When did Ireland get so pretentious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Sounds like you’re stuck in 2010 OP when you ****ed off to make a few pound down under while your buddies were stuck here on the dole

Now they have jobs money and families and sounds like they have matured into well formed adults

Sorry for your loss, youll have to find new mates to head to Knights with and down your tins of tennents

Why don’t you **** off back to Australia if everything is so perfect there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

joe_99 wrote: »
    The OP was out with a couple of people over Christmas and Ireland is now pretentious based on that minuscule sample size. Just thought I'd follow that logic further see where I ended up.
    Apologies - duh to me. :o:D

Sounds like you’re stuck in 2010 OP when you ****ed off to make a few pound down under while your buddies were stuck here on the dole

Now they have jobs money and families and sounds like they have matured into well formed adults

Sorry for your loss, youll have to find new mates to head to Knights with and down your tins of tennents

Why don’t you **** off back to Australia if everything is so perfect there
    Jaysus why do people keep saying this. When has becoming a responsible adult meant putting on a vapid posh accent or pretending your younger years didn't happen?

My friends and I are similar - fewer nights out, responsibilities, early bed/early rise, healthier lifestyles etc, but nobody is putting on an accent or pretending we didn't party/do stupid sh1t.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    A lot of credit fuelled pretentiousness. Something happened during the Celtic tiger that has changed the Irish psyche. A lot of people would walk over each other at the smell of a banknote.

Exactly this. That era irreparably destroyed the majority of people in this country where the only joy is being better than the neighbours in some material way.

We went from a warm people to a vile one and have never recovered.

I disagree. I have a really good friend who is mid 30ths that has changed his accent over the last few years and has become more pretencious.
    It only happened when this friend got an uppty job so he is probly trying to fit in with the other pretencious people that work in this place.

Oh look at me I can programme stuff. I'm so much better than everyone : )

I get what the op is saying.
    I have lost respect for this friend to be honest because I really can't stand pretencious people.

A pretentious, uppity job. I was expecting you to say wine dealer not programming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,364 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Meeting up with friends and acquaintances over the Christmas and some of the meet ups were torturous. It seems that when people hit their mid thirties they posh up their accents and pretend that all the things they did in their previous life never happened. These are people who I’ve known for 15 years some of whom I’ve been in Australia with talking to me as if I had only met them and didn’t know who they are. I’ve been away for a few years, not that long, but maybe I’ve missed out on a few things but it seems a lot of people have this “new money” idea of themselves that Irish people never seemed to have before, a certain latent snobbery around the place.

I'm stunned and trolled at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭HamSarris

It’s not an Irish thing, it’s what happens at the end of an economic cycle. People who used to live paycheque to paycheque start getting loads of overtime/bonuses or get sucked into the bubble of the day (i.e., IT). They go from seeing themselves as working class to upper middle class and start worrying about buying a second house or if their children need private school. Then a recession hits, the system resets and politically there’s a shift from right to left (as people worry more about getting through the week than capital gains tax).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

we were better craic when we had fuck-all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The worst for me is the people living in the country who pretend they are huge Irish rugby fans, they are wannabe D4 heads but they live in a small town in the west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

Meeting up with friends and acquaintances over the Christmas and some of the meet ups were torturous. It seems that when people hit their mid thirties they posh up their accents and pretend that all the things they did in their previous life never happened. These are people who I’ve known for 15 years some of whom I’ve been in Australia with talking to me as if I had only met them and didn’t know who they are. I’ve been away for a few years, not that long, but maybe I’ve missed out on a few things but it seems a lot of people have this “new money” idea of themselves that Irish people never seemed to have before, a certain latent snobbery around the place.

Thats why I don't bother meeting up with my old college friends anymore.

bunch of tossers driving around in 201 Mercedes SUVs.
    one lad had to ask all his mates did they approve of his girlfriend before marrying her - lioke is she good enough lookin lads ? roish ??

last I heard they were divorced.
    But it's all they can talk about, money and possessions .... yawn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭enricoh

lawred2 wrote: »
    Seen a few billboards for those things spring up alright..

You'd want to be some gormless dope to fall for that Americanized nonsense.

A lad I know has spent 100k plus on these mindfulness gigs according to his brother, gone to Hawaii etc to a Tony Robbins super duper one. He packed in the coke n is now at these -
    Dunno which is worse!

Anyway 2020 is going to be his year, so it'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭KaneToad

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The worst for me is the people living in the country who pretend they are huge Irish rugby fans, they are wannabe D4 heads but they live in a small town in the west.

You don't have to live in Dublin 4 to like/play rugby! Plenty of people in the West of Ireland have no time for GAA *shock*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I agree with the OP a lot of my friends have grown up in their 30s (we now 40s) and reinvented themselves which is fine.
    But the denial of their past is interesting and quite sad. Its as if they had a completly different younger years. On more than one occasion i witnessed somebody outright deny something from their past that i was tbere for. Doesnt suit their new image. Pathetic says me.

I was pretentious before it was cool..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

pgj2015 wrote: »

We don’t live in D4 and are rugby fans . My son plays rugby and has no connection with D4 ? Rugby is a sport that can be enjoyed by anyone

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We don’t live in D4 and are rugby fans . My son plays rugby and has no connection with D4 ? Rugby is a sport that can be enjoyed by anyone

It’s not really though. Private schoolers and loyalists for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

People change OP, best get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

I think it happened around 2000. OP might be too young to remember when we switched from coffee to lattes.

I remember when we switched from tea to coffee. You might be too young for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

KaneToad wrote: »
    You don't have to live in Dublin 4 to like/play rugby! Plenty of people in the West of Ireland have no time for GAA *shock*

its not that they like rugby, its the way they go on about it, they way they dress, talk etc like a poor mans D4 head, I saw one knob driving a convertible to tag rugby, the only thing was it was a micra and about 20 years old, he had his shades on and a jumper around his shoulders:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭irishgrover

iamwhoiam wrote:

I live in the arsehole of nowhere in Galway....not only is my family big rugby heads, but also my kids play protestant camogie.... clearly our spiritual home must be D4 but sure that's just a dream, as we speak like culchies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I wonder what I'm doing right (wrong?) that I'm not meeting any of these boastful snobs. I would imagine that mentality is more prevalent in the big shmoke but there is no shortage of posh culchies as well. I'd like to think the people I hang out with have enough cop on not to base their entire world view around the fact that they have a couple of extra pennies to spend at the end of the month. Though that might not be the case. Maybe they know I'm allergic to that kind of sh1tetalk and only do it in the presence of someone else. I know people who aren't short a few bob but they're not spendthrifts and they don't change their accent either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Jonybgud wrote: »
    Your yardstick shouldn't have static coordinates, ease off on the expectations and enjoy the company dear friend.

Difficult to when the conversation is a pissing contest about who paid the most for their house.

I live in the arsehole of nowhere in Galway....not only is my family big rugby heads, but also my kids play protestant camogie.... clearly our spiritual home must be D4 but sure that's just a dream, as we speak like culchies

Those are actually the worst type of West Brits, the culchies who are wannabe D4ers.

People change OP, best get used to it.

Wrong, People never change, despite the ones in here protesting too much on this thread to the contrary, “oh people change, look at me I did well for myself (a guilty conscience needs no accuser).

Btw, taking about a lagr loan to buy an overpriced house does not constitute success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

"im they days when you were hopelessly poor, i just liked you more..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Those are actually the worst type of West Brits, the culchies who are wannabe D4ers.
    Nationalism is so pathetically insecure in this country. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I’ve been away for a few years, not that long, but maybe I’ve missed out on a few things but it seems a lot of people have this “new money” idea of themselves that Irish people never seemed to have before, a certain latent snobbery around the place.

The Celtic Tiger was the worse thing to happen to Ireland IMO. So many people up their own asses since then when in reality they are nothing much at all. Everyone is still trying to pretend they are successful no matter what profession they are in. I am personally looking forward to the next recession so it will level all the BS out.

There's always some right shyte talk and navel gazing about the "boom". "Worst thing to happen to Ireland"? Yeah worse than the famine or crippling economic situation of the 80s. :rolleyes:

Having money and an improved standard of living - oh no, what a nightmare!

If it led to some eejits, so what? Ignore them. There's always this obsession here with going on about how terrible the Irish (except for themselves) have become - there's another thread full of that insecurity on the go here somewhere too. When people aren't overall that different and the traits being moaned about aren't exclusive to the Irish.

And looking forward to the next recession? Imagine being privileged enough to have that attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I see begrudgery is also still alive and well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭irishgrover

If it makes you feel any better, whenever we go to Raven hill, my daughter insists on playing the wolf tones on Spotify and we drive through Belfast.....