If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Minimum alcohol pricing is nigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Exactly which is what is above what FG was originally meant to be doing

5.3 Keeping Communities Vibrant

Supporting Irish Pubs: Fine Gael recognises the importance of the Irish pub for tourism, rural jobs and as a social outlet in communities across the country. We will support the local pub by banning the practice of below cost selling on alcohol, particularly by large supermarkets and the impact this has had on alcohol consumption and the viability of pubs.

http://www.michaelpidgeon.com/manifestos/docs/fg/Fine%20Gael%20GE%202011.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

I disagree, the "drinking problems" are myths from the government.
    KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Why do you think it's below cost price selling?

It's certainly cheaper than other times of the year but I don't think the supermarkets are making loses even at €1 a can etc

There are many off licences and retailers that simply cant even buy drink for their own businesses as cheap as what some supermarkets are selling it at. Add in the vouchers, ie. spend over €50 and get €20 off etc and supermarkets are definitely taking a hit. Maybe not the supermarket owners themselves but certainly the franchise owners. Its a cheap ploy to get people into stores and hope they fill their trolleys with other items with a decent markup.
    Thats why shortly you will see hennessys for €25 instead of €40, various whiskeys for 10 or 15 quid cheaper than normal etc. Retailers dont generally make 10 or 15 quid profit on a bottle of spirits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Exactly which is what is above what FG was originally meant to be doing

5.3 Keeping Communities Vibrant

Supporting Irish Pubs: Fine Gael recognises the importance of the Irish pub for tourism, rural jobs and as a social outlet in communities across the country. We will support the local pub by banning the practice of below cost selling on alcohol, particularly by large supermarkets and the impact this has had on alcohol consumption and the viability of pubs.

http://www.michaelpidgeon.com/manifestos/docs/fg/Fine%20Gael%20GE%202011.pdf

So Fine Gael think that the way to get people in to the pubs is by keeping the prices high in the off licences???????
    tenor.gif

wonga77 wrote: »
    There are many off licences and retailers that simply cant even buy drink for their own businesses as cheap as what some supermarkets are selling it at. Add in the vouchers, ie. spend over €50 and get €20 off etc and supermarkets are definitely taking a hit. Maybe not the supermarket owners themselves but certainly the franchise owners. Its a cheap ploy to get people into stores and hope they fill their trolleys with other items with a decent markup.
    Thats why shortly you will see hennessys for €25 instead of €40, various whiskeys for 10 or 15 quid cheaper than normal etc. Retailers dont generally make 10 or 15 quid profit on a bottle of spirits

Maybe the small end retailers can't sell drink as cheap as that but the major retailers can drop the prices like you say and still not be selling below cost price due to bulk savings

Even with these so called savings drink isn't cheap in this country

Suckit wrote: »
    So Fine Gael think that the way to get people in to the pubs is by keeping the prices high in the off licences???????
    tenor.gif

Yup true that

Also that suggestion was not in the health part of their manifesto so this thing about MUP being about health is BS as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.drinksindustryireland.ie/ireland-2nd-in-eu-for-highest-alcohol-excise-tax/
    Ireland EU’s 2nd highest alcohol tax
    September 5, 2018
    €12 on every bottle of whiskey goes straight to the Exchequer as does 80 cents on every glass of wine and 55 cents on every pint of lager.

In contrast, France charges just one cent on a glass of wine and 14 EU member states including Italy, Germany and Portugal, charge no excise on wine whatsoever.

In Germany, a pint of lager served in a German pub comes with a small excise levy of just 5 cents and excise on a bottle of spirits bought in a French off-licence is less than €5 and less than €3 in an Italian off-licence.

Ireland’s levy on cider is double that of the UK per hectolitre of product – €94.46 vs €45.51...

....In addition to excise tax, VAT is also charged on alcohol at a rate of 23% – and VAT is levied on both the original price plus the excise tax itself....

....The Big 4 – Finland, Ireland, Sweden and the UK – comprises EU member states with disproportionately high alcohol excise tax compared to other countries in the bloc.

The country with the fifth-highest alcohol excise tax, Estonia, has a rate almost 50% lower than Ireland’s and 33% lower than the last country in the Big 4, the UK.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

Just heard on the news that the ***** are going to try and bring this in, early in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,316 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I heard our bete noire Mr Eunan McKinney of Alcohol Action Ireland on the radio today.
    He actually denied that moderate drinkers will pay more for their drink of choice under MUP.
    According to him we all drink premium drinks anyway so it won't affect us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭various artistes

F34 wrote: »
    Just heard on the news that the ***** are going to try and bring this in, early in the new year.

Simon clearly saw that the current/ recent 48 cans for 40 quid in Centra and Tesco were not in keeping with the republic of rent/ insurance.

My 48 cans are still in the boot since last Saturday, just in case Simon was worried I hadn't the self control not to drink them in work on Monday.

elperello wrote: »
    I heard our bete noire Mr Eunan McKinney of Alcohol Action Ireland on the radio today.
    He actually denied that moderate drinkers will pay more for their drink of choice under MUP.

I love the way that was the last word as well

Sure if the price of a can goes up and somebody only drinks one can then it won't affect moderate drinkers lol

Great logic from McKinney

I drink Tuborg cans because its slightly lower alcohol content (4% compared to 4.3 percent) might make all the differnce sobering up to drive the next afternoon.

Also because it's generally cheaper.

I drink them typically only on a Friday or Saturday, usually about 12- 14 cans in a night.

Essentially never drink during the week as I get older, routinely go two or occasioaally three weeks without a drink.

**** off Eunan and **** off Simon you nerd.

Is there a list anywhere of which TD's voted against this bill?

Any chance of a FF government repealing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,305 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Sure if the price of a can goes up and somebody only drinks one can then it won't affect moderate drinkers lol

You'd put money in him being in here. There's a few here making the same nonsense argument

I don't mind paid lobbyists doing their job but it's a bit much when they stray into that sort of transparent nonsense.

I wonder where his career will take him next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

So glad that the biggest single problem in the country is now being taken care of with such priority given to it :rolleyes:

I don't mind paid lobbyists doing their job but it's a bit much when they stray into that sort of transparent nonsense.

I wonder where his career will take him next.

He's ridiculous and none of the presenters will ever pull him up on it

MUP will affect everybody who buys any drink that was under the MUP

Stormont def won't be fixed by January and I doubt FG want to bring in MUP before an election or lose exchequer funds from cross border shopping

Cheap as peanuts? lol

We have some of the most expensive alcohol in Europe as it stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Whats the vintner federation plan after this doesn't work and people still refuse to go to the pub to pay nearly a tenner for a pint of liquid every night?

Are they going to make the politicians introduce a sit inside your own gaff every evening tax?

Probably

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Simon clearly saw that the current/ recent 48 cans for 40 quid in Centra and Tesco were not in keeping with the republic of rent/ insurance.

My 48 cans are still in the boot since last Saturday, just in case Simon was worried I hadn't the self control not to drink them in work on Monday.

Here's a quick poll,how many problem drinkers do posters here see stocking up on these offers in Centra,Tesco wherever? I for one never see the local beer hounds doing it.
    My missus laughs at me availing of drinks offers as I drink so little at home but they are handy to have around Christmas when visitors are over or we are going somewhere and it's BYOB.
    There's plenty of people who rarely if ever buy off sales but spend most of their time on a high stool but apparently they are okay as they are in an environment that's a "safe space" and not guzzling cheap booze at home.

No that's the ideal environment apparently

'Far' safer than ones own home

In fact this whole proposal is about trying to get people back to pubs

buried wrote: »
    Whats the vintner federation plan after this doesn't work and people still refuse to go to the pub to pay nearly a tenner for a pint of liquid every night?

Are they going to make the politicians introduce a sit inside your own gaff every evening tax?

Probably

There are only two possible scenarios once we fall into the grip of MUP.

1- Less drink is sold so they say it's working and we need to increase the MUP to make it work even better.

2- Drink sales stay the same or increase so they say it's not working and they need to increase the MUP to make it work.

Either way we are goosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Does he not realise that addicts will pay whatever it takes to get pissed

And the rest of us will now have to match it

Here's a quick poll,how many problem drinkers do posters here see stocking up on these offers in Centra,Tesco wherever? I for one never see the local beer hounds doing it.

I'd say if he could the likes of my uncle would gladly buy 96 cans for 80 quid, for 50 weeks worth, 4000 per year, that would make them a tremendous saving year round.

Unfortunately these offers aren't advertised months in advance so these lads can't cobble together 4000 to keep them drunk for a year.

24 cans for 20 euro is an amazing price, and that joyless prick Harris wants to take it away.

Does he not realise that addicts will pay whatever it takes to get pissed

And the rest of us will now have to match it

And if they can't get the money together for the drink some local young lad will call over on his bike with something stronger.

The guys drinking in pubs,hotels and golf clubs will be unaffected.

Just leaves us the real eejits to pay up or go on the dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They might pass legislation that having over a crate of beer in your house will result in 2 years in Mountjoy.

Some of the crowd over on the Booze Bargains thread will get life :)

So glad that the biggest single problem in the country is now being taken care of with such priority given to it :rolleyes:

Eoin O'Broin of Sinn Fein called for a rent freeze which was rejected by the government but as you say, thankfully they have time and passion for this wonderful ploy to take more money from my pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

He's ridiculous and none of the presenters will ever pull him up on it

MUP will affect everybody who buys any drink that was under the MUP

Stormont def won't be fixed by January and I doubt FG want to bring in MUP before an election or lose exchequer funds from cross border shopping

He specifically mentioned that in the clip I heard and reckons people won’t be bothered spending 90 mins in a car heading north. They seem to be completely out of touch.

F34 wrote: »
    He specifically mentioned that in the clip I heard and reckons people won’t be bothered spending 90 mins in a car heading north. They seem to be completely out of touch.

To be honest, no people won't be bothered spending 90 minutes going across the border. The disparity is currently so huge that its worth it. Any small increase here will send people flocking to Derry.

I bought two litres of Jameson in Belfast a few weeks ago for £50. One litre here is 38 euro. If it hits 50 for a litre here people will be flocking in droves.

Discussion coming up on Virgin Media 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Eoin O'Broin of Sinn Fein called for a rent freeze which was rejected by the government but as you say, thankfully they have time and passion for this wonderful ploy to take more money from my pocket.

Quite a few top politicians are in or have friends in the property game and in the pub game. Anything seen as a threat is treated accordingly by them.