Who is the FUNNIEST Irish comedian ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Whatever happened to Dara O'Brian? Last time I saw him on tv it was like channel 902 and he was presenting some computer game program.

How did he **** his career up so badly?

He became so successful, he was able to pick some projects that appealed to the need in him instead of having to be the usual fare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

I’d have to disagree. I think Morgan had the toughest role in Ted. The others were more broadly comedic caricatures but Morgan’s role was more complex, having to be both a straight man to the others and a complete fool in his own right. I think he did a great job.

His radio show Scrap Saturday was legendary. How many laughs I got from that show....ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

He is English. His parents are Irish. Not_the_same...:mad:

If he has the Irish passport he is Irish. You don't get to decide jack **** about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭MidlanderMan

Would have voted for Dylan Moran if he was there.

Lol at this Brexit refugee.

'Oim fackin' Oirish, roight! Where's me fackin passport, ya paddy kunt!?'

Are you talking about Terry Wogan? :)

Seems like we hit a sore spot folks!

Nope you don't get to decide who is Irish haha. Back in your cave with ya.

Easy Nigel, you can have one of our passports. Just say 'please'.

I'm a born and bred Irishman, Irish live overseas too ya big dope ya.

Look at you spitting all over your mobile phone with rage, it's hilarious. Give it a good wipe there fella.

…Terry Wogan, one of the greatest Brits of all time lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

The Savage Eye was genius. I am still surprised how RTE let him away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

This is about comedians you find funny, dude. Not the someone you don’t like thread.

Just doesn’t “get it.”

Wow, the English cannot take a joke..

Go on Telly, wipe the foam off.
    You made a right bleeding eejit of yerself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

That's this thread finished. Adios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Seanachai

How many films have you watched?

No matter how many it is, you badly need to watch more films.

I eat films and music but I guess I'll have to take that on board then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Bullocks

The Savage Eye was genius. I am still surprised how RTE let him away with it.

David McSavage is the best for me aswell. Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭JuneMoon7

Um, NONE of them? and Aisling Bea? jesus she definitely shouldn't be even calling herself a comedienne. She does the same jaded, sarky exhausted at the annoying interviewer routine on every show shes on. Tommy Tiernan shouts a lot. His accent is too Irish, it almost sounds put on. His comedy is backward at being forward, hes like a like a 1950s country bumpkin desperate for the ride at the local dance hall, the way he describes men and women in society. I hate that kind of talk, btw just taking a leaf out of his book, really.

Left out Spike Milligan.
    Hes English

Tommy Tiernan

Since when is SCREAMING gibberish funny ?

That basically sums him up!

Chris O Dowd is VERY funny overall.

https://youtu.be/w__m0NBo5cI

Id rate him higher as a comedic actor, though. He was the funniest thing by far in This is 40, because the other characters were whiny brats.

I’d have to disagree. I think Morgan had the toughest role in Ted. The others were more broadly comedic caricatures but Morgan’s role was more complex, having to be both a straight man to the others and a complete fool in his own right. I think he did a great job.

Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Dylan Moran no competition really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

JuneMoon7 wrote: »
    That basically sums him up!

https://youtu.be/L5WTpUNi5fs
    How could u not find tommy funny ffs !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

JuneMoon7 wrote: »
    Um, NONE of them? and Aisling Bea? jesus she definitely shouldn't be even calling herself a comedienne. She does the same jaded, sarky exhausted at the annoying interviewer routine on every show shes on. Tommy Tiernan shouts a lot. His accent is too Irish, it almost sounds put on. His comedy is backward at being forward, hes like a like a 1950s country bumpkin desperate for the ride at the local dance hall, the way he describes men and women in society. I hate that kind of talk, btw just taking a leaf out of his book, really.

His accent is too Irish? Seriously, youd wonder at times about some of the people who post here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

I agree, his job was tougher and he did do a good job as it went on. The first few episodes, the funfair one in particular, are ropey. But he improved and in the third series the quality is as good as anyone. The others were good out of the trap.

I watched his stand up special from the olympia and apart from the Albert impersonation, it was poor enough (that was his forte from the Scrap Saturday days, presumably. That's before my time).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Tommy Tiernan but I always thought Neil Delamere was a singular talent.

My son introduced me to the lad who plays the Viper's streams on Youtube, sometimes he's a bit much but mostly I'm a big fan of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭the.red.baron

lots of funny people on that

Dermot for me, loved scrap Saturday, weak spot for impressions, theres no show better than father ted

it does depend on exposure, most haven't see all of them in the flesh and it appears from the negativity as if some people have never seen any of them

Probably too funny themselves to risk stepping outside the front door

Not that mad about his live shows as he had well an odd approach, but the Savage Eye had some of the best bits ever on Irish tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Dave Allen would be the most important i'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Other.

Kevin Gildea.

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Dave Allen, the greatest raconteur of them all.

Dylan Moran is missing from your list.

Yeah Dylan Moran would have gotten my vote too.

Chris O Dowd is VERY funny overall.

https://youtu.be/w__m0NBo5cI

he's not a comedian though

Not a stand up comedian as such but I'd rate Paul Howard as the funniest man in Ireland. And he's been consistently funny for 20 years.

he's not funny outside donnybrook though, in fairness if your fans are drico and tono and sexto it does't look good against the likes of dave allen who are in the DNA of comedy itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

he's not funny outside donnybrook though, in fairness if your fans are drico and tono and sexto it does't look good against the likes of dave allen who are in the DNA of comedy itself.

While I've never read a Ross O'Carroll Kelly book, its ridiculous to say that his work is only funny to a small section of rugby fans. He has been hugely successful over the last 20 years, with numerous books, plays and awards. Fair play to him

Dave Allen was a genius, but there's enough people on this thread gushing about him. I voted Dara O'Briain on the poll. His ability to think on his feet while engaging with the crowd during his stand-up is superb, and he rarely disappoints when on various panel shows on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

Dermot Morgan - Some of that Scrap Saturday stuff is gold
    Tommy Tiernan - early stuff, Live in Vicar St is class
    Brendan Grace
    Sill Fox

First they came for the socialists...