Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being harrassed by an ex when I have long since moved on...

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

You should text your garda buddy back and inform her that he's a drug dealer. He's not a very good one since he uses a registered phone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭FAMLEE

You should text your garda buddy back and inform her that he's a drug dealer. He's not a very good one since he uses a registered phone

This made me laugh haha, this post is absolute horsesh1t .. OP needs to get a grip.. its all in her head. Or maybe she secretly wants him back? .. weird all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

Claims to have no idea who it was, yet...
    Star02 wrote: »
    I also know that he has viewed my facebook profile from someone else's account as he has texted me things from this new number commenting about whats on my page (because I have his own page blocked from viewing my page).

Yeah. Definitely a lot more to this story. Right down to the dodgy Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Star02

AulWan wrote: »
    Claims to have no idea who it was, yet...

Yeah. Definitely a lot more to this story. Right down to the dodgy Garda.

No idea who it was the first time they rang. No idea who it was still even when the texts started rolling in. Feel like Im repeating myself at this stage. Went along to the local friendly guarda then. Keep it up lads, Batgirl hit the nail on the head in her post. The amount of trolls on here is shocking. All I asked for was advice. Tbf I got that in the start but it doesnt take long for the deadwood to appear on Boards. Aul Wan you dont intimidate me.

I'm not trying to intimidate you. But I am deeply skeptical about your story.

I don't believe you didn't know who the calls and texts were from before you went to the Gardai either, as your story just doesn't add up with the comments about your facebook content, photos of you together, etc.

And sorry, but I absolutely do not believe any Garda would be stupid enough to tell you the name of the owner of this phone number, let alone send it to you by text.

So take from that what you may. I'm out.

I want to make it clear that I have NOT had any contact with this ex in 5 years. Once I ended it, that was it.
    Also the fact that I have seen him parked outside my gym more than once waiting for me to emerge. And having spoken to the gym management no trace of him ever having used the facility. Also making multiple social media accounts and having the gaul to add me on them.

Your story has a lot of holes

I'm not trying to intimidate you. But I am deeply skeptical about your story.

I don't believe you didn't know who the calls and texts were from before you went to the Gardai either, as your story just doesn't add up with the comments about your facebook content, photos of you together, etc.

And sorry, but I absolutely do not believe any Garda would be stupid enough to tell you the name of the owner of this phone number, let alone send it to you by text.

So take from that what you may. I'm out.

Good luck. I couldn't give a damn if you think my story is real or not. You may remember this is Personal Issues in future, and not After Hours. If you want to call bull**** on something which is causing an actual human being feelings of fear and upset maybe say nothing at all? If I put down every miniscule detail I'd have people saying jesus youre having a laugh if you think Im reading all of that and they'd be dead right too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Good luck. I couldn't give a damn if you think my story is real or not. You may remember this is Personal Issues in future, and not After Hours. If you want to call bull**** on something which is causing an actual human being feelings of fear and upset maybe say nothing at all? If I put down every miniscule detail I'd have people saying jesus youre having a laugh if you think Im reading all of that and they'd be dead right too.

OP please just ignore this poster, it's not the only topic they engage with in such manner.

You received some sound advice on the first page or two though, and importantly you have Garda support. Best of luck.

Your story has a lot of holes

Obviously it would seem that way when I have had to summarize parts or youd be the very one bitching about that too that it was too long of a post.Yourself and Aul Wan have made it clear ye dont believe my story no matter how much info I have given ye. Thats fine. Some people are miserable like that. Why bother to keep on engaging with the thread poster if ye have your minds already made up though is beyond me..

I'm sure you don't.

But here is some advice for you - you may want to get your facts straight, or at least make sure you fill in the holes, if you want to proceed to making an actual complaint which could result in charges against this person.

But I'm sure your dodgy cop friend will help you with that.

Good luck.

Some people are miserable like that.

I'm grand thanks.

I'm sure you don't.

But here is some advice for you - you may want to get your facts straight, or at least make sure you fill in the holes, if you want to proceed to making an actual complaint which could result in charges against this person.

Good luck.

You're actually beyond embarrassment. And don't you worry, I know who's side of the story I'd be on if I were the guarda according to people who know of this pest. And as for dodgy cop, I'd say youre the very one who tars them all with the same brush yet wouldnt turn down their help in a situation if you were a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi OP, I'd recommend reading a book called How He Gets into Her Head by Don Hennessy. I'd not let anything you've read here bother you too much and I hope that any other women who may be reading it and relating don't buy into the sentiments of disbelief or contempt conveyed toward you either. There is also a follow up book called Steps to Freedom which gives practical advice that may be of benefit to you also. I hope it helps you and any other women who are or have been in similar situations. Domestic violence and male intimate abuse is still largely ignored and disregarded, mostly due to lack of understanding. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Sweet suffering Jesus. You've clearly never experienced this. I actually envy you. He knows I don't want contact with him when I have his original number blocked and every other avenue blocked which he is aware of. Also the fact that I have seen him parked outside my gym more than once waiting for me to emerge. And having spoken to the gym management no trace of him ever having used the facility. Also making multiple social media accounts and having the gaul to add me on them.

He's obviously a nutjob. I believe you. Im sorry you are going through this. I hope it stops.

Look, the Garda acted rashly. Confirming the OPs ex as the owner of the number, when no crime has been committed, is a breach of his personal data.

No its not. Consent is not always needed for lawful processing. I am sure the guards know the law.

He called her phone or texted. He didn't have to. He gave her his number.

Also processing can be carried out for compliance of legal obligations such as the public interest ...something the guards are nearly always involved in.

Perhaps you should think before you start calling someone 'a dodgy guard' when they are just trying to protect members of the public.

The idea that you are not entitled to know the name of someone who is sending you anon texts or calls is ...silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'm sure you don't.

Good luck.

I believe the OP because unfortunately I have seen many breeches of GDPR by AGS and others since the law came into effect. I work in a sector where gardai are often involved and I've been told many things I shouldn't have by sometimes inexperienced members of the force and often by those who should know better. And not just Gardaí, other agencies too. People make mistakes all the time so I wouldn't be surprised by a guard saying this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

How would the gardai know who owns what phone. I wouldn't think they would have my number on file.

Exactly. They obviously had this number on file.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I believe the OP because unfortunately I have seen many breeches of GDPR by AGS and others since the law came into effect. I work in a sector where gardai are often involved and I've been told many things I shouldn't have by sometimes inexperienced members of the force and often by those who should know better. And not just Gardaí, other agencies too. People make mistakes all the time so I wouldn't be surprised by a guard saying this.

Its not a breach of GDPR if its to protect the public or a member of the public. They have to comply with their legal obligations to the OP. Withholding certain info wouldn't' enable them to do that.

They can access the pulse system.

Bear in mind this guy messed around with a 14 yr old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

I think the next legal option is to apply for a no contact order (not even sure if that bill has been passed yet). It covers harrassment/stalking so unless he's done other stuff that you haven't said??

Did the garda advise you on next steps?

Its not a breach of GDPR if its to protect the public or a member of the public. They have to comply with their legal obligations to the OP. Withholding certain info wouldn't' enable them to do that.

They can access the pulse system.

Bear in mind this guy messed around with a 14 yr old.
    Absolute nonsense.

Keep in mind, this guy is also a member of the public with rights to privacy that the Garda must uphold.

An allegation (and as of now that is all this is) does not remove his rights.

No one said the Garda don't have access to reverse phone directories. But that does not mean they can pass that information on to another member of the public.

Or, as I said earlier, anyone could rock up to their nearest Garda station and (maliciously or otherwise) demand to be given the identity of the owner of every private or unknown number that calls their phone.

If you believe that's legal, you're delusional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Absolute nonsense.

Keep in mind, this guy is also a member of the public with rights to privacy that the Garda must uphold.

An allegation (and as of now that is all this is) does not remove his rights.

No one said the Garda don't have access to reverse phone directories. But that does not mean they can pass that information on to another member of the public.

Or, as I said earlier, anyone could rock up to their nearest Garda station and (maliciously or otherwise) demand to be given the identity of the owner of every private or unknown number that calls their phone.

If you believe that's legal, you're delusional.

AulWan is correct here btw, that Garda could end up in hot water for doing that (if that's what happened) especially if the OP goes down the route of contacting his current gf etc instead of following proper channels to deal with it.

Thank you Fringegirl. At last, some common sense.

Ironic seeing as its the very thing that seems lost on you...

AulWan is correct here btw, that Garda could end up in hot water for doing that (if that's what happened) especially if the OP goes down the route of contacting his current gf etc instead of following proper channels to deal with it.

That wont be happening (contacting the current gf) seeing as the first few posters advised against it before mrs troll come along and made ****e out of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Set up do not disturb on your phone so that only certain people can call you after say 11 that will stop the midnight call from unknown numbers

Sorry can't be more helpful good luck

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Cmod note: Thread closed for review.