Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,366 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

George Lee's voice!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

dubstarr wrote: »
    Maybe they fancy you.And that was their "way in" so to speak:D

Or maybe they try it on with everyone...but Yes he has admitted as much. He's gone quiet now since I mentioned my fiance lol.

I get an worse impression when I see what he posts on his Facebook. 99% of it is about women, fairly backward and chauvinistic sentiments.

He's too old not to be able to express interest in a respectful polite way. He's even been married himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,949 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Antares35 wrote: »
    The use of stupid tense when writing about a tragedy that has occurred in some rural part of Ireland. When people are quoted in the lazy article about it, it's all "he would have been very well known here" or "they would have been big GAA supporters" or "the parish would be very shaken up at this point in time"

1. It matters not one f*ck if someone was a GAA supporter or not, or how well known they were - a tragedy is a tragedy and is not diminished because someone is from a big city as opposed to a small town.

2. The word you are looking for is "were". They were well known. They were GAA supporters etc. "Would have been" implies that they would have been but for [insert reason].

And then I find myself wondering, do all people from rural Ireland talk like this when being interviewed about an accident, or is it just lazy journalism?

The use of clichés in the above.

I've never heard of any part of rural Ireland that wasn't a "close knit community".

And it's all about "coming to terms" with whatever.

Insert something about GAA and a from well known family and you got rural tragedy bingo.

I was in a shop Today trying to buy a Christmas themed item. It was out of stock. I asked when they'd have it back in and I was told.
    After Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

People making plans they have no intention of sticking to! And the worst thing is it isn’t even the first time it’s happened

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I watched a lot of Ally Mc Beal and thought my dream career was to be a barrister.
    But I wonder when I read the “in the courts”,- how they feel about defending people like the local knacker all the way up to child sex offenders.

Was reading a thread where they were asking things like the colour of the curtains in order to put a doubt as to the person’s memory. Would you not feel like a bit of a scumbag yourself?

Kitty6277 wrote: »
    People making plans they have no intention of sticking to! And the worst thing is it isn’t even the first time it’s happened

I'm totally baffled by this.
    If I make a commitment or agreement with somebody I'd generally do my best to stick to it.
    If I couldn't I'd tell the person in advance why I may have an issue.
    The worst is when somebody says that they'll do something and then back out of without even having the courtesy to tell the person that plans have changed.
    My mother has recently being really left down by somebody and even tough she's not saying it. I know she's upset about it.
    I actually think this is the most I've being annoyed with a person in a long time.

About the lawyers grilling victims about details a traumatised mind might not remember, personally I think if they can't all be shot then they should be sued for re-activating trauma. It's sick. They did something awful a bit like that in Grace Millanes case but she couldn't defend herself or answer their grubby 'point's.

About people making an offer or promise of their own volition, I won't put it on Boards as too identifying to the person, but I suspect it's a facet of mental illness. Walter nutty personalities type thing. Delusions of grandeur/largesse/big ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

Politicians who mispronounce words on the radio, saying pacific instead of specific for example.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

ATMs that ask how much you want.
    - This machine only has 50s your transaction has been cancelled
    - You b4stard why not let me change the amount. Alright I'll take my card out and try again. There's a queue of people behind me and they all think I'm an idiot for forgetting the PIN

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Purgative wrote: »
    ATMs that ask how much you want.
    - This machine only has 50s your transaction has been cancelled
    - You b4stard why not let me change the amount. Alright I'll take my card out and try again. There's a queue of people behind me and they all think I'm an idiot for forgetting the PIN

ATMs not giving out 10 euro notes. That together with various school payments that always have really specific amounts. Wrecks my head. Nobody wants a 50 euro note for God's sake.

Feisar wrote: »
    Politicians who mispronounce words on the radio, saying pacific instead of specific for example.

I read that in Paschal Donohue's voice and now I'm annoyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,311 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I have not been warm all day. My feet in particular are like blocks of ice.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

LirW wrote: »
    ATMs not giving out 10 euro notes. That together with various school payments that always have really specific amounts. Wrecks my head. Nobody wants a 50 euro note for God's sake.

I remember that from school, £3.45 plus a half eaten scone for some silly outing or other.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I remember that from school, £3.45 plus a half eaten scone for some silly outing or other.

Just to paint a picture of the inconvenience:
    Kid needs to pay 13 euros for a school trip. I have a tenner on me but rarely bigger coins than 20 cents. He needs the exact amount in an envelope.
    So in order to get 3 Euro I have to go to the ATM, get 20 Euros out. My village has exactly one ATM. Then go to the shop and ask them to break it down into a tenner, a fiver and coins. Now comes the societal pressure, you can't be a bad person not supporting the local economy so you buy something sweet you don't want and then still have to ask if they could give some of the change in coins. Followed by an annoyed stare because about every shop in this country doesn't have enough change as is.
    Now you have the money together and hope your kid doesn't lose it.
    It's 2019, we send robots to the Mars but schools still operate an envelope cash policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

LirW wrote: »
    Just to paint a picture of the inconvenience:
    Kid needs to pay 13 euros for a school trip. I have a tenner on me but rarely bigger coins than 20 cents. He needs the exact amount in an envelope.
    So in order to get 3 Euro I have to go to the ATM, get 20 Euros out. My village has exactly one ATM. Then go to the shop and ask them to break it down into a tenner, a fiver and coins. Now comes the societal pressure, you can't be a bad person not supporting the local economy so you buy something sweet you don't want and then still have to ask if they could give some of the change in coins. Followed by an annoyed stare because about every shop in this country doesn't have enough change as is.
    Now you have the money together and hope your kid doesn't lose it.
    It's 2019, we send robots to the Mars but schools still operate an envelope cash policy.

Local school here uses revolut, might be worth suggesting

People who feel the need to inform you of their impending bowel movement, it's anticipated size and consistency.

"I'm going to make a dirty great big s***", for example.

It has to be an illness! Like a fixation with your own bum!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Car parks and "per hour or part thereof" pricing.
    How can they get away with charging €5 an hour but also charging €5 for five minutes??? We've had per second billing on phones for decades, now. Why can't car parks be forced to charge per minute??

Maybe I should contact Conor Pope:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

I didnt think it was possible.But i have found another type of gob****e to annoy me.

Went to the loo in Blanch,and some woman was basically dancingat teh door of the loo.Like she couldnt decide whether she wanted in or out.

She moves,i go in.And the lock is broken.Why wouldnt you tell someone that.Like seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Last year I lent one of my girls a not much used microwave as she had to stop breastfeeding, baby is weaned now and she sent the microwave back.

TA, she sent it back by a courier, which was more expensive than the microwave and unnecessary, now its back, I cant remember how to use it anymore.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Alecto

a pain in my left lung from coughing. How very annoying, hurts when I do that breathing thing which I have to do pretty regularly, you know, to live :p

Alecto wrote: »
    a pain in my left lung from coughing. How very annoying, hurts when I do that breathing thing which I have to do pretty regularly, you know, to live :p

:( I was only thinking of you recently while you were away from Boards, hoping the new treatment was working brilliantly.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I saw the landlord coming up the drive way with a dehumidifier in hand and I had a feeling he would want to plug it in beside the clothes horse, so for some reason I panicked and grabbed all my knickers and bras from the clothes horse and shoved them in the first drawer I could see which was the cutlery drawer. Poor fella got some land when he opened said drawer to get the scissors. He said absolutely nothing, just brushed them aside and carried on like he saw nothing :D
    Why does everything happen to me

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Forgot to add that they were still wet too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Forgot to add that they were still wet too.
    giggidy

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

The use of stupid tense when writing about a tragedy that has occurred in some rural part of Ireland. When people are quoted in the lazy article about it, it's all "he would have been very well known here" or "they would have been big GAA supporters" or "the parish would be very shaken up at this point in time"

1. It matters not one f*ck if someone was a GAA supporter or not, or how well known they were - a tragedy is a tragedy and is not diminished because someone is from a big city as opposed to a small town.

2. The word you are looking for is "were". They were well known. They were GAA supporters etc. "Would have been" implies that they would have been but for [insert reason].

And then I find myself wondering, do all people from rural Ireland talk like this when being interviewed about an accident, or is it just lazy journalism?

The one that gets me is when a new reporter corners some aul wan for a quote about poor “Johnny Scrote”who just gk5 shot in the head, near xxxxtown, and she replies ina put on posh voice “ well I was so surprised, nothing like that ever happens around here, I mean...this is a residential area”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Alecto

:( I was only thinking of you recently while you were away from Boards, hoping the new treatment was working brilliantly.

I started the new drugs when I'd just finished steroids and IV antibiotics and I think that gave me a false sense of what it would be like. It's ok though, I'm still much better than I was and I'm very grateful for that :)

Reminded of this by posh woman post above. I rang the number of a local taxi company listed on Google. A woman answered and snottily said "This is a daaaawg walking company. Ok?" I think it was the snippy patronising "ok" that ground my gears. As if it wasnt the first time shed had to explain this to me! Take your number off Googleas a taxi, then...

Also, there's 4 or 5 other taxis whose google-listed numbers seem to have changed, or they're out of order.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I watched a lot of Ally Mc Beal and thought my dream career was to be a barrister.
    But I wonder when I read the “in the courts”,- how they feel about defending people like the local knacker all the way up to child sex offenders.

Was reading a thread where they were asking things like the colour of the curtains in order to put a doubt as to the person’s memory. Would you not feel like a bit of a scumbag yourself?

The official line trotted out is something about regardless of the person's background or how they plead etc. a lawyer is trying to get them a fair trial as opposed to having them "let off" for something they did. I was never really fully convinced on that one...

This (and largely, you cannot refuse instruction on the basis that you personally disagree etc.), along with the fact that unless you are part of the old boys club with family connections and were born with a silver spoon in your mouth, you are destined to be on the breadline for the first 7 years post qualification, are two of the biggest reasons why I have opted for the comfort of in-house. :pac::p

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

The official line trotted out is something about regardless of the person's background or how they plead etc. a lawyer is trying to get them a fair trial as opposed to having them "let off" for something they did. I was never really fully convinced on that one...

This (and largely, you cannot refuse instruction on the basis that you personally disagree etc.), along with the fact that unless you are part of the old boys club with family connections and were born with a silver spoon in your mouth, you are destined to be on the breadline for the first 7 years post qualification, are two of the biggest reasons why I have opted for the comfort of in-house. :pac::p

Where did you do your degree in smugness....Trinners ?