Finished drinking vodka at 5am. Can I drive now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

As an aside, here’s a story which is particularly harsh. Pal of mine got done on a stag...about two hours after getting there. Got there about three pm on a Saturday and he parked in a pay and display area. He had three pints and was told by one of them lads that it was pay and display and should move it. He tried to move it about 50 feet around a corner to non pay and display, what he didn’t realise was that it was a one way street and he entered it, squad car going by at the time. Stopped, questioned, bang of beer, breathalysed, game over. Got the full ban, judge didn’t want to know about it. Had a serious impact on his life and job.

Dope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Dope

No, just three pints of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Waste of resources??? Are you for real??? So it’s better to have people guess if they are still intoxicated rather than go to a garda station and get properly checked over?

It takes a few minutes for a test, road side tests are done in about a minute with a portable brethalizer, while clearing up a RTC takes hours and WAY more resources.

Think this through again.

So if the person is over the limit, now that the guards are aware of this do they now have a duty to ensure they dont go ahead and drive anyway? Maybe they should be detained until they are safe? Or a person isnt over the limit so drives. In the meantime more alcohol has been absorbed into their bloodstream. They have an accident and test over the limit..are the guards responsible? Or the stations are inundated with people just popping in to check their alcohol level, maybe more than once. I just can't see it working.

If you think you might be over the limit, it's best not to drive. Or if you know you have to drive, stick to one drink or none at all. Its not that hard to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

bubblypop wrote: »
    Maybe, in your case, learning to have fun without alcohol maybe an even better solution.

Exactly! Why drink when you can have cannabis! :pac:
    I'd genuinely hope this isn't the case. Any garda doing this is endangering other road users. I'd class them as incompetent, not sound.

There's no excuse for drinking and driving. Do one or the other.

If someone fails the roadside breath test, they can brought back to the station. Once in the station, a 20 minute period of nil by mouth starts (ie: can't eat/drink anything). This is a requirement for everyone. Once that's up, it's onto the breathalyzer to give the full accurate reading, or a doctor to take blood/urine. Depending on how far away from the testing station, it could be an hour after the roadside test. In cities the full test is usually within 30 minutes of failing the roadside.
    Waste of resources??? Are you for real??? So it’s better to have people guess if they are still intoxicated rather than go to a garda station and get properly checked over?

It takes a few minutes for a test, road side tests are done in about a minute with a portable brethalizer, while clearing up a RTC takes hours and WAY more resources.

Think this through again.

There is no legal requirement or any expectation on the Gardai to allow people to walk in off the street and get breath tested. Yes, the roadside test is quick, but only an indication. But when I was a Garda, if someone came in off the street asking to be tested they would be refused. Too busy for that. And no, it wouldn't have been my fault if they went off and drove and something happened. I didn't tell them to drive, that is still their decision, but would always say to not drive until you're positive you're ok and gave the rough timelines for drinks, again advising it's dependent on the person.

Might be a good little revenue earner though, make it an option and charge €10 a pop. Might as well make money if wasting resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I'd genuinely hope this isn't the case. Any garda doing this is endangering other road users. I'd class them as incompetent, not sound.

There's no excuse for drinking and driving. Do one or the other.

Good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

There should be an uber thing where you can hire someone to drive your car with you in to where you need to be.
    This was a thing about 10 or 15 years ago, briefly - I think it was called Abhaile? I think insurance matters did for them in the end.

You'd like to think if they can ever sort out the legalities around e-scooters for once and for all, there must be some way of getting it going agan.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you can pass the test you are good to drive.

If you can't then not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Should be grand now op. Drive on.

Good lad.

What sort of attitude is that to have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

This happened only last month, man in late 60s, lives in a cul de sac (800m), drives up the road, parks car at the top and walks across the main road and into pub.

Got pints then walks back to car and heads back down cul de sac. Guards bagged him, was over and brought to station. Cop in station knew him, said dont test him for a while and when they did he was under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

This happened only last month, man in late 60s, lives in a cul de sac (800m), drives up the road, parks car at the top and walks across the main road and into pub.

Got pints then walks back to car and heads back down cul de sac. Guards bagged him, was over and brought to station. Cop in station knew him, said dont test him for a while and when they did he was under.

Sadly that's quite common.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

For all the posters giving out about people being on moral high horses, I have a question.

Do you condone driving while over the legal alcohol limit?
    Yes?
    No?

No. I've delayed driving until the late afternoon after two nights out recently. I don't want to be a danger to others nor lose my licence. In answer to a previous poster I've never driven in the morning while recovering from a big night.

No. But we simply dont know if the OP was over the limit.

I'll say it again. The majority of us have drove the day after a heavy session not knowing if we are in a fit condition. Thats where the big mac comes in.

Big Mac doesn't work. Rehydration doesn't work. Sleep doesn't work. It all helps to make you feel better but only the liver can process the alcohol and thus time is the only solution.

Think of the above when the guards pull you over.

I believe the limit is too low. There should be a limit over which I would oh condone driving over but our limit is stupidly low.

You would have to laugh at people claiming they never drive the morning after a heavy night, it’s totally impractical for most people not to drive the next day be it going to work, going to get food, going home after a night out away etc etc,

Why so? I don't. Never have. Nor my pals.

There are always other solutions - public transport, taxi, getting a pal or partner to drive you, taking the day or morning off work, not drinking on workdays, ordering food delivery, etc.

It ain't hard to avoid risking your licence or harming another human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Why so? I don't. Never have. Nor my pals or their mammies and daddies or my aunts and uncles or all my cousins lol .

How would you know what any of your friends or anybody else does in the morning after they have a few drinks. Are you sitting outside their houses the morning after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

It’s absolute fact, you appear to live a fairly sheltered life if you think this sort of stuff doesn’t happen particularly in rural areas.

You honestly seem to think that nobody else here is from a rural area. This on a message-board for a country where a third of the population lives rurally. Drink-driving happens rurally but you’re the one who is deluded if you think that drink-driving is widely accepted in rural areas. It’s taboo everywhere now and rightfully.

No. I've delayed driving until the late afternoon after two nights out recently. I don't want to be a danger to others nor lose my licence. In answer to a previous poster I've never driven in the morning while recovering from a big night.

Have you ever driven whilst excessively tired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Obviously drink-driving is bad, but at the same time if you're in a car accident when sober, it's probably going to hurt a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Hope you seen sense and didn't drive, at max you probably only got 5 hours sleep,this combined with the alcohol intake makes it well ropey to drive. No doubts your over the limit

CFlat wrote: »
    How would you know what any of your friends or anybody else does in the morning after they have a few drinks. Are you sitting outside their houses the morning after.

Firstly, I trust in what they say.

Secondly, they're not fu*kwits. Risking their licences or harming others ain't their thing.

No. There are always other options.

Did you ever even once use your phone whilst driving?

Nope. I leave it in my bag in the boot to avoid temptation.

I only started driving in my thirties so am not a natural driver compared to pals who started in their teens. I'm a decent but not a great motorist. Therefore I don't take chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

I did it once and fell asleep at the wheel on the M50 between J6 @ J7 was 4 am, blessed nothing happened pulled over at J9 & had a kip. Very frightening would never do it again.

I've been bagged twice on the way to work in rural areas. I had been drinking the night before both times.
    However, I knew I'd be driving in the morning, acted appropriately and nothing showed up on the breathalyser.

The notion that you can't have a few drinks if you're driving in the morning is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Yester

Just trying to do the calculations here. So, If I start drinking at 7pm and have 6 pints over a 4 hour period, I should be legally ok to drive by 8am the following morning. Does that sound about right?

I only started driving in my thirties so am not a natural driver compared to pals who started in their teens. I'm a decent but not a great motorist. Therefore I don't take chances.

Sorry, but I don't believe you have never ever used your phone while driving or driven whilst excessively tired. Being over the limit the following morning I do believe you, as it is one of those things that very sensible people can avoid. Pontificating on an online forum is pointless and futile generally as who knows what the truth is, for all we know you are an absolute drunken mess behind the wheel most nights. Everybody knows driving in the morning while over the limit is wrong, whats the point in telling people how wonderful you are for not doing it and how wrong they are? The subject of being over the limit in the morning it is worthy of discussion as an awful lot of people drive whilst over the legal limit totally unintentionally and unbeknownst to them, but telling people ad nauseam on this how wrong it is and how good they are is seriously boring. Have I done it? Most probably, I don't know though for certain but I am prepared to admit this and be honest. I also do my very best to never use my phone, but I have done, I am also prepared to admit this. Nobody is perfect in this world and everybody takes risks as most, if not all of us think it won't happen to us so the pontificating in these circumstances is tedious at best. As I say nobody is perfect, that is until you log on to Boards.ie where you find out just how wrong you are and how they have never made a mistake on every topic ranging from driving whilst over the limit in the morning to letting a fart slip in a lift full of people.

The poster was asked if they'd done these things. They answered.
    Where's the pontificating?

You do realise that this is discussion on driving in the morning after consuming alcohol? People are going to have opinions on it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

There are no great motorists.