Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did Ireland get so pretentious?

• 28-12-2019 01:12AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭

Meeting up with friends and acquaintances over the Christmas and some of the meet ups were torturous. It seems that when people hit their mid thirties they posh up their accents and pretend that all the things they did in their previous life never happened. These are people who I’ve known for 15 years some of whom I’ve been in Australia with talking to me as if I had only met them and didn’t know who they are. I’ve been away for a few years, not that long, but maybe I’ve missed out on a few things but it seems a lot of people have this “new money” idea of themselves that Irish people never seemed to have before, a certain latent snobbery around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Things have been tigering up since 2015 or there about. Don't worry they'll all change their tune once the recesh comes along again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Damien360

You went away for a few years and were horrified the locals were no longer on donkeys looking at the big man back from his travels to shower the yokels with his talk of riches in far off places. Were you back to buy a field by any chance ? ‘Tis mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Well you know people grow up. They become parents. They get responsible jobs and positions in society. Not everyone wants to spend their life playing grabass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

3/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

They are in their mid thirties, that is what happens in life.

Perhaps people in Australia pause their normal maturity because they are still partying, taking drugs and boring you to death with their tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

2.14pm on August 29, 1997

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

You’ve been away.

They’ve moved on, finished growing up, probably have done well for themselves.

You expect them to be the same as they were when you knew them. They’re not. And you don’t really know each other so well now if you’ve been away for a few years.

Shrug it off. Live your own life rather than judging them for theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

June, lots of **** happens in june

21/25

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Meeting up with friends and acquaintances over the Christmas and some of the meet ups were torturous. It seems that when people hit their mid thirties they posh up their accents and pretend that all the things they did in their previous life never happened. These are people who I’ve known for 15 years some of whom I’ve been in Australia with talking to me as if I had only met them and didn’t know who they are. I’ve been away for a few years, not that long, but maybe I’ve missed out on a few things but it seems a lot of people have this “new money” idea of themselves that Irish people never seemed to have before, a certain latent snobbery around the place.

Youre projecting lol. Sounds like everyone experienced growth and change while you remained the same. Thats what this thread is really about, delayed development. The sooner youre realize that youre the obnoxious and off putting loser the sooner you can grow too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭con___manx1

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Youre projecting lol. Sounds like everyone experienced growth and change while you remained the same. Thats what this thread is really about, delayed development. The sooner youre realize that youre the obnoxious and off putting loser the sooner you can grow too

I disagree. I have a really good friend who is mid 30ths that has changed his accent over the last few years and has become more pretencious.
    It only happened when this friend got an uppty job so he is probly trying to fit in with the other pretencious people that work in this place.

Oh look at me I can programme stuff. I'm so much better than everyone : )

I get what the op is saying.
    I have lost respect for this friend to be honest because I really can't stand pretencious people.

I think it happened around 2000. OP might be too young to remember when we switched from coffee to lattes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

I've noticed this of late with some people myself,

The money is flowing again for some people and money is the most addictive drug of them all for alot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Sure some of the lads I know don’t wear bootcut jeans or even drink cans of harp anymore. The country’s gone, I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,075 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The OP has a point.
    I was in America during the boom and when I came back everyone was on about about investments and maximizing this and that.
    They were all away with the fairies

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

cjmc wrote: »
    The OP has a point.
    I was in America during the boom and when I came back everyone was on about about investments and maximizing this and that.
    They were all away with the fairies

Its not pretentious if they legitimately made money from it. My family sure did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Moi?
    Pretentious? :rolleyes:

People will use any subject, absolutely any, to tell you they’ve been in America or Asia within 30 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

Your yardstick shouldn't have static coordinates, ease off on the expectations and enjoy the company dear friend.

A lot of pretension apparent from the range of "conferences" with expensive tickets on sale with negligible "early bird discounts" .
    "Executive" "Professional" and "Basic" tickets on offer.
    A talk by an "International Personality".

Not to be missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

I know a guy that drinks down my local who doesn't have a job. When did Ireland get so full of lazy dropouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭blade1

joe_99 wrote: »
    I know a guy that drinks down my local who doesn't have a job. When did Ireland get so full of lazy dropouts.

Ask the guy you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Its not pretentious if they legitimately made money from it. My family sure did.

It's pretentious when they spout on and on about it though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ireland. Yesterday.

John%20Hinde%20pic.jpg

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,698 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

A lot of pretension apparent from the range of "conferences" with expensive tickets on sale with negligible "early bird discounts" .

Not to be missed.

Seen a few billboards for those things spring up alright..

You'd want to be some gormless dope to fall for that Americanized nonsense.

Mine are home at the moment, people change grpw up get married( the horror ) have children and tedious conversations about how they got drunk on the beach or down a field aged 15 or mad things they did in a hostal in Australia are boring and an indication that the person has not moved on. Its not pretensions to grow up its life. I can see why they don't want to meet up with some of the people they knew when they were young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Well you know people grow up. They become parents. They get responsible jobs and positions in society. Not everyone wants to spend their life playing grabass.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    Mine are home at the moment, people change grpw up get married( the horror ) have children and tedious conversations about how they got drunk on the beach or down a field aged 15 or mad things they did in a hostal in Australia are boring and an indication that the person has not moved on. Its not pretensions to grow up its life.
    Why should this cause people to "posh up their accents and pretend that all the things they did in their previous life never happened"?

Not to be missed.
    "Oh I just love the insights they discussed" - insights like "value your customers" and "engage with your customers".
    One guy = "full"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

A lot of credit fuelled pretentiousness. Something happened during the Celtic tiger that has changed the Irish psyche. A lot of people would walk over each other at the smell of a banknote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Nothing worse than someone going away for a couple of years and coming back thinking they know better than everyone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Raconteuse wrote: »

One guy = "full"?

The OP was out with a couple of people over Christmas and Ireland is now pretentious based on that minuscule sample size. Just thought I'd follow that logic further see where I ended up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Sounds like you’re stuck in 2010 OP when you ****ed off to make a few pound down under while your buddies were stuck here on the dole

Now they have jobs money and families and sounds like they have matured into well formed adults

Sorry for your loss, youll have to find new mates to head to Knights with and down your tins of tennents

Why don’t you **** off back to Australia if everything is so perfect there

The OP was out with a couple of people over Christmas and Ireland is now pretentious based on that minuscule sample size. Just thought I'd follow that logic further see where I ended up.
    Apologies - duh to me. :o:D

Sounds like you’re stuck in 2010 OP when you ****ed off to make a few pound down under while your buddies were stuck here on the dole

Now they have jobs money and families and sounds like they have matured into well formed adults

Sorry for your loss, youll have to find new mates to head to Knights with and down your tins of tennents

Why don’t you **** off back to Australia if everything is so perfect there
    Jaysus why do people keep saying this. When has becoming a responsible adult meant putting on a vapid posh accent or pretending your younger years didn't happen?

My friends and I are similar - fewer nights out, responsibilities, early bed/early rise, healthier lifestyles etc, but nobody is putting on an accent or pretending we didn't party/do stupid sh1t.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    A lot of credit fuelled pretentiousness. Something happened during the Celtic tiger that has changed the Irish psyche. A lot of people would walk over each other at the smell of a banknote.

Exactly this. That era irreparably destroyed the majority of people in this country where the only joy is being better than the neighbours in some material way.

We went from a warm people to a vile one and have never recovered.

I disagree. I have a really good friend who is mid 30ths that has changed his accent over the last few years and has become more pretencious.
    It only happened when this friend got an uppty job so he is probly trying to fit in with the other pretencious people that work in this place.

Oh look at me I can programme stuff. I'm so much better than everyone : )

I get what the op is saying.
    I have lost respect for this friend to be honest because I really can't stand pretencious people.

A pretentious, uppity job. I was expecting you to say wine dealer not programming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,884 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I'm stunned and trolled at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭HamSarris

It’s not an Irish thing, it’s what happens at the end of an economic cycle. People who used to live paycheque to paycheque start getting loads of overtime/bonuses or get sucked into the bubble of the day (i.e., IT). They go from seeing themselves as working class to upper middle class and start worrying about buying a second house or if their children need private school. Then a recession hits, the system resets and politically there’s a shift from right to left (as people worry more about getting through the week than capital gains tax).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

we were better craic when we had fuck-all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The worst for me is the people living in the country who pretend they are huge Irish rugby fans, they are wannabe D4 heads but they live in a small town in the west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

Thats why I don't bother meeting up with my old college friends anymore.

bunch of tossers driving around in 201 Mercedes SUVs.
    one lad had to ask all his mates did they approve of his girlfriend before marrying her - lioke is she good enough lookin lads ? roish ??

last I heard they were divorced.
    But it's all they can talk about, money and possessions .... yawn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭enricoh

lawred2 wrote: »
    Seen a few billboards for those things spring up alright..

You'd want to be some gormless dope to fall for that Americanized nonsense.

A lad I know has spent 100k plus on these mindfulness gigs according to his brother, gone to Hawaii etc to a Tony Robbins super duper one. He packed in the coke n is now at these -
    Dunno which is worse!

Anyway 2020 is going to be his year, so it'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭KaneToad

pgj2015 wrote: »
    The worst for me is the people living in the country who pretend they are huge Irish rugby fans, they are wannabe D4 heads but they live in a small town in the west.

You don't have to live in Dublin 4 to like/play rugby! Plenty of people in the West of Ireland have no time for GAA *shock*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I agree with the OP a lot of my friends have grown up in their 30s (we now 40s) and reinvented themselves which is fine.
    But the denial of their past is interesting and quite sad. Its as if they had a completly different younger years. On more than one occasion i witnessed somebody outright deny something from their past that i was tbere for. Doesnt suit their new image. Pathetic says me.

I was pretentious before it was cool..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,229 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

pgj2015 wrote: »

We don’t live in D4 and are rugby fans . My son plays rugby and has no connection with D4 ? Rugby is a sport that can be enjoyed by anyone

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We don’t live in D4 and are rugby fans . My son plays rugby and has no connection with D4 ? Rugby is a sport that can be enjoyed by anyone

It’s not really though. Private schoolers and loyalists for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

People change OP, best get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭LeBash

I think it happened around 2000. OP might be too young to remember when we switched from coffee to lattes.

I remember when we switched from tea to coffee. You might be too young for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

KaneToad wrote: »
    You don't have to live in Dublin 4 to like/play rugby! Plenty of people in the West of Ireland have no time for GAA *shock*

its not that they like rugby, its the way they go on about it, they way they dress, talk etc like a poor mans D4 head, I saw one knob driving a convertible to tag rugby, the only thing was it was a micra and about 20 years old, he had his shades on and a jumper around his shoulders:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

iamwhoiam wrote:

I live in the arsehole of nowhere in Galway....not only is my family big rugby heads, but also my kids play protestant camogie.... clearly our spiritual home must be D4 but sure that's just a dream, as we speak like culchies