Vodafone Black Friday Sale

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 6,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

leo2a6 wrote: »
    any difference between a vodofone a40 and a three a40 with a vodafone sim in sim 2 ?

Shouldn't be, apart from any difference in the pre-installed software and the operator's logo that appears on the screen at startup/shutdown.

A40 from Three is working perfectly for me anyway, using the Vodafone SIM for mobile data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leo2a6

Quackster wrote: »
    Shouldn't be, apart from any difference in the pre-installed software and the operator's logo that appears on the screen at startup/shutdown.

A40 from Three is working perfectly for me anyway, using the Vodafone SIM for mobile data.

would you reckon it would work abroad if three card in sim 1 and foreign card in sim 2?

TIA

any difference between a vodofone a40 and a three a40 with a vodafone sim in sim 2 ?

On H P30 lite both SIM are locked. We could not use SIM in another slot. I will recheck later today and confirm

would you reckon it would work abroad if three card in sim 1 and foreign card in sim 2?

TIA

Yeah, that would be no problem.

dubliniift wrote: »
    On H P30 lite both SIM are locked. We could not use SIM in another slot. I will recheck later today and confirm

Is that purchased from Three? Huawei P30 Lites from Vodafone only recognise one SIM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Quackster wrote: »
    Yeah, that would be no problem.

Unlock codes are only a tenner on eBay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

The a20e is still there for 50

You have to scroll down to get it

Wilfuler. wrote: »

Do you have a link to for this offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leo2a6

where ?

Sir Dosser wrote: »
    Unlock codes are only a tenner on eBay.

Yeah, sure, but no point when I don't need to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

where ?

Gone back to 99

The Nokia 4.2 is there for 40 if u click on it and select move to vf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Can anyone with the Huawei P30 lite recommend a cover for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,019 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

ITT-Pat wrote: »
    Can anyone with the Huawei P30 lite recommend a cover for it?

I've been using p30 lite for 6 months and got wifey one a month ago on this offer, both have these otterbox cases, great yokes and around €20

https://www.amazon.co.uk/OtterBox-Symmetry-Confidence-Huawei-77-62001-Stardust/dp/B07PB5RBMB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭caycro

Where is it still 50?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Marhay70

Before this thread is banished to history maybe some more knowledgeable could help me.
    I have never before bought a phone online and with my current phone on its last legs, I was interested in the Samsung A40 offer from Three @€; 89.99 which was mentioned here. I went to the Three store and was told the price was €189.99 and that the offer was online only.
    On the Three site and the phone was indeed available at €89.99 on Three Pay so I filled out the form to purchase it.
    This is when I began to have doubts, as the site would not allow the sale to continue until I picked a plan on Three Pay, which I did, having seen many on here buy phones and then buy an unlock code. What worries me is; Have I automatically signed up to a monthly plan and will my card be charged with that amount every month? This, in itself, wouldn't have been too bad , until I realised the only free calls were to other Three mobiles, so not such a good deal.
    I realise I can just refuse delivery or return the phone under distance selling rules but I do really need a new phone. Any ideas?

Marhay70 wrote: »
    Before this thread is banished to history maybe some more knowledgeable could help me.
    I have never before bought a phone online and with my current phone on its last legs, I was interested in the Samsung A40 offer from Three @€; 89.99 which was mentioned here. I went to the Three store and was told the price was €189.99 and that the offer was online only.
    On the Three site and the phone was indeed available at €89.99 on Three Pay so I filled out the form to purchase it.
    This is when I began to have doubts, as the site would not allow the sale to continue until I picked a plan on Three Pay, which I did, having seen many on here buy phones and then buy an unlock code. What worries me is; Have I automatically signed up to a monthly plan and will my card be charged with that amount every month? This, in itself, wouldn't have been too bad , until I realised the only free calls were to other Three mobiles, so not such a good deal.
    I realise I can just refuse delivery or return the phone under distance selling rules but I do really need a new phone. Any ideas?

You don't have to pay for credit when you buy the phone. I bought the exact phone on Three last week for 89.99 and only paid 89.99.

And you you just have just bought once off credit and have not signed a contract do not fear. :)

Edit: To explain further, you can still proceed to order the phone without buying any of these top up vouchers. Just don't select any of them. :)

You don't have to pay for credit when you buy the phone. I bought the exact phone on Three last week for 89.99 and only paid 89.99.

And you you just have just bought once off credit and have not signed a contract do not fear. :)

Edit: To explain further, you can still proceed to order the phone without buying any of these top up vouchers. Just don't select any of them. :)

Yes but you see that's what I did, I bought the €20 one because the site wouldn't allow me to go any further until I did. Strange thing was, the final cost was still €89.99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭gerard2210

Yes but you see that's what I did, I bought the €20 one because the site wouldn't allow me to go any further until I did. Strange thing was, the final cost was still €89.99.
    I just looked at the site there, the first option under "pick your plan" allows you continue without buying a plan. These plans are prepay and can be cancelled anytime.

gerard2210 wrote: »
    I just looked at the site there, the first option under "pick your plan" allows you continue without buying a plan. These plans are prepay and can be cancelled anytime.

Didn't see that option. I wonder why I wasn't charged for it. How do you cancel them if it comes to that, just not activate the SIM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭gerard2210

Didn't see that option. I wonder why I wasn't charged for it. How do you cancel them if it comes to that, just not activate the SIM?

Maybe you did choose the free option when you weren't charged the extra 20 for topping up.
    When I was checking earlier I chose the 20 per month option and was charged €109 at checkout.
    If you are charged the 20 at a later date just call 3 to cancel.

Thanks for that lads, I was just worried I had signed up to a recurring charge.
    The final charge was €89.99 but I had had trouble actually getting the site to accept my details. Turned out the sim Iwas planning the port with wasn't seated properly in the phone. Eventually got about six verification codes:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭bliger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭piplip87

bliger wrote: »

Order a few free Meteor sim cards and top up by a 5er. Buy 3 of these 120 quid. Bring two of them to CEX sell for 108 (125 if you get them unlocked).

Your left with a serious phone and 216 in your pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

piplip87 wrote: »
    Order a few free Meteor sim cards and top up by a 5er. Buy 3 of these 120 quid. Bring two of them to CEX sell for 108 (125 if you get them unlocked).

Your left with a serious phone and 216 in your pocket.

I guess you meant Eir?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

bliger wrote: »
    Anyone know will this be locked to VF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 BatMaths

Most likely, as I bought a dual sim Samsung a10 last year and came locked. They wouldn't unlock it even though I bought it prepay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭bliger

it is locked, but its usually about tenner to get it unlocked (from ebay)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Pity the Vodafone online ordering system is complete rubbish. It seems to be a lottery whether it manages to process an order. Often it will be take the money and then be unable to find the order after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Just ordered one using a spare 48 SIM went through grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

DopeTech wrote: »
    Pity the Vodafone online ordering system is complete rubbish. It seems to be a lottery whether it manages to process an order. Often it will be take the money and then be unable to find the order after.

It's a joke, happened to me when I tried to buy the Pixel and now it won't process anything for me.