Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I follow Farmer Phil a bit. His videos are honest. Enjoy listening to his Dad's old stories about tractors he had etc. He's easy listening for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

jaymla627 wrote: »
    He was cute enough copying the English lad, Tom by getting the two ole chaps involved, you can see as time progresses with his videos how they have started to buy into it, at the start they reckoned he was stone mad I'd say

When they saw the 22 grand twas not long changing there mind
    In fairness I would imagine guys will give it everything it would nearly be better than love island !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,491 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I follow Farmer Phil a bit. His videos are honest. Enjoy listening to his Dad's old stories about tractors he had etc. He's easy listening for me anyway.

Not to many contractors running gear that's mostly payed for and kept going mostly in house by themselves, it's a rough and ready set-up but at least they don't have to find 15k a month to keep the hire purchases paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Jesus He’s constantly saying “so now”. Every second sentence starts with it, drives me cracked.
    I think he is paying too much attention to the camera and not concentrating on the job, especially around machinery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Not to many contractors running gear that's mostly payed for and kept going mostly in house by themselves, it's a rough and ready set-up but at least they don't have to find 15k a month to keep the hire purchases paid

Did you watch the video of the weekend all the gear broke down. I couldnt hack that. I agree you dont need flashy new machines but ye can get fresh stuff that will do just as good without the new price tag.
    We ran old tractors for too many years and I definitely wouldn't go back. Hate breakdowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Did you watch the video of the weekend all the gear broke down. I couldnt hack that. I agree you dont need flashy new machines but ye can get fresh stuff that will do just as good without the new price tag.
    We ran old tractors for too many years and I definitely wouldn't go back. Hate breakdowns

If your into that game you either spend money on finance or on maintenance.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,656 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

If your into that game you either spend money on finance or on maintenance.

Yeah but there's no story in new gear.i like him as he.lets.it all out there.and only for him id say id be on my own with handy gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I honestly think the cop would have given him a chance . What a cheekey fecker . Funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭josephsoap

Bullocks wrote: »
    I honestly think the cop would have given him a chance . What a cheekey fecker . Funny though

I though he was going to blow him away when he extended the lift :o

Bullocks wrote: »

I think Steve is the one having the last laugh. There's a whole series of these videos.

https://www.youtube.com/user/marcryan/videos?view=0&sort=p&flow=list

I think Steve is the one having the last laugh. There's a whole series of these videos.

https://www.youtube.com/user/marcryan/videos?view=0&sort=p&flow=list

Ahhh the flute

Bought this saw maybe 6/7months ago and went to use it today. The primer bulb is perished.
    Now it would have been sitting idle for 2 months but only ever had aspen in it, think would fuel lines be perished aswell? It runs fine when I get her started but it's a bitch to get going
    Pain in the hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Thought this might interest a few on here.
    https://twitter.com/John_Dunne_/status/1211398119570788356?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

https://arland-pulverisation.fr/fiche,les-rampes,,,362.html

This company makes booms for several sprayer manufacturers. No need for rust treatment. No problem whatsoever with liquid fert. Light and strong. The job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Whats the difference between a long and short oil filter on a Ford 5000 and what harm if any can be done changing one for the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

https://arland-pulverisation.fr/fiche,les-rampes,,,362.html

This company makes booms for several sprayer manufacturers. No need for rust treatment. No problem whatsoever with liquid fert. Light and strong. The job!

Ya think they could teach amazone something about booms, 1 folding section from the centre pretty much failed and a mod design fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Do any of ye use an elephant grab for stacking bales ? Using a soft hands but it didn't work too well this year and I'm only finding out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Do any of ye use an elephant grab for stacking bales ? Using a soft hands but it didn't work too well this year and I'm only finding out now.

Have one that was made in Kerry. Super job. Really quick loading, unloading trailers and stacking. Have it on the front of a 3cx and fantastic most of the time until you get wet ground with the 3cx

It would be going onto a 3cx here aswell. Would you tear any bales or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

We have a JM agri one here. A great job. Damaged about 1% of bales, but that was due to operator error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Very very little. The tape gets very little use. Have the jm Agri one here and it's worth the every penny. It will last 20 years plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

What problems with soft hands? I was thinking on them.

satstheway wrote: »
    What problems with soft hands? I was thinking on them.

With the clover silage bales. Air pockets were forming around the edge of the bales where the soft hands caught the bales and causing them to rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭Grueller

How can a tractor like this not have hook ends on a 3pt linkage?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/new-holland-t6030/23854579

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,491 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Grueller wrote: »
    How can a tractor like this not have hook ends on a 3pt linkage?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/new-holland-t6030/23854579

They came in different specs, a delta model would be a bog standard farmers machine, a elite model would be a contractors machine with about 20k extra on the price tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭Grueller

They came in different specs, a delta model would be a bog standard farmers machine, a elite model would be a contractors machine with about 20k extra on the price tag

That is true but I have a TL90 with hook ends from the early 00s. I would have thought that you would need to spec it that way on day one which leads to the question, why would you not want hook ends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,683 ✭✭✭emaherx

Grueller wrote: »
    That is true but I have a TL90 with hook ends from the early 00s. I would have thought that you would need to spec it that way on day one which leads to the question, why would you not want hook ends?

Entirely possible they were damaged/worn and owner replaced with weld on ball type.

Edit: on second reading add, tractor was bought for construction work, doubt much thought went into specing 3 point linkage.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭enricoh

Hi folks, the drive chains on my John Deere gator are worn and loose. I have an old gator that I cannabilise parts off. The chains on the old one are good and tight but a bit of rust and links stiff. It was in the outdoors graveyard!

I threw them into waste oil over the weekend but just wondering am I making work fitting them? N will they stretch easily now. Sprockets are grand, ta

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Whats the difference between a long and short oil filter on a Ford 5000 and what harm if any can be done changing one for the other?

Long ones were originally meant for the turbo engine 7000. Doesn't matter which you use on a 5000. Sometimes the long one gets in the way with loader brackets.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.