Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭poteen

What ever happened with the OTB golf open in Abu Dhabi ? It was supposed to be a week or so ago. Heard no pod, no reference at all and dont know anybody that went. Anyone have any info or feedback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭robo

poteen wrote: »
    What ever happened with the OTB golf open in Abu Dhabi ? It was supposed to be a week or so ago. Heard no pod, no reference at all and dont know anybody that went. Anyone have any info or feedback?

Yeh that got lost in the black hole...was advertised like mad in the summer and then disappeared like a reality tv star. From what I remember from the advert, they may have had more "celebs" than punters going and I'd say the "celebs" trip was free of charge so they were probably losing a shed lot of money on it.
    It sounded a ludicrous idea anyway :rolleyes:

It was so funny when they read out "texts" of listeners asking (whilst ads were still being played) if they could still book it for them and their mates...they just sounded like made up texts!
    Would love to have been in that meeting when they decided to shelve it - poor Joe and the lads getting no jolly & I'd say when they picked Eoin to get the trip to the World Cup, it was under the premise that he would be one of the few left behind for the golf trip...mind you good choice with Eoin in Japan, he certainly delivered on his repots and videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭deisedude

I wonder is Joe Molloy miffed he didnt get to interview Joe Schmidt.

He had mentioned on a few shows in passing that he was doing to interview him and naively said on one show he intended to ask him about the Jackson/Olding case and then surprise surprise Gilroy did the interview yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Joe Molloy is interviewing Schmidt in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre and also in U.L., couple of nice nixers for him. Might partially explain why he didn’t do the Off the Ball interview. Can’t imagine the rape trial will feature much at either of these events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭deisedude

amlinopta wrote: »
    Joe Molloy is interviewing Schmidt in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre and also in U.L., couple of nice nixers for him. Might partially explain why he didn’t do the Off the Ball interview. Can’t imagine the rape trial will feature much at either of these events.

Ah that explains it so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭poteen

robo wrote: »
    Yeh that got lost in the black hole...was advertised like mad in the summer and then disappeared like a reality tv star. From what I remember from the advert, they may have had more "celebs" than punters going and I'd say the "celebs" trip was free of charge so they were probably losing a shed lot of money on it.
    It sounded a ludicrous idea anyway :rolleyes:

It was so funny when they read out "texts" of listeners asking (whilst ads were still being played) if they could still book it for them and their mates...they just sounded like made up texts!
    Would love to have been in that meeting when they decided to shelve it - poor Joe and the lads getting no jolly & I'd say when they picked Eoin to get the trip to the World Cup, it was under the premise that he would be one of the few left behind for the golf trip...mind you good choice with Eoin in Japan, he certainly delivered on his repots and videos.

It just disappeared off the grid. Looking back at the Golf Weekly twitter account around the time of the announcement, it wasn't well received. Most of the feedback seemed to say great concept but wrong price/location, why not do it in Ireland for a few days and it would be heavily booked. I would agree with that too. Alternatively they could have gone somewhere expensive like Scotland or maybe Spain of they wanted the sun.

I hope they try this again next year with a more attainable package for people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,506 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

poteen wrote: »
    It just disappeared off the grid. Looking back at the Golf Weekly twitter account around the time of the announcement, it wasn't well received. Most of the feedback seemed to say great concept but wrong price/location, why not do it in Ireland for a few days and it would be heavily booked. I would agree with that too. Alternatively they could have gone somewhere expensive like Scotland or maybe Spain of they wanted the sun.

I hope they try this again next year with a more attainable package for people.

Destination was mental for a first off event. Straight away it's adding a grand for flights, at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Well OTB had already acted as judge and jury on that case, so they are not objective enough to conduct a proper interview. They had a representative of the rape crisis centre on the night that Jackson was found innocent. How they ever got away with that is beyond me. Shameful populism. But I guess they got some positive feedback on Twitter from Sinead O'Carroll so in contemporary broadcasting that is the sort of thing that takes priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,506 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Well OTB had already acted as judge and jury on that case, so they are not objective enough to conduct a proper interview. They had a representative of the rape crisis centre on the night that Jackson was found innocent. How they ever got away with that is beyond me. Shameful populism. But I guess they got some positive feedback on Twitter from Sinead O'Carroll so in contemporary broadcasting that is the sort of thing that takes priority.

They seemed to go with the line that most organisations took, that the behaviour of the guys was unacceptable even if they had been found not guilty and that it reflected the difficulty many victims of rape have in seeing their attacker receive justice.

Iirc, most, if not all public commentary was that while the guys were not convicted, the evidence indicated that they were behaving very far from decently.
    Any of the voices saying they were entirely blame free seemed to be limited to twitter and anonymous voices on places such as Boards.

Well OTB had already acted as judge and jury on that case, so they are not objective enough to conduct a proper interview. They had a representative of the rape crisis centre on the night that Jackson was found innocent. How they ever got away with that is beyond me. Shameful populism.

"Given it's definition, I think it tells you a lot about a person when they use the word populist as a pejorative term." posted by generalgerry 27-10-2019

Ahwell wrote: »
    "Given it's definition, I think it tells you a lot about a person when they use the word populist as a pejorative term." posted by generalgerry 27-10-2019

Except I wasn't using it as a pejorative term, I was using it in the literal sense. If you're gonna have a go at me at least take the posts in context.

Joe Molloy is interviewing Schmidt in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre and also in U.L., couple of nice nixers for him.

I think this is actually gonna be a sticky wicket for Joe now. The book has been absolutely panned by all of his peers in the media - the latest being Dunphy and Franno who ripped it to shreds on The Stand this week.

How does he get through the interview without acknowledging or referencing the fact that everybody thinks the book is so bad, and maintain his "journalistic credibility"? If you have smiling, humble, respectful Joe Schmidt in front of you, can you really ask "Joe, why are you asking for 25 quid for a rubbish book, is it really just you cashing in your chips?". Be like hitting a squirrel over the head with a mallet.

Except I wasn't using it as a pejorative term, I was using it in the literal sense.

Nonsense.

Nonsense.

I think the two uses are pretty clear.

496509.jpg

But I realise that you are already committed to your first post at this stage, so there is no point in trying to talk your round with logic.

I think the two uses are pretty clear.

496509.jpg

But I realise that you are already committed to your first post at this stage, so there is no point in trying to talk your round with logic.

I don't think it's my logic that's at fault here Gerry. What you are ignoring is the adjective you put before populism i.e. Shameful. An adjective describes or modifies a noun.
    pejorative - expressing contempt or disapproval

"Shameful populism" is clearly a pejorative term and is using populism in a pejorative way.

So, I won't be expecting a response then, like the 99% of the times you don't have the courage of your convictions to debate the stuff you post on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭hawley

Their updates on the Premier League are a few minutes behind what's actually taking place. Alisson sent off for Liverpool and nothing about it for about five minutes.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I think this is actually gonna be a sticky wicket for Joe now. The book has been absolutely panned by all of his peers in the media - the latest being Dunphy and Franno who ripped it to shreds on The Stand this week.

I wouldn't go so far as to say they ripped it to shreds. Whilst they were in broad agreement that it was a weak book, Francis articulated why that was. He also made a telling point about Schmidt's relationship with the media. Schmidt was a little bit spiky with the rugby journalists and not as subservient as previous coaches. This got their back up and they had an axe to grind.
    How does he get through the interview without acknowledging or referencing the fact that everybody thinks the book is so bad, and maintain his "journalistic credibility"? If you have smiling, humble, respectful Joe Schmidt in front of you, can you really ask "Joe, why are you asking for 25 quid for a rubbish book, is it really just you cashing in your chips?". Be like hitting a squirrel over the head with a mallet.

I'd give Joe Molloy a bit more credit than that. I happen to think he is one of the best interviewers around, always well prepared and not afraid to ask the difficult questions. I'm pretty sure he would broach the topic of reaction to the book unless he is specifically barred by the publishers from asking it. Given that the event is organised by the publishers this is a live risk.

Aidric wrote: »
    I wouldn't go so far as to say they ripped it to shreds. Whilst they were in broad agreement that it was a weak book, Francis articulated why that was. He also made a telling point about Schmidt's relationship with the media. Schmidt was a little bit spiky with the rugby journalists and not as subservient as previous coaches. This got their back up and they had an axe to grind.

Some of the reviews of Schmidt's book have been very pointed and over the top in their criticism. As the above poster states, Schmidt had a frosty relationship with the media and didn't really give them the time of day, which got many of their backs up. And, of course, in their eyes he also had the temerity to write the book himself rather than getting a journalist to ghost it which is the norm. Schmidt was doomed from the off with this book and it looks like many of the egos in the media have been champing at the bit to exact a small slice of revenge.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Very over the top stuff.

You don't hear them talking about other sports books in the way they did his, and definitely not just as it's been released.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Very over the top stuff.

You don't hear them talking about other sports books in the way they did his, and definitely not just as it's been released.

I think the quotes at the start of each chapter, and particularly the Vodafone one turned it from a memoir in to a commercial enterprise in a lot of peoples eyes.

Saw a lot of different sports people tweet the image of that or comment on it in the days after the books release.

I don't think it's my logic that's at fault here Gerry. What you are ignoring is the adjective you put before populism i.e. Shameful. An adjective describes or modifies a noun.

We could go round in circles on this one. My point is that there are two ways the word in used in contemporary "journalism". The genuine sense of the word, where populist simply means saying something (whether you believe it to be true or not) simply because it is what you think will make you popular with your audience. The second use is relatively new, where you will hear a liberal journalist describe the conservative policies of a politician as populist, which can essentially be read as "racist".

Aidric wrote: »
    I'd give Joe Molloy a bit more credit than that. I happen to think he is one of the best interviewers around, always well prepared and not afraid to ask the difficult questions.

I'm not taking any credit from Joe, I'm just saying that it will be a difficult social situation. Gilroy didn't mention at all about how the book has been getting bad reviews. I'm just wondering will Joe broach the topic of the book not being very good or will he just do the same as what Gilroy did and effectively pretend like it's a great book.

Neil Francis did agree with you in that he too thought that a lot of the media were waiting for Joe in the long grass, and took out their revenge on him in their reviews of the book. But I think the general consensus is that if Joe was not even prepared to give his parent's names in the book, then the book probably should not have been written, as the man is simply not prepared to give anything away.

I see it is up on Audible. Read by Paul Hanley, whoever that is. I think I probably would have bought it and listened to it in the car if I hadn't heard Dunphy's review. Almost 27 euro for the audio version.

https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Ordinary-Joe-Audiobook/0241988675?qid=1575188068&sr=1-1&pf_rd_p=c6e316b8-14da-418d-8f91-b3cad83c5183&pf_rd_r=2FPTMFY3TQA4P83M02NY&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_1_1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

I'm not taking any credit from Joe, I'm just saying that it will be a difficult social situation. Gilroy didn't mention at all about how the book has been getting bad reviews. I'm just wondering will Joe broach the topic of the book not being very good or will he just do the same as what Gilroy did and effectively pretend like it's a great book.

Neil Francis did agree with you in that he too thought that a lot of the media were waiting for Joe in the long grass, and took out their revenge on him in their reviews of the book. But I think the general consensus is that if Joe was not even prepared to give his parent's names in the book, then the book probably should not have been written, as the man is simply not prepared to give anything away.

I see it is up on Audible. Read by Paul Hanley, whoever that is. I think I probably would have bought it and listened to it in the car if I hadn't heard Dunphy's review. Almost 27 euro for the audio version.

https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Ordinary-Joe-Audiobook/0241988675?qid=1575188068&sr=1-1&pf_rd_p=c6e316b8-14da-418d-8f91-b3cad83c5183&pf_rd_r=2FPTMFY3TQA4P83M02NY&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_1_1

People should just not buy the book. The press has done everyone a favour by reviewing it up front so anyone who drops 25 quid on it at this stage deserves to be parted with their money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

There are plenty of bad, boring, and rubbish sports books out each year.

None of them have got anywhere near the criticism his book has gotten.

They might get some at the end of the year, or a throwaway comment here and there but none as the book has just been published.

We could go round in circles on this one. My point is that there are two ways the word in used in contemporary "journalism". The genuine sense of the word, where populist simply means saying something (whether you believe it to be true or not) simply because it is what you think will make you popular with your audience.

But that has never been the meaning. Look at the definition you posted yourself. For something to be populist there has to be a "the ordinary people" v "an elite" element. A typical example of a populist slogan would be "Drain the swamp". What populist is being confused with in the media is "demagogue" - a political leader who seeks support by appealing to the desires and prejudices of ordinary people rather than by using rational argument. I would put Trump and Boris Johnson into this category, you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Rugby is almost above criticism in this country that’s why I’m surprised at the negative reviews.

That's completely untrue.

After an Ireland loss, like say against Japan, there is plenty of criticism. It's just in the rugby section which if you don't follow rugby you won't see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

CatFromHue wrote: »
    That's completely untrue.

After an Ireland loss, like say against Japan, there is plenty of criticism. It's just in the rugby section which if you don't follow rugby you won't see.

The Rugby section of Boards? Is that what you mean?

Yeah that's a good example. I did mean the papers though.

MacKenna doing the rounds with his book at the moment and was on OTB earlier with Ger.

Ger didn't seem to be buying what he was selling and I can't be the only one who picked up on a some frostiness from Ger?

MacKenna was MacKenna

"There was a petition with a 100,000 signatures", there wasn't
    "He was on The Late Late 4 or 5 times", he wasn't
    "He wasn't funny", he was

He also seemed to miss the main reason why people started paying attention to McGregor, cos he was very very good and very exciting!