Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen's day sales at 6am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

MadYaker wrote: »
    So you have absolutely no sympathy for all the retail workers whose employers are forcing them to come in at 6am on St. Stephens day? Do you think that's totally ok?

It's as 'OK' as talking about them as an inert mass simply used to buttress your arguments. How do you know a lot of them don't want overtime?

Not at all. I wouldn’t even go shopping today, I like to relax. But it’s none of my business if someone else does want to go shopping as it won’t stop me relaxing at all.

It’s not your business yet. But most of us work for companies that provide a service.

In order for shops to open, they need staff, management, cleaners, security, computer and phone systems up and running, elevators and escalators up and running. The car park needs to be operational with barriers and ticket machines working. All the shoppers and workers need transport. Transport services are then required. Those services then need engineers to ensure lines are up and running and again ticket machines etc. A large number of back office staff and management will be needed to support all of these services.

It’s a domino affect. And it all starts with peoples demands for services.

Many, many people enjoy Christmas and want to relax like yourself. And they can’t, because some people demand services.

Surely a break is not the worst thing in the world for society. Let people have at least 2 days with just essential services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It's as 'OK' as talking about them as an inert mass simply used to buttress your arguments. How do you kmow a lot of them don't want overtime?

Because I worked in retail for 4 years. I never got overtime for stephens day. Or maybe I got time and a third on my ten fúcking euro an hour. Yay 360 euro that week instead of 340. Nobody was happy to be working on stephens day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,344 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

chances are a lot of the staff on today are part time and it's a few extra bob to help them through college, if that isn't the case and they don't want to work today then maybe it's time to look for another line of work.

I certainly wouldn't stay in a minimum wage job I hated because of the work shedule.

None. I’ve worked christmases myself, no choice in the matter. I didn’t want to do it so I got myself a better job. That’s life.

So you when you were working in retail at christmas would have been happy if you're employer told you he was staying closed st stephens day?

Because I worked in retail for 4 years. I never got overtime for stephens day. Or maybe I got time and a third on my ten fúcking euro an hour. Yay 360 euro that week instead of 340. Nobody was happy to be working on stephens day.

I've worked retail too and sucked it down. Working over Christmas never particularly bothered me. Needed the money. Now I don't have to work retail. I suggest you try and move past it.

So you when you were working in retail at christmas would have been happy if you're employer told you he was staying closed st stephens day?

I wasn’t in retail and I worked because I had to work. I just made sure I did my best not to work it the next time round. It’s called personal responsibility rather than expecting your employer or society to suit you.

I'm glad people like ye with zero compassion for fellow humans are in the minority.

Yeah, having to opt to work over Christmas to earn more money when I was in my early 20s was right up there with the concentration camps alright.

People feeling self entitled for other people is new levels even for 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Because

1) you’re forcing people to work. I’m sure the vast majority would rather be home with their families. It’s impacts people’s Christmas Day as they’re up at stupid o clock next day

2) it’s going to become the societal norm that Christmas is a single day on 25th then back to normal on 26th

3) this is even more ironic given that shops shove the “festive season” down our throats. They have shops full to the brim of Christmas stuff long before Halloween, yet when it comes down to it, it’s treated like a single day

4) Senior management and the likes are guaranteed not to be there working the frontline on 26th

5) With all the phones/tablets as presents over Christmas people can shop online to their hearts content.

It’s literally the consumerist ruination of Christmas. Is it really too much to ask for 2 days off at the end of a year, so we can recharge and reconnect?

It angers me because I’ll be telling my kids how January sales used to be in January and how we actually took time off over Christmas and enjoyed being with family/friends. Tradition is literally being killed off here for €€€

Great post and every bit true

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I was in first thing this morning. Its a great atmosphere and good craic. Everyone in good spirits. I gave the wife a grand to buy whatever she wants and the kids were allowed to pick up any toy they wanted.

They're shipped off home and I've been in the boozer since lunch betting and drinking pints.

A great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

First paragraph there sounds more like Christmas shopping than Christmas sales.

I find it’s the people that go OTT buying stuff for Christmas starting sometime in August are the ones who seem offended when people go to the sales after Christmas.

Not at all,the first paragraph has nothing to do with people starting Christmas shopping early. We got our gifts early enough through the last few months and no panic buying in the last week.
    Getting out of a warm bed while it's black dark and wet outside to go searching for a bargain on a day that most people want to spend relaxing is just dumb. How much stuff that is bought do people need. The husband of said neighbours told me before that there was bags and boxes of clothes with tags still attached from previous sales that will never be worn, that's just a waste.
    I heard on the news earlier that it was a stampede in the sales this morning from people queuing since 6am for doors opening at 8.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

I was in first thing this morning. Its a great atmosphere and good craic. Everyone in good spirits. I gave the wife a grand to buy whatever she wants and the kids were allowed to pick up any toy they wanted.

They're shipped off home and I've been in the boozer since lunch betting and drinking pints.

A great day.

The dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,030 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I know it's each to their own but a leaving cert aged kid wanting to spend €1500 in the BT sale including for a jumper that retails at a grand just seems nuts - boom well and truly back.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/consumer/people-were-queuing-from-3am-rampant-consumerism-resumes-after-christmas-break-1.4124636?mode=amp

Pack of morons, lot of them.

Great values she is teaching a leaving cert kid.

A great day.
    We had a great lie in this morning, a leisurely breakfast and are now getting ready to visit the SIL next door to have a turkey curry and a few drinks.

Chilling out completely. :):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

A great day.

Be sure to tell is of your pipe laying exploits later.

We had a great lie in this morning, a leisurely breakfast and are now getting ready to visit the SIL next door to have a turkey curry and a few drinks.

Chilling out completely. :):cool:

And nobody telling you that you shouldn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dave0301

A great day.

Username checks out.

Here we have folks, a true family Christmas.

And nobody telling you that you shouldn’t.
    Nobody expecting me to work either, which is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

A great day.

Kids buying toys the day after Christmas ? I'm trying to figure out if I find that mad or sad..

If they got cash for Xmas, then it's their chance to get the toy they really wanted, rather than something that they won't play with. There is no reason why they couldn't have waited until the holiday period was over first though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 114 ✭✭Joker2019

chances are a lot of the staff on today are part time and it's a few extra bob to help them through college, if that isn't the case and they don't want to work today then maybe it's time to look for another line of work.

I certainly wouldn't stay in a minimum wage job I hated because of the work shedule.

I am in college and work part time in retail. I am pleased my employer is remaining shut today remember many including myself were flat out working 6 or 7 days in a row the past week building up to Christmas as college finished for most earlier in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

If they got cash for Xmas, then it's their chance to get the toy they really wanted, rather than something that they won't play with. There is no reason why they couldn't have waited until the holiday period was over first though.

But in my experience they usually get the toy they really wanted for Christmas !! That's why they write Santa letters and tell everyone that will listen what they're getting. Generally speaking they also get a shed load more as well on top of that.

See the Stephens Day Sales fans have already won the debate with their First Year secondary school Irish essay philosophy.

Go íontacht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Instead of shopping today I planted 15 trees for my hedgerow and killed a sick chicken :)

markc1184 wrote: »
    Feel sorry for the staff in Next Drogheda having to do those hours knowing their jobs are gone a couple of days later.

I just feel sorry for anyone in Drogheda

I know of someone who tried to go to the Next sale about 10 years ago when we had a bad winter. Went off the road due to poor road conditions and had to be rescued.

Did you say "better luck next time"😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

I just don't get the appeal of the sales tbh. After all the hassle of trudging around the shops buying things we don't really need or want and getting stressed out with hordes of other people who are annoyed to be out doing the same thing, we were happy to sleep in this morning and have a lazy late breakfast and slob about in our pajamas until lunchtime. We're going to my parents for drinks tonight and I could really do without it but it's an obligation I can't really get out of. I saw an interview with the head guy at Harrods this morning, he was asked about Black Friday and Cyber Monday and replied that Harrods don't do that as 'the majority of their customers are members of the 1%, the wealthiest people in the world who are looking for luxury'', must be nice to be in that class. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,805 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I was in first thing this morning. Its a great atmosphere and good craic. Everyone in good spirits. I gave the wife a grand to buy whatever she wants and the kids were allowed to pick up any it was toy they wanted.

A great day.

Hope those toys was because Santa forgot to come or it was their Birthday, otherwise it’s just crazy.

EVENFLOW