Fat people at Foodbanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭chrissb8

The "getting a big feed" thing is annoying as well. A lot of people in Ireland don't consider dinner a meal unless they have huge portions or have the classic loads of carbs, meat and veg combo. Every night. It becomes annoying then when you're perceived as "wasting food" because you don't want to shovel all that food down your gob.

The French/Italians tend to have it right. Eat until you're not hungry anymore and leave it at that. Had many folk who said the portions weren't big enough in so and so restaraunt only to stop complaining about said hunger half an hour later when their brain caught up with their stomach.

Or this weird acceptance of weight when you hit 35+ (The middle aged spread as it's called) like you should accept the burgeoning gut at a relatively still young age.

Whatever about fat people at food banks, Ireland's attitude with food in general is not so great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Making these kind of allegations that eveyone is a scrounger and not in real need of the services will only have a long term negative impact on the provision of them.

Thank you. Thankfully the organisations who run them are not stupid and know the needs of those who avail of them . Also the food is donated. Often else it would go to waste.

dePeatrick wrote: »
    So can you tell me where I can get potatoes, bread for less than €1 ?

Bread; a white or wholemeal large sliced loaf is well under a euro at all the main shops.lidl, aldi dunnes, Tesco supervalu.. It is my staple. 74 cents the wholemeal.

Baby new potatoes for a euro; 400 gms supervalu

Absolutely , I'm intrigued with the comments that people don't know how to cook.Bro Luke's provides dinners along with a few other institutions around the city , Penny Dinners , MQI and the Mendicity .
    Bro Luke's also provides a bag of groceries once a week , Crosscare has food banks along with community cafes.
    Its food banks provide bulk food residential homeless services, but this comment that people cant cook is a surprise.

Is that the Capucin Day Centre? What happened to Brother Kevin please? Thank you

do food banks have any policy around healthy food?

Depends what comes in; often good quantities of fruit and veg near sell by date so yes, fresh food. given out immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Fair play for cooking nutritious food for your family.

But the same cut of beef for stew, stirfry and roasting??????:eek:

Well, cooked the roast this morning.

Seared all sides, in the oven for approx 45 mins (approx. 1Kg) as didn't want much red left as it was to be eaten for cold cuts (sandwiches etc).

Feckin' delish. Cut slim slices and was able to just tear it apart to nibble on.

Beats snacking on crisps :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

chrissb8 wrote: »

The French/Italians tend to have it right. Eat until you're not hungry anymore and leave it at that. Had many folk who said the portions weren't big enough in so and so restaraunt only to stop complaining about said hunger half an hour later when their brain caught up with their stomach.

You've obviously never had a family feast with Italians, not eating up and turning down courses is a cardinal sin and Nonna's gonna make the next batch of Bolognese out of you and your extended family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

Processed food is hugely more expensive than buying fresh vegetables.

No, it is not unfortunately. Processed food have much longer shelf life, while fresh stuff doesn't and is prone to being damaged during handling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭mad m

I often drop into Capucian day centre in Dublin to donate money. I seen two lads walk in with suits. I asked one of the capucian brothers about it and he Just said they turn no one away if they are looking for a dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭mad m

Graces7 wrote: »
    Is that the Capucin Day Centre? What happened to Brother Kevin please? Thank you

Seen Brother Kevin couple weeks back, alive n kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Home economics, especially cooking (Not making rice krispy buns) should be mandatory in secondary schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

mad m wrote: »
    I often drop into Capucian day centre in Dublin to donate money. I seen two lads walk in with suits. I asked one of the capucian brothers about it and he Just said they turn no one away if they are looking for a dinner.

The Healys Rae never refused a good dinner in the middle of the day

Ah grand; thank you. He is a good friend but have lost touch lately so will drop him a line again now

Used to see him at Ards.

So he has help now? Brother Luke; another Capucin?

And yes they feed all who come.

mad m wrote: »
    Seen Brother Kevin couple weeks back, alive n kicking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Graces7 wrote: »
    Ah grand; thank you. He is a good friend but have lost touch lately so will drop him a line again now

Used to see him at Ards.

So he has help now? Brother Luke; another Capucin?

And yes they feed all who come.

Hi Grace,

Its seems to be like a generic name of calling the Capuchins food service, Brother Luke's among the homeless and homelessness employees.
    Brother Kevin is still going strong.

Ah I get it now! Had me feeling guilty a while as I have not caught up with Brother Kevin... Thank you. Just too far away now. Lived years in Donegal and Ards was a frequent place on my roaming. Worked there a while .
    But using the title like that....ah well!
    Hi Grace,

Its seems to be like a generic name of calling the Capuchins food service, Brother Luke's among the homeless and homelessness employees.

Home economics, especially cooking (Not making rice krispy buns) should be mandatory in secondary schools

We learned from our mothers. Sure there were cookery classes and we would occasionally add to home recipes, but it was our mother's cooking we emulated.

Of course that was decades ago and no convenience foods or takeaways. The whole scene has changed so much now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

My OH's granny is Bro Kevin's biggest fangirl. My god she'd be calling for a national day of mourning if anything happened to him.

She would have plenty of company!
    My OH's granny is Bro Kevin's biggest fangirl. My god she'd be calling for a national day of mourning if anything happened to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Went to Aldi last night....

Big lump of Angus Beef - didn't even check the weight 25 euro
    Spuds - 2 euro
    Carrots - 1 euro
    Garlic / Mix / Onion - Lets say 3 euro
    Egg Noodles - 1 euro
    Pepper - Lets say 1 euro
    Misc - 1 euro

Out of this, I made....
    6 Portions of Beef Stew
    2 Portions of Stir Fry
    A huge lump of meat leftover that i'll roast this evening, for beef sandwiches / munching on while cold (let's say 8 sandwiches)

So, 34 euro for all of the above.... 8 dinners and about 8 sandwiches.

Leaving the cost aside, it was EASY to make everything, but time consuming. A post above mentioned all Iceland Frozen Chips / Nuggets etc. for a week for €15. The thought of that food almost made me puke. I guess, like people mention above about getting a taste for processed / sh1te food, you also get an anti-taste for same. I can understand how someone growing up on that sh1te would retch at the thought of eating my above beef stew / stir-fry

I don't know why I even posted this... i'm bored in work.

You obviously have a fridge freezer if you are batch cooking - and a pot big enough to cook large batches. Then I'm sure you had some sort of sharp knife to cut the meat up, peel the veg? And you'll have had tupperware to store your batch cooking in the freezer as well.

Genuine question. Let's say you are in a hotel room and have a kettle and a microwave. You've no pots because, residents aren't allowed a two-plate hob due to health and safety. You've a butter knife and some spoons and cereal bowls. You've no freezer and no tupperware. Lidl is two miles away and you've a 5yo and a preschooler. You don't have a car or bus fare so whatever you buy needs to be carried back to your temporary accommodation in the toddler's buggy.

How would you adapt your weekly menu based on the above? What would you buy in Lidl for €34 to ensure 7 days of meals for your family of 3?

I'm really curious, as I say it's a genuine question. I'm an all right cook myself but I would struggle to plan a menu if I didn't have the facilities or the equipment so wondering how you'd do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Instead of getting cash for the dole, why can't they be given food stamps ?

can't be spent on booze in the store, only healthy foods ... would work - of course the do gooding scum like Sinn Feinn would never have it ...

In the US they sell their food stamps and buy...

can't be spent on booze in the store, only healthy foods ... would work - of course the do gooding scum like Sinn Feinn would never have it ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

LirW wrote: »
    You've obviously never had a family feast with Italians, not eating up and turning down courses is a cardinal sin and Nonna's gonna make the next batch of Bolognese out of you and your extended family.
    I follow "Italians Mad at Food" (for murderously enraged reactions to non Italian cock-ups of Italian dishes) and that's a recurring theme. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

"Do gooding" as in doing good. How could you have a problem with doing good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

chrissb8 wrote: »
    The "getting a big feed" thing is annoying as well. A lot of people in Ireland don't consider dinner a meal unless they have huge portions or have the classic loads of carbs, meat and veg combo. Every night. It becomes annoying then when you're perceived as "wasting food" because you don't want to shovel all that food down your gob.

Or this weird acceptance of weight when you hit 35+ (The middle aged spread as it's called) like you should accept the burgeoning gut at a relatively still young age.

Whatever about fat people at food banks, Ireland's attitude with food in general is not so great.

Yeh always thought the middle aged spread thing was a bit of stupid argument. LIke I think the reason youre overweight is because you sit in a chair in work all day and then dont move from the couch for the rest of it more so than your ageing metabolism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Middle aged spread - also known as chronic beer/couch/takeaway resultant syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Neyite wrote: »
    You obviously have a fridge freezer if you are batch cooking - and a pot big enough to cook large batches. Then I'm sure you had some sort of sharp knife to cut the meat up, peel the veg? And you'll have had tupperware to store your batch cooking in the freezer as well.

Genuine question. Let's say you are in a hotel room and have a kettle and a microwave. You've no pots because, residents aren't allowed a two-plate hob due to health and safety. You've a butter knife and some spoons and cereal bowls. You've no freezer and no tupperware. Lidl is two miles away and you've a 5yo and a preschooler. You don't have a car or bus fare so whatever you buy needs to be carried back to your temporary accommodation in the toddler's buggy.

How would you adapt your weekly menu based on the above? What would you buy in Lidl for €34 to ensure 7 days of meals for your family of 3?

I'm really curious, as I say it's a genuine question. I'm an all right cook myself but I would struggle to plan a menu if I didn't have the facilities or the equipment so wondering how you'd do it?

I'd fcuking improvise, go to a hostel and ask if I could pay a few euro to use their facilities.

Every year we go on a diving trip up Donegal. Stay in a total sh1thole hostel (but great craic) with damn all cutlery etc. - I can still manage to cook a beef stew for 30 people using the worst of the worst of knives / pots etc. (plenty of gas, though!)

I do this because I refuse to eat sh1te chipper take-away all weekend (always treat ourselves on the last night, though)

And for what it's worth, I wasn't attacking anyone in the situation. People were talking about the cost of food, and I gave an example of what I could cook for X amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Have been told by a homeless person in Dublin that 'you' ll never go hungry in this town' because if you know where to go there's always a free meal.

At the end of the day it's far cheaper to throw people of few bones than to solve the housing crisis, adiction issues, unemployability or what ever else causes people to look for free food.

Out of interest; have you ever been really hungry with no food?

Whatever else, people always have to eat.

NB most of the food at food banks is near by sell date. ie would go to waste.
    Tesco in Ballina support Vincent de Paul's meal clubs and food banks in that way.. In their charity shop there is always a shelf full of free food. Kind folk. So please less of the cynicism.
    Have been told by a homeless person in Dublin that 'you' ll never go hungry in this town' because if you know where to go there's always a free meal.

At the end of the day it's far cheaper to throw people of few bones than to solve the housing crisis, adiction issues, unemployability or what ever else causes people to look for free food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Really what happened, is that a homeless person described one of the most basic forms of harm reduction.
    He described how somebody gave him a meal and a chance to sit down in a safe place where he had some human contact.

Beautiful post. Thank you

It probably answers also the folk who say some are cheating?

Really what happened, is that a homeless person described one of the most basic forms of harm reduction.
    He described how somebody gave him a meal and a chance to sit down in a safe place where he had some human contact.