Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new coronavirus outbreak China, Korea, USA - mod warnings in OP (updated 24/02/20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

and you know that how?

I could explain, but it's beyond you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.reddit.com/r/China_Flu/comments/f57e12/singapore_has_near_perfect_detection/
    Singapore is believed to have 'near perfect' rates of detection of infected people, and even then it is believed that there are 1.8 undetected cases for every detected case in Singapore. So , best case scenario there is still 135 other infected people in singapore walking around with coronavirus ,unknown to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,912 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

cnocbui wrote: »
    I could explain, but it's beyond you.

I generally find people talking out of their arse to be quite difficult to understand so you are quite correct.

RTÉ reporting that Irish citizens on board the Diamond Princess.
    The Department of Foreign Affairs has confirmed there are Irish citizens on board a cruise ship in Japan where 454 cases of coronavirus have been diagnosed.

Asked whether there were any plans to evacuate them, a spokesperson said the department is "examining its options."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

The US has finally gotten sick of Japan's idiocy and is flying their citizens back to the US. That week minded POS fool Australia saddled itself with as a PM, has finally got a thought process finished in his tiny little mind, so Australia is going to evacuate it's 200. They will put them on Christmas Island where the lot went, who have now finished their quarantine stint and are returning to the mainland.

I don't think its idiocy. I would say that is exactly what Japan wants. They don't want to have to deal with 4000 foreigners in quarantine. I can see their point. Its very selfish but I don't know how idiotic from their point of view.

RTÉ reporting that Irish citizens on board the Diamond Princess.

Examining will Britain or France take them when they are getting their citizens I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

fritzelly wrote: »
    So deflecting and offering no proof

Lol. You disagreed with the other posters comment and not me. And you provided no 'proof' in that comment to show that the statistician quoted was wrong. So I'd suggest you up your game there or find a new line of feigning outrage which actually stands up to some scrutiny.

My question was - are "you're saying the Chinese figures are correct?". You haven't answered that btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I don't think its idiocy. I would say that is exactly what Japan wants. They don't want to have to deal with 4000 foreigners in quarantine. I can see their point. Its very selfish but I don't know how idiotic from their point of view.

If you knew that members of the crew had the virus and the numbers of crew infected continued to rise, would you sit back and let the crew continue to prepare meals for themselves and the passengers or would you stop that and provide the meals from shore, prepared by people who don't have the virus?

I would provide meals from shore. That is crazy. I agree with you there.

I actually think the best thing would be take them off in small groups so you can test and quarantine and send home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Yurt! wrote: »

I have a good friend who is a long-term resident in Japan, he says he's very much enjoying seeing Japanese people gritting their teeth and being extra fake nice to the gaijin around for both the Rugby World Cup and the Olympics.

I'd say that says more about your friend tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Examining will Britain or France take them when they are getting their citizens I would say.

They should not be brought back to Ireland for at least 2 weeks.

https://www.reddit.com/r/China_Flu/comments/f559ll/a_24yearold_who_travelled_from_wuhan_to_guangzhou/
    A 24 year old patient in China developed symptoms one day after being quaratined for 14 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

A lot of really nonsensical remarks about the Japanese government on here. You have to ask yourself, what is the purpose of the Japanese government (or any government, for that matter). Clearly, it is to govern and, by-extension, make decisions on behalf-of (and for) its people. I believe the Japanese government made the decision not to treat the passengers on the ship, in the best interests of its own people - and who are we to criticise that decision. To be honest, if I was Japanese I would be glad they did so, looking after their own people first. I know it is a questionable decision, both morally and ethically, but you have to consider the greater good at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Be grand lads, come over and get your dose early, be better in the long run.

At least if you get it now and you develop acute illness, you can get treatment before the healthcare system is completely overwhelmed...think about it, head over , share around a few water bottles, head back and recover.

4 more cases in Japan. one with no links to existing infected

2 new in Singapore, incl a one year old child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Be grand lads, come over and get your dose early, be better in the long run.

At least if you get it now and you develop acute illness, you can get treatment before the healthcare system is completely overwhelmed...think about it, head over , share around a few water bottles, head back and recover.

I would but I'm busy this weekend with my kids' chicken pox party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,106 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

gozunda wrote: »
    Lol. You disagreed with the other posters comment and not me. And you provided no 'proof' in that comment to show that the statistician quoted was wrong. So I'd suggest you up your game there or find a new line of feigning outrage which actually stands up to some scrutiny.

My question was - are "you're saying the Chinese figures are correct?". You haven't answered that btw.

Sorry, your right wrong poster, but you replied to my challenge
    I don't believe the official figures tell the whole story

Sorry, your right wrong poster, but you replied to my challenge
    I don't believe the official figures tell the whole story

Unless i am very much mistaken that was entirely the point of the post you disagreed with. If you model the official figures they are far too perfect to be true. that was the point.

Tokyo marathon has been cancelled pretty big deal now considering it was a chance for competitors to qualify for the Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Tokyo marathon has been cancelled pretty big deal now considering it was a chance for competitors to qualify for the Olympics.

cant see the Olympics going ahead unless by some great bit of luck the virus goes away.

Unless i am very much mistaken that was entirely the point of the post you disagreed with. If you model the official figures they are far too perfect to be true. that was the point.

But they are not accurate unless you think 20% variance

20% variance from what? the figures or the models?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

MD1990 wrote: »
    cant see the Olympics going ahead unless by some great bit of luck the virus goes away.

Finally, Cork's big chance to shine! Get the diggers out lads, we've got an Olympic stadium to build! By Christ, we might actually get two events centres out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

It hasn't been, it's been cancelled for the general public. Elite runners will still be running.

20% variance from what? the figures or the models?

The figures they are predicting

the model mentioned in the article was 99% accurate. there is no way a model can be that accurate ergo the official figures it is based on are nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

It hasn't been, it's been cancelled for the general public. Elite runners will still be running.

If you read more than the headlines you're not welcome here! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Read the full article and please post sources.

Picked it up wrong on news, still though it been reduced to 176 runners from 38000 is massive

Read the full article and please post sources.

Seen it on news in Japan where they spoke to a participant who said he just found out it was cancelled there was no article