If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Things you just "don't get"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Aegir wrote: »
    the thing I don't get with Vegans, is what do they think the end game is?

I followed a bus with the "Dairy takes a baby from its mother advert on the side. Have they considered that without dairy the calf would not have been born n the first place?

do they expect that come the glorious day that we no longer use animal products, there will be masses of cattle, chickens and pigs roaming across open fields?

Will there bollocks.
    I think the theory is that being bred to die is worse than not being born at all. Life for the sake of it is not worth it for dairy cows. I'm not a vegan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

NIMAN wrote: »
    Price of cocoa has increased over the years.

Imagine if they were still the same size as in the 80s.....how fat would our kids be then:eek:

I saw a woman, partner and their fat offspring in tesco the other day absolutely lose their sh#t over microwaveable rashers. The mother could barely contain herself. Poor kid has no hope!

That and the fact they are plonked in front of video games all day. You cant let them out cause someone on facebook posted that they saw a man driving through whatever feckin estate looking suspicious. And he said he was a paediatrician and must therefore be a paedophile cause any word with paedo means that. Mob mentality is something I dont get! :)

Ludikrus wrote: »
    True maybe but it’s a pain in the hole and I bet you your missus will regret it. My sister-in-law didn’t take our surname and the one piece of advice she gave my fianc(now wife) was take it (she did). When kids arrive it’s not worth the hassle and confusion...school, forms, travel...before kids you can’t imagine all the scenarios where different surnames will cause grief but you’ll find out pretty quickly. I’d go as far as tell her take the surname before kids come along.

Changing name was and never will be on the table. She is proud of her surname and will not change it and I’m fully behind her. I know many people, including a family member who kept their maiden name and I’ve never heard any complaints from them or major problems etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

why we have manual gearboxes. i drove automatic for 2 weeks once, took me a while to get the hang of it but much prefer automatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

NSAman wrote: »
    Walnut whips without the walnuts????? WTF?

What?

Is this an actual product??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Etc wrote: »
    Why twixs', mars bars and curly wurlys are half the size and twice the price ?!?

Mars Bars, now there's something I never got. Sickly sweet, yuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,741 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Antares35 wrote: »
    I saw a woman, partner and their fat offspring in tesco the other day absolutely lose their sh#t over microwaveable rashers. The mother could barely contain herself. Poor kid has no hope!

But, but... you can microwave normal rashers too. My mother does it if she's strapped for time. They come out pink/uncooked looking, but still edible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

But, but... you can microwave normal rashers too. My mother does it if she's strapped for time. They come out pink/uncooked looking, but still edible.
    We need a vomit smilie :eek:

I never said it was nice, but it's doable. Not sure what microwave specific rashers would be like...

Those microwave rashers are grand because you can eat them straight out of the packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭fillup

Not sure if he's featured on this thread already but Dermot Bannon boils my p1ss

Smarmy, weasley little fupper - those contrived, impassable problems he always somehow seems to come across but never fear Dermot will save the day

It's called doing ur job ya fuppwit

Aghhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

fillup wrote: »
    Not sure if he's featured on this thread already but Dermot Bannon boils my p1ss

Smarmy, weasley little fupper - those contrived, impassable problems he always somehow seems to come across but never fear Dermot will save the day

It's called doing ur job ya fuppwit

Aghhhhhhhhhhh

The most absolute annoying prick, on every airwave at every opportunity and f*ck knows why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

I never said it was nice, but it's doable. Not sure what microwave specific rashers would be like...

They need to be super thin like North American cuts.
    Irish rashers would not be thin enough IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Blokes in their 40's or older like Steven Gerrard or the Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta who have thick lustrous hair that looks like it grows out of their skull.

Jamsiek wrote: »
    They need to be super thin like North American cuts.
    Irish rashers would not be thin enough IMO

You'd think that, but they definitely do cook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

dd973 wrote: »
    Blokes in their 40's or older like Steven Gerrard or the Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta who have thick lustrous hair that looks like it grows out of their skull.

Mike Arteta's hair looks dyed to me even though it's probably not.

You'd think that, but they definitely do cook!

Yeah they do no problem, it’s not often I do it but I have cooked rashers in the microwave on occasion for a quick BLT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

Buying still water in shops:confused:
    I sometimes see people leaving Aldi with gallons of still water. Sure that stuff comes out of your tap. Why are you hauling it home from a shop in a plastic container.

Sparkling Water ok thats fine you cant make that at home but still water? Why :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,015 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I sometimes see people leaving Aldi with gallons of still water. Sure that stuff comes out of your tap. Why are you hauling it home from a shop in a plastic container.

Sparkling Water ok thats fine you cant make that at home but still water? Why :confused:

Few times a year, I buy still water just to replace the bottle which gets refilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Converse shoes. Seem extremely expensive for a badly made product.

Had a pair a few years ago.

After a while walking around, the soles of your feet begin to hurt.

Would never but another pair .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

dd973 wrote: »
    Blokes in their 40's or older like Mikel Arteta
    Seamai wrote: »
    Mike Arteta's hair looks dyed to me even though it's probably not.

Has to be dyed.

No one with jet black hair would still have it at like that naturally at his age.

Not one grey hair in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Few times a year, I buy still water just to replace the bottle which gets refilled.

That's the perfect way to do it. Most of the people buying bottled water every day are clowns

I’d put rashers across the back of an upside down bowl and they cook in it grand.

I don't understand the universal hatred of Dermot Bannon.
    I've met him a number of times - he's a really nice guy. Never minded him on the telly before I met him, either.

I don't understand the universal hatred of Dermot Bannon.
    I've met him a number of times - he's a really nice guy. Never minded him on the telly before I met him, either.

He’s the Celtic Tiger represented in human form.

Skinless sausages.
    Wtf are they supposed to be?
    They still seem to have a skin - just a horrible shrivelled skin.

Some places have horrid tap water that wouldn't be fit for consumption, either due to limescale or something else. Then you have areas where the water is perfectly ok to drink, but tastes like a hobos sock.

Probably would be cheaper in the long run to get a softener installed for the limescale areas, but not much you can do in areas with just crap tasting water.

Skinless sausages.
    Wtf are they supposed to be?
    They still seem to have a skin - just a horrible shrivelled skin.

I always assumed that it wasn’t a natural skin like a normal sausage but I’m not sure. Never liked them anyway.

"Sausage casing, also known as sausage skin or simply casing, is the material that encloses the filling of a sausage. Natural casings are made from animal intestines or skin; artificial casings, introduced in the early 20th century, are made of collagen and cellulose."

I buy it for making beer, plus my tap water would destroy a kettle in a matter of months.