Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Want to be telling us soon so we can be travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭waterfordgirl

Game off - saw it on Waterford GAAs twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Pling

Déise in Dublin 2020 Club AGM

Join us on Tuesday 18th Feb at 8pm in the Hilton Hotel, Charlemont Place, Dublin 2 to review 2019 and plans for 2020

The Déise in Dublin exists as a meeting place for supporters of Waterford Hurling, Camoige & Gaelic Football teams. The club organises social events & fund-raising events. New members from Waterford and further afield living in Dublin & surrounding counties are always welcome.

The Club is an official GAA Club of County Waterford & therefore receives ticket allocations for all Waterford matches. Members have priority when requesting tickets. All members are invited to attend and if you would like to be part of the Déise in Dublin committee, do come along on the night, or get in touch with us by email. Always looking for new members, new faces and fresh ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,668 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The wait for the CCCC meeting and refixture

Could we play Limerick next weekend and then Galway the 1st March, Tipp 8th March

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The wait for the CCCC meeting and refixture

Could we play Limerick next weekend and then Galway the 1st March, Tipp 8th March

No.

No news on the rescheduleing of the Limerick game yet

Galway at home next Sunday. They missed out on a game this weekend the same as us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

Ahead of my own county Clare's U20 Munster football championship clash against Waterford tomorrow in Miltown Malbay, any Deise poster on what is expected of the Waterford U20's and what challenge will they bring to West Clare will be most appreciated by this Clare poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Ahead of my own county Clare's U20 Munster football championship clash against Waterford tomorrow in Miltown Malbay, any Deise poster on what is expected of the Waterford U20's and what challenge will they bring to West Clare will be most appreciated by this Clare poster.

Expect another Gavin Whelan tactical masterclass.

From what I've read and researched Gavin Whelan was the only one that took on the challenge of becoming Waterford U20 football manager. While the Deise county did best Clare last July, there is enough evidence to suggest that the result will have a much different result this time round.

Last year the Clare U20 footballers weren't even organised and the set up was a disaster under the management of Seamus Clancy. This year there seems to be better organisation and by all accounts they've been training 5 times a week. Michael Neylon who is manager this year guided his club Miltown Malbay to two Clare senior football titles. He has assembled a very good backroom team and results and performances are light and day ahead of last year if you go by pre-season games.

However the weather is meant to be cat tomorrow so it remains to be seen it the game which is due to start at 7 pm will even get the go ahead!

The reward for tomorrow's winner is a clash with defending Munster and All-Ireland champions Cork next Wednesday for a place in the Munster final which is due to take place on March 4th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

390km round trip for the Waterford players tomorrow. Shouldn't be allowed on a Wednesday night. What time will the Waterford players get home at? Whoever is the Waterford Munster council representative, they should be kicking up a fuss about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

390km round trip for the Waterford players tomorrow. Shouldn't be allowed on a Wednesday night. What time will the Waterford players get home at? Whoever is the Waterford Munster council representative, they should be kicking up a fuss about this.

Has always been the way. We beat Kerry in Walsh Park on a Wednesday night in Walsh Park a few years back and were drawn to play them in Killarney the following year on another Wednesday.

In that scenario you're having dinner around 9.30-10pm and getting home around 2 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

playing gaelic football shouldn't be allowed full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

They were listening to you......moved to Thursday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Pogue eile wrote: »
    They were listening to you......moved to Thursday night!

I'd say that'll have to be moved also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

hardybuck wrote: »
    I'd say that'll have to be moved also.

Considering Clare’s nominated venue is on the edge of the wild Atlantic there’s always a chance it’ll be a blow out. If Munster council are insistent on playing these games midweek they should at least move it to Ennis and make it some way fair to travelling team and supporters

Complete farce

Considering Clare’s nominated venue is on the edge of the wild Atlantic there’s always a chance it’ll be a blow out. If Munster council are insistent on playing these games midweek they should at least move it to Ennis and make it some way fair to travelling team and supporters

Complete farce

They dont care about teams they know aren't going to bring a massive crowd and be successful. Whoever wins will be lambs to the slaughter going up against Cork in the semi finals

Complete farce

There are no floodlights in Cusack Park so Ennis is out of reach. The biggest issue is playing the inter-county U20 football championship at this time of year. Absolute lunacy the current master fixture calendar is at present. No wonder there's such disconnect between the GAA hierachy and the grassroots. When you undermine the grassroots then the game is finished. Remember that John Horan and co. when you try to rush through your own narrow minded agendas.

Once again the players are treated with such distain which has been the norm under Mr Horan's reign as GAA President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

There are no floodlights in Cusack Park so Ennis is out of reach. The biggest issue is playing the inter-county U20 football championship at this time of year. Absolute lunacy the current master fixture calendar is at present. No wonder there's such disconnect between the GAA hierachy and the grassroots. When you undermine the grassroots then the game is finished. Remember that John Horan and co. when you try to rush through your own narrow minded agendas.

Once again the players are treated with such distain which has been the norm under Mr Horan's reign as GAA President.

Didn’t realise Ennis didn’t have floodlights, agree on Horan the sooner he’s gone the better, problem with GAA admin is full of people of his ilk. I thought when Sean Kelly came in and broke down barriers it would be a turning point for the GAA And we would see some real reform but it’s been one dinosaur after the next ever since.

1-5-0-4 to Clare at HT in the under 20 football

https://twitter.com/WaterfordGAA/status/1230587839382990849?s=19

Fair play to all the players and management for there effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

It's time to scrap football in this county full time.

Gardner wrote: »
    It's time to scrap football in this county full time.

will never happen even if were doomed to fail in it

Theres die hard football lads on the county board and with the clubs

Kilkenny i think play in the junior All ireland championships instead of the senior. Maybe a model like that hear could work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Few lads seriously out of touch here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

PTH2009 wrote: »
    will never happen even if were doomed to fail in it

Theres die hard football lads on the county board and with the clubs

Kilkenny i think play in the junior All ireland championships instead of the senior. Maybe a model like that hear could work

Get a grip lads will ye. We were **** at hurling fir a long time too and still are fairly **** in terms of success.do ye only measure what team ya follow by chances of winning. Which bandwagon did ye jump on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭big_drive

Is Kieran Bennett injured? Hasn’t played since Cork game, will he be back this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭DLS2THECORE

Kieran Bennett will ( I expect ) miss the rest of the league due to a hamstring injury sustained in training in the week leading up to the Westmeath game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,449 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

big_drive wrote: »
    Is Kieran Bennett injured? Hasn’t played since Cork game, will he be back this weekend?

Hamstring injury I believe, out for a good while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,449 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

KevIRL wrote: »
    Soky
    S fives
    Prunty
    McNulty
    C Lyons
    Daly
    Moran
    C gleeson
    Mahony
    Montgomery
    Dillon
    Fagan
    J prendergast
    S Bennett
    Curran

Same team named for sunday's game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

KevIRL wrote: »
    Same team named for sunday's game

Darragh Fives not named on subs, is he injured?