Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Huge increase in rubbish along roads

• 31-12-2019 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭

Has anyone noticed the huge increase in rubbish being strewn along the roads?
    It doesn't matter if it is the motorway, national road or country lanes I see coffee cups, fast food snack boxes and cans of energy drinks chucked everywhere

It's gotten to epidemic levels along some of the roads I regularly use. And when the council trim the grass and shrubs it shows how bad the problem actually is.

I was out and about around Dublin before Christmas and I couldn't believe the amount of rubbish along back roads.

Who are these people who just chuck everything out of their car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yes it's disgusting. Xmas and all the consumption and crap people by is making it worse this week. Bottles and bags of rubbish everywhere. At a park near my house people have left about 20 black bags of rubbish.
    We really are filthy knackers in this country.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Happens all the time this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't disagree with either of the above but bin charges and recycling mandates aren't helping the situation.

Take myself (and before I continue, I've never dumped rubbish). I live alone and commute to work so I often eat in the office. I'm also away at least one day at the weekend.

I generate a standard black bag of rubbish roughly once a fortnight or slightly longer. The 2 local bin companies would want at least 30 a month for services I'd almost never use, and for 3 bins I'd have nowhere to put (no back garden)

So I bought a single wheelie bin for 25 quid and once I get to 4 bags they go into the boot and into a big yellow compactor at a petrol station. Costs 8 quid for 2 bags.

I'd say there's a lot of people like me, especially in apartments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Who are these people who just chuck everything out of their car?

Trying living near a food outlet of any sort. People are lazy ****ing scumbags,

McDonalds in the mill centre in Clondalkin is a dump for people. They get their food, go park and just **** it out the window.

The missus was walking across the car park the other day and a group of our ethnic nomadic cousins were standing at a car, throwing their empty mcdonalds cups under the cars around them. She had the utter cheek to glance over at them, only to be met with "who the **** does she think shes looking at, we'll throw our cups where we want"

It doesnt take much driving around clondalkin village to see people littering. People just drop it as they go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

I haven't noticed an increase, its always been really bad!

Something i can't get over in the west is the apes that throw big bags of Supermacs rubbish straight out the car window in the middle of nowhere on rual roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I was out for a run the other day along a road I normally drive along. Driving you don't notice much but walking/running you really notice the amount of crap. Bottles both plastic and glass, cans, bags, coffee cups and every type of crap you can imagine every few yards.

Filthy knackers is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

McDonalds in the mill centre in Clondalkin is a dump for people. They get their food, go park and just **** it out the window.

The missus was walking across the car park the other day and a group of our ethnic nomadic cousins were standing at a car, throwing their empty mcdonalds cups under the cars around them. She had the utter cheek to glance over at them, only to be met with "who the **** does she think shes looking at, we'll throw our cups where we want"

It doesnt take much driving around clondalkin village to see people littering. People just drop it as they go.

Yep, the place is manky. Drove past where the old happy brig pub used to be where the old back road is closed, the old road is just full of rubbish.

All along that Bawnogue road, theres random bags of rubbish.

For anyone that doesnt know Clondalkin btw, the shopping centre is overlooked by the Garda station on the opposite side of the road, 20 metres away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Parts of Tallaght very similar.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I never understand this. Why not...just leave it in your car and put it in the bin when you get home. :confused:

They dont even need to do that if they dont want to, theres bins in the carpark and in McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭phishcakes

Im really surprised incentivised recycling hasn’t been brought into this country on a large scale yet

A lot of other countries are doing this successfully with glass, aluminium cans etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I was driving in Dublin recently, it was bin day after a very windy night and morning. I’d say half the bins were blown over and rubbish spilled out. On my way back, the bins had been emptied and taken in, but a lot of rubbish had been blown around on the street and into ditches.

That’s only one side of it, have also seen scum throw and drop their rubbish as they walk along, they couldn’t give a sh1t. Animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

They dont even need to do that if they dont want to, theres bins in the carpark and in McDonalds.

I've seen people sitting in that car park, not travellers, sitting beside the bin, but opening their window and throwing the rubbish in the ground beside the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭X111111111111

No to be honest if anything I've noticed less rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Some **** left a bag of clothes beside a council bin on our main road. The clothes bank is located 200 yards away. Morons.

Whats the situation if you catch someone on your dash cam throwing fag butts out the window? Will the cops or litter warden issue a fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭lucalux

Finding it bad alright but I've seen it for years around here.
    Supermacs and coffee cups/cigarette packets, lucozade and packets of crisps is the usual. Sometimes cans of lager etc Obviously flinging it out the window over a mile or so. A long stream of blood-boiling ignorance if you're out on a nice countryside walk.

The other day, pulling into a space at a busy enough petrol station/supermacs, a car beside the space i was aiming for had rear passenger door open, i waited to see would they get in or out. A well dressed woman sitting in back of the car, maybe 50? She was putting all her supermacs rubbish beside the car on the ground. The driver i presumed was vaping at the kerb. Kids in the car too.

I watched her put the rubbish out onto the ground, then she noticed my car. Breezily picks it all back up. I would have said it to her had she not. Husband or whoever he was skedaddled away from the car seeing me watch this in amazement.

The bin was about 5feet away in full view of where she was sitting.
    She wandered over with her head down and avoided looking in my direction as i parked. Put the rubbish in the bin. I felt like applauding her.

Scumbags in every socioeconomic 'class' I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

While there are a lot of filth merchants who sneak out in the dead of night to dump bags of household waste, I've also noticed a lot of the public bins are being removed by the council and not replaced. At first, I thought they were going to be replaced with those Big Belly bins but no, just removed. Five bins have been removed on a stretch of road near me that leads to the park people walk their dogs in. Now the lovely wooden planters with flowers that Tidy Towns people put there to make the place look nice are regularly strewn with discarded bags of dog shyte that people don't want to carry till they get home.

Lots of bus stops near me with bins removed. Coffee cups, food wrappers, cigarette butts that would have gone into the bin now get dropped on the ground. Since the bin removal, those areas are ten times dirtier than they used to be.

Some people are just plain rancid though. In Dublin, you can dispose of a large bag of household waste at North Strand recycling depot for €4 but that's too much trouble for some. When the birds peck open the discarded bags of waste, and the contents begin their relocation around the roads and in people driveways, the contents are often a mixture of things that could be composted, things that could be recycled and general waste. Basically, these filthy specimens just don't care.

I would love to see their faces if someone knew their address and returned all their discarded rubbish in through their letter box. Slimy banana skins and left over dinner mixed with ashtray dirt sliding down the inside of their front door onto the floor. It's little daydreams like this that keep me sane whenever I see yet another bag of rubbish left on the side of the road by yet another rancid skank.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Bins being removed is no excuse to litter. People have bins at home, the can bring their rubbish back there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I do a litter pick along our rural road - both side of a 1 mile stretch. While I'll easily fill a couple of large bags once a fortnight, and it's takeaways, plastic bottle, glass and cans mostly, the level of littering has reduced a bit on five years ago.

We need a deposit scheme on bottles of all types and cans.

The most annoying is bags of tins and packaging, which is obviously household waste as opposed to general littering, but, thankfully, it's not too common.

Whats the situation if you catch someone on your dash cam throwing fag butts out the window? Will the cops or litter warden issue a fine?

Here the council litter wardens will issue a fine, if you show them the evidence.

Bins being removed is no excuse to litter. People have bins at home, the can bring their rubbish back there.

I agree. But a lot of people who don't want to carry an empty coffee cup or drinks can or sandwich wrapper with them would put them in the bin if there was a bin. Better to have the bins than to try teach fools not to litter.

I do a litter pick along our rural road - both side of a 1 mile stretch. While I'll easily fill a couple of large bags once a fortnight, and it's takeaways, plastic bottle, glass and cans mostly, the level of littering has reduced a bit on five years ago.

We need a deposit scheme on bottles of all types and cans.

The most annoying is bags of tins and packaging, which is obviously household waste as opposed to general littering, but, thankfully, it's not too common.

We need laws enforced and scumbags named and shamed. If they are caught they should be fined and made wear distinctive clothing while cleaning areas so people will know exactly what they have done. If they refuse they should be jailed for a period until they decide to do it.

Fizzlesque wrote: »
    While there are a lot of filth merchants who sneak out in the dead of night to dump bags of household waste, I've also noticed a lot of the public bins are being removed by the council and not replaced. At first, I thought they were going to be replaced with those Big Belly bins but no, just removed. Five bins have been removed on a stretch of road near me that leads to the park people walk their dogs in. Now the lovely wooden planters with flowers that Tidy Towns people put there to make the place look nice are regularly strewn with discarded bags of dog shyte that people don't want to carry till they get home.

Lots of bus stops near me with bins removed. Coffee cups, food wrappers, cigarette butts that would have gone into the bin now get dropped on the ground. Since the bin removal, those areas are ten times dirtier than they used to be.

Some people are just plain rancid though. In Dublin, you can dispose of a large bag of household waste at North Strand recycling depot for €4 but that's too much trouble for some. When the birds peck open the discarded bags of waste, and the contents begin their relocation around the roads and in people driveways, the contents are often a mixture of things that could be composted, things that could be recycled and general waste. Basically, these filthy specimens just don't care.

I would love to see their faces if someone knew their address and returned all their discarded rubbish in through their letter box. Slimy banana skins and left over dinner mixed with ashtray dirt sliding down the inside of their front door onto the floor. It's little daydreams like this that keep me sane whenever I see yet another bag of rubbish left on the side of the road by yet another rancid skank.
    Dont forget the used sanitary towels / tampons and the dirty nappies. Pure scum. Usually the people who pay for nothing but its across all walks of society.

I agree. But a lot of people who don't want to carry an empty coffee cup or drinks can or sandwich wrapper with them would put them in the bin if there was a bin. Better to have the bins than to try teach fools not to litter.

Anyone who throws the cup on the ground because there isnt a bin is a scumbag and would litter somewhere at some stage. There isnt going to be a bin everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,110 ✭✭✭✭elperello

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I don't disagree with either of the above but bin charges and recycling mandates aren't helping the situation.

Take myself (and before I continue, I've never dumped rubbish). I live alone and commute to work so I often eat in the office. I'm also away at least one day at the weekend.

I generate a standard black bag of rubbish roughly once a fortnight or slightly longer. The 2 local bin companies would want at least 30 a month for services I'd almost never use, and for 3 bins I'd have nowhere to put (no back garden)

So I bought a single wheelie bin for 25 quid and once I get to 4 bags they go into the boot and into a big yellow compactor at a petrol station. Costs 8 quid for 2 bags.

I'd say there's a lot of people like me, especially in apartments.

You have a good system. The wheelie bin keeps everything tidy until you have a load to go in car.
    A lot of people in apartments or duplexes have difficulty controlling who uses the bins.

Where is that compactor at petrol station? I thought they had all been removed. (understand if you don't want to give location).

Agree with other posters about deposit scheme, we are way past the talking about it stage. Government should ignore the business lobby and introduce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I was walking my dog up by Magazine Fort in Phoenix Park a while back and saw a car pull up at the small car park, three kids get out with black bags of rubbish and just dump them beside the bin.Tried to run down the hill to catch the reg but the Dad sped off as soon as the kids were back in the car. Some example being set there! Car wasn't an aul banger either, so looked like Dad could well afford bin charges.

The fella who took this video from 2019 is my hero [Disclaimer: Colourful language alert]. Fcuking asshole dumping his crap in the bog :pac:

Anyone who throws the cup on the ground because there isnt a bin is a scumbag and would litter somewhere at some stage. There isnt going to be a bin everywhere.

True. Somehow I think these people are telling themselves they're not littering because the cups are placed, upright on the wall instead of thrown on the ground. Don't get me wrong, I'm not defending these people but I have noticed the amount of rubbish has increased since the bins at bus stops were removed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I was walking out of a shopping centre recently, and a woman with two small children was standing by the door, chatting to another woman. The children were opening sweets or bars and dropping the papers straight onto the ground. There was a large very noticeable rubbish bin right in front of them. In fact the second woman was standing right beside the damn thing.

I have seen, as described in previous posts, people throwing stuff out of the window of their car, near fast food places. There's no excuse for it. And it's not confined to any particular type of person, in my opinion.
    I travel by bus a bit, and am always appalled at people waiting at stops, when they see the bus approaching, they fling cigarette butts to the ground. Oftentimes when there is a bin there right beside them.

I think littering is a growing problem, and I honestly don't know what the solution is. :(

I live in the village too. Regularly see people throw rubbish out their car windows. Utter filth and vermin. No enforcement of litter laws though so it will continue to happen.

True. Somehow I think these people are telling themselves their not littering because the cups are placed, upright on the wall instead of thrown on the ground. Don't get me wrong, I'm not defending these people but I have noticed the amount of rubbish has increased since the bins at bus stops were removed.

Those "tidy" litterbugs are nearly the worst. Denial or what?

There is an element of lack of joined up thinking in Local Authorities giving planning permission and collecting rates from f/f outlets at the same time as removing bins.

Ultimately the person littering is to blame but there needs to be some thought put into urban infrastructure as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

elperello wrote: »
    You have a good system. The wheelie bin keeps everything tidy until you have a load to go in car.
    A lot of people in apartments or duplexes have difficulty controlling who uses the bins.

Where is that compactor at petrol station? I thought they had all been removed. (understand if you don't want to give location).

Yep, it works for me. There's no "pay as you need it" model offered by either local company (nice little arrangement they have between themselves actually), and the idea of spending a fortune in standing and lift charges regardless given my low usage just sits badly with me.

There's still several of these operating in the south of the country and as I'm down that way anyway fairly regularly it's still cheaper to just bring the 4 bags with me every 2 months or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I drove by a fully decorated artificial tree dumped at the side of a Wicklow road at 8 am on st Stephens day.

People are scum. They mattress fella on twitter was the epitomy of it and he wasn't a traveller , poor, or some young fella.

Scum come in all shapes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I just walked by the big KFC beside Lidl on New Nangor Rd this morning and the piles of rubbish - KFC stuff mainly, empty cans etc) - was staggering.
    There is literally mountains of it left by scumbags of all social types.

In the abscence of personal responsibility, KFC should be out cleaning up that sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

you always see supermacs bags and chips etc thrown on the side of the road.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yep, it works for me. There's no "pay as you need it" model offered by either local company (nice little arrangement they have between themselves actually), and the idea of spending a fortune in standing and lift charges regardless given my low usage just sits badly with me.

There's still several of these operating in the south of the country and as I'm down that way anyway fairly regularly it's still cheaper to just bring the 4 bags with me every 2 months or so.

I agree the notion of having a big wheelie bin just to dispose of 1 small bag per week is ridiculous.

I thought those petrol station compactors were all gone. Something to do with the Waste Act and they not offering any recycling facility.
    Good to hear some still survive because they can be useful for people with less refuse to dispose of.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    you always see supermacs bags and chips etc thrown on the side of the road.

That's the trouble with branded wrapping.
    The big outlets get the bad pr for the littering while the local chippers remain anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

At least the guy in the video dumping what looks like a Mattress said sorry.

Mr_Muffin wrote: »

saying sorry because someone caught you doesnt count.

Hes probably done it before and not been caught.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Parenting.

Mr_Muffin wrote: »

He was definitely in the wrong and he shouldn't have been fly tipping but mattresses can be hard to get rid of depending what part of the country you live in.

Plus the guy in the van was a bit harsh on him. He wouldn't have been so tough with the verbals if it was couple of hardy lads.

He was definitely in the wrong and he shouldn't have been fly tipping but mattresses can be hard to get rid of depending what part of the country you live in.

Plus the guy in the van was a bit harsh on him. He wouldn't have been so tough with the verbals if it was couple of hardy lads.

Bollocks was he harsh on him. Should have given him a boot up the hole.

Mattresses can be hard to get rid of for free, yes. Doesnt matter what part of the country it is , or how far you are from the a dump or recycling centre, heading out and ditching it somewhere isnt acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

surely it would be less expensive for councils to just bring back free bin collections, than spend the millions they're currently pumping into trying to clean up after the scumbags who dump their rubbish on the roads?

maccored wrote: »
    surely it would be less expensive for councils to just bring back free bin collections, than spend the millions they're currently pumping into trying to clean up after the scumbags who dump their rubbish on the roads?

Unfortunately littering on country roads was every bit as bad back in the free bins era. Some people are just lazy, uncaring dolts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

phishcakes wrote: »
    Im really surprised incentivised recycling hasn’t been brought into this country on a large scale yet

A lot of other countries are doing this successfully with glass, aluminium cans etc..

There was some talk about bringing in a system for plastic bottles. It’s massive in Germany, a huge success. Bring back any plastic bottle to your supermarket, you can get up to 20 cent for a large one. It’s built into the cost anyway so you are getting it back when you return it.

Lidl, Rewe, they all have the machines as you entered the shop. You could put the money towards your goods bought or donate to charity.

Of course it went nowhere here. Think Denis Naughten said it would cost over 260 million, costs of green recycling would go up, yada yada.

Such bull**** and so shortsighted. In reality it would put the waste recycling companies out of pocket, the ones we pay to recycle, when in other countries, Sweden and Canada, recycling is free.

The number one item I see for discarded waste is plastic bottles, usually throw away by the same mindless shower of kids. Then you have Greta Thurnberg yelling about boomers stealing her childhood :/

Bollocks was he harsh on him. Should have given him a boot up the hole.

Mattresses can be hard to get rid of for free, yes. Doesnt matter what part of the country it is , or how far you are from the a dump or recycling centre, heading out and ditching it somewhere isnt acceptable.

Where I live it's hard to get rid of a mattress not impossible though.
    Furthermore around here you don't get any stripes for assaulting old guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Where I live it's hard to get rid of a mattress not impossible though.
    Furthermore around here you don't get any stripes for assaulting old guys.

I would have no problem with anyone dumping in our countryside being assaulted, its f*cking disgusting behaviour

I think assaulting old guys for littering or any other criminal activity is disgusting behavior.

I said he was wrong to be dumping already.

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    . In reality it would put the waste recycling companies out of pocket, the ones we pay to recycle, when in other countries, Sweden and Canada, recycling is free.
    :/

cant see why it would. The bottles still need to be recycled, youre just changing who collects it.