Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen's day sales at 6am

• 24-12-2019 9:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Who the fcuk is up for a sale at 6am the day after Christmas.

I really pity the workers who has weeks of Christmas shyte, one day off and back in for the sales. It's all about money and it's sad and depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Who is open going to be open at 6 am?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It's not just 6am. Some of them queue from 4am for the Next sale in Blanch.
    Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

spurious wrote: »
    Madness.

Absolutely nuts....

Suppose when you don't work it's easy enough done....

Can't understand why we can't have an actual rest day like many euro countries...

Everything on a Sunday is shut....

25th and 26th should be closed shop....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Madness.

I hope it rains on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Online sales on now.
    Relatives are shopping away all around me. It’s not very festive.

FFS, but can people not just take a break for a couple of days, and give everyone working in retail and the service industry a break too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The religion of consumerism requires constant worship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Which means the workers have to be in 2 or 3 in the morning. Disgraceful.

Love Aldi and Lidl for actually closing for 2 whole days and giving their workers a little bit of time off.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think those who participate in this are bored, or need to escape.

I hate the opening of the sales on 26th. Far too fkn early really. We are just recovering from one consumer fest FGS.

Anyway, I don't participate, couldn't think of anything worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

boombang wrote: »
    Who is open going to be open at 6 am?

I thought this had to be a wind up, but I see Next in Cork will be open at 6am. I'm all for allowing people to do as they wish within limits, but I can't imagine many retail staff doing this voluntarily.

https://mahonpointsc.ie/shop-the-sales-on-st-stephens-day/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Worst still all this crap on sale is stuff they couldn't sell the rest of the year but people see 50% off and think it's a bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

I wish I could muster up some fake outrage and be a complete thanks whore. I can’t though. Who gives a fcuk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I'll be in a food and red wine coma at that time.

Used to work in a restaurant next to a shopping centre. Stephens day was fcukin mental every year with sad bastards out shopping with angry children in tow who just wanted to be home playing with their new toys. Do these people not have a load of leftover turkey stuffing sambos to get through?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

boombang wrote: »
    I thought this had to be a wind up, but I see Next in Cork will be open at 6am. I'm all for allowing people to do as they wish within limits, but I can't imagine many retail staff doing this voluntarily.

https://mahonpointsc.ie/shop-the-sales-on-st-stephens-day/

The Next sale is always full of absolute ****e as well or maybe that’s just because I get there a few days late. I do know a few people who used to go when their kids were smaller. I’ll probably be up at 6am with my two year old but still wouldn’t contemplate it. Not fair on the staff. They could do the same thing on the 27th or 28th and also get people in.

I remember the good old days when the January sales actually started in January!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

fritzelly wrote: »
    Worst still all this crap on sale is stuff they couldn't sell the rest of the year but people see 50% off and think it's a bargain

Don’t Next have a website? W in T holy F like.

A bargain is something you NEED but cannot afford, but can stretch to it in the sales.

Fair enough. But there is a high price to be paid in relation to stress, parking, etc.

Online is the way to go I suppose, but that is pandering to the Want not Need cohort too.

I am sorry, I just don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

shops that do this will continue to do it while muppets will get up at stupid hour to purchase crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

Life is too short to waste on ****e like that.

Go sick, get a different job, or put up with it. The world turns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭X111111111111

You'd want to be some sad piece of s h it to be asking your employees to be coming in at that hour on Stephens day. I mean you'd understand if it was a Gardai or HSE workers etc... but to sell cheap tat ffs. Shower of miserable twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Feel sorry for the staff in Next Drogheda having to do those hours knowing their jobs are gone a couple of days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭gipi

markc1184 wrote: »
    Feel sorry for the staff in Next Drogheda having to do those hours knowing their jobs are gone a couple of days later.

Is it closing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

gipi wrote: »
    Is it closing?

Yeah the 28th or 29th I think

gipi wrote: »
    Is it closing?

They’d be nuts to go anywhere near it if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

markc1184 wrote: »

Wouldn't bother me hoole going in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

We should be more like the Europeans and keep ships closed in the 25th and 26th. Really scummy to ask people to come in from families and their homes so some sad sap can get 33% off something they dont need.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

The guards were called to the sale in the local Next a few years ago. Absolute mayhem at 5 in the morning because people were skipping the queue and a brawl started.

Next gear is absolute trash anyway, I can’t believe people buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

We should be more like the Europeans and keep ships closed in the 25th and 26th. Really scummy to ask people to come in from families and their homes so some sad sap can get 33% off something they dont need.

The plebs in this country rise to the bait every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Madness.

Those folks need to have a chat with themselves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Tom1991

fritzelly wrote: »

This is the fact 99% forget.
    I wasn’t going to buy that jacket because I didn’t like it all that much and it was 70 brick.Now it’s 30 brick I have saved 40 Euro I’m a genius. Forgetting there 30 Euro worse off and the company is still making a healthy profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Madness.

Losers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

I genuinely think I’m my lifetime Christmas will be 25th off and back to it next day

People who have to work at 6am don’t just have Stephens day ruined, they have Christmas ruined too as they need to be in bed by 10pm and can’t have a decent drink. Some folks have parents down the country etc and have to make their own arrangements to get into work as public transport is severely limited

Companies have 0 qualms about ramming home a “festive season” yet when it comes down to it, it’s 1 day off and your back in

Guaranteed the CEO is at home on his 27th mince pie with his family

Despicable. In a world of online sales there is absolutely no need for it and anyone supporting this charade needs to take a hard look in the mirror because they are part of the problem. No customers, the store wouldn’t open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Motivator wrote: »
    The guards were called to the sale in the local Next a few years ago. Absolute mayhem at 5 in the morning because people were skipping the queue and a brawl started.

Next gear is absolute trash anyway, I can’t believe people buy it.

That's a bit much, is it like some things are limited to 90% off for as the stock lasts or something, as surely that would be a reason to go if you were into your shopping?

Can't see the sales being much different as 9am as opposed to 6am other than stock levels possibly?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Madness.

Honestly anyone who queues at 4am for the balls Next sells need their head examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

in my experience its the people with good jobs and lots of money who are up at 3am for this sale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 114 ✭✭Joker2019

Notice it always seems to be English chains into this ****e

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

pgj2015 wrote: »
    in my experience its the people with good jobs and lots of money who are up at 3am for this sale.

Not a chance. Most of the people I know who are at the next sales are jobless but yet have money to go constantly shopping.

Loughc wrote: »
    Honestly anyone who queues at 4am for the balls Next sells need their head examined.

Bored, need a bit of diversion from the Christmas prison with the relatives I reckon! Any port in a storm :p

You'd have to be really desperate to spend to be at the shops at 6am on any given day, never mind the day after Christmas. The stuff on sale is probably the stuff they couldn't shift on the run up, reduced to get rid and make room. I really pity people in retail at this time of year, not paid nearly enough for the stress.

The one and only exception I'd make is if someone was struggling to afford furnishing their house, for example, and there was something particular they wanted that became within their reach at the sale price, that was likely to sell out quickly. I understand going in for a one off for something you otherwise wouldn't be able to afford. Going to the sales as a form of recreation is a big no from me, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Bored, need a bit of diversion from the Christmas prison with the relatives I reckon! Any port in a storm :p

At 6 frigging am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Who the fcuk is up for a sale at 6am the day after Christmas.

I really pity the workers who has weeks of Christmas shyte, one day off and back in for the sales. It's all about money and it's sad and depressing.

Double time for the workers.
    Alot of workers at this time are students/ casual workers who lap up overtime and double pay. I don't see any issue with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't get the fuss over next clothing. I've only ever bought a few bits from there and it's overpriced and fairly average quality.

They could just stay in bed.... it is 4am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Absolutely nuts....

Suppose when you don't work it's easy enough done....

Can't understand why we can't have an actual rest day like many euro countries...

Everything on a Sunday is shut....

25th and 26th should be closed shop....

I know, we have 9 public holidays in the year, shops should be closed on public holidays and more restricted hours on Sunday, nothing to do with religion, give people a chance to spend quality time with the people that are important to them not hanging out in the likes of Dundrum, Blanchardstown or Mahon Point shopping centres indulging in retail therapy. There have been sales on in many of the shops in Cork since Black Friday, so what fantastic offers could the likes of Next have to warrant getting up in the middle of the night to be at the doors before 5am ????? Even earlier for those who have to work. People here are sleepwalking into an American style one day Christmas break and have only themselves to blame, if people weren't gullible enough to be out early on St Stephen's morning, the shops wouldn't be bothered opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,217 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Anyway, I don't participate, couldn't think of anything worse!

Me either, I decided to treat myself to a ps4 in the sales one year there was a nice chunk knocked off in Argos... went in good and early and thank fûck for Argos is all I can say, got it and taxi straight outta there...it was like muppet armageddon In town... twats not holding doors open, skipping Qs in shops and for my taxi home, general wankerness.

They could just stay in bed.... it is 4am.

Aah but staying in a house that is not your own can sometimes require an escape hatch :cool:

If anyone has any other reason for this kind of insanity..... I am all ears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

Not a chance. Most of the people I know who are at the next sales are jobless but yet have money to go constantly shopping.

The bigger the lie the more they believe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

I've seen "January" Sale advertisements already on the telly this evening. I saw one for Harvey Norman at about 7pm... probably about the time the shop closed its doors tonight. I feel sorry for the staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

Some of the staff are delighted with the overtime.
    Some people just like shopping and think they are getting a bargain.
    I won't be there so doesn't bother me. Let them at it

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

God be with the days when the January sales were after New Years Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Well if you ask me it's just the ****ing shops selling all the XS and 4XL ****e that fits precisely nobody. And the 5 year old tablets that won't work. My advice: stay home and get drunk.