Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new coronavirus outbreak China, Korea, USA - mod warnings in OP (updated 24/02/20)

(or maybe he's dead? who knows?? he doesn't seem to be moving at all...)

That's how photos work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

fritzelly wrote: »
    Video is over 10 days old

Weird...thank god USATODAY is publishing fresh material :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The veil is being lifted for a generation of chinese people here. I will be surprised if Xi survives this, will the reformers be enough of a change in the eyes of the people? Even with the strictest censorship, the internet is still a game-changer when we're talking about things of this scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

That's how photos work.

I imagine he is alive. I could be wrong, but I think a sleeping body has more 'rigidity' than a dead body. So, a dead body would probably have slumped from it's position to the floor.

Again, lads, we all need to settle down here a little bit. I mean my replies are really absurd when I was reading through them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,734 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I didn't think it'd be necessary to add an /s to that post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    Hold a minute there, stop putting your filter on my comments. You seem determined to put a racist spin on this.

Maybe 'you' hold a minute there, stop putting your filter on my comments. You seem determined to put a racist spin on this.

The virus started in a huge city in China, at a wet (illegal) market, the authorities failed to act in time, so then is it any surprise now that so many Chinese have it? Basic math bro'.

Also you keep refering to a single (non-peer and non-reviewd) study which looked at a total of 8 donors, and exactly one of them was Asian. An N factor of 1.
    On top of it you have linked to some randomer dude on the twitter aka 'HarmlessYardDog?' not even worthy of a mouse click.

https://mobile.twitter.com/HarmlessYardDog/status/1223275121403662337
    Like I said, you're hardly building a case here, and he's hardly the Lancet.

Not to mention your constant references and filters to males only, so females and youngsters (as well of course as non-Chinese) can't catch this flu?
    Again, bizzare ideas, indeed classic conspiracy soup material:

Your insinuations of this being a Chinese (or even Male Asian) 'only' flu is simply unfounded, unproven and indeed racist. It's simply the virus basin source location, nothing more and nothing less, so stop the spin.

The way things are going it could turn easily into a global situation, then it won't matter one bit which nation has the most cases as it spreads, it will be a problem for humanity as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,279 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Latest from BNO

EP5Go9IX0AAjIcE?format=png&name=medium

EP5GrjeX4AAtTOW?format=png&name=medium

EP5GsfqXkAE1KwZ?format=png&name=medium

EP5GqHfWoAENQvp?format=png&name=medium

So those graphs are good news if accurate. For a while last week, it felt like it was growing exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So those graphs are good news if accurate. For a while last week, it felt like it was growing exponentially.

Exponentially is a bad way to look at it - when the per day numbers are increasing it is not good
    Today is the biggest increase in infections and deaths

Exponentially is a bad way to look at it
    Today is the biggest increase in infections and deaths

It's an infectious disease. I care about percentage increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭imfml

Agree but China doesn't appear to have the capacity to test all those presenting at hospital. Even if they did without WHO verification the numbers are meaningless IMHO

I'm just glad it's not doubling every day like it felt for a few days last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Channel 4 on our man in the Wirrel currently under quarantine in the UK

See description under Video - for links to all his videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Tis grand then - as long as its not increasing by 50% everyday there is nothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The American couples condition has worsened and they have been transferred to a new facility in SF capable of caring for them

Tis grand then - as long as its not increasing by 50% everyday there is nothing to worry about

I didn't say there's nothing to worry about. I said it's good news the percentage increase is dropping. If I thought there was nothing to worry about, I wouldn't think that was good news, would I.

We need new emojis

EPdB5ZMWkAYsnR6?format=jpg&name=medium

We need new emojis

ukbnE00.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,734 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

We need new emojis

seems to predominantly affect yellow emojis....

This forced extra week off work because of the virus is giving me way too much free time.

Reports of first death in Hong Kong.

If true expect the border to be completely shut under the mounting public protests to have them shut.

Hong Kong has already shut 10 of the 13 border entry points.

China, in the round, is going to pay a severe price on so many levels for this outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

If yer wan in charge on behalf of the CCP does not close the border she will be run out with pitchforks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Fcuk the Hong Kong Death, he was only 39 years old and had an underlying illness.

Yes, the old and people with an underlying illness are very high risk.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5302810/

Another potential transmission method, in the event of outbreaks in Ireland beware communal toilets

There are now 12 confirmed cases in Australia.

They are considering a second evacuation from Wuhan.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/feb/04/coronavirus-live-updates-china-wuhan-outbreak-death-toll-latest-news-update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5302810/

Another potential transmission method, in the event of outbreaks in Ireland beware communal toilets

Very interesting.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)