school organised ski trips to Euroland slopes.

I thought that those school children weren't flying anymore as they save the planet!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Cant find the earlier post, but there was mention of a vaccine. Not sure if its from the same company? https://www.nasdaq.com/articles/modernas-new-covid-19-vaccine-ready-for-human-trials-stock-up-15-2020-02-25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I'm not a doctor. I would imagine if you made a full recovery with no complications then you're no more susceptible than the rest of us.

Testing anyone and everyone as a screening program is a waste of time and resources.

We should only test those with symptoms, those who have had direct contact with an infected person or someone who has been in an infected region.
    Thanks that's kind of what I was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

darjeeling wrote: »
    They've also done a very good job of contact tracking, and have been very forthcoming with details of each new case.

Some are asking if higher temps might also limit viral spread. Japan and S Korea - both cold right now - are on an upward trajectory, while Singapore (~30 deg C) has contained it remarkably well. Cases in Hong Kong (~20 deg) are low too, despite early and repeated introductions from mainland China. Too early to say if temps are a factor, but intriguing.

Interesting to look at the figures minus Hubei province too (if you take Hubei out of the equation, 142 people have died from COVID, so far.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

SusieBlue wrote: »
    My neighbours son is among 55 Irish Erasmus students in University of Milan. They were all flown home yesterday because the university has closed, and they were all allowed to walk off the planes with no testing or health checks.
    They are all from various different parts of Ireland, and are now home in their various cities, towns and villages across the country under the instruction to just self quarantine if they start to feel sick.
    There will be many other Erasmus students in different colleges/universities in the affected areas returning in the coming days in similar circumstances.
    This is how it will spread, its so worrying that these kids weren't even checked upon arrival into Ireland.
    Its downright negligence on the part of the Irish government.

My friend was in Rome until last Wednesday (2 days before any official reported) and they were taking temperatures at the airport In Italy. He said there was no measures in Dublin airport . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Except you're infectious for days before you start showing symptoms.. and as far as I can tell, we seem to be testing hardly anyone, no matter where they've been or whom they've been in contact with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

BanditLuke wrote: »
    This is Iranian deputy health minister yesterday

https://twitter.com/i/status/1232274937936781312

And probably infecting his entire cabinet in the process.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

Would you have any thoughts on whether and how antibody testing would be used as fast test kits become available?

I know it won't replace diagnostic nucleic acid tests, but it should allow rapid screening to see who has been exposed, including people who have recovered but I don't know where it might best be used though, and if the HSE conducts this kind of general population screening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Supposed to be going to Malaga in a month with the family, I think I'm resigned to the fact we will be cancelling it at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭celt262

Supposed to be going to Malaga in a month with the family, I think I'm resigned to the fact we will be cancelling it at this stage.

If you were going to be going to Centre Parc in Longford in a month you would be cancelling that also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭mlem123

Not a bit early for that? Mainland only has 1 case in Catalunya.

Also, sure if you get it at least you're in the country with one of the best health systems in Europe :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I think that by the time your holiday rolls around, the virus will be so widespread (and actually acknowledged) that the prevailing advice will be "You'll probably catch it anyway, so just go ahead and act as normal, exercising the usual hand hygiene etc, and when you do catch it, hope it won't kill you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Still no checks at Dublin airport. You could get off an airplane from Milan and be looking like a character from the walking dead and you'd stroll right through. Mickey Mouse stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Only 1 (new) case in Barcelona, wouldn't be cancelling...yet

Ficheall wrote: »
    I think that by the time your holiday rolls around, the virus will be so widespread (and actually acknowledged) that the prevailing advice will be "You'll probably catch it anyway, so just go ahead and act as normal, exercising the usual hand hygiene etc, and when you do catch it, hope it won't kill you."

Which is going to lead to extraordinary numbers of casualties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Still no checks at Dublin airport. You could get off an airplane from Milan and be looking like a character from the walking dead and you'd stroll right through. Mickey Mouse stuff.

We took the foot and mouth situation a lot more seriously.

There are reports the case in Tenerife is a doctor from Lombardy. We'll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

cnocbui wrote: »
    In fairness, her reaction was pretty justified given the trolling by that self-satisfied ratbag, Ads By Google.

thanks. that was exactly my thought, that it's that guy under a different username.

people who just came to this thread should be aware there's a first thread with 1000 posts and some here, as me, were in that from the beginning and have a bit of experience here with some purposely (not many though!) mind boggling stupid spread fake news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

WHO are doing a live press now..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XF6AZv8P3i4

So far the narrative is just "China great bunch of lads" crazy :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Alkers wrote: »
    Not sure if this link has been posted previously.

https://gisanddata.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/bda7594740fd40299423467b48e9ecf6

The main thing I noted from it Vs the media coverage is the number of people who have recovered.

That link was posted and dissected so many time before to the point of getting a ban warning! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

YFlyer wrote: »
    We took the foot and mouth situation a lot more seriously.

If you didn't know better you'd think they just want everyone to get it.

If you were to believe whats being said then there's no testing of people coming from infected regions at all coming into this country.

No testing of people who have had contact with cases and presented themselves for testing.

Instead of being one of a very few places that might have a chance of escaping this thing we are just sitting back and hoping for the best.

I hope the lack of action here is not something we will live (or maybe not) to regret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

DominoDub wrote: »
    WHO are doing a live press now..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XF6AZv8P3i4

So far the narrative is just "China great bunch of lads" crazy :eek:

The WHO are a ****ing disgrace.

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    That link was posted and dissected so many time before to the point of getting a ban warning! ;)

Oddly enough I've never seen it before; I was taking all my stuff from here:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

If you didn't know better you'd think they just want everyone to get it.

If you were to believe whats being said then there's no testing of people coming from infected regions at all coming into this country.

No testing of people who have had contact with cases and presented themselves for testing.

Instead of being one of a very few places that might have a chance of escaping this thing we are just sitting back and hoping for the best.

I hope the lack of action here is not something we will live (or maybe not) to regret.

Lets be real, it's already here.

They are most likely waiting for the first (bad) case to pop up to put any resources to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭firemansam4

mlem123 wrote:
    Not a bit early for that? Mainland only has 1 case in Catalunya.

Ficheall wrote:

fritzelly wrote:
    Only 1 (new) case in Barcelona, wouldn't be cancelling...yet

Well if I cancel I lose nearly everything anyway, so won't actually be cancelling flights or hotel yet, but I'm just resigning myself to the fact we'll probably have to cancel when the time comes.

Had to cancel the time of the Ash clouds from Iceland so have form for picking the worst times for travelling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

We really are a hick backward nation. Taking the blaise "ah sur it will be grand "approach is so fcuking ignorantly irish . Its the very reason why there are so many hard necked fcuks in this country . Why when certain members of the Irish government and Gardai are shown to be corrupt they get away with it. Why people like John Delaney get away with what he did and the current situation with the NCT issue is another example. We are a backward nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭auspicious

SusieBlue wrote: »
    My neighbours son is among 55 Irish Erasmus students in University of Milan. They were all flown home yesterday because the university has closed, and they were all allowed to walk off the planes with no testing or health checks.
    They are all from various different parts of Ireland, and are now home in their various cities, towns and villages across the country under the instruction to just self quarantine if they start to feel sick.
    There will be many other Erasmus students in different colleges/universities in the affected areas returning in the coming days in similar circumstances.
    This is how it will spread, its so worrying that these kids weren't even checked upon arrival into Ireland.
    Its downright negligence on the part of the Irish government.

It's outrageous.
    Which one person in government does it fall to to implement basic directives such as checking flights from affected regions? If even one death results from the lack of adequate action I'd like to see prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Candlemass

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Oddly enough I've never seen it before; I was taking all my stuff from here:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

getting info from this:

https://gisanddata.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/bda7594740fd40299423467b48e9ecf6