Your most braindead dumbest moment?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I’m not sure if this could be considered brain dead dumb due to my age or more doing what your big brother said with no questions asked.

I was 6 and my brother was 8 and we were brought to the circus. Both of our favourite act by far was a group of knife throwers dressed up as Apache Indians with all the hand mouth bopping and regular sound effects.

When we got home my brother said to me that he had the best idea ever. He asked me did I want to perform throwing with him like in the circus. Obviously I was jumping up and down happy that my brother wanted to play with me and the fact we were going to be the lads in the circus.

Ever the safety conscious he quickly said we obviously can’t do it with knives as that would be too dangerous. I hadn’t thought about that but was bowing down to his obvious health and safety knowledge. This is when I shouldn’t have been so trusting. He goes to the hot press and comes back with one fcuck screw driver where the shaft was about 9 inches long. It was a flat head. It gets worse.

He said we needed a target. I just stood there impressed with the knowledge of the requirements. I shouldn’t have been impressed. He rips an A4 sheet from a refill pad and carefuly sketches out a bullseye target. He presents it to me and asks me to hold it just below my chin. He had a tie tied around his head as some sort of headless, took a number of steps back. I was standing there feeling nothing but excitement about what was going to happen next. He took aim by c,isinglass one eye carefully...recreated the sound effects that we heard. I even chime in by chanting Hiawatha. And then...fcuck. The screw driver was thrown into the side of my head and didn’t come out. That’s when the blood started closely followed by 2 young boys blood curdling screams. Parents rushed to the room to see me with a screwdriver hanging out of my head, my brother with a tie on his and me still holding the A4 bullseye target under my chin as instructed.

5 or 6 stitches later and bald patch on the side of my head where no hair ever grew back 35 years later makes me often wonder has any other kids ever tried that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Loooooooooong time ago as in several decades...

Passed my driving test; had bought ( well part paid for) a fair blue Mini.

Peacock proud... drove my mother to town shopping.. Wonderful...

As we were waiting for the bus home.. .yep! Both of us clean forgot the car...

Could have been worse. we could have arrived home on the bus...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭amytomjerry

A brilliant story! Gave me a good chuckle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Went out to where my car was parked in the street. It was blocked in by a
    delivery van, the driver was there so he moved it back so I could get out.
    I went to the drivers door and it wasn’t my car at all just one that looked like it.
    Mine was parked two cars back and after the delivery driver moving the van now I really
    was blocked in so had to ask him to move again. ‘Are you sure this time’ he asks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A truly cringeworthy one from my long ago past..

I was at a church event and there was singing and the piano was being played beautifully by a lady I had chatted to a few times in a very superficial way. YOU know!

When she had finished playing, I went closer to her and said", " I did not know you could play the piano."

FLoor; OPEN! PLEASE!

The utter embarrassed silence and the looks at me than at the floor..

Then someone whispered t me that she was a music professor/ professional pianist...

My toes are curling as I type this. Moral is; keep your trap shut or say something very very vague... In front of a room full of local posh folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Getting on a train to Drogheda but luckily getting off at the last second as I remembered it was Drumcondra I was meant to be going to

About 3 years ago working in Citywest and needed to get a taxi to Blanch.. sure there's a massive road down here.. crossed the massive road and after 5 mins realised the N7 motorway is not a place to get a taxi

Was a little hungover.. Porridge in the microwave..after a minute I seen smoke inside... oohhh yes.. the milk is supposed to go on before it goes into the microwave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Out in a restaurant with parents and sister circa 1985 as a young fella.

Meal arrived..chips and whatever it was. I promptly grabbed the salt shaker and gave the chips a good lashing of salt. But unfortunately it was the sugar shaker. Meal absolutely ruined.

No replacement meal or bollocking from the old man. Nobody I mean nobody in the family shared their meal with me and left me sitting there starving while the rest ate their meals without even batting an eyelid.

I genuinely think I am emotionally scarred from this episode as I remember it so clearly- being abandoned and made to suffer. Plus to this day I am still wary of salt shakers. I can still taste chips and sugar- not good.

This only happened in the last 7 years. I bought a secondhand BMW which was only 4 years old. I had owned 2 in past. It was from a reputable dealership and I didn't even bother to take it for a test drive...ticked all the boxes.

So anyway all the formalities dealt with and the sale guy hands me the fob goes 'The car is outside on the forecourt. Sure you know how it is so I don't need to show you anything.' Grand.

Off I went and sat in. Then I realised it was the 'push button' to start and I didn't have a clue how to start the car. I sat there for ages discretely trying to flick through the manual..smiling and nodding away at the guys waiting for me to leave the forecourt. Trying to make it look like I was just getting my bearings etc.

Then I had to subtly get up a YouTube video on my phone and watch it- did the trick but I felt like a right twat. Still have the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

In Yankee Candle looking for a car air freshener. Unlike the candles, the air fresheners are sealed. I pick out one and was wandering around sniffing various jars as you do.

Approached by the sales assistant who asked me if I needed help. This always flusters me so I replied with the first thing I could think of:

"what does this smell like?" says I, holding up the leather scented air freshener.

She looked at me like she'd encountered the stupidest person on the planet and replied "er...Leather..?"

I'm such a dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Neyite wrote: »
    In Yankee Candle looking for a car air freshener. Unlike the candles, the air fresheners are sealed. I pick out one and was wandering around sniffing various jars as you do.

Approached by the sales assistant who asked me if I needed help. This always flusters me so I replied with the first thing I could think of:

"what does this smell like?" says I, holding up the leather scented air freshener.

She looked at me like she'd encountered the stupidest person on the planet and replied "er...Leather..?"

I'm such a dope.

The bar for stupid questions to retail workers is so high/low, I wouldn't worry about it :D

People have physically moved a sign displaying the price of something so they lean over the counter to ask me the price of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

The bar for stupid questions to retail workers is so high/low, I wouldn't worry about it :D

Oddly I do find that comforting :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Years ago I ended up in a lock in with a friend of a friend, when we bumped into three women that he knew. We had a fantastic night, and one of the ladies who was attractive, intelligent, and possessed of a great sense of humour, actually seemed kind of interested in me. Somehow despite being quite drunk already, I became so obsessed with getting another drink as the bar staff were finishing up, that I didn't notice them leave.

I hope it was at least partially because I was quite drunk already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Started working in the kitchen of a gastropub when i was 17 , lots of staff around the same age......i was nervous & shy , cracker of a waitress asks me to pass her a pepper , " a pepper?" eh ok ... so I wander into the kitchen and reappear with a red bell pepper....she looked at me in amazement on my return and asks the barman to pass her the pepper shaker I was standing beside so she can continue setting tables......

Yea great first day lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

Getting blinded by the low sun last week and drove into a van , my car is a total write off,[still not over it]

Years ago I ended up in a lock in with a friend of a friend, when we bumped into three women that he knew. We had a fantastic night, and one of the ladies who was attractive, intelligent, and possessed of a great sense of humour, actually seemed kind of interested in me. Somehow despite being quite drunk already, I became so obsessed with getting another drink as the bar staff were finishing up, that I didn't notice them leave.

I hope it was at least partially because I was quite drunk already...

Very similar situation about 20 years ago. Staying in a hotel for 1 night abroad before traveling on elsewhere. That evening started chatting to this fellow traveler- she was Australian but half Arab so really exotic and stunning. She was on her own and she kinda hung around with me.

By an amazing coincidence a few hours later I bumped into a few lads I knew very well from University so of course being Irish lads in the US we went on the piss. The Aussie girl happily tagged along.

So anyway a few hours passed in this bar and the girl said she was tired and was going to head back to the hotel but she absolutely insisted I walk her back. I was having great craic with the lads and really didnt want to leave my beers but I relented.

I couldn't get her back quick enough and basically dumped her in the foyer- she even asked me to walk her to her room and come in for a chat but I said "Oh no I better get back to the guys."

Arrived back in the bar and the guys were: "WTF are you doing back?" and spent the next few hours ripping the piss our of me for not picking up the signals. The penny dropped. She was on for a night of passion and I blew it off for a few beers with the lads...:(

Of course about 3 more hours of beering I decided to be a great idea altogether to try a retrieve the situation by banging on her door at 4am like a complete drunken tit. She was polite but it was a big huge PFO.

Next morning at breakfast I kept my distance out of embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Arrived back in the bar and the guys were: "WTF are you doing back?" and spent the next few hours ripping the piss our of me for not picking up the signals. The penny dropped. She was on for a night of passion and I blew it off for a few beers with the lads...:(

That shouldn't have been you doing that at all at all.