Are all Gavins tools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

Meangadh wrote: »
    Was JUST about to say I've never met a Dean that wasn't trouble.

Callum is another one. Oh and Aarons. Tools and/or deviants.

In fairness never had any beef with a Gavin.

True about the Deans here too.

Know a few sound Aarons tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I know a Dean that's a sound lad. He fixes tractors and stuff, top man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

El Guapo! wrote: »
    :(

I'll stab you.

I was right!!

To be fair, most girls I know with my name are annoying pains... I don't really like my name :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I have noticed that all Dominics tend to be proper nutcases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I know one Gavin that is alright but all the other Gavins that I have came across were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Fran Gavin.

'Nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Zebra3 beat me to it. Fran Gavin is conclusive proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Another GAVIN

Possibly the worst of them all..

THIS STORY was probably written by a Gavin.

wat a dik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I know a Dean that's a sound lad. He robs tractors and stuff, top man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I see the popularity of the name Gavin peaked in 2008, coinciding with the global recession...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

My wife wanted to name one of the kids Gavin and I said no effin way for all the reasons outlined in this thread. Every Gavin I've met has been a plonkwad. I am not inflicting another one on the universe.

Have to admit I've had good luck with Craigs, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Going along the same theme, I read the courts pages in The Herald and The Indo and I've noticed a lot of Dean's and Wayne's appearing in court on criminal matters.

^^^^^
    + 1 (not from the paper but experience)

Also, have known 2 Gavin's
    Both headcases(not in a good way:)) of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I find Gavins I know are gay and sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Everyone I know is sound, don't know any Gavins, so putting that info together I would say that the OP is probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I am one myself. I will leave it to anyone who has ever read my posts to decide if I support or debunk the OPs theory :)

I certainly could list a few users who will line up to declare I fit perfectly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

I only know one Gavin and he's grand. But maybe I'm a prick too and don't notice him so much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I went to college with a Gavin from Cavan who was a complete prick, don't know whether that was because of his name or he was a mean Cavan bastárd. I could fill the stingy thread with stories of him. On the plus side he had the lepsy so couldn't go into nightclubs because of the flashing lights. Needless to say we spent a lot of time in nightclubs because of Gavin.

Flash forward to today, a neighbour of mine is called Gavin and he's sound as a pound....euro....whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Drkitkat

Darrens, Deans, Callums, Connors, Waynes & Warrens are usually antisocial trouble-makers but Gavins are in a league of their own. They lack all social skills and it could be said that they are tools, knobs, or much worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So the issue is not really the people with the name its their idiot parents, who clearly have handed down all the worst traits in humanity. Thing is they have names like Bill and Mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Drkitkat

or Mandy & Dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I seem to be hoarding all the sound Gavins for myself. I can think of three I know off the top of my head who are top quality people.

Although, they all go by Gav, rather than Gavin. Is this significant, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 jkml

I don't like Gavins but Gavans are alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Generally agree, but I know of one exception

A Gavin in my school was a top guy. Spent most of school time pushing the wheelchair and being friend to a guy with spina bifida. One of the nicest guys ever, and possibly single handedly responsible for bringing complete equilibrium to the world of Gavins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I know 4 Gavin's, 3 are bang on the other one not so much ,

I'm a Gavin and my mother says I'm lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

2 Gavins. 1 is dead sound, the other is a mouth breathing thundering idiot.

Haven't met a Darren yet that wasn't trouble.

Craig is a name that brings to mind a certain type of person. Drinks pints, thick neck, plays sport and is good at any sport he tries, but he's smug about it. Is straight, but you know he has looked at your junk at the urinal.

Nigels are just plain fùcking strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭gagiteebo

You're on to something OP. I know a Gavin and he's a complete pr*ck

Also Leon. I've never met a Leon who wasn't in some way a psycho social hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭sparkthatbled

There was a Gavin who was an odd-job man in a B+B i stayed in in Carlow. Basically did everything the owner was too old and frail to do and whenever he would accomplish the most basic tasks the old woman would be cooing "Oh, Gavin's brilliant!" and the fecker lapped it up! I think he was mostly paid in ego-stroking...

I think we're really on to something here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

If you type Gavin into Wikipedia this is the first guy that comes up.

Don't you just want to punch him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Sorry to bring up an old thread of mine, went out last weekend and one of the lads bumped into an old school mate, complete and utter tool.....name was Gavin

New guy starts in work 3wks ago, turn out to be a complete tool.....you guessed it, name is Gavin