Fat people at Foodbanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

On their homepage alone we have a heap of stuff available for €1.25.
    2 pizzas, 2 chips, 1 wedges, 1 goujons, 1 nuggets and 1 dessert would 'feed' a family of four for 3 or 4 nights for about €12.50. The meat alone would cost more than that for 4 x 4 dinners.

Cheap, easy, quick, the kids love it, no need for any other herbs/spices/cooking equipment etc, Iceland is smack bang in the middle of Talbot street / Northside shopping centre........if you're a single mother of three on the labour, who cares if it's not the best for them, nutrition wise?

Here that would stretch probably too two meals no way 4 !
    unless You think a family can eat one slice of pizza each and a few chips for dinner !
    those pizzas are about 500 calories each

or 3 chicken goujons per person for a dinner again with a few chips. Each goujon is about 40 calories

I hear you about spending money better but 16 meals for 12.50 from Iceland is bonkers.

Never mind the fact that this diet would be fine for 1 night a week but certainly not every night or you will introduce more costly health problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

JohnCleary wrote: »

Out of this, I made....
    6 Portions of Beef Stew
    2 Portions of Stir Fry
    A huge lump of meat leftover that i'll roast this evening, for beef sandwiches / munching on while cold (let's say 8 sandwiches)

So, 34 euro for all of the above.... 8 dinners and about 8 sandwiches.

Fair play for cooking nutritious food for your family.

But the same cut of beef for stew, stirfry and roasting??????:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Oh dear, this thread shows yet again how incredibly sheltered some people are and unable to show any empathy.
    Why are some always suspecting a large scale scam of people that systematically game the system, that are still a minority in the grand scheme of things?
    Why do people preach over pages on how they're so could do it sooo much better, blatantly showing how superior they are? Just be glad you never were in that situation and that you know how to feed yourself well for cheap.

Some people hit hard bumps in their lives and struggle. All it takes is a nasty marriage breakdown, losing a job at a mature age and having to go back into working minimum wage. Or piling on debt for ab urgent medical procedure. Having to leave your job to be a carer for your dying child/spouse. An awful bereavement that leaves you with nothing.
    Others fight an uphill battle in life and need help because they are unstable and never learned to feed themselves well.

These services often lift a huge weight off people's shoulders when they're at their lowest and the most mundane things like cooking or food are yet another worry. Temporarily it matters that people are fed and don't go to bed hungry, no matter how this is achieved.

I've read something about a woman in her early thirties online a while ago, she grew up in England and was raised with her sibling by a single dad. Classic example of working poor, father worked every hour under the sun to make ends meet and just comes home completely exhausted and is glad that they can all quickly have sausage rolls or a pizza so they don't go hungry before passing out in bed. A quick meal in minutes without having to do yet another chore after a 10 hour+commute day. While the economy is doing well, it's not wise to assume that nobody is struggling at the moment.

Also let's not pretend that Ireland's diet is so great and healthy in general, the obesity levels across all classes are pretty high.

Here that would stretch probably too two meals no way 4 !
    unless You think a family can eat one slice of pizza each and a few chips for dinner !
    those pizzas are about 500 calories each

or 3 chicken goujons per person for a dinner again with a few chips. Each goujon is about 40 calories

Single parent and 3 kids could easily eat one pizza and a bag of chips between them for dinner. Next night bag of goujons and wedges, following night nuggets and chips, last night pizza and remaining chips. If you threw in a couple of tins of peas/beans, you'd easily 'feed' 4 for under €14.
    I hear you about spending money better but 16 meals for 12.50 from Iceland is bonkers.

Never mind the fact that this diet would be fine for 1 night a week but certainly not every night or you will introduce more costly health problems.

1. That's the whole point of this thread - people being unhealthy due to poor diets/lack of money
    2. I know people who only ever eat this kind of stuff.

I was at a wedding in Italy for a few days and grown-ups ordering off the kids menu was not a rare occurrence. Some places, the kids menu was just smaller plates of pasta or fish or whatever, and people got up and left when they realised there was no 'cocktail sausages and chips'-style option. I overheard someone saying "how do they expect us to eat that muck" when one of the wedding courses served was a whole, giant lemon monkfish....(one of the tastiest courses I've ever had).

Even my own missus had a shocking diet until her mid-late 20s. She was mad fussy as a kid and it continued on until she started eating out and was too embarrassed to order chicken nuggets any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I was at a wedding in Italy for a few days and grown-ups ordering off the kids menu was not a rare occurrence. Some places, the kids menu was just smaller plates of pasta or fish or whatever, and people got up and left when they realised there was no 'cocktail sausages and chips'-style option. I overheard someone saying "how do they expect us to eat that muck" when one of the wedding courses served was a whole, giant lemon monkfish....(one of the tastiest courses I've ever had).

Even my own missus had a shocking diet until her mid-late 20s. She was mad fussy as a kid and it continued on until she started eating out and was too embarrassed to order chicken nuggets any more.

A big problem with the Irish. Narrow minds in large bodies. Depression is rife here too - lots of people deficient in basic minerals. Granted our climate isn't the best for Vit D but why compound that with a narrow diet of processed crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Single parent and 3 kids could easily eat one pizza and a bag of chips between them for dinner. Next night bag of goujons and wedges, following night nuggets and chips, last night pizza and remaining chips. If you threw in a couple of tins of peas/beans, you'd easily 'feed' 4 for under €14.

1. That's the whole point of this thread - people being unhealthy due to poor diets/lack of money

Did you introduce her to a wedge of pork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

dePeatrick wrote: »
    So can you tell me where I can get potatoes, bread for less than €1 ?

I'm not much of a bread eater so i couldn't tell you the price of bread, i'm sure i got one of those french stick things in lidl a while back for under a quid though. They often have those little bags of salad potatoes for 40 or 50c.

I got a kilo of carrots there yesterday for 39c ffs! There is no reason why anyone has to eat processed frozen shít, and certainly not to save money. It just doesn't stack up!

topper75 wrote: »
    A big problem with the Irish. Narrow minds in large bodies. Depression is rife here too - lots of people deficient in basic minerals. Granted our climate isn't the best for Vit D but why compound that with a narrow diet of processed crap?

I think the problem goes far beyond this.
    The Irish diet has always been very meat - 2 veg - carb centered. It's a country heavily depending on its agriculture and meat farming is a big part of it. It's heavily promoted and the quality is genuinely high. Meat is marketed as the main component of the plate.
    It's a very car dependent country where many people commute door to door to jobs where they are mainly seated. Every shop sells convenience meals and lunches that is high in calories, sodium and sugar. Binge eating in offices is rampant. We are living increasingly busy lives with less disposable time for even basic exercise. Many people are generally not good at planning ahead.
    This makes convenience meals so incredibly attractive.

The lack of proper portion control, cheap convenience food, car dependency and the lack of time is a great cocktail for an unhealthy lifestyle. And this is passed down from generation to generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

even skipping past the family of four not being two adults two kids as would be standard understanding and taking your family of four to be three kids
    a 500 calorie pizza between four people even if the kids are all under 5 is nowhere near enough food.
    you must never has met a 12 year old boy but if you gave one a small slice of pizza for dinner you would be rightly bashed across the head with frozen nuggets
    I have had one of those Iceland Pizzas on my own for lunch !!.

You have under estimated what people eat , even when its junk by a factor of at least 50% here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭ellejay

I'm not much of a bread eater so i couldn't tell you the price of bread, i'm sure i got one of those french stick things in lidl a while back for under a quid though. They often have those little bags of salad potatoes for 40 or 50c.

I got a kilo of carrots there yesterday for 39c ffs! There is no reason why anyone has to eat processed frozen shít, and certainly not to save money. It just doesn't stack up!

Oh Yum - raw potato baguette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Considering the short amount of time that fresh fruit and veg lasts, its no cost effective for poor people. 2 frozen pizzas for 4 or 5 euro is an entire meal for 2 days. Those pizzas can be frozen and kept for months. A packet of apples, and some fresh veg for the same price will be gone off by the end of the week and cant be eaten as a meal on its own. Same goes for tinned food, big bags of sausage rolls, chicken nuggets and potato waffles are dirt cheap and last months if frozen.

That’s a very good point.

I think cooking classes should be given in school and I’m a keen cook but I think some of the “fresh food is cheaper” statements are simplistic. There are all kinds of things to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

do food banks have any policy around healthy food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Fair play for cooking nutritious food for your family.

But the same cut of beef for stew, stirfry and roasting??????:eek:

My family? What family? That's for me :pac:

I hadn't time to go to the butcher, so found a lump in Aldi. It was that black label Angus stuff (I normally know my cuts OK, but I didn't even take much of a look at this). Don't know what weight it was, but it was quite expensive for the weight, I recall.

Stewed beef - It was on slow cook for approx. 6 hours. Nice size chunks. Ate the stew with a spoon, when I chewed the beef it just fell apart.

For the stir-fry, I cut extremely long, thin slices (as I like it). Again, the beef was fine and tender.

As for the roast... it's going on later, let's see how it works out. I want it cooked throughout as i'll be using it for cold cuts.

KaneToad wrote: »
    Her point is that the service they provide is flawed. The real issue is tackling why these people are using a food bank. The resources should be diverted to dealing with the why reasons. Endless handouts are not helping anyone.

Stroking one’s chin and asking why isn’t going to fill one’s belly. Food is a pressing need.

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Went to Aldi last night....

Big lump of Angus Beef - didn't even check the weight 25 euro
    Spuds - 2 euro
    Carrots - 1 euro
    Garlic / Mix / Onion - Lets say 3 euro
    Egg Noodles - 1 euro
    Pepper - Lets say 1 euro
    Misc - 1 euro

Out of this, I made....
    6 Portions of Beef Stew
    2 Portions of Stir Fry
    A huge lump of meat leftover that i'll roast this evening, for beef sandwiches / munching on while cold (let's say 8 sandwiches)

You made stew and stirfry with the same cut of beef? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

You made stew and stirfry with the same cut of beef? :eek:

Yes, I used too high-quality beef for the stew, which I didn't give a damn about, it's me eating it. It was €25, whereas there were other options available of similar (if not more weight) for €12 right next to it.

Melt in your mouth beef in the stew.

Same goes for the stir fry.

Let's see how it roasts tonight.

That’s processed crap though. And you need to eat those things fast before they go stale. That’s a big calorie infusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

do food banks have any policy around healthy food?

Are you talking about the "blue bag" of groceries given out by Brother Luke's?
    For a single person , it's a bag of non perishable food, I.e. tinned food, tea bags , noodles, deserts , biscuits, it's not high end food. It would probably just do you for a week supplemented with fresh food , meat , veg. etc.

The various hostels that are 24 hr provide breakfast , dinner and something in the evening.

Drop in centres vary , it can be soup and sandwiches up to a reasonable enough dinner.

Foid banks here collect their donations from various benefactors. and provide food for various other charities.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

We should be all able to get up early in the morning and catch a fresh bass from the wild Atlantic way, then get some vegetables from the garden and prepare them before work.
    Come home in the evening and voilaaaahhh

If I can do it the rest of you can certainly make an attempt.

Nothing like a fresh bass..

nthclare wrote: »
    We should be all able to get up early in the morning and catch a fresh bass from the wild Atlantic way, then get some vegetables from the garden and prepare them before work.
    Come home in the evening and voilaaaahhh

If I can do it the rest of you can certainly make an attempt.

Nothing like a fresh bass..

Shhh Donegal Catch marketer, this is a country surrounded by water and the main seller is chicken, do your research for god's sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,893 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Wait, so people with a little extra weight aren't socialy acceptable enough to be hungry, even though eating is a daily need?

Societal norms prefer they starve themselves, in order to be presentably thin to look worthy enough to queue up to a food bank?

* shakes head *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Don't begrudge me my begrudery.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,205 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

If I'd a small bit of advice to give it's get a slow cooker.
    Throw a cut of beef in it with carrots, onions, garlic and potatoes along with a pint of beef stock. Turn it on low in the morning and when you get home in the evening your dinner is made.
    Literally takes 5 minutes prep and you're done.

Go on to the food/recipes section on boards and there's loads of slow cooker recommendations. It's a brilliant piece of kit for a family. Lasagne, chicken curries, stew even puddings can be done in it.

You don't need fancy ingredients for a stew....basically check what's on in the super 6 from Aldi or wherever and there's your dinner.

I made a beautiful cajun chicken pasta dish last week from a recipe I googled. Few spices, bit of chicken, double cream (not healthy I know) and some pasta mixed through it. Delicious and it probably cost somewhere in the region of 7 or 8 quid for 5 of us. Mixed peppers, onions, sweetcorn and mushrooms into it and it was lovely!!

I’ve thought about a slow cooker but the prep work seems exactly the same. Doing it in the morning doesn’t shorten the prep time and you’ve to get up earlier and therefore go to bed early. I’m not seeing where the time saving comes in. Slow cooker veg takes the same amount of time to chop and it would get a bit samey to eat out of a slow cooker often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

mfceiling wrote: »
    If I'd a small bit of advice to give it's get a slow cooker.
    Throw a cut of beef in it with carrots, onions, garlic and potatoes along with a pint of beef stock. Turn it on low in the morning and when you get home in the evening your dinner is made.
    Literally takes 5 minutes prep and you're done.

Go on to the food/recipes section on boards and there's loads of slow cooker recommendations. It's a brilliant piece of kit for a family. Lasagne, chicken curries, stew even puddings can be done in it.

You don't need fancy ingredients for a stew....basically check what's on in the super 6 from Aldi or wherever and there's your dinner.

I made a beautiful cajun chicken pasta dish last week from a recipe I googled. Few spices, bit of chicken, double cream (not healthy I know) and some pasta mixed through it. Delicious and it probably cost somewhere in the region of 7 or 8 quid for 5 of us. Mixed peppers, onions, sweetcorn and mushrooms into it and it was lovely!!

This bloke speaks gospel .
    Slow cookers are the way forward.

I’ve thought about a slow cooker but the prep work seems exactly the same. Doing it in the morning doesn’t shorten the prep time and you’ve to get up earlier and therefore go to bed early. I’m not seeing where the time saving comes in. Slow cooker veg takes the same amount of time to chop and it would get a bit samey to eat out of a slow cooker often.

Many slow cooker recipes are just plain awful and unexciting. It makes meat tender but gives it a unique texture, it's not for everyone.
    I also feel that your aromatic veg like onion and celery still needs to be sauted to take the raw flavour out, I find the result a lot better.
    I use my slow cooker just for very specific tested recipes that I know turn out well, I had a few fails a few times and that's frustrating.

LirW wrote: »
    Many slow cooker recipes are just plain awful and unexciting. It makes meat tender but gives it a unique texture, it's not for everyone.
    I also feel that your aromatic veg like onion and celery still needs to be sauted to take the raw flavour out, I find the result a lot better.
    I use my slow cooker just for very specific tested recipes that I know turn out well, I had a few fails a few times and that's frustrating.

I totally agree, you need to sweat the veg in oil at a low heat for a while for a really good stew. I couldn’t believe the difference it made when I first started doing it.

even skipping past the family of four not being two adults two kids as would be standard understanding and taking your family of four to be three kids
    a 500 calorie pizza between four people even if the kids are all under 5 is nowhere near enough food.
    you must never has met a 12 year old boy but if you gave one a small slice of pizza for dinner you would be rightly bashed across the head with frozen nuggets
    I have had one of those Iceland Pizzas on my own for lunch !!.

You have under estimated what people eat , even when its junk by a factor of at least 50% here.

According to their website, there's 940 calories in one of those pizzas. Also, I love the irony in claiming I'm under-estimating what people eat while simultaneously assuming every family has a 12 year old boy.

Anyway, we're getting bogged down in semantics here. The point was made that fresh is cheaper. This is obviously not always true. Doubly so if you factor in time spent in preparation, purchasing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

LirW wrote: »

ya, the texture is a bit weird and as you say its pretty rough cooking. plus your whole house will stink of strew as there is effect a pot on the boil for about 8 hours.
    i suppose you could leave the extractor fan all day as well but for some reason the wife refuses to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I will hold my hands up here and admit I was the same for a very long time. I was an incredibly fussy eater as a child, and carried a lot of it over into adulthood. My mother was also an unadventurous cook and we were on a tight budget for a long time.

However, once I moved out of home and had a reasonable income, I realised I had to broaden my horizons. I know how to cook a wide range of dishes and eat both well and healthily. We spend roughtly 35-40 quid a week for two of us in Lidl. That normally includes the makings of soups/stir fries/pasta dishes.

I'm still a bit overweight, but I am generally healthy, as is my OH.