Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are all Gavins tools?

• 05-06-2013 10:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭

Was thinking earlier about a boss i used to have, was about 15yrs ago, he was a complete twat, his name was Gavin.

A few years after that a good friend of mine got married, his wife's brother was another Gavin, who was also a twat.

When i worked the doors in Wales we had 2 guys in the club who were consistent pains in the arses, they were both called Gavin.

Alongside a Gavin i knew in school (also a tool) and another from college (idiot) i reckon i've known 6 Gavins in my life, and everyone has been a complete plank.

Do you know any decent Gavins? Or is there a common name where they were all tools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

scudzilla wrote: »
    Was thinking earlier about a boss i used to have, was about 15yrs ago, he was a complete twat, his name was Gavin.

A few years after that a good friend of mine got married, his wife's brother was another Gavin, who was also a twat.

When i worked the doors in Wales we had 2 guys in the club who were consistent pains in the arses, they were both called Gavin.

Alongside a Gavin i knew in school (also a tool) and another from college (idiot) i reckon i've known 6 Gavins in my life, and everyone has been a complete plank.

Do you know any decent Gavins? Or is there a common name where they were all tools?

The O'Toole's from the Hollow?

Shower of pricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I know plenty of Gavins, guess what?

They are all different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

http://gavinduffy.ie/blog/

So far your theory is holding up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Gavin Hastings is sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

Gavin Henson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You are definitely on to something here OP.

Gavin Henson - what a prick.

I'm working alongside a Gavin at the moment so I'll keep a beady eye on him.

I worked with a Gavin a few years ago and he was a lazy, beer drinking arsehole.

Hell even that arse of a gardener is diarmud gavin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Diarmuid Gavin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

First name Gavin, yes, all I've met anyway. Second name, nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I'm seeing the name Gavin so often in this thread that it's completely mindf*cking me. Even looking at the letters is confusing the hell out of me. Hate when that happens where a word loses all meaning due to sudden repetition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Going with the theme, I've found all Connors to be smug. No idea why. I am predjudiced against Connors, Conors, Conners and Cons. That might just be me though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

OP you are really onto something. I know four gavins. All are not the full shilling and or friendly or generally someone you would like to be around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Are ye sayin' Gavin or Wavin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Yes........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Are ye sayin' Gavin or Wavin???

That's a mongoloid question. Are you a Gavin perchance?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Gavin Friday.

I think you're onto something OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'm a Gavin and I'm lovely.... Screw you OP I hope you get a papercut.

I went out with a Gavin for about eight or nine months. Then I realised he was a prick.
    So yeah, down with Gavins. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Worst stag night I ever went to was in Swansea.

I blame the door men.

SEE-SEE ^^^^ they're all mean and nasty! Theory Proven beyond all doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Come to think of it, I only know one Gavin and he's a complete prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Disagree. Gavin from Autoglass is a top bloke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Well that's not very lovely :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

LizT wrote: »

Like your face.

BOHtox wrote: »
    Disagree. Gavin from Autoglass is a top bloke!
    He's only acting the gavin, his real name is Carl..

From now on when I see someone being a cnut, I shall call it "acting the gavin". Mini-Dazzler is acting the gavin in the above post, just to give the thing some excercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ultrasonic

Can only think of one Gavin I know...a bit of a nerd alright.
    A friend and I discussed this before about Gary's who all seem to be knóbs...maybe it's a universal thing which applies to guys names beginning with G.

Like your face.

^^^
    There's your answer folks.

:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

How about Craigs? In work I have dealt with about 15 Craigs and they were all angry young men and thick as bottled pigsh*te.

LizT wrote: »

At least they're not as bad as them Lizzies. :p

Luckily I'm not Lizzie :)

Yeah, lucky. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Gavins, Craigs, Gerards, Shannons and Sophies. All pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Great shout OP. I know two Gavins. One is a guy I used to work with, he was a smelly prick and he was English. The other guy is my cousin's boyfriend, he is constantly spitting and is a scumbag of the highest order.

Anyone remember Gavin Lambe Murphy?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

How about Craigs? In work I have dealt with about 15 Craigs and they were all angry young men and thick as bottled pigsh*te.

I know a craig he plays trad music and is about 18. Sound man.

Also you play Junior B or Junior A hurling? Junior B is the sauce.

On a slightly related note, I have never met a Shauna that wasn't as sexy as fcuk. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

mfceiling wrote: »
    You are definitely on to something here OP.

Gavin Henson - what a prick.

I'm working alongside a Gavin at the moment so I'll keep a beady eye on him.

I worked with a Gavin a few years ago and he was a lazy, beer drinking arsehole.

Hell even that arse of a gardener is diarmud gavin...
    OP you are really onto something. I know four gavins. All are not the full shilling and or friendly or generally someone you would like to be around
    humberklog wrote: »
    Gavin Friday.

I think you're onto something OP.
    ultrasonic wrote: »
    Can only think of one Gavin I know...a bit of a nerd alright.
    A friend and I discussed this before about Gary's who all seem to be knóbs...maybe it's a universal thing which applies to guys names beginning with G.
    BNMC wrote: »
    Great shout OP. I know two Gavins. One is a guy I used to work with, he was a smelly prick and he was English. The other guy is my cousin's boyfriend, he is constantly spitting and is a scumbag of the highest order.

Anyone remember Gavin Lambe Murphy?...

Lookin like i'm really onto something, all Gavins really do seem to be tools

Actually senior hurling still, but I have my eye on a nice little berth on the junior b team next year. I am well in my 30s and am finding the pace a bit tough now at senior. Our second string is junior b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Vizzy

This is my brother Gavin and my other brother Gavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Actually senior hurling still, but I have my eye on a nice little berth on the junior b team next year. I am well in my 30s and am finding the pace a bit tough now at senior. Our second string is junior b.

Your name Gavin by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Stanley's are much bigger tools...

scudzilla wrote: »
    Your name Gavin by any chance?

no but I am a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

You're were past it 5 years ago mate. Have they a Junior C team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

No. Gavin Harrison, one of the best drummers in the world and a very down to earth bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Gavin...on the dragons den?

Gavin Lambe Murphy! Think you are onto something OP!

BNMC wrote: »
    You're were past it 5 years ago mate. Have they a Junior C team?

That's ageism. You are a Gavin or a Craig for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Arpa wrote: »
    Are you a Gavin perchance?

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

I'm the complete opposite haha been playing Junior B since last year will be moving up to Intermediate next year it's the highest we are in hurling. In the club it's a bit of tradition for the minors to play junior b but unfortunately this is my last year minor. I'll return to junior b when I'm 35 or 40 haha really can't beat the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Or a Darren or Warren!

What's wrong with a Darren?

Not that I am one or anything. . .

That's two of my exes now used as synonyms for calling someone a prick.
    I like this thread!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Paul Galvin. Even when the name sounds like gavin, they are assholes