Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

new coronavirus outbreak China, Korea, USA - mod warnings in OP (updated 24/02/20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,373 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    If I am correct that will be above 50000 by Sunday night based on the trend?

Dunno but 40k for sure - the number of international cases seems to be increasing quite badly
    See how the rest of the figures go in about an hour or so - the numbers outside the Wuhan area are really the ones to watch. If those numbers are rapidly rising it doesn't look good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Between the locusts in Africa, the fires in Oz and this it really is end of days stuff. Storm Claire on the way this weekend. Hope she behaves.

Obviously not indoors but if I had to go out shopping and the risks had risen then yeah I would happily wear it.

Good luck with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

These numbers are still making no sense and its worrying me that's there's an International spike just over the horizon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 macapaca

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Storm Claire on the way this weekend. Hope she behaves.

Claire is grand....her sister Ciara is a thundering bitch though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,894 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Baby brought to Altnagelvin Hospital in Derry tonight with symptoms.

Recently returned from Far East.

Perhaps just a standard illness or flu? i had heard earlier tonight but sometimes you hear a lot of nonsense on FB locally, but the Belfast Telegraph have picked it up.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/baby-tested-for-suspected-coronavirus-at-northern-ireland-hospital-38934516.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭laurah591

https://www.derryjournal.com/news/suspected-case-of-deadly-coronavirus-in-young-baby-at-altnagelvin-hospital-1-9226254

Here's another suspected case in Derry. Hopefully negative aswell

Same as above case.... article suggests they recently returned from Hong Kong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,468 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The Far East is a big place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,894 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Far East is a big place.

Hong Kong then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I hope they are going to run some more tests after that, considering one patient took four tests before getting a positive reading of the virus.

I'd say they will Cork is a major national hospital. At least their level even if they have the virus is too low to show up. They are in isolation so less chance of passing it on now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While you are working I guess? But you are going to wear it long term and while you go around doing your daily life? I was actually referring to just gas masks anyway, they are enough to give you a literal pain in your neck
    Gas masks are fairly easy to wear, some might feel claustrophobic, but otherwise... Certainly in the timeframe of an hour or so to get supplies and the like.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ardinn wrote: »
    Yeah he's informative alright A, but jaysus he bloody drags it out. Again you could condense that vid into 5 maybe 10 minutes. Maybe it's because he's a lecturer/teacher in the subject? Hang back for the slower guys in the back of the class kinda thing?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Of course that's what he's doing. It doesn't take a rocket surgeon to work out that he's trying to make it as easy to understand as possible for people of all abilities, ages, backgrounds and languages. It is a topic of international concern, so he does need to make the info accessible to all sorts of people. Not just the amazingly clever ones like yourself Wibbs.

Nada to do with cleverness or no, if anything I would say his dragged out approach is more confusing to lay people. Though the repetition might work to some degree.

"Rocket surgeon". Kudos. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭imfml

RTE reporting there are 15 suspected cases in Ireland with none confirmed. I guess its only a matter of time and we will have to rely on it being contained. Funny enough, I went to the gym tonight and was never so paranoid about how unhygienic it is if you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I wonder have gyms been forcibly closed in some asian countries like singapore and vietnam?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yeah he's informative alright A, but jaysus he bloody drags it out. Again you could condense that vid into 5 maybe 10 minutes. Maybe it's because he's a lecturer/teacher in the subject? Hang back for the slower guys in the back of the class kinda thing?

Agree with you. He repeats a lot of stuff but it's a single take to his credit - nothing like these "pro" youtubers who edit the crap out of their vids.
    He does know what he's talking about and fair play to him he is educating people

Just watched the last vid and he's like the WHO are saying what???

imfml wrote: »
    RTE reporting there are 15 suspected cases in Ireland with none confirmed. I guess its only a matter of time and we will have to rely on it being contained. Funny enough, I went to the gym tonight and was never so paranoid about how unhygienic it is if you think about it.

Saw that - what the hell is the point of PPE being sent to doctors. Are they gonna be in full hazmat suits when you go to see them or you cough and the doc says hold on there need to get changed
    Any eejit who goes to the doc with flu symptoms should be shot on sight - apart from the fact that even with normal flu you shouldn't be spreading it but you must have been living under a rock to go to them with the current news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Some hopeful reports today.

The doctor treating the patients in Germany says it's no more dangerous than the Flu
    https://www.br.de/nachrichten/bayern/schwabinger-chefarzt-corona-nicht-gefaehrlicher-als-influenza,RphX42Z

Harvard epidemiologist - “So what looks like a horrific disease may be the horrific tip of a very large iceberg,” i.e. there may be vast numbers of people who are infected, but we are only hearing about the most serious.
    https://science.sciencemag.org/content/367/6478/610?et_rid=34804937&et_cid=3196590

I also think the Chinese government's new strategy of quarantining people with mild symptoms in large fever hospitals sounds like a good strategy - home quarantine has helped to spread the disease amongst family groups. House them together, send any critical patients to hospitals, and release them when they are not infected. It's what we did here in Ireland back when TB was rampant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

40 more cases confirmed on the Japanese boat. 61 in total now. Well if the spreadability of the virus was ever in doubt that certainly puts it to bed
    Given that it seems remarkable that there has been so few localised outbreaks of note outside of China, especially with the lax screening of chinese touristsand immigrants into many countries even now, and several verified reports of confirmed infected invididuals holidaying throughout countries such as Mexico, England. I was reading an article yesterday about a Chinese man ho was infected and was hoolidaying in Mexico city, none of the dozens of people he was in contact with contracted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Remember that nurse who put out a video last week claiming that 90,000 were infected. Surely the real figure now in gone over the million.

Also remember the graph that estimates that a million would be dead by 21 Feb and around 57 million would be infected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 lolanacho

fritzelly wrote: »

The poor guy dead and his pregnant wife is also sick with Coronavirus.

41 new cases confirmed overnight on the cruise ship currently docked in Japan. Went from 20 to 61 in one jump
    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-07/massive-spike-of-coronavirus-cases-on-board-cruise-ship/11943302

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

41 new cases confirmed overnight on the cruise ship currently docked in Japan. Went from 20 to 61 in one jump
    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-07/massive-spike-of-coronavirus-cases-on-board-cruise-ship/11943302

Jesus this news is getting worse and worse, 15 unconfirmed in Ireland no idea where they are apart from 3 in Dublin, Cork and Kerry and 41 on that cruise ship bringing the total Japanese cases up to 94.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

As absolutely horrendous as it sounds, the spread on the cruise ship will be like a small laboratory for Japan and the rest of the civilised world to examine the disease in a controlled manner without China meddling in the results.

Of course, that could be at the expense of a lot of the guests becoming severely ill. Only time will tell.
    I work with Germans every day and they are never sensationalist or anything but blunt and pragmatic, so that tells us something of how to read into Bavaria's CMO (a few posts above) saying it's no worse than flu.

A third patient with coronavirus confirmed in the UK is being treated at a London hospital.
    Chief medical officer Professor Chris Whitty said in a statement on Thursday that the individual did not acquire the virus in the UK.
    It is understood the patient arrived at Guy’s Hospital in London Bridge on Thursday afternoon and that the virus was contracted in an Asian country, but not in China.
    The patient is thought to have been diagnosed in Brighton before being transferred.   https://au.news.yahoo.com/coronavirus-uk-third-case-confirmed-132226248.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

hmmm wrote: »
    Some hopeful reports today.

The doctor treating the patients in Germany says it's no more dangerous than the Flu
    https://www.br.de/nachrichten/bayern/schwabinger-chefarzt-corona-nicht-gefaehrlicher-als-influenza,RphX42Z

Harvard epidemiologist - “So what looks like a horrific disease may be the horrific tip of a very large iceberg,” i.e. there may be vast numbers of people who are infected, but we are only hearing about the most serious.
    https://science.sciencemag.org/content/367/6478/610?et_rid=34804937&et_cid=3196590

I also think the Chinese government's new strategy of quarantining people with mild symptoms in large fever hospitals sounds like a good strategy - home quarantine has helped to spread the disease amongst family groups. House them together, send any critical patients to hospitals, and release them when they are not infected. It's what we did here in Ireland back when TB was rampant.

A very interesting and reassuring read, thank you for posting. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭ongarite

wakka12 wrote: »
    I wonder have gyms been forcibly closed in some asian countries like singapore and vietnam?

Nope, I'm in Singapore for last week.
    My hotel gym, spa is open.
    All food courts which are packed with people daily are running as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

imfml wrote: »
    RTE reporting there are 15 suspected cases in Ireland with none confirmed.
    just looked that up, very short on details,
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0207/1113703-coronavirus/

although this line caught my attention...
    RTÉ News understands Minister for Health Simon Harris and his EU counterparts have been told they may have to attend the meeting next Thursday