Huge increase in rubbish along roads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Was only just disgusted at the amount of rubbish I noticed out on a walk today. I live on a quiet enough country road so it's not coming from randomers. A local cleanup was organized early summer and now its at a ridiculous level again. Mostly plastic bottles of every type and for some reason a lot of bread wrappers. Also McDonalds cups. Wtf is wrong with people...it's their own lane they're throwing it on, has to be locals. I've never in my life thrown any rubbish on the ground, I just don't get it. No pride in where they live. My family went to the cinema the other day, and we all noticed the huge amount of rubbish in the car park, the footpaths, and the stairs everywhere leading up to the doors. I think it's getting much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i was cycling on a small country road and somebody had thrown a black binliner full of christmas decorations at the side of the road.

a new low

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭ISOP

I live in London but come from a rural part of Co Clare, I have been doing a lot of running and jogging whilst at home at for Christmas. It is absolutely disgusting and depressing to see the amount of crap thrown on quite country roads here. What is wrong with people? Is it laziness? lack of respect, I don't know.

I haven’t done it myself but the way things have gone with pricing and with allowing companies unregulated free for all’s in a lot of areas, I don’t have much issue with someone doing a bit of dumping. Maybe if there’s more of it then the government might actually fix things up and offer some benefit to recycling instead of just allowing costs to be piled onto all types of waste collection. Would be better to drive it all up and fly tip it around the fancy parts of the capital though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,297 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We've a farm with a small stream and stuff that's dumped in the ditches ends up in the ditch and causes flooding.
    We see everthing from common house hold rubbish to prams, toys, clothes,etc. The odd time somebody is prosecuted it still happens.
    Our latest find was somebodies needle exchange box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Government policy to privatise bin collections is one aspect of course, and we all know the tight yokes who will not pay for it even if they can well afford it.

Then there are those who think everyone else should clean up their mess.

I really don't know what the solution is, but I'd be more than willing to pay a bit more LPT (if it applies to renters too now!) to have rubbish and recycling collected without a so called "visible" payment to a private company. They won't lose out as they will get contracts but be paid through LPT funds or something.

I thought that children were very environmentally aware these days and would more often than not castigate their parents for not disposing of rubbish properly, I am talking out and about here.

And now we are being given hints that old clothes will not be allowed in the general waste bin if Bruton gets his way. Cart before horse. Sort out illegal dumping by having a decent intelligent policy first please.

I agree it is disgusting to see litter on the ground. I'm older now, but when we were nippers we would get a clip around the ear if we even THOUGHT of dropping a sweet wrapper in the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I haven’t done it myself but the way things have gone with pricing and with allowing companies unregulated free for all’s in a lot of areas, I don’t have much issue with someone doing a bit of dumping. Maybe if there’s more of it then the government might actually fix things up and offer some benefit to recycling instead of just allowing costs to be piled onto all types of waste collection.

A bit of twisted logic there, to say the least. I collect bags full of litter regularly and the vast majority of it are items easily and cheaply recycled, or even free to recycle. There are bottle banks all over the place and I would have only 20% to collect if people just dropped their bottles and cans in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I haven’t done it myself but the way things have gone with pricing and with allowing companies unregulated free for all’s in a lot of areas, I don’t have much issue with someone doing a bit of dumping. Maybe if there’s more of it then the government might actually fix things up and offer some benefit to recycling instead of just allowing costs to be piled onto all types of waste collection. Would be better to drive it all up and fly tip it around the fancy parts of the capital though.

Grand so. Whats your address so we can dump our rubbish in your front garden as you don't seem to mind it.

That’s a stupid question. Nobody is dumping rubbish in people’s front gardens.

A bit of twisted logic there, to say the least. I collect bags full of litter regularly and the vast majority of it are items easily and cheaply recycled, or even free to recycle. There are bottle banks all over the place and I would have only 20% to collect if people just dropped their bottles and cans in them.

Bottles and clothes. There is nothing else free to recycle any more in my area.
    Since they started charging for it I just dump it all in the main waste bin anyway as it saves faffing about washing out plastic trays, etc and I don’t use my recycling bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,914 ✭✭✭✭elperello

ISOP wrote: »
    I live in London but come from a rural part of Co Clare, I have been doing a lot of running and jogging whilst at home at for Christmas. It is absolutely disgusting and depressing to see the amount of crap thrown on quite country roads here. What is wrong with people? Is it laziness? lack of respect, I don't know.

I expect that in your area of London the Council Tax covers the bins.
    Here the bin service if it exists in rural areas is provided by a commercial operator and the charge is €250-€300 per year. People want to avoid this and they dump on roadsides, shove waste into litter bins or burn in the grate or backyard.
    It's endemic all over not just in Clare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Its the usual mix of middle classes and the other crowd you'd be shocked in Clare the dirty delinquents who are dumping their sh1T

There's a place between Connonly and Miltownmalbay which is handy if you're stopping for a phone call or checking messages etc
    Or need to freshen up.
    When you look into the woods you'll see all the rubbish.
    TVs vacuum cleaner s, lawnmower s kids toy buggies etc

And the irony is the county Council leave piles of gravel there, you'd think they'd do something about it.

But that's probably the environment department who've to clean that.
    So the grounds men don't want to be crossing over and getting the blame for the environment guy's having to clean it all out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Since they started charging for it I just dump it all in the main waste bin anyway as it saves faffing about washing out plastic trays, etc and I don’t use my recycling bin.
    Add cans to that.

As I said, the items free to recycle would make up 80% of the litter I pick up every two weeks. Maybe I'll drop the bags along your road to save me going to the bottle banks with them. You obviously won't mind them scattered there or will pick them up and chuck them in your bins: it will only be 35 to 40 black bags full each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I think littering is a growing problem, and I honestly don't know what the solution is. :(
    Solution is simple really: REAL enforcement of current littering laws.
    The Gardaí have the power to issue on-the-spot fines for litter offences.

How many times have you seen litter under all those Fines for Littering signs all around the country? People do not take them seriously because there is no enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Yes I have noticed this.
    I drive the windy rural road that links Saggart village to the N81 after Jobstown regulary. This past year there is always bags of rubbish being dumped on it. You have to be careful driving this road as there are lot of twists and turns, and this dumping makes it even more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

After the Christmas over indulgence/hosting etc. I went to the local bottle bank today. It was overflowing and I came home with the same bottles! No room at the inn.

Will store them all until the kids go back to school, hopefully there will be room then when they are collected post New Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Lack of civic pride in Ireland. In London I've seen people shout at people littering, here people are afraid to say anything and just don't care as much.

Bottles, cans, clothes, bulbs, batteries, electrical goods and strangely newspapers but not other waste paper all free in my local bring centre.

They used to take plastic, cardboard, all paper and scrap metal free but now charge for them.

Speaking to the gate men they say the throughput of all items has gone down since the charges came in.

Where is all that stuff going now?

I wonder does England or Scotland suffer from this or Germany or the Scandinavian countries. I know having cycled all over Holland they don't have the same problem.

The Irish have a reputation for being uncouth pigs. Maybe it's well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Penfailed

That’s a stupid question. Nobody is dumping rubbish in people’s front gardens.

Dumping in the countryside is like dumping in EVERYONE'S garden. Don't do it. Use your recycling bin like a proper grownup.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn, Fat Dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Was on the way to work this morning and a van was coming in the opposite direction when it pulled over on to the hard shoulder and next thing a bag of rubbish was thrown out before it sped off.

I hope the driver has a rotten 2020.

I wonder does England or Scotland suffer from this or Germany or the Scandinavian countries. I know having cycled all over Holland they don't have the same problem.

The Irish have a reputation for being uncouth pigs. Maybe it's well deserved.

In my experience countries which provide waste services and recycling free at the point of use have less littering and dumping. A certain amount though can be encountered anywhere. There are always a few exceptions.

Not sure that we have that reputation anymore but some people are doing their best to drag us all down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Kivaro wrote: »
    Solution is simple really: REAL enforcement of current littering laws.
    The Gardaí have the power to issue on-the-spot fines for litter offences.

How many times have you seen litter under all those Fines for Littering signs all around the country? People do not take them seriously because there is no enforcement.

Fines won't really help though. For e.g. - go near any halting site, rubbish all over the kip, they collect vans full of stuff and dump in the countryside. You can't fine a traveller. You can't fine some of the citizens of D1 (the most littered part of the country), if we can't even arrest people for doing heroin in tourist spots.
    So fining is not the answer in this country, as most of the culprits won't pay the fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

a local cleanup on 10 km of n road lifted 100 bin bags of rubbish they do it every year.
    this the facebook post from 2018.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10155155251006537&id=615806536&_rdr

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

elperello wrote: »
    He was definitely in the wrong and he shouldn't have been fly tipping but mattresses can be hard to get rid of depending what part of the country you live in.

Plus the guy in the van was a bit harsh on him. He wouldn't have been so tough with the verbals if it was couple of hardy lads.

That video was taken in Galway, there is a recycling centre in Oranmore and another one in the city that he could have gone to yet he drove out into the countryside because he was too mean to pay a few bob to get rid of it.

I hope yer man did give the footage to the guards and they fined him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Fines won't really help though. For e.g. - go near any halting site, rubbish all over the kip, they collect vans full of stuff and dump in the countryside. You can't fine a traveller. You can't fine some of the citizens of D1 (the most littered part of the country), if we can't even arrest people for doing heroin in tourist spots.
    So fining is not the answer in this country, as most of the culprits won't pay the fines.

I hear you.
    Link the fines to welfare payments then for those on welfare.
    And garnish worker wages for those of them who do not pay the fines.
    The welfare parties will never allow this to happen though; that I understand.

I live in a small village and every week a few people meet to do a clean up in the area, it's amazing how doing a bit every week can keep on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

That video was taken in Galway, there is a recycling centre in Oranmore and another one in the city that he could have gone to yet he drove out into the countryside because he was too mean to pay a few bob to get rid of it.

People like that probably spend more on fuel driving out to a country road to dump than what it would cost to get rid of the rubbish legally.

The road from the services outside Carlow at Tinryland are strewn with empty coffee cups and food wrapping from the deli and McDonald's.
    The people responsible managed to consume most of their food or drink and got to a few yards outside the car park and dumped the packaging out the windows. For the sake of the 30 seconds or so it took them to get that far,they could have finished their stuff and put the rubbish in a bin before setting off.

He was definitely in the wrong.
    He deserved to be dealt with according to the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

elperello wrote: »
    Easy to do tough talk on the internet.

True. Look at you.