Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GE Exit Poll 10 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    The state wasn't bankrupt during the previous crash, it was the banks that were, due to being over leveraged, public finances were in decent shape at the time, regularly running balanced budgets, even slight surpluses at times

The state was insolvent despite the banks. Unemployment skyrocketed (social welfare shoots up and income tax plummets) and much of our economy was based on construction activity which died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

C__MC wrote: »
    Leave it to Irish
    Voting in SF with the dodgiest manifesto going

Crazy, like I said above, we have a lot of young voters who don’t know any better, and older uneducated benefit grabbing voters who again don’t know any better.Ah well at least they can protest again when things get way worse and drastic cuts are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭C__MC

Thoughts with Miriam o callaghan at this difficult time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

If mass unemployment, emigration, crumbling public services, and bankrupting the state is the price to pay for a 32 county Ireland, SF will happily take the country that way.
    Eh did Fianna Fáil/Greens/PDs not deliver us that already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,239 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Crazy, like I said above, we have a lot of young voters who don’t know any better, and older uneducated benefit grabbing voters who again don’t know any better.Ah well at least they can protest again when things get way worse and drastic cuts are needed.

They are not uneducated.

They are just from a generation that didn't grow up seeing the troubles in real time.

They don't know THAT history.

I can guarantee you now ff and fg wont merge

I don't think so either. They know it'd hurt them both next time out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭almostover

FF/FG/Greens coalition me thinks with Michael Martin as Taoiseach , Simon Coveny as Tainiste

Best case scenario really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,359 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

They are not uneducated.

They are just from a generation that didn't grow up seeing the troubles in real time.

They don't know THAT history.
    Lol they know the "troubles". But care about the present and the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,461 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know both MM and Leo both said they couldn't work with SF.

now MM looks like he's going nowhere, but do we think there could be any possibility that FG might have a leader change and that the new leader, Coveney?, might be open to forming a government with SF?

The biggest winners of this election poll are fg
    I genuinely thought they where dead and buried this week. It hasn't been a great campaign for them and they'll be delighted to hung in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,395 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Rattled? Rte will be grand after this

It's a drum he's been banging all week hoping others will jump onto his conspiracy theory.

jesus i fell asleep with sf very likely to be the third biggest party in the dail, and i woke up to a gang on triumphant shinners telling me how they are going to do this and do that, and a load of ff/fg supporters crying into their cornflakes

did something happen or do ye all just enjoy a bit of sunday morning nonsense?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

The panel said a SF candidate in Kildare went on holidays during the campaign and still looks like she might get elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭steves2

What long term planning is that? Building a children's hospital for 500 million which a year later turns out to be 1.5 billion? Or spending 1.6 million on a printer which can't fit into the building??

Not much planning going on there!

In fairness the printer thing is a failure of the civil service and no accountability for it, if SF were in power it would still have happened. And the hospital, it wasn't just FG dropping the ball on that one, there were many vested interests for the whole mess. Not apologizing for FG but I work in the public sector and see all manner of cock-ups and laziness, there'd need to be lay offs to fix it but that won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

6 wrote: »
    I don't think so either. They know it'd hurt them both next time out
    On social issues they are quite different, on finance FG are generally more cautious and they are not as naturally flamboyant with election promises. Then you have to deal with the 25% or so who did not choose either party. If one or other party slipped below 15% support there might be a case to be made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

The biggest winners of this election poll are fg
    I genuinely thought they where dead and buried this week. It hasn't been a great campaign for them and they'll be delighted to hung in there

How? The exit poll holds FG could lose 15 to 20 seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Maewyn Succat

Shocked why everyone thinks Sinn Fein have won, yes they have a large , young and uneducated vote but it still looks even on exit polls only, I suspect the final count will tell a different story

I think some people are under the impression that each party having roughly the same first preference votes amounts to each party getting 22% of the seats so 35 seats for SF, 35 for FF and 35 for FG.

pjohnson wrote: »
    The last IRA killing was 2007.

No they don't know the troubles at all. In fact most young people i talk to are very ignorant about it or not interested.

If they did know they would know the relationship between the IRA army council and SF. But they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Everything is on the table now

Including another election within the year.

Was 9/1 during the week. Now 5/2 with PaddyPower.

Micheal Martin wont be able to hold it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

jesus i fell asleep with sf very likely to be the third biggest party in the dail, and i woke up to a gang on triumphant shinners telling me how they are going to do this and do that, and a load of ff/fg supporters crying into their cornflakes

did something happen or do ye all just enjoy a bit of sunday morning nonsense?

None of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

NIMAN wrote: »

now MM looks like he's going nowhere, but do we think there could be any possibility that FG might have a leader change and that the new leader, Coveney?, might be open to forming a government with SF?

In a word, no.

Yes they will but it could have been alot worse
    They where polling terribly in opinion polls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

VMTV outdoing RTE by giving us early tallies.
    RTE waffling for the past 1.5 hours over the SF 'fright' repeating the same slides over and over from the exit poll

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

pjohnson wrote: »

You are missing the point it’s not about the troubles, it’s about ability, I would bet less than 5% of Sinn Fein voters have read their plans for government, it’s a moronic populist vote.

I think some people are under the impression that each party having roughly the same first preference votes amounts to each party getting 22% of the seats so 35 seats for SF, 35 for FF and 35 for FG.
    Yeah. I don't reckon SF will get many second preference votes. Sf voters will probably give a lot of second preferences to other leftest parties though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,359 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The last IRA killing was 2007.

No they don't know the troubles at all. In fact most young people i talk to are very ignorant about it or not interested.

If they did know they would know the relationship between the IRA army council and SF. But they don't.

Wow 13 years ago amazing. How many young people can buy/rent a house in 2020 or not be stuck on hospital waiting lists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

NIMAN wrote: »

I'd say its more likely that FF have a leader change and be open to forming a government with SF. When the dust settles FG won't have done too bad all things considered, very difficult to get a third term in government. FF won't want to sit another term out of government and they are not regaining the support they once had, being in opposition again will see them become more irrelevant. Mm himself might even backtrack and do a deal with SF if he wants to be Taoiseach badly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Shocked why everyone thinks Sinn Fein have won, yes they have a large , young and uneducated vote but it still looks even on exit polls only, I suspect the final count will tell a different story

im not in this cohort but what was the need for “uneducated” in this. its a bit funny that telling people theyre stupid for voting xyz way makes them want to vote that way more.

You are missing the point it’s not about the troubles, it’s about ability, I would bet less than 5% of Sinn Fein voters have read their plans for government, it’s a moronic populist vote.
    You would think SF walking out of govt over the Irish language act would wake people up ...but no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Who claims it will be 15-20 seats? It's bigger sample than usual but still tiny as a proportion of the electorate who voted.